Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.21

Awesome: 14.95%
Worth A Look: 25.23%
Just Average34.58%
Pretty Crappy: 16.82%
Sucks: 8.41%

6 reviews, 71 user ratings


Latest Reviews

MFA by Jay Seaver

You Only Live Once by Jay Seaver

November (2017) by Jay Seaver

Friendly Beast by Jay Seaver

Foreigner, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

Tom of Finland by Rob Gonsalves

Happy Death Day by Jay Seaver

78/52: Hitchcock's Shower Scene by Jay Seaver

Death Note: Light Up the New World by Jay Seaver

Brawl in Cell Block 99 by Peter Sobczynski

subscribe to this feed


Something's Gotta Give
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by EricDSnider

"Jack's ass: The Movie"
4 stars

Though I am pleased to see Jack Nicholson starring in films in which he plays men coming to terms with the aging process (as he did in "About Schmidt"), thus suggesting perhaps Nicholson is doing the same, I am not pleased that this new-found introspection must be accompanied by photographed images of Nicholson's naked rear end. You may have forgotten, in all the trauma of seeing Kathy Bates naked, that Jack had a brief butt shot in "About Schmidt," too. And he does it again in "Something's Gotta Give," an otherwise very smart and enjoyable romantic comedy co-starring Diane Keaton.

Nicholson plays Harry Sanborn, a 63-year-old playboy, bon vivant and raconteur who never dates anyone older than 30 and who is perfectly satisfied to live the lifestyle of a swingin', albeit agin', bachelor. Currently, he's dating luscious young Marin Barry (Amanda Peet), and the two have capered off to her family's house in the Hamptons for the weekend.

Alas, Marin's mother, noted playwright Erica Barry (Keaton), is also planning to spend the weekend there, in the occasional company of her sardonic, feminist sister Zoe (Frances McDormand). Erica is shocked to see her daughter dating someone even older than she, Erica, is, and is put off even more by Harry's decidedly un-P.C. attitudes about women and relationships. Harry, meanwhile, is befuddled to meet a woman so reticent that he can't crack her (not that he wants to, given her age). "She's beyond uptight," he says. "It almost makes her fun to be around."

In a twist reminiscent of the old play and film "The Man Who Came to Dinner" (1942), Harry suffers a mild heart attack while gettin' it on with Marin and is told by his youthful doctor Julian (Keanu Reeves) that he cannot travel back to Manhattan in this condition. He must instead recuperate at the Barrys' home, nursed primarily by Erica, since Marin has to get back to the city.

And there is the setup, the time-honored rom-com tradition of putting two polar opposites together to watch them fight and ultimately fall in love. But written and directed by Nancy Meyers (director of "What Women Want," writer of "Father of the Bride"), the film has an air about it that seems just a little more sophisticated than the norm. Erica and Harry have depth to them, and there are several nice touches in the way their relationship develops -- examining the difference between "I love you" and "I love ya," for example, and the way Harry reluctantly realizes that, at 50-something, Erica has a lot more in common with him than anyone in her 20s.

Much of the credit for the film's success goes to Nicholson and Keaton, who didn't become two of America's most beloved actors for no reason. Nicholson, damn him, exudes charm and likability even when playing the most caddish of men, no less so as the freewheeling Harry, whose rough edges do eventually soften into a Schmidt-like acceptance of his place in the world. And Keaton, bless her, is a national treasure. Erica has mannerisms, moods and feelings, and Keaton brings them all to us, humorously, sadly and honestly. She lives and breathes this woman, well enough to deserve an Oscar nomination, in my opinion. I can't think of a performance by an actress this entire year that I enjoyed more.

Eventually, the film goes where these films always go, and that's a little disappointing, since its hints of class earlier on give one hope that something different is in the offing. Still, creative ending or not, the comedy is sharp and the writing is swift. The characters undergo personal journeys just deep enough to make them respectable film characters, but not so deep that it will turn off romantic-comedy fans who prefer that everything happen exactly the same way in every film. At least the naked 66-year-old buttocks are a departure from the routine.

link directly to this review at http://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=8384&reviewer=247
originally posted: 12/12/03 03:52:40
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

3/22/17 KarmaBitch Absolutely detest the enligt. 1 stars
8/31/14 Drinking Lemonade One my favorite movies! So nice to see two older actors with such natural chemistry. :) 5 stars
12/05/10 Yvonne I loved this movie, all but the ending. She should have chosen the young doc! 5 stars
11/27/10 Cat The first half was interesting, but the second was boring and the ending-cringe inducing. 3 stars
11/09/10 the dork knight Dreadful second act. The ending made me puke. 3 stars
8/01/10 Cat There were good moments but I can't get the creepy ending out of my mind. 2 stars
4/08/10 PAUL SHORTT SMARTLY FUNNY ROMANTIC COMEDY WITH SOME GOOD PERFORMANCES 3 stars
1/09/09 Anonymous. ehh it was ok. 3 stars
11/04/07 Quigley Worth watching just for Keaton and Nicholson's chemistry. Very charming movie 4 stars
8/04/07 ravenmad the banter was very witty, think~Dawson's Creek grows up. I liked it! 4 stars
7/31/07 johnnyfog Performances elevate the first half, but the ending's awful 4 stars
11/10/06 Bill Hi all 2 stars
6/21/06 TB I like Nicholson better 5 stars
4/23/06 R.W.Welch The two leads are just enough to keep it rolling. C+ 3 stars
3/09/06 Dk Nicholsen deserves better 2 stars
10/04/05 Jesse Taylor Can-be-funny comedy with two great stars. Both give worthy performances. 3 stars
3/25/05 Jack Sommersby Take it or leave it. 3 stars
2/21/05 Captain Craig Sophiscated and very well written, but seemed like other Nickolson flicks. 4 stars
9/03/04 T.B. The Cast is all right, but the story is mass up 3 stars
7/07/04 Denise great cast 4 stars
6/30/04 Piz same ol romantic comedy, except a lot longer...After an hour I was out like a light 2 stars
6/27/04 Nancy Lapidus Improbable subplot - young doctor hunks don't pine after 55-year-old women. 3 stars
6/19/04 KENT No chemistry, predictable, and it was L O N G , , , 1 stars
5/16/04 Idiot's Mouth OK, again: old people are NOT funny! Old, naked people are an affront to humanity! Die! Die 1 stars
5/12/04 Pinkline Jones Kitsch amateurish script - would help if Keaton could ACT 3 stars
5/06/04 Ross I laughed so hard, excellent movie. This one's going on my to buy list 5 stars
4/22/04 Elena Nicholson and Keaton at their very best. Movie was clever and deftly witty. 4 stars
4/13/04 PinkiePie Great movie! SO worth watching! 5 stars
4/12/04 Madeline Too long, hated the contrived plot and gross love scenes. 1 stars
4/11/04 felicity reli cool movie 5 stars
4/07/04 Mary Boule A very witty, overdue reaction to the "old guy with babe" Hollywood cliche. Wonderful film. 4 stars
3/23/04 marie-anne Totally refreshing and so much fun 5 stars
3/14/04 Monday Morning Absolutely wonderful 5 stars
3/14/04 E-Rock Pretty good, actually. Nicholson is awesome, and Keaton earns her Oscar nod well. 4 stars
3/07/04 S.F. God Awful !! 2 stars
3/06/04 Jaco Visser A nice, laugh-out-loud, warm and satyrical film! Nicholson at his synic best! 5 stars
3/04/04 Felix Buchmann Jack Nickolson at his worst! 1 stars
2/15/04 My Two Cents Pretty corny, comedy comes from middle-aged romance, e.g. the glasses scene. Jack's good. 4 stars
2/15/04 Pete It's extremely formulatic - yes. But Keaton and Nicholson make you think 'who cares?!'. 5 stars
2/15/04 Samantha Keaton and Nicholson make this film a pure joy. 5 stars
2/15/04 Russell Forget the script - just sit back and enjoy watching two legends at work. 5 stars
2/14/04 stevejones I'm 50 and it gave me the creeps 1 stars
2/12/04 Priscilla Postlethwaite Keanu Reeves plays most likeable character & one left a loose end. Guess it figures. 4 stars
2/11/04 So Erica say's she's not regular & men like regular Erica, ever consider waiting longer in a relationship to discuss your constipation? 4 stars
2/06/04 WILL ACTING MADE THE FILM WORK EXCEPT FOR kEANU................HE STUDIEDAT THESAME ACTING SCHOO 4 stars
2/06/04 Suzz very enjoyable frippery; keaton is a gem 4 stars
2/03/04 Chris It was fine but long and the nude scene was nasty. 3 stars
1/25/04 Paul Frassinelli Fairly funny, with rare strong laughs 4 stars
1/22/04 bribear acting-great; plot-average 3 stars
1/18/04 sillyjillyh Excellent; several great laughs;great acting 5 stars
1/15/04 Lizzie It was fun. 4 stars
1/14/04 Kate Simply dreadful. Ray-Bans only take you so far and Jack has employed them once too often. 2 stars
1/14/04 Betty White Keaton & Nicholson are wonderful in this pleasant comedy. 4 stars
1/14/04 BigNate thouroughly enjoyable 4 stars
1/12/04 Suresh Long, same old same old, but worth a look for acting 3 stars
1/10/04 dave heavily dressed up crap 1 stars
1/09/04 kaz morrison what a starfest!!Loved Diane,although no woman with a brain would choose Jack over Keanu 4 stars
1/09/04 Helen Bradley Keaton great, film should be cut by 25% 3 stars
1/08/04 john wonderful, uplifting...jack and diane 5 stars
1/05/04 Chris Nobody wants to see Keaton naked but everyone should see her preformence. Sweet but long. 3 stars
1/02/04 Emperor's New Clothes? Nope. Just a Fat, Ugly, Naked, Guy. The ending is typical but at least the formula is new 4 stars
12/25/03 breadman Keaton & Jack do well and she is amazing 4 stars
12/24/03 Lindsey One of the best movies i've ever seen! 5 stars
12/23/03 Judy One of my favorite films of all time 5 stars
12/22/03 I liked it Keaton gets naked 3 stars
12/21/03 Sarah They could have cut 15% of the movie. One dimensional and boring. 1 stars
12/21/03 sethandbeth A movie for everyone's ..MOM. So unrealistic!!! 1 stars
12/18/03 Mashawnda Dowell Great Film 4 stars
12/16/03 Flick Chick tv movie of the week type schmaltz - disappointing. 3 stars
12/16/03 Ray It was good, but not too much 3 stars
12/15/03 nick2k good story......but i felt uneady with the transition of a pivitol event. 3 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  12-Dec-2003 (PG-13)
  DVD: 30-Mar-2004

UK
  N/A

Australia
  08-Jan-2004


Directed by
  Nancy Meyers

Written by
  Nancy Meyers

Cast
  Jack Nicholson
  Diane Keaton
  Amanda Peet
  Keanu Reeves
  Jon Favreau
  Frances McDormand



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast