Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.36

Awesome62.69%
Worth A Look: 21.64%
Just Average: 8.58%
Pretty Crappy: 2.99%
Sucks: 4.1%

14 reviews, 184 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Darkest Hour by Jay Seaver

Shape of Water, The by Jay Seaver

I, Tonya by Rob Gonsalves

Wonder Wheel by Peter Sobczynski

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Rob Gonsalves

Swindlers, The by Jay Seaver

Oro (Gold) by Jay Seaver

Disaster Artist, The by Peter Sobczynski

Explosion by Jay Seaver

Lucky (2017) by Rob Gonsalves

subscribe to this feed


Garden State
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by EricDSnider

"Home is a bittersweet place, especially when it's in New Jersey."
5 stars

Zach Braff's appeal on "Scrubs," the NBC series he leads, is his ability to underplay the comedy, to appear befuddled and intimidated as madness surrounds him. Even when performing wacky, silly comedy, he doesn't seem wacky himself.

This same sublime sensibility permeates "Garden State," the magnificent film he wrote and directed and in which he stars. As Andrew Largeman, a New Jersey native who moved to L.A. to be an actor nine years ago and who comes home now only for his mother's funeral, Braff is indeed surrounded by lunacy, and he indeed reacts with calm perplexedness, as if he resigned himself long ago to the fact that he would have friends who work at Medieval Times and thus wear knight's armor at the breakfast table.

Andrew reunites with his old high school buddies Mark (Peter Sarsgaard) and Dave (Alex Burns) because they happen to be operating the tractor that digs his mother's grave. (These are not men who determined to make something of themselves in the business world; these are men who smoke pot all the time.) He also reunites, awkwardly, with his father (Ian Holm), with whom he has unresolved issues going back at least since he was 10, when we are told he first began being medicated for various psychological reasons.

And he meets Sam (Natalie Portman), a compulsive liar with more energy than she knows what to do with and a mother with a thousand housepets. Andrew and Sam have much in common, most notably their damaged families and their damaged methods of dealing with them.

Braff's brilliance as a writer, director and performer is made manifest in the film's ability to be both hilarious and poignant, often in the same scene. It is full of deliciously underplayed sight gags -- a doctor has so many diplomas on his wall that he ran out of space and started putting them on the ceiling, for example -- as well as large doses of truth and beauty, all accompanied by a stellar cool-kid rock 'n' roll soundtrack (The Shins, Colin Hay, Postal Service, Frou Frou, etc.).

I saw the film at Sundance and liked it a lot without loving it. I thought it got a little too jokey, and that it went on a distracting detour near the end, plot-wise. Having seen it a second time, I see now that I was wrong. The jokes are endearing, funny and clever, and that "detour" is in fact thematically quite relevant. I don't know how I missed it the first time, but I'm glad I had a chance to redeem myself before it was released theatrically.

The film captures the feeling of post-college, pre-marriage, mid-20s disorientation so masterfully that it belongs in the same category as "The Graduate," which did the same thing for the same demographic 35 years ago. It speaks to the confused, lonely people of Braff's over-medicated, over-analyzed generation more clearly and more piercingly than any other film has done so far. He is great, Natalie Portman is radiant and exuberant, and the movie's sweet story of love and cluelessness puts it up there as one of the year's best.

link directly to this review at http://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=8529&reviewer=247
originally posted: 01/18/04 18:09:11
[printer] printer-friendly format  
OFFICIAL SELECTION: 2004 Sundance Film Festival. For more in the 2004 Sundance Film Festival series, click here.
OFFICIAL SELECTION: 2004 Seattle Film Festival. For more in the 2004 Seattle Film Festival series, click here.
OFFICIAL SELECTION: 2004 Los Angeles Film Festival. For more in the 2004 Los Angeles Film Festival series, click here.
OFFICIAL SELECTION: 2004 Leeds Film Festival. For more in the 2004 Leeds Film Festival series, click here.

User Comments

8/28/12 Omlopez8 Great soundtrack 3 stars
6/26/11 DR "I love indie films"...Great. Too bad this one is empty and pretentious. 1 stars
6/05/11 Dorothy Rozdilsky I can relate to frustrated relatives 3 stars
2/06/10 art I don't know which is worse PORTMAN"s exotic dancer in CLOSER,or this NONSENSE! 1 stars
1/31/10 Simon Yes,very overt,purpose-bloated,and slightly immature- but that gets this generation right 4 stars
12/30/09 Dave Worst movie ever made. Appeals to stoners, idiots, and the easily amused. 1 stars
10/12/08 Samantha Pruitt great movie, Zach Braff is so awesome, and i love Natalie Portman! 4 stars
9/02/08 PAUL SHORTT A SIMPLISTIC AND INSINCERE CHARACTER PIECE WITH ELEMENTS OF SMUG COMEDY 1 stars
2/09/08 mb Left after an hour ... it was empty ... lacked life. 2 stars
6/25/07 Bill Witty, intelligent script with great characters, and a wonderful, feel-good ending. 5 stars
5/08/07 Jennifer garden state is this poor fuck's favorite movie. and i'm not even from new jersey. 5 stars
4/29/07 Tristan The most wonderful movie that I can't ever get bored of. Those who don't like it are ugly. 5 stars
2/26/07 Asian God 94 Briliant. Inspirational. Hilarious. Natalie Portman. Need I say more? 5 stars
2/23/07 dbx laughably overdirected, pop-indie film. but some people seem to like that sort of thing . 2 stars
2/17/07 Nick P TO the people who didn't like it, you are wrong, Garden State is great, great acting &story 5 stars
12/15/06 Nici I love this movie. It is the best movie I have ever seen!!! 5 stars
12/11/06 Terra Landolt Freaking amazing movie, and I watch it on a regular basis. It surpassed my expectations. 5 stars
11/18/06 Kirsty Creative and Pensive...mildly life-changing! 5 stars
10/06/06 Bitchflaps Funy at first, but quickly degenerates into maudlin mediocrity. 1 stars
10/03/06 Henrik Fruergaard Hansen One of my personel favourite movies of all time! 5 stars
8/08/06 cico its so special and unique 5 stars
8/05/06 Doug Awesome 5 stars
8/05/06 nicklor24 good film, unique and interesting 5 stars
6/28/06 Ricardo bad movie, bad actors 1 stars
6/26/06 Kimberly I enjoyed watching this one, interesting 4 stars
5/03/06 Christopher Lindstrom Feel good and simply creative...good for sensitive types. 5 stars
3/23/06 Osama Are you kidding me? Contrived, cliched, natalie portman is god awful too 2 stars
2/13/06 Lea Dahmer Best movie ever, 5 stars. 5 stars
11/28/05 Sully excellent, excellent, excellent 5 stars
10/16/05 millersxing One must desperately search the abyss for human relatedness in Garden State. 4 stars
10/09/05 Ionicera good until he screamed into the abyss 4 stars
9/21/05 Fritz Light, likable dramcom, but instantly forgettable. 3 stars
9/14/05 Jonathon Holmes the best directorial debut i've seen since Sam Mendez w/"American Beauty" 5 stars
8/22/05 Naka Pulses with a ethereal beauty and sly sense of humor. One of a kind. 5 stars
8/18/05 ALDO real overrated hip movie that thinks it's slice-of-life and director gets to kiss hot babe 3 stars
7/07/05 Phil M. Aficionado Vivid characters in a reality-evoking fantasy. Read Kandel's review; it's mine, too. 4 stars
5/31/05 Scott Reynolds whimsical, light, full of real feeling moments abruptly shot to hell by a boat in a dump. 3 stars
5/26/05 Indrid Cold Gee, it sure is nice when smokin' hot girls like us ugly guys for no apparent reason. 4 stars
5/20/05 hl good movie 5 stars
5/14/05 Renee Tolson Love it 5 stars
5/09/05 zeitgeist Over-rated, but good. Pretentious in a palatable way 4 stars
4/16/05 sidman656 this movie has a vibe to it, a flow 5 stars
4/16/05 Michael Lloyd extremely good movie, brilliant debut for Zach Braff 5 stars
4/15/05 Carol Conway It was okay 3 stars
4/07/05 Lina Correa Great director, funny and "nice" 4 stars
3/31/05 craig varney this garden is in a sad state it's been picked clean of plot and substance 1 stars
3/29/05 Skeeve WARNING: THIS FILM NOT TO BE WATCHED IN A SOBER STATE. 4 stars
3/28/05 Charlene Javier Not so bad. 4 stars
3/26/05 Victor Toledo I really enjoyed this film much more than I originally thought I would. 5 stars
3/25/05 Denise ok 3 stars
3/24/05 hannaho A good movie, but not exactly great. 4 stars
3/23/05 Colleen Goldrick Loved it 5 stars
3/23/05 Alice Colwell good movie 4 stars
3/10/05 The Talking Elbow Sign me up for those five star reviews. 5 stars
2/23/05 GS Over rated - Portman's quirky performaces weren't very good. 3 stars
2/22/05 re morgan cool soundtrack for sho 4 stars
2/21/05 Jeff Incredible film, hip yet introspective 5 stars
2/15/05 Bobby da Squid Fantastic film, top to bottom. Witty, sad, and real. 5 stars
2/14/05 ELI Totally one of the best movies of the year! I LOVED it 5 stars
2/12/05 Ig Great movie 4 stars
2/11/05 John Jankowski Great acting, and one of the best movie soundtracks in a long time 5 stars
2/10/05 Voncile Mayes Great first time effort but not without flaws, however I still loved this film. 4 stars
2/09/05 Maggie Beautifully done, good acting, amazing music, and freakin funny. A must see. 5 stars
2/08/05 Lisa Jochelson It was good. But I didn't get it so much. 3 stars
2/06/05 Kara Neary This is definately one of my favorites...the movie of our generation 5 stars
2/06/05 DM Holy shit. 5 stars
2/05/05 Amy Bradshaw It was very good, but it was a bit creepy in some ways to me also lol. 4 stars
2/05/05 Susan Chamberlain Very strange, but I liked it anyway. 4 stars
2/04/05 youreo More interesting watching Ms Portman's performance than flat Zach. 4 stars
2/02/05 Clifford C Gardner Pleasantly surprised - some of these kids can act 5 stars
1/31/05 april gupton LOVED IT 5 stars
1/31/05 Andrea Haresign I laughed, I cried... I wanna see it again! 5 stars
1/30/05 Xander The most beautiful, touching, and powerful film i've ever seen 5 stars
1/29/05 waldo Put a romantic evening together, some wine, some pot, and watch this movie. 5 stars
1/28/05 govenar Great beginning, then a little slow, but still good. 4 stars
1/22/05 Rob McKeown loved it... 5 stars
1/21/05 Uncle Phucker Simple but hit me right in the motherfucking heart. 5 stars
1/18/05 Z Amazing movie... great script, GREAT acting... good quirky 5 stars
1/17/05 chris. not many movie just make me feel good. this one does. 5 stars
1/14/05 TheViper The dialogue between Braff and Portman was artificial. 1 stars
1/12/05 jada quirky doesn't alway mean good 3 stars
1/07/05 Lucas Stenz Only worth watching if you're home w/ the flu 2 stars
1/05/05 ry the most original movie i've seen in years 5 stars
1/02/05 BobK898 Portman's character not believable, couldn't wait till it was over 1 stars
12/27/04 The Mockingbird so let go so let go just get in,for the effort of intelligent writing and honest acting 4 stars
12/26/04 Steve Strangeness for no reason; I just didn't care what happened. 2 stars
12/26/04 SEX PIMP natalie is hot 5 stars
12/25/04 Des Brilliant, i came out of the theater with a smile glued on my face that didnt go away 5 stars
12/19/04 fowle fantastic 5 stars
12/16/04 napoleon dynamite simply brilliant! 5 stars
12/16/04 Carl Utterback more genuinely funny and fun than any hollywood film about an estranged son burying his mom 4 stars
12/13/04 Bonnie Poon A fantastic film which explores depressed and confused people... like myself... 5 stars
12/09/04 xxx xxx 5 stars
12/06/04 Caleb Larson This movie was terrible. The script was artificial & forced, & the characters were grating. 1 stars
12/02/04 dave great movie. seen better, but worth the time & money 4 stars
11/21/04 Aisha Grace Beautiful movie. It made me laugh, cry and I simply just enjoy it. Loved it!! 5 stars
11/19/04 Desperado Apparently the last post was a blind dipshit, great movie one of my favs ever Braff rocks 5 stars
11/16/04 Jimmy Danger This movie totally rocked, I am so glad my friend "dragged" me to go see it. I loved it. 5 stars
11/15/04 josh great movie, like vanilla sky 5 stars
11/15/04 Zel :) this is my favorite movie ever. Gotta love natalie. Zach is great too!!!! 5 stars
11/12/04 Bairbre Ní Mhídheach Such a brilliant film, I'm still laughing at the different bits, it was quirky I love that 5 stars
10/28/04 Rick H This is truly a great contemporary indie insta-classic. 5 stars
10/20/04 Mike V One of the best movies I've seen 5 stars
10/19/04 Erik this movie is a waste of time and money 2 stars
10/18/04 Amber see it with someone you love, you'll fall in love with them all over again. :-) 5 stars
10/17/04 Rachael it's definitely the kind of movie that makes you happy to be alive 5 stars
10/12/04 Patrick one of the best movies i've seen in a long time. 5 stars
10/10/04 bill kaye Walked out. Bored to tears after 45 minutes. 2 stars
10/06/04 ryan it makes you want to fall in love, and if youre already in love, love that person even more 5 stars
10/05/04 T. Maj Deserves all the praise the dreary "Lost in Translation" got last year 5 stars
10/03/04 Ira Fell asleep twice -- movie a total ego trip 2 stars
9/29/04 LJ Life changing movie 5 stars
9/27/04 Justin Zach Braff captures what it is to be apart of this generation in a genuine and unique way 5 stars
9/27/04 ALFRED GOOD ACTING, COOL SONGS,WELL WRITTEN 5 stars
9/27/04 BrianWilly Pure. Genius. 5 stars
9/26/04 alicia it made me want to die and live all at once 5 stars
9/24/04 Valerie Jackson One of the best movies I have ever seen. Zach Braff puts real life on the screen. 5 stars
9/21/04 Franklin Dam Incredible movie, fantastic characters/development - Great Soundtrack 5 stars
9/18/04 mar jones great movie, unbelievable how drugs screw up your life and you continue to do them 4 stars
9/15/04 Clare AMAZING movie; I loved Sam and the deep philosophical themes that this movie brings up. 5 stars
9/15/04 Ray Superb 5 stars
9/14/04 Michael Donnelly so far this year probably the best movie i think people of all ages can relate to this film 5 stars
9/13/04 jessie i saw it twice over the weekend, absolutly drew me in, the characters, moments, music, issu 5 stars
9/12/04 Sean Most beautiful film I've seen since Rushmore 5 stars
9/11/04 karedog loved it 5 stars
9/10/04 Jeanette like, the greatest movie EVAR! 5 stars
9/08/04 Leida Fabulous Movie! Very sweet and entertaining. 5 stars
9/08/04 Prospero7 Despite a predictable ending, the film is beautifully surreal. 4 stars
9/08/04 Jaime Excellent, I laughed, I cryed and I loved! 5 stars
9/07/04 Thom Lyons A scarely accomplished debut - outstanding! 5 stars
9/07/04 Ben Smith the best film since A Beautiful Mind 5 stars
9/06/04 Frank Lynch Worth seeking out 5 stars
9/05/04 gsfan Real and yet surreal, emotional yet unmanipulative, totally honest and refreshing 5 stars
9/04/04 Titus Beautiful and touching, funny and sincere. Great work. 5 stars
9/03/04 Kate Extraordinarily slice of life with a touch of quirky humor - fantastic. 5 stars
9/03/04 Desperado A inspiring movie, one of the best of any genre that I have ever seen, Magnificent 5 stars
8/31/04 Kyle Dude, this is my new favorite movie 5 stars
8/29/04 Gabriella Excellent movie. 5 stars
8/29/04 Tony Frost Almost everything a 20something thinks but can't put a name to. 5 stars
8/29/04 Peter James Touching and well done, also stretches past the traditional romantic comedy 5 stars
8/29/04 Brad Impressive! Great film. Portman and Braff had great chemistry 5 stars
8/27/04 Kate so, so very real 5 stars
8/26/04 Vitality1 Zach Braff has a bright future ahead of him 5 stars
8/24/04 Andrew Wright After being teased by the frou frou song & trailer, this came to town. I'm glad it did. 5 stars
8/24/04 FrayLo Great story, believable emotions. 5 stars
8/24/04 zora Every part of it was well done,interesting+indie feeling.I liked it months before I saw it. 5 stars
8/24/04 JOHN HUMPHREYS ENTHRALLING 5 stars
8/23/04 LynFisher Thoroughly enjoyed it except for the end, where I thought it could have been less predicta 5 stars
8/21/04 Bruce Lamb this movie sucks. It is totally predictable. Not funny, not insightful. Sorry/ 1 stars
8/20/04 Peter James This year's Lost In Translation 5 stars
8/19/04 Erik Intrigued by the preview and then wowed by the movie. Couldn't have been better. 5 stars
8/19/04 A F Amazing. Best film so far this year. 5 stars
8/18/04 Colleen Makes you feel good. Plus the soundtrack rocked. I loved the postal service remake. 5 stars
8/16/04 Tony Gilbert One of my all time top five favorite movies 5 stars
8/15/04 Sherril The movie is touted as a romantic comedy, but it is so much more and it makes you cry. 5 stars
8/14/04 KCobain Quite wonderful 5 stars
8/14/04 Michael Fantastic. I was really expecting a lot from this movie, and it exceeded all my expectatio 5 stars
8/13/04 Elena A little clicheef but very visually innovative and stunning 4 stars
8/12/04 Jin Best in show. 5 stars
8/10/04 jacob max winkler one of the best I've seen. truly wonderful. 5 stars
8/09/04 sam a indie version of 'orange county'.A little cliched but would be great asa series on the WB 4 stars
8/08/04 amanda this movie is fabulous. it's beautiful and funny and just makes you feel good. 5 stars
8/06/04 Kurt Great writing, great acting, great characters. 5 stars
8/06/04 Stryder So Good!! Reminds you how most modern movies stink. 5 stars
8/06/04 Bossy John I'm in my late 20s and this is my new favorite film. Ever. 5 stars
8/05/04 blah blah 5 stars
7/31/04 Kevin I threw American Beauty in the garbage! I've never been so moved by a movie! 5 stars
7/26/04 Jeremy Most moving and real movie I've ever seen 5 stars
7/02/04 Carlie What a Great Movie!!!! 5 stars
7/01/04 jeffrey True & believable story. Wortht the money to see 5 stars
6/24/04 Morgan Davis Simply a classic!!! Zach Braff deserves the highest of praise for his first film. 5 stars
6/17/04 Pinkline Jones Puts Burke's Backyard to shame 5 stars
6/15/04 Jessica saw it at sundance -beautiful, funny, imaginative - can't wait to see it again. 5 stars
6/14/04 Star This film is quirky, brilliant, funny, heartwarming and so crazy that it's believable. 5 stars
6/12/04 Bill Personally, one of the best films I have ever seen. 5 stars
6/09/04 Jeff Saw it at Rockefellar. Very moving, captured my attention! 4 stars
2/26/04 Betty White I personally found myself disappointed with the picture; well-written but overplodded. 3 stars
2/24/04 Mark Very funny stuff, similar in some ways to his character on scrubs 5 stars
2/06/04 brafflover Saw this Sundance! This is the best movies I've seen in yrs. The songs seriously ROCKED!!!! 5 stars
1/31/04 Katherine Saw the last screening @ Sundance, got blown away. Braff = exceptional, inspirational even. 5 stars
1/30/04 Boombah Baby Just fantastic. Loved every second. Laughed from the first scene. 5 stars
1/25/04 sam i too saw garden state at sundance 2004 and i loved it. bravo zack braff! jersey rocks! 5 stars
1/22/04 Andy Tarr Excellent Film 5 stars
1/20/04 Super Fan All the charm of Wes Anderson, but with a lot more heart. A classic!! 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  28-Jul-2004 (R)
  DVD: 28-Dec-2004

UK
  10-Oct-2004

Australia
  25-Nov-2004


Directed by
  Zach Braff

Written by
  Zach Braff

Cast
  Zach Braff
  Natalie Portman
  Peter Sarsgaard
  Ian Holm
  Jean Smart
  Ron Leibman



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast