Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.8

Awesome50.61%
Worth A Look: 19.63%
Just Average: 6.75%
Pretty Crappy: 5.52%
Sucks: 17.48%

11 reviews, 260 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Wilson (2017) by Rob Gonsalves

Nightmare Castle by Charles Tatum

Little Hours, The by Jay Seaver

Long Night in a Dead City by Rob Gonsalves

All the Rage: Saved by Sarno by Rob Gonsalves

Street Fighting Men by Jay Seaver

Transformers: The Last Knight by Peter Sobczynski

Warriors of the Dawn by Jay Seaver

My Cousin Rachel (2017) by Jay Seaver

47 Meters Down by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Napoleon Dynamite
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by David Cornelius

"So painfully unfunny, it just might ruin your day."
1 stars

Every now and then, a movie comes along that’s loved by every single person on the planet - except me. And I’m not talking the “Gee, I didn’t think ‘Seabiscuit’ was as good as they said” kind. I’m talking the “Sweet gravy, you actually think this flaming bag of poo is good? Are you high or something?” kind. Titles like “The Sixth Sense,” “Moulin Rouge!,” and “Bridget Jones’s Diary,” just to name a few mysteriously popular crapfests that made me want to punch the screen.

We can now add to that list “Napoleon Dynamite.” The comedy (if that’s what they’re calling it) has been getting some major buzz as an indie must-see. Friends were calling it one of the funniest movies they’d ever seen. Critics were hailing it as genius. To which I respond, yet again, “Sweet gravy, you actually think this flaming bag of poo is good? Are you high or something?”

The film is like a horrible joke that just keeps going despite itself, the teller completely unaware of its sheer awfulness. It’s a one-joke movie, and that joke is this: the lead character is a loser. We sadly don’t get much more than this, mainly because director/co-writer Jared Hess and star Jon Heder do little more than let the title character have goofy hair, bad clothes, and a dopey voice. I wanted to call him a “Saturday Night Live” character and compare him to the kinds of one-note movies that those repeat roles eventually get, but no, that’d be too unfair to “The Ladies Man” and “It’s Pat.” Napoleon Dynamite, the character, is more like something off of “MAD TV,” which is meant as an insult to both.

What bothers me about the film is that Hess seems to have a grasp on what could be funny, yet he never bothers to put in any effort. Consider the first shot of the film: a plate of tater tots. By itself, a plate of tater tots is not funny. The name, the shape, the sheer idea of tater tots might be funny if presented correctly, but Hess doesn’t bother with any of that. He merely shows us tots, then asks us to laugh. “Look, everybody! Tater tots! Hilarious!” Not really.

That’s the whole movie, right there. Napoleon is the rough sketch of a comic character, and in this movie, we get only ideas to what kind of complete loser he could be. Hess and company fail to flesh him out any further, content with the mere suggestion of a caricature, assuming that such a sketch would be enough. It isn’t. (You could complain that Napoleon is a wholly unlikable character, but then, he’s not trying to be; what irks me is that in his unlikability, there’s simply nothing of any interest, comical or otherwise. His off-putting persona only makes him - and, by extention, the film itself - endlessly grating.) This character is the indie film equivalent of, say, Adam Sandler’s “Little Nicky” - one character idea, repeated badly. And the secondary characters run equally flat, meaning there’s no solace in the supporting cast.

More problems. It would seem that the film would work best (or, at least, better) had Hess gone further either toward a more complex, realistic character (see “Welcome To the Dollhouse,” for example) or toward a more outlandish exaggeration of the clueless idiot (“Dumb and Dumber,” perhaps). At times, it begins to lean one way or the other, then retreats to its safe zone of “boy, it’s fun to watch ol’ pal Heder clown around with that haircut.” Yawn.

And then, if that were not enough, the finale comes, asking us in one final scene to have an emotional reaction for characters in which we have never been asked to invest before. The entire film plays at a cold distance, letting us laugh at Napoleon and his friends, never caring what happens - and then, suddenly, When In Rome’s “The Promise” fades up on the soundtrack, and now we’re automatically supposed to get a warm, fuzzy feeling inside. Can’t happen that way, fellas. Can’t just dump it on us in two minutes and get the reaction you want. In order to have an emotionally charged ending, we need to care for the people involved, which we are never required to do. It’s a horrible, clumsy ending, which, to be fair, fits with the horrible, clumsy everything else.

Oh, there is one more bit of clumsiness, hidden so the lucky don’t have to deal with it. Many comedies include a little post-credits cookie, a quick stinger to treat those who stuck around with one last gag. In “Napoleon Dynamite,” however, this quick stinger stretches on for five agonizing minutes - and feels three times as long. It’s not a cookie, but an entire other scene, one so awkardly played that it manages to top every bad moment that preceded it. Like so much of the film, it probably sounded good as an idea, then fell apart through lousy execution.

There are those who will love this movie. Its attempts at comedy shove forward enough faux-cool that some will see it as actual cool, and if it’s hip it must be good, right? Others may in fact be genuinely entertained by Heder’s characterization. And to them I say congratulations, you’re far more able than I am to keep interest in a failing one-joke premise. Are you high or something?

link directly to this review at http://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=8532&reviewer=392
originally posted: 12/20/04 20:15:35
[printer] printer-friendly format  
OFFICIAL SELECTION: 2004 Sundance Film Festival. For more in the 2004 Sundance Film Festival series, click here.
OFFICIAL SELECTION: 2004 SXSW Film Festival. For more in the 2004 South By Southwest Film Festival series, click here.
OFFICIAL SELECTION: 2004 CineVegas Film Festival. For more in the 2004 CineVegas Film Festival series, click here.

User Comments

6/27/14 Zobox Hilarious 5 stars
6/16/14 Eric Plant this movie makes you hurt after all the laughs 4 stars
9/16/12 roscoe napoleon is a good character, but he is in a bad film. 2 stars
3/10/10 Monday Morning Heard some good things - surprised it was so horrible. Can I give less than one star? 1 stars
10/18/09 Chad Dillon Cooper Very,very funny film. Hats off to the cast and crew of this comedy masterpiece 5 stars
4/27/09 El Freako Yep, the movie was terrible. Could have been funny if it actually tried. 1 stars
1/08/09 Alexandra people stop giving this movie one star, it's freaking hilarious!! 5 stars
9/02/08 Shaun Wallner Never laughed so hard in my Life!! 5 stars
5/22/08 PAUL SHORTT BUBBLES WITH BARELY SUPRESSED LOATHING FOR ITS CHARACTERS AND SETTING 1 stars
5/10/08 Matt One of the most overrated movies of all time. Completely unlikable characters all around. 1 stars
4/23/08 Milhouse Simply Brilliant. 5 stars
4/22/08 Vermon Without a doubt the WORST movie I've ever had to sit through. Painfully bad!!! 1 stars
3/24/08 Isaac M. Baranoff Astoundingly unfunny. 1 stars
3/16/08 Zachary Plotless with bad jokes, don't bother. 2 stars
3/02/08 ladavies I swear I went to high school with Napoleon, I could relate. 4 stars
1/25/08 man horrible 1 stars
12/03/07 BBTN The only movie I've ever watched that elicited no emotion from me. Even Beowulf was better. 1 stars
11/12/07 Jay The characters were unique, hilarious, and loveable. If u didn't laugh, I feel sorry 4 u. 5 stars
10/17/07 Beau Good, funny, weird humour, the happy hands club cracked me up! good character development! 4 stars
10/07/07 KNurse horrible,horrible, horrible, not funny 1 stars
10/02/07 wall stupid 1 stars
9/28/07 dude horrible 1 stars
5/31/07 Yeti Who ever gave this movie less than 5 stars is a flippin idiot... Gosh! 5 stars
5/18/07 Nat Crazy and funny! The one-liners from this movie will live on forever! 5 stars
5/17/07 Craig Cornelius tells it like it is. A load of unfunny trendy bullshit. 1 stars
5/02/07 Tracey Chambers stupid. A movie should be able to make everyone laugh. not just people in the area 2 stars
4/01/07 action movie fan dynamite it.s bot! a bore it is 2 stars
3/30/07 man terrible 1 stars
3/18/07 jess OMG hu ever says this film is stupid or rubbish is CRAZY!! its the best ever vote for pedro 5 stars
2/06/07 AJ Muller About as odd as you'd want, but somehow sweet and honest. Oh, and freaking hilarious. 5 stars
1/27/07 Nick-o-less Vote For Pedro 5 stars
1/18/07 movieman HORRID 5 stars
1/11/07 ringo to david cornelius....GET ANOTHER JOB !! you suck at this one!!!! 5 stars
12/16/06 Jennifer I love this movie. ^^ Go Preston, IDAHO! 5 stars
12/05/06 Dude Fucking Aweful 5 stars
11/25/06 l this is the lamest movie I've ever seen. I can't think of a movie I dislike more. 1 stars
9/10/06 Booksworm This movie stunk so bad I thought the toilet had backed up. 1 stars
8/09/06 Dragon The Artist Like Nacho Libre, Napoleon Dynamite is worthy of cult classic status. 5 stars
7/26/06 Big Dick DaMooch A CULT CLASSIC!!!!!!!!!!A MUST SEE 5 stars
6/24/06 matthew its funny 5 stars
6/07/06 Indrid Cold ND is the greatest screen nerd since Garth Algar. Highly original and entertaining. 4 stars
6/05/06 Sugarfoot What you are about to watch, is deeply stupid. I mean if you watch Napoleon Dynamite 1 stars
5/30/06 Bryan McAllister this movie is so funny 5 stars
5/11/06 SpyV Bizarre. Just a really wierd movie - that I liked! 4 stars
4/28/06 ashley id watch it million times in a row 5 stars
4/09/06 poo WORST 1 stars
4/01/06 JRE no point. no plot. not funny. i don't know why so many people liked this 2 stars
3/28/06 OVERRATED. i agree completely with David Cornelious... plot goes nowhere worth going 2 stars
3/25/06 bullit16 So awful. So SO awful. 1 stars
3/19/06 Anthony Feor I hate this movie 1 stars
3/12/06 Eevil Wolfie How can you people like this movie?? It's like waching paint dry! Boring! 1 stars
1/20/06 matt to david cornelius, yes i was high but this movie still sucked 1 stars
1/04/06 Jordan Delapp I loved it 5 stars
1/03/06 Piz You laugh at how incredibly dumb this movie and its characters are 4 stars
12/14/05 billy bones that movie was flippin sweet 5 stars
10/31/05 Dan Unfunny 1 stars
10/25/05 ShadowFace5 I'm pretty sure you can live outside of Idaho and enjoy this film. 5 stars
10/25/05 Green Gremlin A rare cinematic treat...why can't they make more films like this ?!? 5 stars
10/12/05 Betty Barret YOU HAVE TO LIVE IN IDAHO TO GET THE HUMOR!! AND YOU NEED A SENSE OF HUMOR but not u i see 5 stars
10/11/05 Jennifer Free This has got to be one of the worse movies ever made. It is not even funny! Just dumb! 1 stars
9/24/05 Ashanti This movie is so incredibly hilarious. ppl that dont like it I'd never be your friend 5 stars
9/20/05 Martin I love it. I want to marry Deb have Uncle Rico as my best Man and name our first kid Pedro! 5 stars
9/08/05 matt what a piece of CRAP, i didnt laugh once 1 stars
8/22/05 The Mockingbird GOSH 5 stars
8/18/05 ES i'll rate this whatever I want to- Gosh! 4 stars
8/14/05 Renee is Gabby not bad, just not great either but fairly well made. 3 stars
8/14/05 Landshark actually I'm more like a delicious bass ; ) 5 stars
8/11/05 ALDO A movie about nerds, made for dorks, probably by geeks. Teens acting like 3rd graders. 2 stars
8/08/05 Bubba Fish Funny the first time, fun to talk about, but after that, the fun is all spent 4 stars
7/28/05 Kip That's what I'm talking about! 5 stars
7/25/05 Tummi Yeesssss.... ;-) Screenshots and video clips from ND for download - www.tmajorino.kom.pl 5 stars
7/06/05 Jessica an original funny movie something people can relate to 5 stars
7/05/05 Phil M. Aficionado Different enough to be worth seeing, funny enough to enjoy, but shallow in the end 3 stars
6/20/05 Amanda Roberts I'll do whatever I feel like it ,gosh,love it!!!!! 5 stars
6/13/05 Pippin007 Ok but not the best 3 stars
6/12/05 peyton westlake anyone who doesnt like this movie is needs to get a life! 5 stars
6/10/05 C Hernandez I can count on one hand the number of times I laughed or cracked a smile. 2 stars
6/10/05 Tricia & Meri It is the bomb digity 5 stars
6/10/05 Danielle freaking sucks 1 stars
6/06/05 Tom Trusky C Idaho Film Collection 4 more info. Soon 2b posted: student extras memoirs & cow pix 4 stars
5/31/05 hop never seen it, but I can quote it word for word. Everyone says its great. 4 stars
5/30/05 Melissa LOVED IT! Gets better with every viewing. Sweeetttt! 5 stars
5/28/05 Jake Hilarious comedy makes up for lack of plot 5 stars
5/28/05 Arse Poet Comedies don't need a good plot to be funny. Just look at Caddyshack. This movie wins. 5 stars
5/21/05 Cham A cult classic? Sure. A good movie? Hell no. Was a script even written? 2 stars
5/19/05 wendy rogers What a great movie! Where is the sequal? Vote for Pedro! : ) 5 stars
5/17/05 Pippin007 This Movie isn't funny. Its stupid and dumb. The story is very weak. 1 stars
5/06/05 Amy Riggsby One word: Stupid. 1 stars
5/04/05 Cindy Lovell Very odd movie... 3 stars
5/04/05 kristina seamons It was cool to see people that I know and all of the places where I have been. 4 stars
5/02/05 Kris UT/ID humor!! This is one that gets funnier the more times you see it. 5 stars
5/01/05 tina The funniest movie I have ever seen. If you didn't like it, then you weren't meant to 5 stars
5/01/05 Paul Shawver quirky 2 stars
4/24/05 OverTheRainbow Huh?? 3 stars
4/22/05 Kim Funny but slow. 3 stars
4/21/05 Colleen Goldrick see it once 4 stars
4/19/05 Chris Stephens One of the funniest movies I have seen 5 stars
4/19/05 Sharon Fernando Good deadpan acting saved boring, plotless ramble of highschool geeks friendship. 2 stars
4/19/05 matt wakeman Funny and even endearing. Loved it. 5 stars
4/18/05 Maril Smith I loved the quirky, odd humor of this film - truly original 5 stars
4/16/05 buddy great movie! vote for pedro! 5 stars
4/16/05 Sharon Davis Thought it might be funny, it was, but only a little. 2 stars
4/15/05 Carol Conway This movie is so boring 2 stars
4/15/05 The Dean I don't get how you can put VERY funny and try to stay awake in the same sentence. 1 stars
4/15/05 Jeff Gilliland If you live in the area, you get the inside jokes like the tshirt selection. Awesome. 5 stars
4/14/05 Bradee its so totaly awesome I Cant get enough of it!! There isnt no point though 5 stars
4/12/05 Junior LaRoche Sure to be a cult classic. 4 stars
4/09/05 Kristan anderson Truly unique movie. VERY slow, But, VERY funny. If you can stay awake it's worth watching. 4 stars
4/08/05 Denise funny 4 stars
4/07/05 DM Very quotable, but boring at points and overrated 4 stars
4/04/05 killbill03 This film was very refreshing. Small and funny. Like a John Hughes meets the Coen Brothers 5 stars
4/04/05 Danielle Hilarious, sweet, and genuinely entertaining. 5 stars
3/28/05 Ismael Rayas the movie was very cool to me i just liked it other people think it just dum but not me. 5 stars
3/24/05 Abbi definitely made me laugh 4 stars
3/23/05 Michael Lloyd encredibly funny, most quotable movie ever 4 stars
3/17/05 indrid cold Napoleon takes his place as one of the classic movie nerds, but the movie is just ok. 3 stars
3/15/05 Amy Lynch This is pretty much the funniest movie I have ever watched!!!! 5 stars
3/04/05 Sam Eskenazi love it or hate it; i love it 4 stars
3/02/05 HORAN THE MAN!!!!! g76it5ywuioytervgtni egeuitr!!!! 1 stars
2/27/05 lisa lornie a clean movie thats also hillarious now thats sweeet 5 stars
2/26/05 Edler Superb! Those criticizing the movie just don't like the genre. 5 stars
2/26/05 Addison Collins i love it!!!! it is flippin sweet! 5 stars
2/25/05 Mia Griggs Had to watch it twice to truly appreciate it. Weird but funny. 4 stars
2/25/05 jabroniunc if you don't feel like quoting this movie you missed it. 5 stars
2/24/05 kevin flippin sweet movie 5 stars
2/22/05 kyle kep 25 Its an A+++++++ 5 stars
2/20/05 Ahnold Wlorth a look for the reason it's innovative like Heathers or Pulp Fiction were b/4 copied 4 stars
2/19/05 Admiral Piett If you dont think this film is great, its because you, sadly, are a geek...quit hating. 5 stars
2/17/05 crandall101 funny 4 stars
2/16/05 Rachel Neely I just could not get into this movie. Very slow and boring 1 stars
2/14/05 Jim The very odd adventures of affectless Idahoans 4 stars
2/11/05 John Jankowski absolutely aweful movie - slow, and about absolutely nothing. 1 stars
2/06/05 tediboy I didn't expect this film to be good 4 stars
2/02/05 Dan Funny :) 3 stars
1/30/05 Bobby da Squid OMFG - I can't stop laughing 5 stars
1/29/05 Fred Pellerito You find yourself quoting lines from this movie! 5 stars
1/28/05 Ali I hated this movie. Maybe to find it funny you had to make fun of geeks in hi school. 1 stars
1/28/05 MorallySound It's even better then chatting online with babes all day! 5 stars
1/27/05 Charlie Heder has some real talent! 100 times better than that crap, Spiderman-2! 5 stars
1/25/05 kim ND is truely godlike in staure. 5 stars
1/24/05 Jon Heder My movie was flippin sweet.. probably the best movie ever made. 5 stars
1/23/05 pin Tots 5 stars
1/22/05 Rob McKeown Hilarious... I didn't stop laughing... watched it twice back to back.... 5 stars
1/18/05 Charles McRae Babbit This movie is absolutely aweful. This is the worst movie I've ever seen. 1 stars
1/16/05 Nobody One of those "it's so stupid it's funny" movies 5 stars
1/16/05 Joy Benemann Not funny, just boring 1 stars
1/16/05 tina This movie is genius - totally original, simple and hilarious 5 stars
1/14/05 Osama's Mama flipp'n sweet 5 stars
1/11/05 kitten77017 This is the dumbest movie i have ever seen. But yet I still watch it over and over again 4 stars
1/10/05 matt sleider funny ass movie the best damn movie 5 stars
1/10/05 Faustus Fantastic. Everyone who's ever gone to school knew a Napoleon Dynamite- or perhaps was one. 5 stars
1/09/05 George boring, empty film - I barely laughed 2 stars
1/07/05 Amy Carey The funniest movie I have seen in a long time. Simply hilarious. 5 stars
1/06/05 TyrantisTerror I like my movies with PLOT! 1 stars
1/03/05 el nino this movie has got to be the funniest movies ever 5 stars
1/02/05 Tony J. Hilarious and real 5 stars
12/30/04 earl hofert Whoa! 5 stars
12/29/04 Tyler Crankovich Flippin Sweet 5 stars
12/27/04 efrain A+ you hafta be a dorky kid in the US who grew up in the 80s to understand it fully. 5 stars
12/24/04 Freddy so stupid that it makes u keep laughing 5 stars
12/24/04 Charlene Javier I don't get the hype as well... 2 stars
12/15/04 Etheridge Hoogendijk If this is any indication, I wish there were no such place as Idaho, as my sister thinks. 2 stars
12/09/04 CWarner One of my favorite movies! Gotta go - I'm gonna go make some sweet moolah with Uncle Rico 5 stars
12/04/04 Riley Nampoleon Dynamite is a work of pure genius. it is a landmark in cinamatography!!! 5 stars
12/01/04 Erin Waldrop just stupid 1 stars
11/27/04 johny HIlarious as hell-o 5 stars
11/09/04 Jenno absolutly loved it... plain, random humor. 5 stars
11/07/04 poo'd Its like Not Another Teen Movie, but more pretentious. 4 stars
11/04/04 cameron.brett@thomson.com Fantastic - he fell over too much though. 4 stars
11/01/04 Matt Layton Outstanding! 5 stars
10/31/04 kyle altes all u !@#$rs dont know funny if u think it sucked 5 stars
10/26/04 Dave R Welcome to the Dollhouse, on steroids! YES! 5 stars
10/22/04 Naka YES!!!!! 5 stars
10/12/04 Mike P TIna You fat lard... haah 5 stars
10/08/04 Ryan Olson I'll think whatever I want. Idiot! 4 stars
10/01/04 sandy e. I loved it !! Hoorah for nerds and simple films !! 5 stars
9/28/04 asina If you don't like this movie, it means you're an asshole. 5 stars
9/28/04 Angela SWEETEST FLIPPIN MOVIE EVER 5 stars
9/27/04 Caitlin It was awesome 5 stars
9/25/04 Bob Penfield Worst movie ever made, without a doubt. 1 stars
9/23/04 Joelio Styles Word can't express the greatness of ND! Pedro Is The Man! Debbie Drinks 1% cause she's phat 5 stars
9/22/04 denny a totally different type of hero 4 stars
9/16/04 walther speechless 4 stars
9/15/04 Hicky Bill Wicka Wicka Wonk! 5 stars
9/14/04 Patrick completely captured my sense of humor 5 stars
9/13/04 Nick Ristone Amazing comedy 5 stars
9/10/04 Curtis This movie is gonna make some sweet moola on dvd 5 stars
9/08/04 Brad I loved this movie! it is hillarious 5 stars
9/07/04 Dave Chudleigh I enjoyed it 4 stars
9/05/04 Jeff Dundas Napoleon Dynamite will leave you feeling warm and fuzzy. 4 stars
9/03/04 Tyrantis It was funny, but the plot had no structure. There was no main conflict and now climax. 3 stars
9/02/04 dougie its flippin awsome 5 stars
9/01/04 Jake Rice 5 stars
9/01/04 Kristin This was the worst film I've seen in a long time.The Characters and storywere not dynamic. 1 stars
8/31/04 jcjs funny, cute, clever 5 stars
8/28/04 Jillian pretty much the best movie... EVER 5 stars
8/27/04 m. willie aames gosh, it's pretty much the best movie of all time. 5 stars
8/26/04 Rachel Well I am married to Napoleon so I had to like it but seriously i loved it: my fav movie! 5 stars
8/26/04 Maureen McDevitt I laughed, but I felt guilty about it. This is not award-winning cinema. 3 stars
8/26/04 John Funniest movie Ive ever seen! When watching it I kept saying to myself "I knew that guy!" 5 stars
8/22/04 EMily IT IS THE BEST MOVIE EVER... so funny! 5 stars
8/16/04 Dtuck wow just wow 5 stars
8/16/04 Peter James After viewing the trailer you might not want to see it but give it a chance...funny 4 stars
8/13/04 The Grinch I lllllove TECHNOLOGY 5 stars
8/11/04 Garrett Way funnier than "Passion of the Christ." 5 stars
8/11/04 David I love it 5 stars
8/09/04 elizaveta refreshing AND hilarious! 5 stars
8/09/04 Kerrie Seriously the funniest movie I have ever seen. I almost peed my pants. 5 stars
8/05/04 Mix Master Mason Pretty goshdarn great. Ghost World meets Gummo. 4 stars
8/02/04 shiela The entire theater was laughing out loud 5 stars
8/01/04 trixie for people who think they're hipsters 1 stars
7/31/04 Chuddely Choupe Hilarious and great 5 stars
7/31/04 iambubby Refreshing -- but better appreciated if you're 21 or younger 4 stars
7/30/04 blake the movie is freakin awesoem prbly the funniest movie ive ever seen 5 stars
7/30/04 john akers this movie sucks - it is not funny - it is not worth paying 8 bucks to see - go see i robot 1 stars
7/28/04 Jessica This movie makes me laugh even out of the theatre. Incredible! 5 stars
7/27/04 Mike Devans Hilarious 4 stars
7/27/04 Trevor The quirkiness is obviously funny. Irony is key here-a protagonist antihero fighting apathy 5 stars
7/27/04 Brad I love this movie! 5 stars
7/26/04 deb a true classic to the humor of a true patron of the arts 5 stars
7/26/04 Bryan H Best Film I have seen in years, Loved it. Laughed so hard I cried 5 stars
7/25/04 Lord Jiggy Starts slow, but pays off in an honest way. Very nice. 4 stars
7/22/04 amy its awesome.. best movie ever made, you are boring if you dont find it funny. 5 stars
7/22/04 Bob Napoleon Dynamite kicks butt - it has you chuckling the whole time 5 stars
7/22/04 asina i really wanted to like it, but sadly, it just plain sucks. 2 stars
7/21/04 chris you either get it or you dont. chances are I would only like you if you get it though. 5 stars
7/20/04 leticia it's weird and nerdy, but i loved it... it's hilarious and it's definately something new! 5 stars
7/20/04 Otis Balls-on-chin funny 5 stars
7/19/04 matt Dang! This movie is SWEET! 5 stars
7/18/04 Sam one of the worst movies i have ever seen. 1 stars
7/15/04 Maggie This movie freakin rocks 5 stars
7/14/04 zach very original and witty, a must see 5 stars
7/12/04 Janelle The Best Movie Ever 5 stars
7/11/04 Kathy Could not wait for it to be over 1 stars
7/11/04 Marrield Berry This now happens to be the best movie I have ever seen...I loved it. 5 stars
7/10/04 Carrie Disappointing. I wouldn't even recommend it on video. 2 stars
7/10/04 Jeff In 10 yrs lines from this movie will be regurgitated ad nauseum...like Caddyshack is today 5 stars
7/03/04 rocky@volcanomail.com Man I loved this movie. Funny, with a killer payoff that will bring a smile to your face. 4 stars
6/30/04 Pamela This was the worst movie ever. EVER. 1 stars
6/25/04 Thomas Pacheco messed up film but good fun 4 stars
6/23/04 Lauren Nissen This movie rocks my socks. Funniest film I've seen since "Dodgeball" yesterday-but still. 5 stars
6/16/04 Christian Housh I actually cried because I was laughing so hard. I've never done that in a theater before. 5 stars
6/16/04 nika i'm not a movie person, and it takes alot to get me to go see one, but i loved this movie! 5 stars
6/14/04 claudia some people will love to hate this film because they love to hate 4 stars
6/12/04 moviefan what a lame, all been done before, trying to hard, look at me I'm a "quirky" director movie 1 stars
6/12/04 J Gross "Dynamite" 5 stars
6/11/04 Charlie Hess No, my brothers movie iz awesome, yo. 5 stars
6/09/04 Gil I embarrassed myself in the theater because I laughed so hard!! 5 stars
6/04/04 gothar Hilarious. Feels like Rushmore but with more flavor and diversity of characters. 5 stars
5/29/04 June Great 5 stars
5/26/04 chrissy absolutely hilarious! 5 stars
5/20/04 The Grinch Saw it at the Jacksonville Film Festival...it's the funniest movie I've seen in years 5 stars
4/13/04 Paul Adams it will be a Classic. Very Funny! 5 stars
3/03/04 James Hess I guess my brothers film is pretty good, i guess 5 stars
2/15/04 kenny this movie was hilarious 5 stars
2/07/04 CC I was not so Impressed 1 stars
1/26/04 Jim Beam Holy Crap! This movie is the best ever 5 stars
1/25/04 Angela Funniest movie ever! 5 stars
1/25/04 dayna the best movie ever 5 stars
1/23/04 Tyson Best comedy ever!!! 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  11-Jun-2004 (PG)
  DVD: 16-May-2006

UK
  N/A (PG)

Australia
  11-Nov-2004 (M)


Directed by
  Jared Hess

Written by
  Jared Hess
  Jerusha Hess

Cast
  Jon Heder
  Jon Gries
  Efren Ramirez
  Aaron Ruell
  Tina Majorino
  Diedrich Bader



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast