Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.75

Awesome40%
Worth A Look: 27.83%
Just Average: 9.57%
Pretty Crappy: 12.17%
Sucks: 10.43%

4 reviews, 91 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Fortress, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

MFA by Jay Seaver

You Only Live Once by Jay Seaver

November (2017) by Jay Seaver

Friendly Beast by Jay Seaver

Foreigner, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

Tom of Finland by Rob Gonsalves

Happy Death Day by Jay Seaver

78/52: Hitchcock's Shower Scene by Jay Seaver

Death Note: Light Up the New World by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Dracula (1992)
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Ryan Arthur

"Keanu should've been eaten or something."
4 stars

Dracula's a hippie?

Not exactly.

This is the umpteenth retelling of Bram Stoker's tale about a bloodsucking...uh...bloodsucker. But this time, it's heavy on the romance and eroticism.

Gary Oldman is the title character, complete with prerequisite Oldman goofy accent. Drac meets Jonathon Harker (Keanu "Dude" Reeves) and discovers that Harker's woman Mina (Winona Ryder) is looking a lot like his old love, who died many moons ago, and whom he was waited for all this time. It was because of her death that he renounced God, embraced Satan and vampirism and became who/what he is. So Drac takes off for London, showing up much younger, wearing these John Lennon sunglasses, long hair and sporting quite the dapper wardrobe. He's gonna woo Mina back to Transylvania or die trying.

What's stopping him? Professor Abraham Von Helsing (Anthony Hopkins), an expert on the vampire. He's onto Drac, and he ultimately kills Drac's first London conquest, Mina's friend Lucy (Sadie Frost), calling her the Devil's concubine and slicing the ol' noggin off. He ends up in Transylvania (with Mina) for a final showdown.

Heavy on the visuals (they're gorgeous, though) but somewhat light on a working narrative, Dracula's almost operatic. It plays like a tragedy, and in a sense, it is. I hesitate to call it a modern horror masterpiece, but as horror films go, it's got quite the pedigree. The actors (with the possible exception of Keanu "check me for a pulse" Reeves) jump headfirst into their roles. Lots of heaving breasts and breathless dialogue, but also lots of emotion through shouting. It's not Francis Ford Coppola's best work, but it's also not his most commerical, either.

But it's good. Visually stunning, and nicely acted.

Plus Tom Waits is Renfield. Tom Waits!

link directly to this review at http://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=854&reviewer=7
originally posted: 09/25/98 11:16:19
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

9/13/17 morris campbell visionary but very overrated 1 stars
5/21/17 David Hollingsworth Forget about Keanu, and you have a sublime masterwork. 5 stars
9/15/13 Lestat Greatest vampire movie ever; Gary Oldman is perfect as my Lord and Master, Count Dracula 5 stars
11/19/11 Andi Movie sucks ass, its terrible and has aged awfully. Best parts are the smut scnes. 1 stars
6/05/11 art GOOD GRIEF,everyone is so HAMMY in this HORROR flick! 1 stars
6/27/10 stevie68a One of my all time favorite movies. 5 stars
2/25/10 art best drac was DAVID NIVEN in OLD DRACULA! 1 stars
2/13/10 brian Suitably overwrought and Gothic, gorgeous and inspiring at times, but Keanu is truly awful. 3 stars
1/19/09 Fruitcake angel Visually gorgeous and fun. Mina and Lucy look wonderful in those lovely dresses... 5 stars
10/21/08 Shaun Wallner Scary Film! 5 stars
4/14/08 Alex The Best 5 stars
3/01/08 Pamela White unless you read the book first you're lost, shallow 2 stars
12/19/07 Mary Don't care about makeup, effects etc. Script sucks=movie sucks. I miss Lugosi. 1 stars
11/15/07 mahmoud good movie 5 stars
9/25/07 David Cohen Loud and graphic, a dose of subtlty could have made it great 3 stars
9/09/07 Jubei There are only two seminal vampire movies: Nosferatu and this Dracula.Respects to Lugosi. 5 stars
7/29/07 me they wernt real bats they were pretending 1 stars
6/21/07 Dan I wish I could give it 4 1/2 stars. Reeves was the lone drawback to an otherwise great film 4 stars
4/15/07 Dark Enchantress one of the best! 5 stars
3/07/07 dbx Frankly awesome. But if you have no stomachfor gothic romance/fantasy - avoid. 5 stars
2/16/07 Vip Ebriega One of the best'Draculas' out there. 4 stars
12/26/06 Darth Vader gr8 movie. did u guys notice that monica belluci plays in it? YES,she's naked in it 4 stars
9/21/06 Booksworm What, are you poeple high?Do you seriously expect me to believe that you have read the book 5 stars
3/29/06 SushiLover Stylish, Sexy, Great Performances 5 stars
3/24/06 UndeadCaleb All who hate this movie can get bent 5 stars
3/24/06 Dethbyhashi Greatest adaptation to the Novel 5 stars
3/24/06 BlackCat scary and sexy 5 stars
2/23/06 TB Need to get rid of romance and a great Dracula film 5 stars
12/28/05 Matt Terrible script, D-grade acting, flaws galore, pretty good makeup job 1 stars
12/19/05 Indrid Cold Seems wrong to give it less than a 4, but the plot is bad to the point of being silly. 4 stars
9/12/05 Total Crap The most gothic movie out there. Love the cover. 5 stars
8/12/05 ES I liked the suit of armour he wears for five seconds in the beginning= everything else bad 1 stars
8/05/05 Pierre Still haven't gotten the bad taste out of my mouth. Good director, bad movie. 1 stars
5/12/05 norma this flm was well directed, the stars were well chosen and it deserves all the credit it g 5 stars
4/21/05 J K Rowling best dracula movie, not too bright though 4 stars
2/25/05 dbx one of my favorite movies; deliciously excessive, gary oldman is hot. 5 stars
2/14/05 J. Elaine Greenup solid 4 stars
1/28/05 Mmmm...Blood Oldman is Dracula 5 stars
1/28/05 Who is... Invasio? The Irresistable Force! Dracula is the real Irresistable force. Invasio barely compares 5 stars
1/28/05 Dracula This the best adaptation of my undead life! Blah! 5 stars
1/28/05 Cave Dweller Amazing movie 5 stars
1/28/05 Calebx Awesome Dracula movie 5 stars
1/28/05 DethbyHashi The greatest vampire film ever 5 stars
1/23/05 revenge of the poo-nuggets MAAAAAAGOOOBAHHHHHHHH 5 stars
12/14/04 Tom Benton Could have been better, much too erotic - but very well-done nonetheless. Oldman is great. 4 stars
11/17/04 chris some great bits in it 4 stars
11/09/04 Clare Scally The greatest film ever made! Gary Oldman looks gorgeous! 5 stars
8/25/04 American Slasher Goddess Very dull with uninvolving characters and storyline. 1 stars
6/24/04 Karen Stockdale Terrifically filmed if a little overacted at times. Oldman is wonderful!!! 4 stars
5/08/04 Pagan Excellent film John Robertson has no idea whats hes on about, fucking fool 5 stars
2/09/04 danielle it's my favorite movie 5 stars
11/28/03 john lots of camera tricks can't hide terrible casting and bad script 2 stars
11/24/03 Thiago This one will never be forgotten. A classic. 4 stars
10/24/03 Danny I think it is one of the best vamp movies so far 4 stars
7/03/03 Dave Hopman Not scary, but still a very good movie, although it's not very faithful to the book. 4 stars
4/04/03 Jack Sommersby Unscary and uninvolving. More concerned with f/x than story and character. 1 stars
11/22/02 brianna bah! its ok, but not a patch on the novel... 3 stars
11/19/02 Uncle Salty Two words: Overdone. (I know it's only one but, just say it twice.) 2 stars
9/29/02 Charles Tatum Overacted costume drama, Dracula without scares?? 3 stars
8/03/02 Edler False advertizing. This don't follow the book at all! It sucks wang! 1 stars
5/10/02 Butterbean I love Oldman, Coppola,and vampire flicks but I was very disappointed here. 2 stars
2/05/02 Nevz this film is pretty shallow, could of done better. 2 stars
1/05/02 Rhonda Fricker one of the best movies I have seen..Gary Oldman is amazing 5 stars
1/04/02 kevin very good nice compliment to john 5 stars
12/10/01 john linton roberson Awful postmodern failure.More dated than any version;painful to watch. 2 stars
10/17/01 Evil Kittie THis movie kicked ass!!1 5 stars
10/14/01 E-Funk One of Coppola's best. Visually stunning and horrifically entertaining. 5 stars
8/18/01 Andrew Carden Very Crazy Remake Of Dracula. Like A Roller Coaster Ride. 4 stars
7/27/01 Miguel Nuno Montes For me, one of the best movies of all time!! 5 stars
7/26/01 TLsmooth Keanu sucks ass but Oldman is fucking awesome. Ryder is a slut. 4 stars
4/02/01 Ro Ryder and Reeve are miscast and Van Helsing's written wrong. Apart from that - delicious! 4 stars
2/06/01 HELEN McBRIDE TOTALLY COOL MY FAVOURITE FILM IN THE WORLD 5 stars
1/25/01 Kat Best Dracula movie ever!!!!!!!!!!!! Gary Oldman is the best actor ever! 5 stars
1/08/01 Keanuette A sumptuous gothic flick! Keanu as Harker was a good choice, Shame about the accent.... 5 stars
11/13/00 The EVIL Penguin a stunning feast for your eyes, but stilory 4 stars
10/07/00 matthew didn't like at first viewing, but grew on me 4 stars
9/18/00 Tom McCullough Yes, it is scary, and incredible to look at and listen to on a good home theater system. 5 stars
5/17/00 Creeper Not scary, more romance than the novel, but an incredible film. 5 stars
12/04/99 PervertedPixie Funky, horney goth flick. The English actors piss on the Americans. 5 stars
11/14/99 Sherif Nashaat A touching story of love amid a visually stunning atmoshere. Complete Genius. 5 stars
10/26/99 Karahde Khan This is not Bram Stoker's Dracula. It's Barbara Cartland's Dracula. Oldman sucks anyway. 2 stars
9/21/99 Kandinsky Agree with that "Victorian MTV" comment...only good part is Waits as Renfield 2 stars
9/11/99 the Grinch Disagree w/ JLR's vampire purism. Coppola used no modern filmaking techniques...very worthy 4 stars
8/24/99 jeff heath pretty entertaining, great cast. 4 stars
8/15/99 Elizaveta Gary Oldman makes this excellent film into an absolutely astounding experience! 5 stars
6/14/99 Dylan Pretty good 4 stars
1/09/99 Thorn Silvertree Severely flawed, but VISUALLY! What a FEAST! 5 stars
11/27/98 Mr.Pink Only Oldman shows something of a performance. Some stunning visuals, though........ 3 stars
11/23/98 Lord Of The Dunce I hate vampire films, but Oldman was superb. 5 stars
11/18/98 MinxxDaShorty I love this film, it puts me in a trance every time i watch it! 5 stars
11/12/98 Jules Alright, it has faults, but it's PURE FILM MAGIC!!! 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  13-Nov-1992 (R)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  N/A




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast