Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
2.1

Awesome: 5.21%
Worth A Look: 10.42%
Just Average: 12.5%
Pretty Crappy: 33.33%
Sucks38.54%

5 reviews, 66 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Fortress, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

MFA by Jay Seaver

You Only Live Once by Jay Seaver

November (2017) by Jay Seaver

Friendly Beast by Jay Seaver

Foreigner, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

Tom of Finland by Rob Gonsalves

Happy Death Day by Jay Seaver

78/52: Hitchcock's Shower Scene by Jay Seaver

Death Note: Light Up the New World by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Lost in Space
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Ryan Arthur

"Danger, intelligent movie viewer, danger!"
2 stars

Muddy as hell.

Bleh.

I was never really a fan of the television show. Too cheesy for my tastes, really. So I was curious to see if the film adaptation would remain as cheesy.

It didn't.

At least, not intentionally.

Written by Akiva Goldsman, the hack who gave us the last two Batman movies, plus two Grisham adaptations and the current film Practical Magic, the Robinson family aren't campy any more: they're a phenomenal bore. Young Will (Jack Johnson) is the brains of the operation. You immediately know then that while the family may be OK eventually, the audience is screwed. Dad (William Hurt, looking really disinterested) is all business, Mom (Mimi Rogers) is just window dressing, the eldest daughter Judy (Heather Graham, yummy) is a babe, but blank, and the other daughter Penny (Lacey Chabert) is just a would-be punker. Add in a computer generated pet (whose sole purpose was to sell toys, to be sure) and a hunky pilot in Major Don West (Matt LeBlanc, not embarrassing himself like he did in Ed), a plot involving a giant spider-guy and alternate futures and things like that, and you'll start to see why I'd prefer something a little more faithful to the source material.

Oh, and Gary Oldman hams it up as the villain. That's a different role for him, don't you think?

It wouldn't be so bad (the effects are fair to above average), but the look of the film is just so dark. Had the movie been considerably brighter, there might have been more to it, but as is, there's too many greys, blues and blacks (and shades of those) to distinguish anything. I'd imagine the transfer to video is even worse.

The robot (and the robot's voice) are right cool, though.

link directly to this review at http://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=86&reviewer=7
originally posted: 10/21/98 10:54:46
[printer] printer-friendly format  
TV to Screen: For more in the TV to Screen series, click here.

User Comments

8/11/11 larsen It's Lost in "SPACE", not TIME! Indeed! Bubble-headed boobies! Oh, the pain. The pain. 1 stars
2/21/11 art only saving grace,was LACEY CHABERT'S CUTE performance as neglected middle child PENNY. 3 stars
1/08/10 George A real stinker. 1 stars
12/03/08 Shaun Wallner This movie was stupid! 1 stars
10/24/07 Billie Bob Enjoyable, Fun. The Critics will always find something to criticize 4 stars
7/04/07 Chariot57 Movie is complete crap talk about role reversal Rogers is a bitch and Hurt is a Whimp 1 stars
4/26/07 Abs Total rubbish waste of time... 1 stars
2/18/07 Nick Maday I think the only reason I like this is because I saw it when I was a kid. 4 stars
6/14/06 drydock54321 I hate it when they retell the origin when they make a big screen version of a series 3 stars
8/18/05 ES man has the ability to travel to other stars, yet they only travel through time?= Star Trek 2 stars
6/17/05 Thomas Semesky Makes the TV version seem like Shakespeare in comparison!! 2 stars
4/17/05 Jeff Anderson Okay, so it wasn't as good as the series, but so what. I enjoyed it, so lighten up people. 4 stars
3/26/05 Pierre Script is unimpressive, but Gary Oldman can redeem a lot. There is better and worse here 3 stars
12/15/04 BRET Well lets burn the master negative this was B.A.D. 1 stars
8/01/04 Raf Milis I like this movie..although the ending is crap and Hurt is playing like a turtle on crack.. 4 stars
5/25/04 Sageev Some stupid dialog, but very good sci-fi & true to the original 4 stars
5/09/04 DM I'll just sit at home and watch the TV show - it was SUPPOSED to be funny 1 stars
4/18/04 Elizabeth After all these years it's still one of my favourite movies. 5 stars
3/21/04 Roger C'mon guys! A little childish sometimes but all in all not that bad. 4 stars
9/25/03 Anthony I did walk out on this the first time around. On dvd the special features justify watching 4 stars
9/21/03 kill quacky this movie sucked ass it fucked the tv show up,sucks is taking it lightly. 1 stars
9/13/03 r Damned yellow alien. It's the devil of marketing, I tell you. 2 stars
8/04/03 punjab total pish-le blanc is an arsehole 1 stars
4/18/03 Ubu the Ripper If not for Oldman this movie would suck. Hurt seems like he's on prozac the entire film. 2 stars
12/01/02 Mike Awful AND boring. And that girl's voice! Kill me! 1 stars
11/22/02 Charles Tatum I unabashedly loved this thing! 5 stars
6/21/02 qtpie good 4 stars
4/02/02 Butterbean This is as bad as people say. Not even Oldman can help this one. 2 stars
1/05/02 Andrew Carden Rip-Offs The Original In A Bad Waste Of Uncreative Specialties. 1 stars
9/08/01 Neil Pickup This is possibly the Worst film I have ever seen. Can I give no stars? 1 stars
9/01/01 Connoisseur I'm giving it five stars because of the effects and neat story 5 stars
8/05/01 badfish Great special effects,If it wasnt for that lame Blarp,Id have given it 5 stars 4 stars
6/04/01 Roy Smith Oldman's cool, Chabert is sexy (yes!) but the movie blows dead bears. 2 stars
5/04/01 Gracy Lionheart Boring...The movie was annoying. (I normally like Sci-Fi, but this blew) 1 stars
2/02/01 viking Warning ! Warning ! Another Classic TV series is ruthlessly exploited !!!! 2 stars
1/22/01 Ro Worth it for mean and moody Gary Oldman. Otherwise, 100% Fuckshit. 1 stars
12/05/00 Cristopher Revilla David, are you an asshole, or don't know how to watch movies? 'cuz this movie's total shit 1 stars
11/28/00 The Evil Penguin wow, David Rogers. You ARE all of the above 1 stars
8/02/00 Lacie Wright The ending sucked dead bears, who can understand it? Yeesh! But, overall I loved this movie 4 stars
5/04/00 Hi there Gosh, David Rogers, tell us how you really feel. 1 stars
4/16/00 BB-15 David Rogers is either a liar, a fag, or a mental patient. Probably all of the above. 1 stars
4/03/00 Girl9 Worst movie...you couldn't even pay me to watch this piece of shite again... 1 stars
2/07/00 Richard Wright Based-on-TV films reach a new height of crapness. Complete shit in every way. 1 stars
1/04/00 Truth Man If this movie was a dog it would have been euthanised and put out of it's misery. 1 stars
12/23/99 bullit17 And you thought Sci-fi crap couldn't get any worse than Fifth Element 1 stars
12/04/99 PervertedPixie Well someone had to stick up for this film. Dr. Smith rules! Long live whaked-out sfi!! 5 stars
11/04/99 Mickey "Father Death" MacJohnstmyster Better than the t.v show , not great , watchable if you like the actors etc , otherwise NOT 3 stars
10/05/99 strike One of the most dumb excuses i have ever seen 1 stars
8/19/99 Japtalian They should have named this "How to fuck up a classic T.V. show without really trying." 1 stars
8/18/99 Matthew Bartley Shit and boring 2 stars
6/24/99 Ah Dooey What the hell were you expecting, Star Trek?! Leave the classics alone! 2 stars
6/15/99 Dylan This is the biggest pile of junk ive ever laid my eyes upon. Even Oldman is unconvincing. 1 stars
3/13/99 Viral Messiah No! 2 stars
2/15/99 Uncle Roy This job cost me my job at Long John Silvers 1 stars
2/08/99 Gary Should have stopped watching half way through & pretended better would show next week. 2 stars
2/06/99 Don Wilson No comment 1 stars
1/04/99 anon my eyes kept rolling up in my head with this recockulous plot 3 stars
1/02/99 Dasha OK, it was crap, but it kept me entertained, so... 3 stars
11/23/98 Ray Russ Perfect example of why child acting should be outlawed. The "1" on my 1-10 scale. 1 stars
10/27/98 Silent Rob Gee, and the series was so, so...I dunno...crappy? 2 stars
9/28/98 katherine oh my snored through the whole thing 2 stars
9/27/98 Heather Didn't think I'd like this one. I was wrong! 5 stars
9/15/98 Negative Creep OLDMAN as a HUGE FUcking BUG. This was just some fucked up repugnant shit. 1 stars
8/24/98 The Capital City Goofball Shit. What was Oldman thinking? He's usually above this crap. 1 stars
8/22/98 Mister Whoopee matt leBlanc is almost as irritating as Lacey Chabert. 1 stars
8/14/98 {{{OZ}}} It helped me sleep on a long plane flight, but I saw the ending. Eww. 2 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  03-Apr-1998 (PG-13)
  DVD: 07-May-2002

UK
  N/A

Australia
  N/A




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast