Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.65

Awesome: 25.81%
Worth A Look38.71%
Just Average: 9.68%
Pretty Crappy: 25.81%
Sucks: 0%

2 reviews, 19 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Road Not Taken, The by Jay Seaver

Great Battle, The by Jay Seaver

True Fiction by Jay Seaver

Pick of the Litter by Jay Seaver

Fahrenheit 11/9 by Peter Sobczynski

House With A Clock In Its Walls, The by Peter Sobczynski

Life Itself (2018) by Peter Sobczynski

Unity of Heroes by Jay Seaver

Hanagatami by Jay Seaver

Predator, The by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Soapdish
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Ryan Arthur

"Milton?"
4 stars

This is the only other movie featuring Elisabeth Shue (the other being Adventures In Babysitting) that I'll watch and not mind.

Played for camp (like there'd be any other way) Soapdish takes a look at soap operas. You've got the diva star (Sally Field), the leading man (Kevin Kline), the sweet girl (Shue), the schemer (Cathy Moriarty). Their real lives mirror the lives of their characters.

Field gets to let loose. She's got a chance to turn out a nice comedic performance, and she does. Kline does the hapless thing again, but it's funny.

Throw in some weird plot twists (someone's illegitimate daughter! a sex change operation! Dad falls for daughter! sex! intrigue!) a la a real soap opera, and Soapdish becomes, quite frequently, hilarious.

A decent rental.

link directly to this review at http://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=867&reviewer=7
originally posted: 09/25/98 12:08:04
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

3/23/18 Suzanne Laugh out loud hilarious! 5 stars
7/07/14 PAUL SHORTT UNEVEN AND CONTRIVED 2 stars
4/06/06 Troy M. Grzych A great cast having fun playing on screen. Fun to watch but forgetful. 3 stars
9/25/04 NJ Cup Winner 95-00-03 I've enjoyed myself a lot less in my life, like reading Butterbean's comments, for example 4 stars
2/04/04 ROY L. CAIN,JR. A clever spoof of the Soaps. MMM: Montana Moorehead, Mamacita! 5 stars
3/31/03 Jack Sommersby Forced and heavy-handed, but it breezes by and Kline is screamingly funny. 3 stars
8/15/02 KMG stupid 2 stars
3/14/02 Iris Dementia Praecox About as insanely zany as a substanceless movie can get! 4 stars
10/10/01 Andrew Carden At Times A Very Funny Movie, Downey Does In Fact Ruin It Though. 4 stars
9/19/01 Butterbean If you are an old fart who likes to watch CBS, then you will love this. 3 stars
8/11/01 Alejandro it's a comedy, and it's as fun as they're supposed to be 4 stars
4/15/01 Corey Q One of my all-time favourites! Every line is hilarious! 5 stars
2/15/01 Elvisfan No complaints, just laughs laughs & more laughs! Really good time 5 stars
1/09/01 Coo Just great 5 stars
7/22/00 Eric Liégeois Elisabeth Shue is my favorite actress and she is great in Soapdish 5 stars
12/02/99 Holly Kincaid Love this movie! Using it for one of my film class papers! 5 stars
7/18/99 TOMB ONE OF THE FUNNIEST SATIRE COMEDY EVER 5 stars
6/26/99 hum funny 4 stars
5/26/99 GothamDK Very tight, over the top script! Almost as tight as Hatcher's bod (pre-Lois days). 4 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  29-May-1991 (PG-13)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  N/A




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast