Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.17

Awesome: 37.08%
Worth A Look49.44%
Just Average: 7.87%
Pretty Crappy: 4.49%
Sucks: 1.12%

5 reviews, 59 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Shape of Water, The by Jay Seaver

I, Tonya by Rob Gonsalves

Wonder Wheel by Peter Sobczynski

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Rob Gonsalves

Swindlers, The by Jay Seaver

Oro (Gold) by Jay Seaver

Disaster Artist, The by Peter Sobczynski

Explosion by Jay Seaver

Lucky (2017) by Rob Gonsalves

Breadwinner, The by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Pi
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by FrankG

"3.14159265358979323846..."
4 stars

DreamWorks has "Antz", and Pixar has "A Bug's Life". The indi-film contribution to the whole "Ant" thing this summer is "Pi".

"What do ants have to do with pi," you ask. I don't know. But I kind of fear them now. I don't know if what I got out of this movie is what everybody else got out of this movie, but I'm leavin' those fellas alone from now on. Or maybe I will use them for investment strategies.

Then there are the Jewish people. They scare the hell out of me too now. [Note to Holytoads: If I ever said anything bad about you, then I'm sorry. And I love the way you dress. Don't hurt me.]

The only bad thing I can really say about the movie without giving things away, is that it attracts a certain undesirable clientele. I'm not talking gangs, terrorists, or small children. I'm talking Mathematicians. Number theorists, numerologists, and the sort. They are very excited about this movie, and these people are too excitable as it is. I sat right behind one of these men in the theater, and he had me on edge the entire time. And it wasn't just the fact that I could smell his hair from 2 feet away, it just something about these brainiacs that has me wondering.

But after Pi, I stopped wondering, and starting planning my defense.

<< Post-note: 9/1/98 >>
It has come to my attention that I reviewed this movie, but stated nothing of what the movie is actually about. Man you fuckers are picky!

The story follows a Number Theorist, who believes that after staring at the Sun for too long, he can find a patern in the way the stock market works. During his research, he stumbles onto something much bigger then that. And there are people who know that he knows. And they want what he knows. Even the jews want it.

Of course, you could have just trusted me and gone and seen the movie for yourself.
<< end Post-note >>

Even though there is a great danger in going to the theater with these freaky folks, I do suggest going, just for Pi. And if you don't like it, pretend to. I think they can read my thoughts.

link directly to this review at http://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=87&reviewer=4
originally posted: 09/01/98 17:56:28
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

12/29/13 Marty Somewhat accesible math film which is rare. Agree style>substance but engaging and new 4 stars
7/23/12 Quigley A film that manages to make math interesting has my highest respect. 5 stars
6/20/09 Beefsolver Aronofsky achieves with a profound debut film as impenetrable as the number itself. 4 stars
1/15/09 FrankNFurter Huh?Incomprehensible, but visually stunning. Quite a mixture... 3 stars
4/16/07 Marko Excellent, grainy cinematography, unusual plot- worth seeing at least once! 4 stars
3/30/07 Edler Too cute and the ending was lame. 3 stars
3/27/07 fools&#9835;gold I can't say it "made me think" as much as, well, half of the movies out there. 2/5 or 3/5. 2 stars
1/15/06 chris. i want it again 5 stars
5/12/05 Indrid Cold Mind-bending and disturbing. Intense, grainy b&w look is stunning. 5 stars
2/27/05 Linlymes real original ideas and very good camera and cut. pictures burn into your brain. 5 stars
1/08/05 Abbath More style than substance. Was just a bore, despite the interesting subject matter. 1 stars
6/12/04 Geoff Johnson Excellent movie, on multiple levels - worth multiple watchings 5 stars
4/30/04 Gray I know how max feels 5 stars
6/06/03 Manuel Vera A contribution to the mind from a brilliant perspepective 5 stars
3/30/03 Nicole Completely strange 5 stars
3/21/03 Skankin' inThePit excellent and origonal movie(up there with donnie darko on my list, but DD is my fav movie) 5 stars
11/16/02 Jason E UP there with Donnie Darko in my books 5 stars
11/04/02 Charles Tatum Weird 4 stars
9/09/02 Ramblin Wreck It was all right............Darren tries to make love to the camera which got really old. 3 stars
8/29/02 Hessian Totaly hypnotic. This movie is like crack. 1 little hit and it sucks you in. 4 stars
8/21/02 MaIniYaK excellent directing excellent story 5 stars
8/07/02 Jack Thompson mesmerizing 5 stars
7/30/02 erick great flcik, but how can u say one of the only good indie movies... screw u 4 stars
5/18/02 Film Afficianado most oiginal film i've seen in a long time. For $40k... incredible. Screw blair witch. 5 stars
4/02/02 Butterbean This is an empty movie that beatniks watch for artistic reasons. 2 stars
3/21/02 Mr. Hat (I'm Back!) This-is-so-cool. One of the few good independent movies. 5 stars
1/21/02 Spencer Lent This movie was wacked up. 3 stars
12/24/01 Cracked head I liked it, but it's not great. I rate this 3.141592653589793 3 stars
12/15/01 Ian Barr Along with "The Tenant" and "Pink Floyd The Wall", the best film about insanity ever. 5 stars
12/02/01 Monster W. Kung Interesting idea, but doesn't go far. Much style, just average substance. 3 stars
12/01/01 Jeff Wilson If this is independant, I'm never goin' back to Hollywood 5 stars
6/12/01 Tano g me gustaria obtener el número de 216 digitos... 4 stars
6/03/01 Basil Makes you feel like your going crazy with him. 5 stars
2/25/01 The Bomb 69 felt exhausted when it ended, bold and very original premise, not for most people (a shame) 5 stars
1/17/01 mike Best independent film since Clerk, this is a credit to independent filmmakers everywhere. 5 stars
11/08/00 viking An original but disturbing idea 4 stars
10/01/00 Madoc69 Not an easy movie but a very good one 4 stars
9/05/00 Boy In The Designer Bubble Bought the DVD, grainy picture but brilliant story makes it worth it. 5 stars
6/26/00 stranded on the Island Second-best movie of 99 (to Run Lola Run); Surreal and makes you think. Loved it! 5 stars
2/13/00 Shelagh Really unusual - a film that makes you work !! 4 stars
7/26/99 emperor great film 4 stars
7/21/99 danm Eerie, brainraping, and prophetic. Its like a cinematic drug. I have to see it again. 5 stars
7/14/99 J. Random Hacker Anyone else keep flashing back to "Snow Crash"? 5 stars
6/28/99 Steve Bashakus Beautifully paranoid and kinetic. I'm still twitching..... 5 stars
6/22/99 Elizaveta Must be watched again... 4 stars
4/14/99 Jon Jackson Great movie, loved the drill, his neighbor was fine. 4 stars
1/29/99 davebo great camera shots, loved the idea, very well done, superb dvd options :) 5 stars
12/01/98 Evil Buffy this movie was so cool. paranoid and terrifically shot. and of the neatest films i've seen 5 stars
10/23/98 grunter nice cinematography; dead-ended with cliche sub-Lynchian finale 3 stars
10/22/98 Ike Brilliant cinematography, but pretentious narration. Unrealistic, but nicely tense. 4 stars
10/17/98 Chris Very Fast Paced Dark Movie! 4 stars
10/15/98 aaron sias loved it 4 stars
9/30/98 Devin Mckay I enjoy a nice mindfuck every now and again 5 stars
9/28/98 Gamma Some of the story was hard to follow, but overall a terrific indie flick 4 stars
9/11/98 Melanie No surprises, blah, not impressed 2 stars
9/05/98 Gary Very strange but keep you interested 4 stars
8/24/98 The Capital City Goofball Didn't interest me at all. 2 stars
8/22/98 Mister Whoopee Sci fi inside someone's head. 4 stars
8/21/98 Angelika Was intresting to watch ("eye candy" if you will). But, I left feeling a little worn. 4 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  10-Jul-1998 (R)
  DVD: 24-Apr-2001

UK
  N/A

Australia
  15-Jul-1999




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast