Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.17

Awesome: 37.08%
Worth A Look49.44%
Just Average: 7.87%
Pretty Crappy: 4.49%
Sucks: 1.12%

5 reviews, 59 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Fortress, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

MFA by Jay Seaver

You Only Live Once by Jay Seaver

November (2017) by Jay Seaver

Friendly Beast by Jay Seaver

Foreigner, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

Tom of Finland by Rob Gonsalves

Happy Death Day by Jay Seaver

78/52: Hitchcock's Shower Scene by Jay Seaver

Death Note: Light Up the New World by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Pi
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Ryan Arthur

"18:54...hit return."
4 stars

Creepy, but interesting.

Pi is one of the stranger - and stronger - indie offerings of 1998.

A mathematical genius named Max (Sean Gullette) is big on numbers, basically obsesive. He sees numbers (and number patterns) in everything around him. He rarely leaves his apartment. He's also been blessed with the ability to use his mathematical skills to try and predict the rise and fall of the stock market. Problem is, some faceless organization (actually a Wall Street analysis firm that turns a little more sinister) wants Max to help them figure it out, or at least figure it out for them. Max is paranoid and suffers from really bad headaches and nosebleeds, and an occasional blackout. Max suddenly stumbles onto a 216 digit number that may hold the secret to reading the stock market. Faceless organization wants it. So Max is constantly being hounded. There's also the Jews.

A group of Hasidic Jewish scholars tells Max that the Hebrew alphabet translates into numbers, and that suppposedly, the true name of God is actually a word with 216 letters.

Freaky, huh?

So Max, already paranoid about being followed, now has an entirely different group of people hounding him. Max may very well know the true name of God.

Written and directed by Darren Aronofsky, Pi is shot in black and white, with lots of high contrasts and not-so-hidden symbolism. It's a thriller that actually works these days. No car chases, no explosions; it's all mental, all psychological. Max knows he's got something big, but it very well may be driving him insane.

It's a solid film, quite thought-provoking.

Definitely worth your attention.

link directly to this review at http://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=87&reviewer=7
originally posted: 09/21/98 10:14:52
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

12/29/13 Marty Somewhat accesible math film which is rare. Agree style>substance but engaging and new 4 stars
7/23/12 Quigley A film that manages to make math interesting has my highest respect. 5 stars
6/20/09 Beefsolver Aronofsky achieves with a profound debut film as impenetrable as the number itself. 4 stars
1/15/09 FrankNFurter Huh?Incomprehensible, but visually stunning. Quite a mixture... 3 stars
4/16/07 Marko Excellent, grainy cinematography, unusual plot- worth seeing at least once! 4 stars
3/30/07 Edler Too cute and the ending was lame. 3 stars
3/27/07 fools♫gold I can't say it "made me think" as much as, well, half of the movies out there. 2/5 or 3/5. 2 stars
1/15/06 chris. i want it again 5 stars
5/12/05 Indrid Cold Mind-bending and disturbing. Intense, grainy b&w look is stunning. 5 stars
2/27/05 Linlymes real original ideas and very good camera and cut. pictures burn into your brain. 5 stars
1/08/05 Abbath More style than substance. Was just a bore, despite the interesting subject matter. 1 stars
6/12/04 Geoff Johnson Excellent movie, on multiple levels - worth multiple watchings 5 stars
4/30/04 Gray I know how max feels 5 stars
6/06/03 Manuel Vera A contribution to the mind from a brilliant perspepective 5 stars
3/30/03 Nicole Completely strange 5 stars
3/21/03 Skankin' inThePit excellent and origonal movie(up there with donnie darko on my list, but DD is my fav movie) 5 stars
11/16/02 Jason E UP there with Donnie Darko in my books 5 stars
11/04/02 Charles Tatum Weird 4 stars
9/09/02 Ramblin Wreck It was all right............Darren tries to make love to the camera which got really old. 3 stars
8/29/02 Hessian Totaly hypnotic. This movie is like crack. 1 little hit and it sucks you in. 4 stars
8/21/02 MaIniYaK excellent directing excellent story 5 stars
8/07/02 Jack Thompson mesmerizing 5 stars
7/30/02 erick great flcik, but how can u say one of the only good indie movies... screw u 4 stars
5/18/02 Film Afficianado most oiginal film i've seen in a long time. For $40k... incredible. Screw blair witch. 5 stars
4/02/02 Butterbean This is an empty movie that beatniks watch for artistic reasons. 2 stars
3/21/02 Mr. Hat (I'm Back!) This-is-so-cool. One of the few good independent movies. 5 stars
1/21/02 Spencer Lent This movie was wacked up. 3 stars
12/24/01 Cracked head I liked it, but it's not great. I rate this 3.141592653589793 3 stars
12/15/01 Ian Barr Along with "The Tenant" and "Pink Floyd The Wall", the best film about insanity ever. 5 stars
12/02/01 Monster W. Kung Interesting idea, but doesn't go far. Much style, just average substance. 3 stars
12/01/01 Jeff Wilson If this is independant, I'm never goin' back to Hollywood 5 stars
6/12/01 Tano g me gustaria obtener el número de 216 digitos... 4 stars
6/03/01 Basil Makes you feel like your going crazy with him. 5 stars
2/25/01 The Bomb 69 felt exhausted when it ended, bold and very original premise, not for most people (a shame) 5 stars
1/17/01 mike Best independent film since Clerk, this is a credit to independent filmmakers everywhere. 5 stars
11/08/00 viking An original but disturbing idea 4 stars
10/01/00 Madoc69 Not an easy movie but a very good one 4 stars
9/05/00 Boy In The Designer Bubble Bought the DVD, grainy picture but brilliant story makes it worth it. 5 stars
6/26/00 stranded on the Island Second-best movie of 99 (to Run Lola Run); Surreal and makes you think. Loved it! 5 stars
2/13/00 Shelagh Really unusual - a film that makes you work !! 4 stars
7/26/99 emperor great film 4 stars
7/21/99 danm Eerie, brainraping, and prophetic. Its like a cinematic drug. I have to see it again. 5 stars
7/14/99 J. Random Hacker Anyone else keep flashing back to "Snow Crash"? 5 stars
6/28/99 Steve Bashakus Beautifully paranoid and kinetic. I'm still twitching..... 5 stars
6/22/99 Elizaveta Must be watched again... 4 stars
4/14/99 Jon Jackson Great movie, loved the drill, his neighbor was fine. 4 stars
1/29/99 davebo great camera shots, loved the idea, very well done, superb dvd options :) 5 stars
12/01/98 Evil Buffy this movie was so cool. paranoid and terrifically shot. and of the neatest films i've seen 5 stars
10/23/98 grunter nice cinematography; dead-ended with cliche sub-Lynchian finale 3 stars
10/22/98 Ike Brilliant cinematography, but pretentious narration. Unrealistic, but nicely tense. 4 stars
10/17/98 Chris Very Fast Paced Dark Movie! 4 stars
10/15/98 aaron sias loved it 4 stars
9/30/98 Devin Mckay I enjoy a nice mindfuck every now and again 5 stars
9/28/98 Gamma Some of the story was hard to follow, but overall a terrific indie flick 4 stars
9/11/98 Melanie No surprises, blah, not impressed 2 stars
9/05/98 Gary Very strange but keep you interested 4 stars
8/24/98 The Capital City Goofball Didn't interest me at all. 2 stars
8/22/98 Mister Whoopee Sci fi inside someone's head. 4 stars
8/21/98 Angelika Was intresting to watch ("eye candy" if you will). But, I left feeling a little worn. 4 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  10-Jul-1998 (R)
  DVD: 24-Apr-2001

UK
  N/A

Australia
  15-Jul-1999




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast