Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.21

Awesome: 32.79%
Worth A Look62.3%
Just Average: 1.64%
Pretty Crappy: 0%
Sucks: 3.28%

3 reviews, 43 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Darkest Hour by Jay Seaver

Shape of Water, The by Jay Seaver

I, Tonya by Rob Gonsalves

Wonder Wheel by Peter Sobczynski

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Rob Gonsalves

Swindlers, The by Jay Seaver

Oro (Gold) by Jay Seaver

Disaster Artist, The by Peter Sobczynski

Explosion by Jay Seaver

Lucky (2017) by Rob Gonsalves

subscribe to this feed


Hunt For Red October, The
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Ryan Arthur

"I'm not an agent, I just write books for the CIA."
4 stars

Russians don't take a dump, son, without a plan...

The best movie with a Baldwin, ever.

Each time I see this film, I forgive Alec Badlwin for The Shadow, The Juror, Heaven's Prisoners, The Marrying Man and The Getaway.

But not Mercury Rising.

Anyway. This was the first time we saw Jack Ryan (Baldwin) on screen, and the only time Baldwin got to play him. Too bad. I think he's better in the role than Harrison Ford. Ryan figures out that a Russian submarine commander, Ramius (Sean Connery) is planning on defecting, bringing his crew and the Russians' new nuclear powered, silent running submarine, the Red October, with him. Problem is, Ryan has to convince everyone else this, because they think Ramius is actually going rogue and plans on launching his missles off the U.S. coast. This is what the Russian government wants the Americans to think, so they'll actually go out and help sink Ramius, thus preventing him from defecting.

Ryan must convince his superiors, even going so far as to fly out to an American sub that's tracking Red October and convincing that ship's captain (Scott Glenn).

One of the better Cold War inspired movies (despite being released at the Cold War's end/demise), it's actually pretty good. The underwater shots of the submarines are crappy (models and computers were used, and it shows), but the tension and the acting make it worth it. Suspenseful, good drama, with just enough action, too, and it's not nearly as dense as the Tom Clancy novel that it's based on.

And I will have a pickup truck... maybe even a "recreational vehicle."

link directly to this review at http://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=878&reviewer=7
originally posted: 11/02/98 11:11:58
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

9/13/17 morris campbell boring imho 1 stars
2/26/14 Madame de Merteuil Connery & Baldwin are excellent + great plot 5 stars
4/08/10 PAUL SHORTT EXCITING, SUSPENSEFUL THRILLER 4 stars
7/21/09 bethany cox Very, very good submarine movie, only let down by a sometimes confusing story! 4 stars
1/13/09 Shaun Wallner Interesting Movie! 4 stars
10/28/07 Jack Sommersby Quite entertaining with solid performances. 4 stars
3/06/07 David Pollastrini Connery is brilliant in this 5 stars
8/25/05 EZ One of the best plots ever, superb film 5 stars
8/12/05 ES Mr. Connery your best when your at your best 5 stars
3/25/05 me A damn fine Clancy adaptation, Sum of all Fears was tripe compared to this 4 stars
3/05/05 N. Peterson Absolutely stunning, and if you like the movie, read the book! 5 stars
1/13/05 Aaron Smith my favorite sub movie 4 stars
1/08/05 John Parr Extremely good 4 stars
5/31/04 Nobody The first and best of the movies based on clancy's books. 5 stars
11/28/03 john great cast Connery and Baldwin are phenomenal - a modern day sea adventure 5 stars
11/18/03 michaelb14 one of my favorites 5 stars
11/09/03 Lin Rainey Loved it! Good story, good acting, Baldwin is very winning 5 stars
8/07/03 3man Exciting movie if a bit overhyped 5 stars
10/14/02 Charles Tatum Ironically, brooding Baldwin almost sinks a sub film 4 stars
8/20/02 Lisa Lou Gettespar Promising story becomes a bit waterlogged 4 stars
8/07/02 Jack Thompson best sub flick there is, hands down 5 stars
6/10/02 Spanky He shlipped on hish tea! harrison beats the pus out of baldwin 5 stars
3/30/02 Rockitman007 The Best Submarine movie ever!!! 5 stars
1/22/02 Andrew Carden I Just Couldn't Help Liking This Movie. 5 stars
10/28/01 Fred Mills Jr. Dialogue is very Techy, only someone like me would know it, but good nonetheless! 5 stars
10/24/01 sub man baldwin was cheated out of patriot games. evil games were played against him by others. 4 stars
10/08/01 jawsboy great fun!! McTiernan rules!!! 4 stars
9/09/01 Racheal McCoy I watched it one time and was totally hooked! And I like Sean Connery's accent! 5 stars
8/08/01 E-Funk great adaption of Clancy's novel...Baldwin was a boner for not reprising this role. 4 stars
7/03/01 bront best modern sub movie around, equal with crimson tide 5 stars
1/11/01 R.W. Welch Good Cold War yarn with insights into the new high tech submarine warfare. 4 stars
11/23/00 The Evil Penguin Connery and Baldwin at their best 4 stars
7/12/00 Terrie Smith Good adaptation of the novel; Connery and Baldwin in good form. 4 stars
1/16/00 CM An all time favourite of mine. Excellent. 5 stars
11/04/99 Karahde Khan Connery is great, and Baldwin didn't annoy me. Best Clancy-based movie. 4 stars
10/23/99 Lame-Oh it was great 4 stars
7/06/99 Ben Leostein Rating: *** (out of ****) Category: "Good" 4 stars
11/25/98 Mr.Pink If it wasn't for the explosion at the end,I would have slept the whole night in theatre 1 stars
11/12/98 Jules Really excellent story, well done in movie form, even if Sean's Russian is horrific... 5 stars
11/03/98 Kimberly Murphy-Smith Alec Baldwin and Sean Connery in the same film? Yum. Awesome flick. 4 stars
10/28/98 Silent Rob McTiernan CAN do suspense (it needed chicks in bikinis water skiing behind the sub, though) 4 stars
9/14/98 Badass AWESOME! 5 stars
9/06/98 Admiral Mung Bean Soda (+/- 12db) Couldn't Connery have at least *tried* to do a Russian accent? Like no-one would notice.... 3 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  02-Mar-1990 (PG)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  N/A




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast