Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
2.88

Awesome: 9.02%
Worth A Look: 24.59%
Just Average33.61%
Pretty Crappy: 10.66%
Sucks: 22.13%

11 reviews, 56 user ratings



Starsky & Hutch
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by EricDSnider

"My dad used to call it 'Harsky & Stutch.' Is that funny? No? Sorry."
3 stars

Is it wrong to laugh a lot at a movie but still come out of it thinking it should have been funnier? Is that just being greedy? Because that's the effect "Starsky & Hutch" had on me.

Ben Stiller and Owen Wilson are a reliable on-screen pair -- Stiller with his uptight, nit-picking persona, Wilson in his role as the affable stoner -- and this is a perfect vehicle for them, as it combines their comedic skill with an opportunity for deadpan irony, at which they excel, used here in mocking praise of a cheesy 1970s TV show.

But though it certainly has its moments, it never achieves a high level of hilarity. It's uneven -- never irritating or flat-out BAD, but never all that good, either. Viewers who remember the series it's based on might get more out of it than the rest of us.

Stiller is Starsky; Wilson is Hutch. They're mismatched detectives on the trail of drug lord Reese Feldman (Vince Vaughn), who has developed a new kind of cocaine that's virtually undetectable and untraceable. They have a pimp-attired informant named Huggy Bear (Snoop Dogg), and they get additional guidance from a perverse prison inmate played by Will Ferrell. In between, they get yelled at a lot by their stereotypically blustery boss, Capt. Doby (Fred Williamson).

If the TV series employed all the buddy-cop stereotypes with a straight face, the film does so winkingly. That blustery boss, Starsky's self-serious, over-eager tough-guy language, all the generic action and explosions -- we're not expected to take them seriously. We're supposed to laugh, because we get how cliché they are.

The trouble is, the film is 101 minutes of just that. Irony is, by nature, a form of humor that is detached from its audience as well as its target. We like comedy that will laugh with us; irony is comedy that expects us to laugh while it stands there stone-faced, smug and aloof. If irony is all you're serving, then it had better be some darn funny irony, that's all I'm sayin'.

Stiller and Wilson are admirably committed to their roles; Ferrell is typically bizarre in his cameo; and let's face it, this is the role Snoop Dogg was born to play. Directed by Todd Phillips ("Road Trip," "Old School"), the film is fitfully amusing but never quite reaches the heights it ought to.

link directly to this review at http://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=8800&reviewer=247
originally posted: 03/06/04 01:50:14
[printer] printer-friendly format  
This film is available for download or online viewing at CinemaNow.com For more in the CinemaNow.com series, click here.
TV to Screen: For more in the TV to Screen series, click here.

User Comments

4/24/16 Katrina Weiss Just watch the original series. 3 stars
4/08/10 PAUL SHORTT HUMOUROUS BUT ULTIMATELY UNSATISFYING COMEDY 2 stars
3/07/10 Samantha Pruitt surprisingly funny! some gret one-liners 4 stars
8/28/08 Shaun Wallner Funny Flick!! 5 stars
11/29/06 lovestospuch sucked balls 1 stars
11/10/06 David Pollastrini boring, dull, etc. 1 stars
6/09/06 Anthony Feor A funny remake of the exeptionaly done television show 4 stars
1/06/06 JM Synth Of the 100-odd movies Stiller made in 04, this was the best. 5 stars
11/21/05 Kurtis J. Beard Weak film. Chemistry is there. Light Entertainment. 2 stars
11/04/05 JamesCole Any 5 minutes of Zoolander is funnier than this whole movie. Yuk! 1 stars
11/03/05 baseball-nut Definitely a waste of money, should've stayed home! 1 stars
11/02/05 Matt DO IT! it is a great movie, i got my first kiss while watching it. that felt good. 5 stars
7/18/05 jimmy Wicked film! - do it! 5 stars
2/24/05 ELI Extremely unfunny. Didn't laugh once 1 stars
11/15/04 Dunce Stunt casting + dull script = snoozer. The show wasn't very good. Don't waste your time. 2 stars
11/15/04 lucas jodoin di maria the best 5 stars
8/23/04 Jim Snoop Dogg & Will Ferrell walk away with the movie 4 stars
8/12/04 kRISTINE mEINHARD i WANT TO SEE ANOTHER ONE THE BOYS ARE GREAT 4 stars
8/10/04 bsho76 wake me up when it's over 2 stars
8/02/04 Kitina Blues stiller&wilson are a good duo, but vince vaughn was the best! he's adorable! 5 stars
7/26/04 lespacified I am still waiting for a plot to materialize!!The story/plot/writting sucked!!! 1 stars
7/20/04 Steve Adams DO it! Dooo it! Doooo it! 5 stars
7/19/04 Chris very funny movie 4 stars
7/18/04 twilliams606 Boring and just plain silly. 2 stars
7/18/04 ithaka peyru c'mon stiller, get your comedic balls out of the perverbial money mouth 1 stars
7/17/04 Onyeabo Monago It could have been better considering the show certainly was. 3 stars
6/02/04 Marcia Lartz Reasonably enjoyable, though far from the best that either Stiller or Wilson is capable of. 4 stars
5/31/04 James Kustes Not as funny as the other movies Owen has been in but pretty good. 4 stars
5/23/04 Butterbean Has it's moments. Those that know anything about the TV series appreciates this more. 3 stars
4/18/04 E-Rock A fun flick. Worth the money just for Snoop Dogg as Huggy Bear... 4 stars
4/12/04 Rusty Grizwald If you've seen the trailer, you've seen all the jokes that might get a laugh. 1 stars
4/08/04 Michael "Hutch" Hutchinson I loved the T.V. show and I loved the movie. Freakin hilarious! 5 stars
3/27/04 Littlepurch LOVED IT! Never saw the tv series but this was brilliant and absolutely hilarious!!!! 5 stars
3/25/04 rojo Funky Fun, even if you didn't live thru the 1970's. 4 stars
3/21/04 argnoowarp This movies captures none of the excitement nor the buddy chemistry of the original. 1 stars
3/18/04 Chris Stiller is a vinager douche 1 stars
3/17/04 Nikolai I was alone in the downtown LA theatre and I left when the candy ran out. 1 stars
3/16/04 kevin watts i thought it was very good.chemistry is there among the stars. 4 stars
3/16/04 Jin Stiller continues his downward slide. 1 stars
3/16/04 Alfred Guy Starsky and Hutch was 70s style at its best. The stuff that is copied poorly today. 4 stars
3/16/04 alex it's not awesome, but worth a look, Y2M is right about them two having good chemistry 4 stars
3/09/04 KingNeutron "Menage" wasn't needed, but Vaughn made a good villain; tighter direction needed in spots. 3 stars
3/08/04 Wendranh so much more fun than the TV show was 4 stars
3/08/04 W. Frederick Zimmerman the series was good, the movie a horrible idea 1 stars
3/08/04 veddermatic Pretty funny if you are over 30. Semi funny if not. 4 stars
3/08/04 nick2k i liked it....liked it more than 'old school'. 4 stars
3/07/04 Aunt Ralph Breezy, Funny, add a star if you're gay 3 stars
3/07/04 Carver S. Stiller and Wilson need to get off each other's jocks. 1 stars
3/07/04 cathy paterson i loved the series, i liked the movie 4 stars
3/06/04 Siamese Toga Princess STARSKY!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
3/06/04 Kooler Stinky. Stiller and Wilson's stock has completely dried up wtih this one. 1 stars
3/05/04 Andrew Dunn Abomination..... but I still love that car after all these years.. 2 stars
3/05/04 Scrunci Funny as hell 5 stars
3/05/04 Brian worth a few chuckles 4 stars
3/04/04 Ray This movie was a mistake 2 stars
3/03/04 ajay saw a sneak preview last week. pretty funny, but not "zoolander" funny. :) 4 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  05-Mar-2004 (PG-13)
  DVD: 20-Jul-2004

UK
  N/A

Australia
  08-Apr-2004




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast