Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.98

Awesome: 39.29%
Worth A Look41.07%
Just Average: 7.14%
Pretty Crappy: 3.57%
Sucks: 8.93%

1 review, 50 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Shape of Water, The by Jay Seaver

I, Tonya by Rob Gonsalves

Wonder Wheel by Peter Sobczynski

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Rob Gonsalves

Swindlers, The by Jay Seaver

Oro (Gold) by Jay Seaver

Disaster Artist, The by Peter Sobczynski

Explosion by Jay Seaver

Lucky (2017) by Rob Gonsalves

Breadwinner, The by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Gremlins 2: The New Batch
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Ryan Arthur

"No microwave this time, just a paper shredder."
4 stars

All they have to do is to eat three or four children and there'd be the most appalling publicity.

I actually prefer this film to it's predacessor. It's goofier than the first film.

Billy and Kate (Zach Galligan and Phoebe Cates) have moved to the big city with Gizmo (voiced by Howie Mandel) and are working for a multimillionaire media mogul named Daniel Clamp (the always dependable John Glover), who has everything from television studios to animal testing labs in one building. Gizmo gets taken to work with Billy, and of course, all sorts of bad stuff ensues. Gremlins start popping up like mad, and they take over the testing lab as well. Then we start to see weird hybrids, like a gremlin that's a super-genius (voiced by Tony Randall) and a gremlin that's half-gremlin, half-bat and immune to sunlight. Throw in some weird cameos (Dick Butkus, Hulk Hogan, Leonard Maltin?) and a wacky as hell performance from Glover, and this movie's actually pretty funny.

The twins are called Martin and Lewis. That's funny.

link directly to this review at http://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=883&reviewer=7
originally posted: 10/12/98 10:29:53
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

8/07/14 David Hollingsworth Slyly tongue-in-cheek and a wonderful sequel 5 stars
12/10/12 Nellie Better than the original. 5 stars
9/27/12 roscoe BETTER TAHN THE SEQUEL BECAUSE JUST ALL-OUT FUN.. ZANY. 5 stars
3/20/07 Vip Ebriega One of the few sequels that's as good as the original. Great fun! 5 stars
2/24/07 AJ Muller Joke for joke, one of the funniest flicks ever made. Dante rules. 5 stars
10/24/06 Jeremy Davies imaginative, but stupid 3 stars
8/09/06 Dragon The Artist Slightly better, an oddity for films to have a good sequel. 4 stars
7/01/06 MP Bartley Good sequel, if not as black hearted. 4 stars
5/02/06 Ryan_A Still cracks me up. 4 stars
5/02/06 David Cornelius ----- 3 stars
5/01/06 HBS-SH further philly fightin' 4 stars
3/09/06 Dk Cool sequel though it doesnt quite match the original 4 stars
12/20/05 Eden Very different from first, not as good but a lot funnier. 4 stars
12/02/05 cr this movie was silly and was boring, only scene were gizmo was playing rambo 2 stars
8/30/05 ES didn't like it as much as the first, but its definately the funniest of the two 4 stars
2/06/05 Jeff Anderson ALL THE SPIRITED FUN & TERRIFIC PERFORMANCES THE 1ST ONE LACKED! I LOVE, LOVE THIS FILM!!!! 5 stars
12/02/04 Green Gremlin Even funnier than the original. Microwave Marge is hiliarious !!! 5 stars
11/11/04 gizmo fan i liked it! good actors and gizmos cute! 5 stars
7/07/04 John has none of the charm of the original - a bad sequel 1 stars
6/22/04 American Slasher Goddess Not as good as the first one, but still a worthy sequel. 4 stars
5/16/03 Turtle For some reason, this one is just better. A lot funnier with tons of sight gags. Cool. 5 stars
3/23/03 Spiderfan729 Remains one of the 5 funniest movies I've ever seen. Rambo take-off was hilarious! 5 stars
12/31/02 Jim Hilarious sendup of the original and the media in general 5 stars
10/23/02 Charles Tatum Terrible, overrated, and "hip" 1 stars
9/25/02 Morally Sound Gremlins 2 is better than the first. I've never seen so many movies spoofed by one film! 5 stars
6/01/02 Jiz Low-quality kiddie flick disguised as a PG-13 movie. Total shit sequel. See the original. 1 stars
4/24/02 asfsadf Not really a sequel. More of a spoof. Making fun how stupid sequels are. 4 stars
2/11/02 tom pumfrey really shit 1 stars
2/02/02 Geo7654 Pretty fun, but not as memorable as the original. 3 stars
9/26/01 Butterbean See the first one instead. This one is corny and looks like The Muppet Show. 2 stars
9/22/01 Amanda Don't miss this awsome comedy ^_^ 5 stars
8/08/01 E-Funk Pretty nutty...It has its moments but at other times you just kind of shake your head. 4 stars
7/28/01 Henry Ginsberg extremly funny 4 stars
7/13/01 CRazyboy Woah! Rambo-Gizmo! Giz gets some back from the jerk-oof named Spike. 5 stars
6/03/01 Thanos6 Very amusing! I love the individual Gremlin personalities, like Mohawk or Brain. Funny! 5 stars
4/12/01 Andrew Carden Better then the first one. Worth every penny. 5 stars
3/27/01 ALLAN TARLING ITS AMASING AND TOTALLY TOUNG TINGINGLY TASTY TO WATCH 5 stars
2/28/01 John Trent one of the funniest movies Ive ever seen 5 stars
12/25/00 Turtle Almost better the fantastic original! 5 stars
12/10/00 Jopie I really like this movie... But... has anybody SOUNDS out of it? 5 stars
11/19/00 The EVIL Penguin even better than the original Gremlins 4 stars
7/29/00 Bender Not quite as good as I remember it being, but still good. And just about as good as G1 4 stars
6/20/00 Reed T I don't care what most reviewers say. This movie is awesome but not quite as good as #1 was 5 stars
4/09/00 Steve Layne More entertaining han the original 4 stars
3/23/00 Richard Wright One of the most hit-and-miss films ever.Plot takes a back seat to gags,some funny,others... 3 stars
3/08/00 Jason Fritze I want pictures! 5 stars
10/26/99 Karahde Khan When I watched this film, something very deep in my heart from my childhood died... 1 stars
12/25/98 Erich, the Mad Bassist Appreciated the use of Slayer's "Angel of Death" for spider transformation. Otherwise, o.k. 4 stars
10/28/98 Silent Rob A madcap swipe one the first film. Insert tongue into cheek, now start spreadin' the news. 4 stars
9/09/98 MikeF this movie wasn't as good as the first, but it was funnier. 4 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  15-Jun-1990 (PG-13)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  N/A


Directed by
  Joe Dante

Written by
  Charles S. Haas

Cast
  Zach Gilligan
  Phoebe Cates
  John Glover
  Robert Prosky
  Robert Picardo
  Christopher Lee



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast