Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.64

Awesome75.36%
Worth A Look: 18.84%
Just Average: 1.45%
Pretty Crappy: 2.9%
Sucks: 1.45%

3 reviews, 51 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Alien Abduction (2014) by Charles Tatum

Nightcrawler by Peter Sobczynski

Before I Go to Sleep by Peter Sobczynski

Fury (2014) by Daniel Kelly

Babadook, The by Daniel Kelly

John Wick by Greg Ursic

Jinxed! by Charles Tatum

Wait Until Dark by Jay Seaver

Happy New Year (2014) by Jay Seaver

Revenge of the Green Dragons by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Red vs. Blue
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Chris Parry

"Mystery Science Theater for video game freaks"
4 stars

A group of red soldiers stand talking in a canyon, spying on a group of blue soldiers over yonder. They pass the time talking amongst themselves, wondering if their tank could be used to pick up chicks, and playing practical jokes on the rookie of the group, while the blue soldiers go through a similar thing on the other side. There’s no real story, and no plot to concern yourself with, but that’s kind of the point. People who have spent countless hours playing the video game Halo will smack themselves in the forehead that they didn’t think of this first, because the filmmakers behind Red Vs Blue have used actual Halo video game footage and voiceover dialogue to create a piece of experimental animation that looks like a million bucks. And it’ll have you howling.

Team killing, pink armor, girl soldiers, death, games of battlefield “I Spy” and arguments over who gets the sniper rifle riddle this clever piece of filmmaking, which varies in quality between side splittingly funny and mildly repetitive. The people behind the film have clearly honed their video gaming skills, because they not only manage to put the characters where they’re supposed to be to make their satire work, but they also manipulate the arms and heads of the characters to give them actual personalities, not to mention impeccable comedy timing.

There are no celebrity voices here, and the footage is manufactured entirely within the realms of the computer game, so it tends to be largely the same kind of shots over and over, but the writing and the ‘acting’ of the characters more than makes up for the limitations of the film’s look. In fact, if you’d built this from scratch, the film would have cost an absolute fortune and taken months or years to put together, but by utilizing the game itself as a production tool, the Red Vs Blue crew have made lemonade out of lemons in a big way.

The question is always in your head while watching Red Vs Blue; “Can this possibly stay funny throughout the running time?” And to the credit of all involved, it does. It may get hard to follow as players die, get resurrected as ghosts, take over each other’s bodies and change their uniform colors, but this is good farce, which means it really doesn’t matter if you keep up or not. Just go with it and enjoy yourself.

To see Red Vs Blue for yourself, take a look at http://www.redvsblue.com

link directly to this review at http://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=8857&reviewer=1
originally posted: 03/14/04 14:10:43
[printer] printer-friendly format  
OFFICIAL SELECTION: 2004 SXSW Film Festival. For more in the 2004 South By Southwest Film Festival series, click here.

User Comments

7/22/14 vskzkjaa USA 2 stars
7/18/14 ormxlrzrkcb USA 2 stars
8/16/12 dj AWSOMEIST SERIES EVER 5 stars
6/15/11 Tim Thank you for introducing me to your bowling ball...hello bowling ball 5 stars
11/05/10 Chris Armstrong Quite possibly the best comedic timing i've ever seen in cinema, machinima or otherwise 5 stars
5/18/09 Hawkins the greatest, and the best 5 stars
12/16/06 DJ Lecuyer God Damn it's so fucking funny! I almost pissed myself watching some of the episodes! 5 stars
11/03/06 luis you suck 5 stars
10/05/06 Dan A. A gift from God 5 stars
6/20/06 wes anyone who does not like this is a bigger fag than the queer eye guys also "SSHHEEIILLAA!!! 5 stars
6/02/06 RandyChimp All the series are awsome. I'm lookin forward to series 5!!! 5 stars
5/17/06 mark if you the person that eats and sleeps at a computer this is the film for you 5 stars
5/04/06 Coltra P.I.M.P. Yo! 5 stars
3/30/06 Enoch "Track sucks!" "YOU suck!" 5 stars
2/13/06 Matt I almosy wet my pants watching this. Ok, I DID wet my pants. 5 stars
11/14/05 Berry "You just killed chuch, you team killing f**ktard!" This is one of the funniest shows ever 5 stars
10/16/05 cvhg487 kisss my ass 5 stars
10/10/05 Jacx This is the best show I've seen! PERIOD!!!! 5 stars
9/20/05 tidus it was FRACKING HILARIOUS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
8/02/05 Fish THIS DOSEN'T SEEM PHYSICALLY POSSIBLE!!!! 5 stars
7/22/05 birdfrag sweet! 5 stars
6/18/05 Matt Dietz This is the best non-porno site on the web, making it one-millionth over all. 5 stars
6/05/05 david "I could blow up the whole god damn world with this thing" 5 stars
5/03/05 Michael Kuck God Dammn best online show ever!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
3/07/05 Eldebo It was bound to happen. I'm glad it did. 5 stars
1/12/05 breremarer Kickass. 5 stars
12/13/04 Halodude Frickin Hilarious. Period. 5 stars
12/11/04 ryan ley it sucked 1 stars
12/11/04 Alfred McFact Awesome! 5 stars
12/09/04 Robosoldier FUCKING COOL!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
11/03/04 Zeonoline I can't sit in my seat n/e more cuz I'm ROFL 5 stars
11/03/04 Miramel fucking awesome!!! 5 stars
10/10/04 Rich25Sk8er Thamk god there is something funny on the Internet 5 stars
10/08/04 Brian Taking humor to new heights. Addicting 5 stars
9/13/04 Webmaster One Word: Perfect 5 stars
7/13/04 John McIntyre If Red Vs Blue wasn't online, I would have to waste my time looking at porn instead. 5 stars
7/02/04 Bryan Laugh out Loud Funny! 5 stars
6/29/04 Unky Dunky most excellent 5 stars
6/26/04 James Vander Very slick, very inventive. 5 stars
5/21/04 John Absolutely Awesome! 5 stars
5/21/04 Ben Holarious! 5 stars
5/07/04 Dustin Way too funny 5 stars
5/04/04 Kyle Conatser Red vs. Blue is the most ingenious work of machinima ever. Comedic timing is awesome! 5 stars
4/27/04 DarkWulf This aint no ice cream social! 5 stars
4/25/04 Alex i like the colors jajaja!!! 5 stars
4/13/04 Matt Petrucci the shiznin 5 stars
4/12/04 Jay Buy this DVD. Buy it NOW! 5 stars
3/24/04 Bingo was his name-o That was a hoot. 4 stars
3/18/04 Wolf My fav part: when the Warthog zooms over the hill with Mexican accordion music blaring! 5 stars
3/15/04 Hoopla Not really a movie, but a funny series of shorts. 3 stars
3/14/04 Spartan-117 funny as hell, its the greatest thing ive ever seen 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  25-Nov-2003

UK
  N/A

Australia
  N/A




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2014, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast