Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.14

Awesome: 9.73%
Worth A Look33.63%
Just Average33.63%
Pretty Crappy: 7.08%
Sucks: 15.93%

10 reviews, 53 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Lost, Found by Jay Seaver

Night of the Living Dead (1968) by Rob Gonsalves

Neomanila by Jay Seaver

First Man by Peter Sobczynski

Bad Times At The El Royale by Peter Sobczynski

Being Natural by Jay Seaver

Suspiria (1978) by Rob Gonsalves

Monsters and Men by Jay Seaver

Project Gutenberg by Jay Seaver

Hello, Mrs. Money by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Jersey Girl (2004)
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Elaine Perrone

"Sweeney Todd like you've never seen it!"
4 stars

Yes, it's a far-from-unpredictable rom-com starring Ben Affleck, featuring J-Lo (although she's only in it for, like, 15 minutes), and centering around a precocious child (Raquel Castro) who Melts Hearts and Changes Lives.

Even so, Kevin Smith manages to surprise and delight with this witty script that pokes great fun at such institutions as Andrew Lloyd Webber's Cats, Dirty Dancing, and The Fresh Prince of Bel Aire and turns Stephen Sondheim's Sweeney Todd into a rollicking elementary school production. (To the utter merriment of this raised-Catholic, by the way, the parochial school is named St. Maria Goretti Elementary. Thank you, Kevin!)

Affleck plays Ollie Trinke, a high-powered music publicist at the top of his game in New York. When his wife Gertrude (Lopez) dies in childbirth, Ollie takes his newborn daughter Gertie to his father's home in New Jersey, expecting that his dad (George Carlin) will bail him out in the child-rearing department. Dad has other ideas, though, and in a stressful moment Ollie opens his potty-mouth once too often, bringing his lucrative career to a screeching halt.

Seven years later, still living with his father and young daughter Gertie (Castro) in New Jersey, but yearning to resurrect his fast-track life in Manhattan, things begin to change for Ollie in the romance department when he meets Maya (Liv Tyler), a graduate student who works in the local video store.

Before Jersey Girl, I couldn't have imagined using the words "Ben Affleck" and "likeable" in the same sentence...but Who Knew?. He's thoroughly engaging here in his transformation from Type-A asshole to doting dad, priorities brought around by a chance meeting with Will Smith, about whom a misplaced comment derailed his career in the first place.

High art it ain't, but great fun it is. With standout performances by lovely Liv Tyler, the always-wonderful George Carlin, and young Raquel Castro, who is a charmer; hugely entertaining cameos by Jason Lee, Matt Damon, and Will Smith; and camera work by a master, Vilmos Zsigmond, that is truly a Valentine to New York in September, this is an effort well-worth your trip to Jersey!

link directly to this review at http://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=8912&reviewer=376
originally posted: 07/22/04 23:17:37
[printer] printer-friendly format  
OFFICIAL SELECTION: 2004 SXSW Film Festival. For more in the 2004 South By Southwest Film Festival series, click here.

User Comments

6/21/18 Suzanne The little girl was darling. 3 stars
4/09/10 art "JERSEY GIRL""WOW the next"GONE WITH THE WIND" 1 stars
12/31/09 Dane Youssef Unremarkable. Undistiguishable. Unnoticable. Nothing special. No effort is really made here 2 stars
3/23/09 Josie Cotton is a goddess Wow, George Carlin can act 4 stars
8/01/07 gad nice 4 stars
5/13/07 David Pollastrini All the women in this film are hot! 3 stars
1/23/07 del Better than it has any right to be...certainly better than that piece of shit J&SBSTB. 4 stars
9/28/06 Annie I absolutely loved it!!! 5 stars
8/19/05 Carolyn Rathburn Absolutely love this one, a true "love story" for the little Gertie 5 stars
8/12/05 ES In the content that all women who love their fathers will cry watching this= great movie 4 stars
7/12/05 Jake A disappointing effort from Kevin Smith. 3 stars
6/20/05 Chelsea M A very Good movie 5 stars
4/27/05 Ashley G I think it was a pretty good movie 4 stars
1/18/05 Jeff Anderson KEVIN SMITH'S SWEETEST AND BEST WRITTEN FILM! Liv Tyler and Raquel Castro are outstanding!! 5 stars
12/14/04 Tom Benton Smith's worst film and a major disappointment, but all in all not a crap movie. 3 stars
12/06/04 Jason Kaul Much better than this review lets on. Kevin Smith's best work. Lots of heart. 4 stars
12/03/04 Pat F. Bravo to Smith & Co's 2d poignant/innovative peek into middle class Jerseyans of all ages. 4 stars
11/20/04 HL Nothin' Special - Lightly Entertaining.... 3 stars
11/13/04 Bryan Lee difficult to watch 1 stars
10/02/04 Alycen Entertaining - excellent music soundtrack! 4 stars
9/19/04 Elizabeth SAPPY. Prefer Smith with more cynicism but this was for his Dad. 2 stars
9/16/04 Herb Scannel Love K. Smith like no other, but this just wasn't for me. 3 stars
9/12/04 Phil M. Aficionado With Liv, who needs J-Lo? She did a great job. 4-F: "Fun formula film with feeling" 4 stars
8/29/04 Emmy WHAT!! this movie is funny as hell..watch Jay and slient j strike back then!! 4 stars
7/23/04 buddy garrett Ben Affleck fails miserably again 2 stars
7/17/04 legend Awful! Only reason to see this film is that J.Lo dies but Ben should go with her for this. 1 stars
6/16/04 Millie Maelstrom Early death of JLo's char. helps but can't save this sentimental schlock promoted as comedy 2 stars
5/12/04 Me Wheres Jay and Silent Bob when you need em? 2 stars
4/18/04 molly horrible 1 stars
4/14/04 Agent Sands Fuck you all in the face. Jersey Girl was really really cool. 5 stars
4/12/04 Mike V This man CAN'T direct! 2 stars
4/12/04 Michael Hatch I am a big fan of Kevin Smith and i think this is his best movie. 5 stars
4/11/04 Wildcarde1 wasnt amazing but not too bad rent it, never understood the ben Hate 4 stars
4/05/04 Todd Bertuzzi This movie, like Affleck, is a lot better than most people give it credit for. V.Good! 5 stars
4/04/04 Uncle Salty Let me be witty... shit shit shit shit shit 1 stars
4/02/04 Amerigo Vespukey Cute kid? Yup. Next Affleck film: talking dog/baby, or freaky friday-esque body switch.... 1 stars
4/02/04 Death 2 Ben Affleck From Phantoms to Pearl Harbor to Gigli Ben Affleck has ruined one movie after another 1 stars
3/31/04 Charles Bryant A great, grown up feature that, while not perfect, is far smarter than many give it 4 stars
3/30/04 LoudChris Choppy, but heartfelt. Boaring. 2 stars
3/29/04 wampa1 hey kevin, if you have something meaningful stick to chasing amy meaningful, this sucks! 1 stars
3/29/04 empaler one of kevin smiths best 5 stars
3/28/04 AfroFett Average acting in an average movie. eh... 3 stars
3/28/04 Larry The dialogue in this movie was as "crisp" as a wet noodle. IT SUCKS! 1 stars
3/27/04 Marion Verhulst I love the movieM 4 stars
3/27/04 ajay This was like a boring movie with some Kevin Smith-isms rather then a *real* KS movie. 3 stars
3/26/04 Bored to Tears A manipulative suckfest. Looks like an amateur made this crap. 1 stars
3/25/04 Brian meh.... 2 stars
3/24/04 Shelley Shea Affleck gets one more chance. 4 stars
3/24/04 Ben Affleck sucks Now he's being out-acted by a 9 year old. Stop giving this talentless assclown 3 movies/yr 1 stars
3/23/04 Leslie Lato Touches the heart. 5 stars
3/22/04 Carver S. utter crap 1 stars
3/22/04 Brian A wonderful film, plain and simple. 5 stars
3/22/04 Tagaru Lee A movie filled with sweetness and a renewed appreciation of those that you love 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  26-Mar-2004 (PG-13)
  DVD: 05-Apr-2011

UK
  N/A

Australia
  12-Aug-2004


Directed by
  Kevin Smith

Written by
  Kevin Smith

Cast
  Ben Affleck
  Liv Tyler
  George Carlin
  Jason Biggs
  Stephen Root
  Jennifer Lopez



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast