Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.75

Awesome: 30.3%
Worth A Look38.64%
Just Average: 15.15%
Pretty Crappy: 7.58%
Sucks: 8.33%

11 reviews, 66 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Darkest Hour by Jay Seaver

Shape of Water, The by Jay Seaver

I, Tonya by Rob Gonsalves

Wonder Wheel by Peter Sobczynski

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Rob Gonsalves

Swindlers, The by Jay Seaver

Oro (Gold) by Jay Seaver

Disaster Artist, The by Peter Sobczynski

Explosion by Jay Seaver

Lucky (2017) by Rob Gonsalves

subscribe to this feed


Girl Next Door, The (2004)
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Laura Kyle

"Remember when that porn star moved in next door?"
4 stars

THE GIRL NEXT DOOR never second-guesses itself about what genre it is - teen sex comedy. (Remember back when sex was SO funny in high school?) Every time a scene changes, so will the song. The popular kids are one dimensional, their personalities completely usurped by the nerdy kids I guess. And of course, our lead "dork" is actually better looking and in general, a lot cooler, than those that pick on him.

However, Girl Next Door is just a little bit edgier, more intelligent, and charming than many of it's predecessors. In the trend of American Pie, bare boobies aren't off limits - but neither are smart humor and sensitivity.

Up-and-coming star Emile Hirsch, who you may recognize from The Dangerous Lives of Alter Boys and The Emperor's Club, plays Mathew Kidman, Student Council President, and soon-to-be Georgetown Freshman (if he can win the Scholarship competition that is); he's a good guy, even raised thousands of dollars to send a brilliant foreign teenager to America for an education. But when he can't think of anything to write in his yearbook after the words "I'll always remember" he begins to realize he may have missed out on the party. So when the stunningly beautiful, sexy (and did I mention: porn star?) Danielle (Elisha Cuthbert) moves in next door, he starts to question his academic focus and social conservatism and opts instead, to have the time of his life.

Hirsch is a unique young actor, and is very careful to not oversell Mathew to the audience. His social awkwardness and do-gooder disposition arises quietly and naturally, and even when he lets loose, his original character is still in tact. Cuthbert is effectively sensuous, yet subtle and genuine enough to be likeable. The two are a match made in Movie Heaven - and although David Wagner and Brent Goldberg's script is strong, Hirsch and Cuthbert's chemistry is what rescues Girl Next Door from being discovered for it's own clichés and implausibility. In fact, the leads are so good together, director Luke Greenfield didn't even bother to develop the beginnings of their relationship, merely showing a quick little montage; nothing more is needed, their attraction to each other is immediately believable.

Girl Next Door isn't without the A, B, C (or 1, 2, 3 - whichever you prefer) plot formula, or the inevitable (though relatively occasional) slapstick gags and sex jokes, but there's a real story going on here. It may sometimes get distracted by the motive to entertain an ADD ridden youth culture, but even then, at least most the movie is fairly funny and ultimately, sweet.

GIRL NEXT DOOR is essentially a fantasy, so toss likelihood out the window. And although it appears to operate under some moral insight, its real aim is to entertain (albeit in a clever and somewhat original fashion). When a wannabe teen comedy stops to smell the roses of actual filmmaking, and doesn't mind trying to overcome potential thorns, I have to give it props.

link directly to this review at http://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=9203&reviewer=369
originally posted: 11/13/04 16:44:52
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

1/07/16 David Hollingsworth creepily bad 2 stars
7/26/13 Joe Sucked! 2 stars
11/15/09 mr.mike I saw the TV-PG version on FX. 3 stars
6/01/08 ben dover jesus elisha cuthbert is the most fuckable chick on the planet 4 stars
5/31/08 james bollington worst film i have seen in ages. awful dialogue, 2d characters, confusing and absurd plot 1 stars
3/31/07 fools♫gold I just have to rate this to stress how ATROCIOUS it is! 1 stars
3/06/07 Frank Rountree Good movie, it really draws you into it. Great acting! 4 stars
2/21/07 Beau An excellent movie with brilliant cast, deserves a few awards i think, 'cuthbert' is amazin 5 stars
1/03/07 GasAttacK Elisha "Hotter than the Sun" Cuthbert plays a porn star turned girl next door; superb. 5 stars
11/10/06 David Pollastrini all the women in this film are hot! 3 stars
11/09/06 Dark Enchantress funny movie, and great boobies! 5 stars
8/05/06 nicklor24 funny and good film, check it out 5 stars
1/17/06 cody A cool teenage boy 's dream movie, with ok story ,cool songs,and what yet of a cast 4 stars
1/08/06 Zaw Damn, I can't believe I waited this long to see this flick!!!!! 5 stars
1/02/06 Wiseman I want a girl friend like her :+( 5 stars
12/15/05 Olan Munji entertaining enough 3 stars
11/23/05 cr a fun movie,ever young man dream , yet i felt a little cheated 3 stars
11/22/05 Sully Risky Business for the 2000's...Cuthbert had me hard all night long..... 4 stars
11/20/05 JN Excellent! This movie was great entertainment 5 stars
11/08/05 sudip bhowmik its a excellent film 5 stars
9/10/05 Nicholas Sheldon Underrated. The writing is top notch and Greenfield gives the film true depth. 5 stars
9/09/05 Ric Funny, smart, sweet, and sexy, it's the perfect teen comedy. 5 stars
6/13/05 Josh Camp Good movie.. I enjoyed it 5 stars
6/02/05 Kaitlyn Pierce sexy 5 stars
4/10/05 tristan Great cast, cool story, inpirational for geeks. 5 stars
3/31/05 christian its hot 5 stars
3/16/05 Naughty Devil Man If Elisha Cuthbert ever asked me to fuck her, I'd die of a coronary. 5 stars
2/21/05 xxplosive This is a very funny movie. 4 stars
2/14/05 WatsUp Good plot but a bit heavy for school kids. 3 stars
1/03/05 posse fuck those who doesn't enjoy this movie, chicks in here are totally awesome, esp. elisha 5 stars
11/20/04 Charlene Javier I'm not a horny teenage boy so I didn't enjoy this. 2 stars
11/04/04 creview Insightful, sharp, and stunningly well told. Far beyond the limits of the genre. 5 stars
10/31/04 Scenic1988 Elisha Cuthbert is the beatiful girl i've ever seen 5 stars
10/27/04 fordefisher Excellent movie with some very touching moments 5 stars
10/13/04 Justin Overall a great movie! Very truthfull 5 stars
9/16/04 y2mckay Well-written teen comedy with a likable cast - and of course Elisha, hotter than the sun. 4 stars
9/12/04 alfred zhou it is a exciting film,i am falled with the story,and saw two times in 24 huors 4 stars
9/05/04 Samuel one of the best comedies i've seen in quite some time... 5 stars
9/05/04 Titus For a teen flick, could be a lot worse. 4 stars
9/04/04 jeff ever wateched popular mecnics for kids?? knew she would be a hottie one grown up. 4 stars
9/03/04 paul hines one of the best films ive seen in a long while the story is so good great film 5 stars
8/27/04 Mike Stanbridge The concept and Cuthbert make this worth the money 4 stars
8/26/04 tatum Not bad, better than "Risky Business" 4 stars
8/25/04 David Frommer EricDSnider proves wiser than Roger Ebert, A.O. Scott with this excellent review. 5 stars
8/25/04 gREG PROBERT I LOVED THIS MOVIE 5 stars
8/13/04 fyrebat this movie was hilarious 5 stars
7/17/04 legend Okay, I was sucked in by the trailers but it wasn't that bad. Funny film. 4 stars
6/29/04 Vinny Spinz THIS MOVIE ROCKED! Plus Elisha Cuthbert is SOOO Sexy, WORD 5 stars
5/28/04 Millie Maelstrom Great moral: A guy's a "faggott" unless he jumps at chance to fuck likely venerial cesspool 1 stars
5/20/04 Mermaid's Pedicurist Again, fartophobic EricDSnider likes many things mightily more obnoxious than farts. 3 stars
5/19/04 Priscilla Postlethwaite What smart guy would fall for girl who forced him to run down street naked? Dumb "comedy". 3 stars
5/02/04 Al Really Funny 5 stars
4/28/04 SIr Spam-a-lot Better thatn I expected 4 stars
4/28/04 Drew Immediately became one of my all time favorites!!! 5 stars
4/22/04 john wallace good comic relief...the shots of cuthbert are awesome....she is beautiful. 3 stars
4/18/04 maumau Emile Hirsche is so hot!! great step from the emperors club 5 stars
4/18/04 TIFFANY GREAT MOVIE I LOVE IT ITS GREAT!!! 5 stars
4/11/04 eyamxi very nice, loved the ending 5 stars
4/11/04 Wildcarde1 Im not big on comedies but i did have fun 4 stars
4/10/04 K As bad as Cabin Fever 1 stars
4/10/04 Ripoff Didn't I see this same movie when it was called "Risky Business"? Crap... 1 stars
4/10/04 ajay only saw it cause of the bitchslap review, and it was good. soundtrack's amazing. 4 stars
4/10/04 Michael Delightful, intelligent, sweet, and Timothy Olyphant scores another scene-stealing triumph 5 stars
4/06/04 Desperado great movie, funny as hell, and elisha cuthbert is the hottest thing on the planet 5 stars
4/05/04 lucas pornstars 5 stars
4/04/04 Ray Big deal 2 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  09-Apr-2004 (R)
  DVD: 24-Aug-2004

UK
  N/A

Australia
  N/A




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast