Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.29

Awesome66.93%
Worth A Look: 11.16%
Just Average: 10.36%
Pretty Crappy: 6.77%
Sucks: 4.78%

8 reviews, 203 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Raja Natwarlal by Jay Seaver

Search for Weng Weng, The by Jay Seaver

Creep (2014) by Jay Seaver

Kundo: Age of the Rampant by Jay Seaver

Guardian (2014) by Jay Seaver

As Above, So Below by Jay Seaver

November Man, The by Jay Seaver

Hana-Dama: The Origins by Jay Seaver

Creeping Garden, The by Jay Seaver

Seventh Code by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Blade Runner
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Dr. Isaksson

"The love and lies of Man and Machine"
5 stars

Ridley Scott's 1982 Sci-Fi Masterpiece "Blade Runner" is an enigmatic blend of visual splendor, graphic violence, and haunting emotional impact. The idea for the film is not that far from the theme of Mary Shelley's "Frankenstein." The notion that man playing God and creating artificial human life might not be a noble or wise occupation.

The plot to Blade Runner is somewhat simple. Rick Deckard (Harrison Ford), is a 'Blade Runner' who is about to retire, but before he does he is assigned one last mission. To seek out and kill a pack of 5 'Replicants' (synthetically created humans) who hijacked a ship in space and have returned to earth seeking their maker Eldon Tyrell (Joe Turkel). The reason the replicants are searching for Tyrell is this. They want to live longer. For a replicant, the life span is confined to only a few years. Desperate to change this unfair sentence, the lead replicant Roy Batty (Rutger Hauer), leads his fellow replicants on a quest to find Tyrell and get an answer to the meaning of their lives and how to extend it. All this before Deckard can complete his task of hunting them down and killing them.

Blade Runner is a visual and musical feast for the senses. The score by Vangelis is a delightful piece of beautiful 80's electronica. Some of it sounds a bit dated now but for the most part, it's goal to portray a futuristic sound works amazingly well. The music is intricately layered, with slick synth work and shining jazz undertones. The direction of the masterful Ridley Scott is absolutely perfect. He never wavers from the story he wants to tell but still manages to imbue Blade Runner with so much stunning imagery that I wished that the film were longer so that I could have had more time to take in the futuristic city of Los Angeles in all it's dank, dark bustle.

Harrison Ford plays Rick Deckard with a quiet and low key style, free of pizzazz and unneeded gusto. This is my favorite performance of his by far. Sean Young is sexy and visually stunning as the replicant Rachael. She plays her character with a subdued grace, which is expected since she is the top of the line replicant. Daryl Hannah is interesting to see as Pris, the pleasure model replicant. Hannah has the right look of innocence and sexuality needed for the role. It's a shame that we didn't see more of the replicant Zhora, (played by Joanna Cassidy). Zhora seemed to have taken command of her life as a replicant and is willing to do what it takes to survive in the world. Her death is one of the most tragic. All of the acting throughout is of the highest standard. But the best performance of the film comes from the massive Rutger Hauer as Roy Batty. His icy stare and commanding presence was picture perfect for being the replicant with the strongest need to know how to survive. His performance at the film's climax was riveting.

Blade Runner is much more then a beautiful looking and masterfully crafted film. It's a lesson on what it means to be a human being. It looks at man's manipulation with nature in creating synthetic humans and implanting thoughts and feelings into their minds. In a futuristic world where great advances in technology have occurred, man has become their own worst enemy. In the stunning ending moments of Blade Runner when Batty has lost his fellow replicants he says, "Do you know what it's like to live in fear?" and "I've seen things you can only dream of." His life has been that of fear and uncertainty and as much as the human race considers him 'UN-human,' his feelings are all too human. Roy Batty DOES NOT kill Deckard because in his last moments of life, he realises and UNDERSTANDS that if he killed Deckard, he would be just as heartless as the human race which created him and now hunts him. It is a moment of self realization that most humans never reach.

Batty's aware that he was only created to serve his human creators. (Which that in itself is a huge lesson in the tyranny of slavery.) However, Batty is immensely upset at his limited time to live. Why? Because he has gained something his creators didn't seem to care about. Memories, emotions and perhaps even love. His mind has grown from the simple thoughts of a newborn baby into those of a young child and now he realizes that he wants to see more, he wants to understand what it is to be alive. Not to be created and used for labor or destruction, but to understand these growing emotions inside. The feelings like those of a human.

The finale to Blade Runner is one of the most incredible moments ever captured in a sci-fi film. Instead of a big battle to the death between Batty and Deckard, Batty realizes that as a creation of man, he cannot learn what it's like to be free or loved. Man is not God and man cannot love their creations as God does. So instead of fighting, Batty lets himself die. The religious tone I felt from the film may not be what Ridley Scott intended but that was how I came away from it. Technology advances in Blade Runner have dehumanized society, life seems to be less important and for many has turned into a simple, dragging, day to day existence. It seems only a small handful of replicants have a thirst for living anymore.

Blade Runner raises many questions to ponder. What is the nature of being a human being? To be part of the human race? The purpose of life, it's emotional impact, it's memories, it's heartlessness, it's cruelty, it's joy, it's hope, it's love. Also the mysteries of how to control life. To create it anew and ultimately, to understand it's meaning. However, as Blade Runner shows, there is no way to artificially create the most complex of all creations, MAN.

P.S. I need to add this note in response to a fellow reviewer who has stated many problems he has concerning "Blade Runner".

He says that the film has no concern for it's characters and that there is no development of these characters and what they do makes no sense. However, he fails to bring up just WHAT it is the characters are doing which is confusing him. Also he mentions having a problem with the plot, which he says is murky and unclear.

Well, for me, the plot really isn't the main element of the film. Blade Runner is much more interested in giving us an overall look at a human race grappling with life in a futuristic world. It isn't supposed to be the harrowing story of Rick Deckard and his rough battles with replicants. This is a film with no lead characters. Everyone has an equal part to act out. I think that each of the 5 replicants represent a piece of society. Zhora is the jaded whore. Pris is the awkward and slightly trampled on young woman. Rachael represents the closed-in upper class woman. Leon is the hard working everyday Joe. And Roy Batty stands as the one who leads them. He has no particualr social position, he is the man who encompasses the largest part of the human race. Those who live in fear, those who are poor, those who are slaves, those who are being controlled without their consent, and especially for Batty, those who are angry.

That, to me, is who Batty represents. And his decision not to kill Deckard at the film's ending isn't a weak plotline, it is the ultimate display of dignity in the face of oppression and control.

P.P.S. And just because you think I am reading more into the film then what you feel is really there doesn't mean you're right and I'm wrong. I shouldn't have to agree with you and say the film is lousy because you don't see what I saw. What I take away from a film is a personal choice. It's a private conclusion each film goer should make based on their own thoughts and experiences. I didn't read a depth that wasn't there. I made my own choice as to how I saw Blade Runner. I think everyone needs to remember that art is not a black and white thing. That's the beauty of it. One man's trash is another man's treasure.

One of the most intricate and visually beautiful Sci-Fi films ever. ***** 5 Stars

link directly to this review at http://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=924&reviewer=296
originally posted: 08/10/02 17:13:32
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

3/23/14 Justin R. A futuristic sci-fi masterpiece that requires more than one viewing. 5 stars
12/04/13 xcgmmnoklx USA 5 stars
9/18/13 Annie G Just recently managed to stay awake through entire movie - still just ok to me. 3 stars
7/21/13 Ronin Prometheus, Coming from the same director? Not funny 5 stars
10/05/11 David Hollingsworth Bleak and potent sci-fi masterpiece 5 stars
9/10/11 Debbie Mac One of the best sci fi movies. The movie was better than the book, which is rare. 5 stars
8/11/11 larsen Brilliant sound design & Vangelis score often ignored over visuals: It's the whole package! 5 stars
5/18/11 the rock best sci-fi film ever mixed with a bit of film noir 5 stars
5/10/11 Silkworm Timeless, artistic - Vangelis and Ridley at their best!!!! 5 stars
1/27/11 taker a bloody masterpiece 5 stars
9/23/10 Flathead King Is a stunning visual presentation with a first rate script. 5 stars
9/18/10 Walt Eckland Seminal Movie 5 stars
9/10/10 Barbara Leaf Rudger Hauer - so manly, even as a robot - you can't help but love him as a human. 4 stars
3/03/10 dude truly one of the best sci-fi movies ever 5 stars
12/06/09 f Fine film, but it's FAR from being the best sci-fi movie ever made 3 stars
12/02/09 Chris Dialog seems written by a teenager, the score is painful, casting terrible. 2 stars
10/30/09 Omar Probably the best sci-fi film around. 5 stars
10/22/09 Danny Rovira One of the compelling and unique sci-fi films of all time. A visual masterpiece! 5 stars
8/19/09 Jeff Wilder Probably one of the ten best sci-fi films ever. 5 stars
6/21/09 MP Bartley Infinitely rewarding on repeat viewings. 5 stars
6/17/09 Tyler Sciortino Rewards repeat viewings like few other films do. 5 stars
1/28/09 the dork knight yeah, OK, very influcencial movie. i still hated it 2 stars
12/21/08 ctzn kane distant yet engaging, cliche and fresh, a flawed masterpiece 4 stars
11/29/08 matt It's set in the future but still looks like the 80s. Pretty worthless and boring 2 stars
11/03/08 Quigley Insanely overrated sci-fi film. Lightyears away from the "masterpiece" everyone says it is. 2 stars
8/16/08 Jason Turvey One of the worst films I've ever seen. 1 stars
7/21/08 the dork knight I didn't get it. But Rutger Hauer was good 2 stars
7/06/08 Len The mark of a great film is how it stays with you 5 stars
6/07/08 Phil McCracken average film, just way past its use by date 3 stars
6/06/08 PAUL SHORTT A DARK, SLOW, OVERLONG THRILLER WITH MANY DULL MOMENTS 1 stars
4/13/08 Colleen Cousineau One awesome older sci-fi movie I can still watch all the way thru. 5 stars
3/31/08 Bernard Best sci-fi film ever! 5 stars
3/22/08 Eric I fell asleep the first 3 times, and wish I had the 4th. Most overrated movie ever. 1 stars
3/01/08 mb Left after 30 min ... didn't hold me 2 stars
2/12/08 Nick Knowlton Just watched it today -- Intelligent and complex, it draws you in. Stands the test of time. 5 stars
1/26/08 mark madsen oldie but a goodie. 4 stars
1/06/08 Aaron Commareri Simply one of the best scifi films and still holds up today 5 stars
1/03/08 David Pollastrini rather dull 2 stars
12/14/07 Jason One of the best movies ever!, decent characters with depth and hardly any cliches. 5 stars
12/09/07 ben dover the best and most thought provoking sci fi movie ever.chris has one brain cell you cock 5 stars
11/18/07 unreceivedogma BR + 2001 are best SF ever, & among best films all time. brillliant on all levels. 5 stars
11/10/07 reddye5 Amazing film. Beautiful cinematography with a creepy futuristic vibe. One of a kind film. 5 stars
11/09/07 Pastafarian Silly, Dull, about an hour to long. 2 stars
11/02/07 Jefenator Made in 1982, still looks like it was made in 2082! (Glad I won't live that long...) 5 stars
11/02/07 Jon, Intergalactic Gladiator If Blade Runner gets an Ultimate Cut, surely Soldier will also, right? 4 stars
9/24/07 Rogue Gallart Director Ridley Scott's 1982 film "Blade Runner" is arguably the most famous and influentia 5 stars
8/13/07 Jubei One of the few examples of well done cyberpunk in film.Not perfect though. 4 stars
7/27/07 Wee Todd Didd One of the best sci fi flicks ever, can't wait for the 25'th anaversity edition to be avail 5 stars
7/01/07 Dexter One of the hottest sci-fi movies ever. 5 stars
5/02/07 john I feel this movie is overrated. It's been awhile, but I remember it felt incomplete. 4 stars
3/29/07 Christopher I hated this film beyond belief complete and utter crap and looks nasty. Really bad. 1 stars
1/09/07 Booksworm Holy shit this movie is weird.R.S. is a visionary. 5 stars
1/01/07 R.W.Welch Plot has weak spots, but bonus points for atmosphere. 4 stars
10/24/06 schopenhauerisgod For those you who think BR is "too slow" or "don't see what the big deal is": Keanu awaits! 5 stars
10/03/06 DEXDMAKER I'm sorry for you who don't get it, try it awake and sober 5 stars
9/15/06 rwelsh Roy/Christ the Son of God who with a nail thru his hand saved falling man 5 stars
7/05/06 Bluto Philip Dick was a visionary, read the book 5 stars
6/23/06 Josh Racine Best sci-fi movie ever. 5 stars
5/16/06 Josh Standlee I want more life, fucker I ain't done, yeah! 5 stars
4/12/06 anthonyuk superb, shame some people were too stupid to get it 5 stars
3/20/06 Aldo not good..crap characters, crap story, watch I Robot (is better but not great either) 3 stars
2/26/06 Steven Lewis metropolis ripoff but cool. 3 stars
2/23/06 omar i wish the other version was available. pretty good but kind of a letdown 3 stars
1/30/06 John Dog Amazing! 5 stars
1/12/06 Perry Mason Great FX, great performances, great direction, great script, great movie 5 stars
11/05/05 Indrid Cold Somewhat disappointing, but still it's clearly a cut above most scifi. 4 stars
9/07/05 Johnny Best sci-fi movie ever. 5 stars
8/28/05 Jabberjaw Harrison Ford sucks big, brown donkey balls...I've seen the pictures. 1 stars
8/24/05 Copper I agree, pretty overrated and does not stand up well today. 2 stars
8/24/05 salamone Quite possibly the most overrated movie of all-time, right next to 2001. 1 stars
8/22/05 ES It's good, Rutger and harrison are competent but the movie is dark and too slow 3 stars
8/20/05 marv I've had trips to the dentist that were more entertaining than this. 1 stars
8/19/05 Cardigan Does NOT stop up well against the test of time...have you WATCHED this lately???? 3 stars
8/19/05 Gaston What exactly is it that everyone sees in this film??? 3 stars
8/18/05 JiJi I agree that it's one of the most OVERRATED movies of all-time! Mediocre at best. 3 stars
8/06/05 Ben Kick ass! 5 stars
8/03/05 DM Harrison Ford gives his best performance in what is possibly Ridley Scott's best film. 5 stars
7/29/05 Green Gremlin Why isn't this indispensible classic available on DVD ?!? 5 stars
7/24/05 SL Tackles the biggest questions in life, unlike 99.9999% other films. 5 stars
6/29/05 Naka Cerebral, intelligent, but dull and uninvolving...worth it for the visuals and cleverness. 4 stars
4/12/05 Ronin Awesome movie, dark, rainy, great atmosphere. Rutger Hauer rocks there. 5 stars
3/26/05 indrid cold The most overrated sci-fi movie of all time, but admittedly, its better than most. 4 stars
3/19/05 Tay Great film 5 stars
3/13/05 Witch-King Scott's vision of LA is incredible! 5 stars
3/03/05 Jon Smith Awesome! 5 stars
2/27/05 mike the best sf ever 5 stars
12/04/04 sbpat21 my god, the sheer genius... 5 stars
11/26/04 Alex Cremers Probably the best movie ever made 5 stars
10/20/04 Phil fuckign awsome 5 stars
9/07/04 V. Inspector One of the best films ever 5 stars
8/26/04 Bluto Philip K Dick was a (Psychotic) genius, are all his stories optioned now? 5 stars
8/21/04 Peter James True Review is probably the worst reviewer here 5 stars
8/17/04 Daveman The vast, incomparable influence on sci-fi are all evident in this unique masterpiece. 5 stars
8/14/04 magaafi entertaining tho but strang (very) strange premise 5 stars
7/03/04 true review boring and pointless but not as bad as Citizen Kane, the worst movie ever made 1 stars
7/03/04 Luiz Gilberto de Oliveira Messias This is one of the best movies ever made. 5 stars
3/30/04 john visually stunning and interessting sci fi story - 4 stars
3/08/04 Sean McLean Brilliant - the best cyber-punk film ever made. Beautiful and unforgettable. 5 stars
3/02/04 Adam A beautifuly moody and dark film, in which all elements come together seamlessly. 5 stars
1/23/04 damrat Only the single greatest movie ever made. Rutger Hauer's command performance! 5 stars
12/06/03 notSocrates if you were bored by this movie consider yourself lucky 1 stars
11/06/03 Capt' Fox One of the best movies ever made. 999 stars! Poetry, action, philosophy, grace, beauty... 5 stars
11/04/03 maffat If I could I would give 100 stars to that movie!....And more! 5 stars
11/02/03 Sammy My favorite movie ever 5 stars
9/23/03 Alan Film noir meets sci-fi. Harrison Ford as Bogie. Rutger Hauer's most compelling role. 5 stars
7/25/03 3man Very slow at times. Nevertheless, an excellent sci-fi movie. 5 stars
7/21/03 Elizaveta Great post-nuclear atmostphere...made the whole film fantastically creepy &Does PKD justice 5 stars
6/05/03 Pascal Nice film 4 stars
4/28/03 sonar ZzZz..... *snivel* Huh? Oh, damn must have fallen asleep. 1 stars
4/08/03 Yo Mama! I don't get it...seen it twice...fell asleep both times...I think try #3 is not happening. 1 stars
3/24/03 Jack Sommersby Decent-enough, but slow and dramatically hollow. 3 stars
3/12/03 Ridley Scott Blade Runner has influenced too many films to count,SFX hold upto today's stuff,music is A+ 5 stars
12/27/02 Louise B Watching grass grow is more exciting than this pathetic, fucked up shitty movie! 1 stars
12/23/02 Movie Expert This insanely brilliant masterpiece doesn't contain a single cheesy moment unlike ET 5 stars
11/22/02 Mark Sandison Stunning visuals - Great atmosphere. 5 stars
9/10/02 Francofile Shallow? What about the whole meeting-your-maker, meaning-of-mortality, us-or-them premise? 4 stars
8/18/02 P.Rodriguez 2 All those who didn't like this film just remember keep watching. It only gets better 5 stars
8/11/02 Jake I think this movie is underrated! Of all the SciFi movies it's certainly one of the best! 5 stars
8/10/02 Michael Carruthers One of the most overrated movies ever. What a piece of shit! 2 stars
7/21/02 JesseL One of the all time SciFi greats. Ford is strong lead, Young is a babe. 5 stars
7/11/02 KMG Sorry, I didn't like it. Tried, but wasn't my movie. 3 stars
7/05/02 trevor didn't like it at 1st -- gets better with each viewing 5 stars
5/30/02 Charles Tatum Dull eye candy 3 stars
5/12/02 Dark Baron Next to Dark City this futuristic set and Replicant conspiracy are the best. 5 stars
4/27/02 maximal01 Great storyline, but it seemed unexplained. Replicants! Replicants! Replicants! 4 stars
3/30/02 Rockitman007 One of the best movies ever! 5 stars
3/29/02 Paul Meade Great film, Philip Dick was a real talent. 5 stars
3/06/02 Alan Smithee A bit slow at times, but overall one of the most atmospheric sci/fi films ever. 4 stars
2/21/02 mwildema Best Sci-Fi ever filmed. Nothing like it, simply a master peice. 5 stars
2/18/02 Edwin whooosh 5 stars
2/17/02 Clarance Way to go harrison!! 5 stars
1/26/02 Andrew Carden Harrison Ford Was My Hero When I Watched This. 5 stars
1/17/02 Judith Latham WHO THE HELL IS MUSKEWITZ? He sounds like an idiot. This film is amazing. 5 stars
1/10/02 max zhang Some changes from the book, hard to understand plot unless you read the original story. 4 stars
1/05/02 slipperyK nothing to amazing 2 stars
12/02/01 Mr Math Sloppy storytelling? Are you high? This thing is an outright masterpiece. 5 stars
11/21/01 G-Lyte The best movie ever! Absolute cult!!! 5 stars
11/06/01 Raj Muskewitz is a fucking dorky old loser moron...motherfucker..as if your opinion counts fagg 5 stars
11/03/01 Marc Wickens The best film, EVER 5 stars
11/02/01 RoyBoy Muskewitz = dimwitz! Rachael is "plasticized" for a reason. BR is visionary and complex. 5 stars
11/02/01 Evil Sponge It's better than eating turnips. Much better. 5 stars
11/02/01 Jorge Morales Perhaps someday someone makes another film like this 5 stars
11/02/01 Lukas Mariman One of the best SF movies ever 5 stars
11/02/01 David Caldwell The best film ever made! 5 stars
10/21/01 P.Rodriguez BR is just like good wine. It gets better and better with age. A classic 5 stars
10/06/01 jawsboy a movie with dull action and average acting. but the sets and photography & sfx are sweet! 4 stars
9/30/01 Phoenix A beautiful, visually stimulating sci-fi knockout. 5 stars
9/30/01 Mike One of my favorite movies 5 stars
9/18/01 Chris Batchelor -none- 4 stars
7/27/01 Henry Ginsberg masterwork 5 stars
7/15/01 perpex A film all other SF films try to encompass - most fail 5 stars
6/16/01 Matt Dorsey More ladies should dress like Sean Young's character early in the film. Yeeow. 5 stars
4/03/01 Brad Best sci-fie movie ever made. Period. 5 stars
4/01/01 Jesse L A SciFi classic...the visuals are fantastic...great story 5 stars
2/26/01 Justin Ford Great movie with brilliant work of cinematography and many other aspects..10! 5 stars
2/04/01 Stephen Sills One of the greatest films ever made. Brilliantly crafted and haunting to the soul. 5 stars
1/31/01 jordan director's cut is amazing. original is not very good. 5 stars
12/18/00 Destruction Worker "Better get it up, or I'm gonna have ta kill ya" - awsome quote from Blade Runner 5 stars
12/15/00 Paul Meade Everything Philip K Dick wrote should be at least examined for Screenplay material 5 stars
11/25/00 Andrew Along with "The Thing" one of the best films of '82 5 stars
11/12/00 The EVIL Penguin smart, a mind-bender 4 stars
10/10/00 P. Rodriguez Each time one watches this film (the directors cut)it's seems more enjoyable than last time 5 stars
9/11/00 Ground Zero a brilliant classic 5 stars
8/29/00 staffie If only more directors would understand that a good movie is one that makes you think!! 5 stars
7/02/00 Deckard Best Sci-Fi movie ever. It just doesn't get any better than this. 5 stars
6/17/00 metropolis a movie that has lasted the ages...still strong as ever! 5 stars
6/02/00 RoD Beautiful, captivating, and flawless. Best dialogue and most moving villain! 5 stars
5/29/00 perverted pixie Ridley Scott+Harrison Ford+Philip K. Dick=Sci fi Masterpiece. Directors cut is a must! 5 stars
5/03/00 wes j clough A classic that has not and never will look dated a must see film. 5 stars
4/16/00 JDC My favorite film. A 90's "what is reality" style scifi movie released in the cuddly ET 80's 5 stars
2/28/00 haris aposporis hopefully it will make u think 5 stars
1/03/00 perplex BR was ahead of its time, thats why it flopped in the 80's in the 90/00's its a masterpiece 5 stars
11/26/99 Matt Henderson Much imitated, defined cyberpunk before it existed. Film about film, reality, humanity. 5 stars
11/14/99 Jacaranda second only to Star Wars as the best film of the c20th 5 stars
11/02/99 bookgirl Deeply symbolic, scared me more than most movies! (but in a good way), very impressive 5 stars
10/26/99 Karahde Khan Maybe the greatest Sci-Fi film ever. 5 stars
9/22/99 Aaron B. Not your run of the mill sci-fi movie with big bad aliens and cliche villians. 5 stars
9/08/99 Sandra Edgley One of the most grondbreaking,prophetic movies EVER made.One of the Greats. 5 stars
9/05/99 godsdog Different from Dick's book, but just as poignant. Bozo is spot on with the review. 5 stars
9/04/99 Weird Andy Superb,but still not as good as the story it was based on. Dick rules. Stop snickering. 5 stars
7/27/99 Ted Wetzel Great acting,and a thought provoking screen play make BR the single greatest sci-fi movie. 5 stars
7/10/99 Daria Maybe I'm just too dumb, but I honestly don't see what the fuss is about... 3 stars
6/28/99 Chris Gianaras Though made almost two decades ago, still has best set design of any movie ever made. 5 stars
6/14/99 Dylan In a word - impeccable. Philip K. Dicks book is also worth picking up. 5 stars
5/10/99 metropolis What all good SF should be 5 stars
3/24/99 James Coffey Visualy spectacular 5 stars
3/17/99 Madcap yup yup yup! 5 stars
1/02/99 tarkin666 A bit off from the novel, but still the greatest movie of all time esp. director's cut. 5 stars
12/13/98 Binky A true classic. Will always shame tacky scifi effortslike Star Wars 5 stars
12/07/98 Khalad Easily better than Star Wars and 2001. 5 stars
11/29/98 perplex BR is the king of all SF movies. This movie is the benchmark for all SF movies made! 5 stars
11/26/98 Mr.Pink The director's cut is fantastic, this is a bit less I'm afraid, but still...... 4 stars
11/23/98 Ray Russ I am not worthy to rate this masterpiece - neither are you 5 stars
11/19/98 Scott von Berg Best of the best. See it now. Really. 5 stars
11/17/98 Jules Both are great but director's cut rules 5 stars
11/06/98 Lord Of The Dunce Compare Harry Ford in this to Six Days Seven Nights.. he's lost it. But BR is superb. 5 stars
10/18/98 Kwyjibo How could anyone possibly fault this movie? It's unbelievable! Superb! 5 stars
10/01/98 arachic13 The Director's Cut was so fucking good that I masterbated to it. 5 stars
9/17/98 Couch Potato Critic The best SF film since 1982. Simply a work of art. 5 stars
9/16/98 cheryl_ann i saw it in one of my classes in high school. that class rocked as did the movie. 4 stars
9/16/98 Trav Superb, but I still prefer the original version... 4 stars
9/13/98 Smalltown Anything vaguely related to Phil Dick is sheer genius. 5 stars
9/13/98 Paul Leone Great movie. This is how sci-fi (or anything) should be done. 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  25-Jun-1982 (R)
  DVD: 07-Nov-2000

UK
  09-Sep-1982 (15)

Australia
  16-Sep-1982 (M)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2014, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast