Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.02

Awesome50.57%
Worth A Look: 20.53%
Just Average: 15.59%
Pretty Crappy: 6.84%
Sucks: 6.46%

14 reviews, 179 user ratings



Kill Bill: Vol. 2
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by MP Bartley

"A Roaring Rampage of Mediocrity"
3 stars

I was one of the few people who wasn't blown away by Volume 1. Whilst everyone else raved on about its hyper-kinetic style, and thousands of references to obscure kung-fu flicks, I found it badly structured, generally silly and pointless. The 'Kill Bill' experience was like going to a restaurant and having to wait 6 months between your starter and main course, with the only reason being to get more money out of you because you'd be forced to buy some drinks inbetween. I compared Volume 1 to a garlic bread - tasty, but insubstabtial. Volume 2 is the steak that I ordered: it's the main course, but it's dry and they left the sauce off. All the questions I had at the end of Volume 1 were answered, but at the end of this I have just one more question remaining: is it officially time we can stop getting excited about Quentin Tarantino movies now?

Since 'Pulp Fiction' has he done anything to defend his reputation? 'Jackie Brown' was a bore and I've already made my views known on Volume 1. So with his third film since his Cannes and Oscar glory, Tarantino stalls yet again.

Volume 2 is where the backstory starts to get filled in. We learn what the Bride's name is, why she was shot and what happened to her daughter. And of course she's getting closer to hacking Bill to tiny little pieces. So this is where the emotional pay-off should be, the mother of all climaxes as the trailer would have it.

But it's not. Instead there's just the shrugging feeling of 'what was the point of that?'. Although Tarantino would have you believe that Volume 2 is miles apart from Volume 1, it's not. It still has its good points (an occasional kick-ass sequence, great bits in a sea of mediocrity), but it doesn't improve on them. The great bits remain 'bits' and never develop into a cohesive whole. And ultimately the flaws remain the same: obscure and pointless references that just hinder the film and give it an amateur feel. Take a flashback where we see the Bride in training from the ancient mentor Pei-Mei. Shot brilliantly, with some dazzling footwork, it's ultimately undermined by some atrocious crash-zooms and over-the-top music. And you can forget the whining fan-boy excuse of "you don't understand, it's like that in Shogun Assassin 5", because simply put it looks shit. And if it references some obscure fan-boy flick, fine. It probably looks shit in that as well. So the self-indulgence that peppered and undermined Volume 1 is still here (including that terrible wailing klaxon whenever the Bride gets near her enemies). Reams of dialogue are wasted on debating the merits of a Hounzo sword, when it could have moved the plot forward.

There are certainly great moments here. Thurman is still superb, giving the script far more serious treatment than it deserves. And it's certainly worth the wait to meet Bill as Carradine gives a great, gravelly performance. You are instantly convinced that this man could have you dead with the click of his fingers.

The rest of the characters are as cardboard thin as those in Volume 1 however. Michael Madsen's Bud is just a Mr. White-lite despite Madsen's assertions to the contrary and Daryl Hannah's Elle is just like a less-deadly version of the Bride. But with an eye-patch. For all that Tarantino tries to build these characters up as lethal assasins and flawed people, they're just not very threatening and come across as some minor henchman of a Bond villain. They don't seem particularly difficult to dispose of and you feel that James Bond could have got rid of them within 45 minutes, let alone dragging it out over 4 hours of 2 films.

Because ultimately, these characters aren't anywhere near as memorable as Tarantino would have us believe. Yes, we learn the Bride's name, but so what? It's not a surprise, it's not linked to the plot or any other character in anyway so why is it buzzed out for the most part? Oh I get it...it's a reference. Likewise, we learn the reasons why she was shot, but they're nowhere near as earth-shattering as we thought they would be.

Read any interview with Tarantino, and he'd have you believe that Volume 2 was for the 'Pulp Fiction' purists, that there'd be quotable dialogue a-plenty. Turns out he was telling a big fat lie. The dialogue is turgid and uninteresting, and sounds like someone trying to copy Tarantino. Whereas previously his dialogue fizzed and buzzed with vigour, here it sounds like he's trying too hard to write what people would expect him to write, and it feels flat and forced. A lengthy speech by Bill on Superman is particularly embarassing and serves no point. It's jarring and predictable for Tarantino to write about these things now.

And where was the Tarantino that made 'Pulp Fiction' such a sleek, jet-black pleasure? The Tarantino that could edit together so many stories and characters with such verve and style? Volume 2 sags considerably and never builds up pace. The ending is particularly drawn-out and takes an age to get to, rendering its emotional impact nil. Anyone expecting the mother of all smackdowns between the Bride and Bill had better keep their eyes peeled for a 'blink-and-you'll-miss-it' climax. Likewise, the brawls with the other two on their list. Yes, they're pretty good...but didn't the Bride want to have more than 'pretty good' satisfaction?

This flabby pace isn't helped by the introduction of the Bride's daughter which threatens to turn Volume 2 into 'Stepmom 2'. Remember the old saying "never work with animals or children"? That applies to Quentin too. I never thought 'schmaltzy' would be a word I'd associate with a Tarantino film.

I would be a fool to deny that there's some great acting in Volume 2 and the coffin sequence is nearly worth the price of admission alone. Nearly, but not quite. Forget all of Tarantino's assertions that he had to split it into two because of the two differing styles, he did it for money, pure and simple. There's nothing here that couldn't have been told in a single two-hour plus film. But then, that wouldn't give Quentin the time and space to indulge himself at the expense of the story would it? Neither volume of 'Kill Bill' is as hard, funny or as cool as it thinks it is. It's more wankery for geeky fan-boys and is only sometimes marginally interesting or effective. Although Volume 2 answered all my questions from Volume 1, I have one question left: when is Quentin Tarantino going to start making proper movies again?

link directly to this review at http://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=9241&reviewer=293
originally posted: 04/26/04 10:40:09
[printer] printer-friendly format  
This film is available for download or online viewing at CinemaNow.com For more in the CinemaNow.com series, click here.
OFFICIAL SELECTION: 2004 Tribeca Film Festival. For more in the 2004 Tribeca Film Festival series, click here.

User Comments

5/11/14 Mike 4 hours of my life wasted 2 stars
4/21/14 Jason more overrated tarantino crap 1 stars
2/27/13 Ed Piece of crap. Avoid! 1 stars
3/08/12 Dr.Lao Being over the age of 13, I found nothing redeeming in this move 1 stars
11/18/11 matthew thompson dalldorf Decent. Lady Snowblood is still better 3 stars
6/26/11 DR Almost good, but ultimately falls flat due to it's vacuous, midguided philosophy. 2 stars
12/14/10 moose rapper Better then the first one, but still overrated 3 stars
6/10/10 Flathead King More shallow, childish and self-indulgent trash from Tarantino. 1 stars
5/31/10 User Name Savor the tasty dialog, marvel at the over-the-top violence, and cheer at the expected end. 4 stars
12/19/09 Elizabeth Sanchez Violence concluded with a beautiful plot and dialogue. 5 stars
5/06/09 Mishyana Bit late, but Paul Shortt; you should make that "offending" YOUR "sensibilities". 5 stars
4/08/09 j hall "2" was much superior 5 stars
3/17/09 Josie Cotton is a goddess I didn't like the first one, but for some reason the sequel worked. 4 stars
12/20/08 PAUL SHORTT TAKES PLEASURE IN OFFENDING OUR MORAL SENSIBILITIES WITH ITS ADORING PORTRAIT OF A KILLER 1 stars
10/21/08 Shaun Wallner Well made. 5 stars
8/17/08 Nino Philosophizing equal to that of Pulp Fiction, puts meaning to the violence. 5 stars
1/17/08 Bitchflaps Not bad. David Carradine is a revelation, Uma Thurman is bollocks. 3 stars
7/21/07 gr117 Not as good as the first.... 4 stars
6/03/07 Vinn Boring as hell, weak finale, and some of Uma's dialogue & line readings were awful 1 stars
3/27/07 fools♫gold Tarantino's worst is still rather entertaining. 3/5 or 4/5. 4 stars
1/08/07 Drew Galletti Part of my favorite series 5 stars
11/06/06 Drew Love these movies 5 stars
9/11/06 Eden Even better than Vol 1. A brilliant modern day Leone movie 5 stars
9/03/06 R.W.Welch A step up from Vol.1. Only moderately excessive. 4 stars
7/14/06 Anthony G Awesome movie. 5 stars
5/11/06 ES Brilliant 5 stars
5/04/06 dionwr These movies are CRAP 2 stars
5/02/06 Ryan_A Oooo...touch of death... 5 stars
5/01/06 William Goss A worthy conclusion. 5 stars
5/01/06 David Cornelius even tops vol 1 5 stars
5/01/06 HBS-SH how fast is plaid? 4 stars
4/24/06 Eden The first one was amazing and this one's even better 5 stars
3/01/06 Ronin Has it's charm. Uma Thurman brilliant. Pai-Mei and his "story" rules. 4 stars
1/09/06 Mike Completely Awesome.... can't see one w/out the other 5 stars
12/02/05 Naruto only idiots will like such absurdity 1 stars
11/22/05 Sully absolute rubbish!!! too much endless dialog, with no point..part 2 sucked dog balls 1 stars
11/08/05 Jonathon Holmes It's Tarintino at the top of his form 5 stars
10/19/05 a ninja just as good as the first (perfect) but different 5 stars
10/12/05 HL One of My Favorites..Though I Am a Bit Warped. 5 stars
10/12/05 Wisamane Stupid college Crack head junkie "Artistic" Bull shit, it was horrible!! 1 stars
10/09/05 Agent Sands Very riveting. Kill Bill is one of the great film sagas. It is. 5 stars
10/04/05 Jesse Taylor Even better than the first one. Daryl Hannah gives a great performance. 5 stars
9/12/05 pablo che outstanding depiction of a violent story of intense love , passion and betrayal 5 stars
8/24/05 Eden Underrated tribute to a Leone film. Deeper than the first and much better for it 5 stars
8/22/05 ES Outshines the 1st, a humanitarian edge and a tearful conclusion, the best of film making 5 stars
8/08/05 Maalstrom A decent finish to this story, not what the first half delivered though. 4 stars
8/05/05 Zack GREAT CONTINUATION! 5 stars
7/25/05 Eric Rollins Under appreciated fun movie, great style and acting. 4 stars
7/20/05 Sir Dude Should have made it one movie instead of two. 2 stars
7/13/05 Brandy Harrington Pretty okay! 4 stars
7/06/05 Isaac Baranoff Killer! 5 stars
6/24/05 Eric Rollins Eye plucking good time. 4 stars
6/24/05 Mr Fluffy Justifies Vol 1.Would have been better as one film but where's the fun in that 4 stars
6/15/05 Cheryl Free I couldn't wait to see this sequel and I was NOT disappointed! 4 stars
6/14/05 Phil One of the coolest film ever. If you hated the first then give this a try! 5 stars
6/08/05 b landers STUPID !!! 1 stars
6/04/05 Charlene Javier Perfect sequel to an excellent movie. 5 stars
5/24/05 The shizz Just as good as the first one, alice ill take extra mayo on my sandwich BITCH. 5 stars
5/11/05 C Vega as good as volume one but not better but still quality 5 stars
4/07/05 Jason Kreitzer A terrific film and a great conclusion. 5 stars
3/06/05 Elton John I should bitch slap you alice, your supposed to be in the kitchen remember? 5 stars
2/26/05 Alice Colwell not that great 4 stars
2/20/05 Abbath Quite a bit better than the first volume. 4 stars
2/16/05 Kathleen4691 should have stopped after Vol I...could have imagined that Vol II pulled it all together. 2 stars
2/05/05 Tom Benton Though not quite as good as "Vol. 1", "Kill Bill: Vol. 2" is another Tarantino masterpiece. 5 stars
1/28/05 HL Guess whover hates this don't appreciate Tarantino's considerable talent! 5 stars
1/26/05 JesseL Vol 1 was better, but this tied things together. Too thoughtful. 4 stars
12/04/04 Kristina Williams slower and less flashy than the first. End fight was LAME. 4 stars
11/10/04 Adrian Anyone bitching about this movies deserves a one-inch puncg to the crotch! 5 stars
10/24/04 ODH OK flick, less action with better dialogue. Some parts should have been left out though 3 stars
10/22/04 John feels like every "deleted scene" was squeezed into this boring 2 stars
10/17/04 ian Thurman should NOT have played this part, she sucks, however 5 stars
10/14/04 george rubbish, shit, crap, waste of time and money 1 stars
10/10/04 Rio Driver Fucking Fantastic 5 stars
10/04/04 Josh Standlee I can't beleive Bill die THAT WAY! I still liked most of it, though. 3 stars
10/04/04 chimpy121 ONE really great movie in two parts. People seem to forget that... 5 stars
10/02/04 Viktor Navorski bloody good 5 stars
10/01/04 malcolm galactically better than Vol. 1. Vol. 2 could stand alone as a complete film. 4 stars
9/12/04 sam bonner stunningly boring 90% of the time - sadistic the other 10% - tarentino most overrated 2 stars
9/01/04 Naka Thrilling, character-driven epic. A fully satisfying conclusion. 5 stars
8/24/04 Jessica hard to sit through 3 stars
8/20/04 J Good, but not good enough!!! 3 stars
8/16/04 Herolder The Final was a bit dissapointing. Still a good movie 4 stars
8/15/04 Peter James Tarantino's second best film...after of course Pulp Fiction 5 stars
8/15/04 Phil M. Aficionado Imaginative, colorful, fun. 4 stars
8/11/04 kc the best part is the cantonese speaking sifu 5 stars
8/11/04 tatum Less action, more characterization, still loved it 5 stars
8/11/04 Dean well, it answered the questions, and i liked it 4 stars
8/08/04 Mike McGilvray A tool who expects every Tarentino film to be exactly like Pulp Fiction won't appreciate KB 5 stars
8/01/04 Vince QT must have lost it along the way... no people, this ain't no Pulp Fiction 2 stars
7/30/04 Candace Troy Powers What's with Clarita (waitress in Mexico)? She been eating shit or something? 3 stars
7/29/04 The Quirkfetch Kid Painful see once scrumptouos Daryl Hannah reduced to killer bitch goin out blind&screaming 2 stars
7/23/04 Sandy Turynowicz Girl kick butt 5 stars
7/21/04 sean amazin!!!!!never seen it 5 stars
7/17/04 legend More talk, less action and worse film. I like the first one more. 3 stars
7/07/04 Margie spectacular. funny, emotional, wow. tarantino's a great director but he's still a nerd 5 stars
7/05/04 James Kustes I liked this one better than the first. Zoom in on the beard 5 stars
6/30/04 valerie hart AMAZING FILM AND IT ACTUALLY HAS A STORY TO IT!!U HAV TO C IT THE FIRST ONE ASWELL!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
6/15/04 One of the best films of the year!! Spectacular direction, acting, and storytelling..worth it 5 stars
6/06/04 Ryan Clark A little less action and a little more dialogue than the first one, but better for it. 5 stars
6/03/04 Shaun Quentin Tarantino does it again!!! 5 stars
5/30/04 reenum This explains everything in Part 1. One of Tarantino's better efforts. 4 stars
5/24/04 varyouga This is HALF a movie. Maybe 30 min of filler but everything kicked ass. 5 stars
5/23/04 Butterbean AWESOME fight scene with Elle and Bride. It felt like 1/2 a movie with too much filler. 3 stars
5/23/04 The More You Know Are killers born or made? Funny that BB squishes her fish as mama squishes an eyeball...hmm 5 stars
5/20/04 Your mom anyone who hates this is a filthy zionist jew 5 stars
5/19/04 Jeff S Great movie with the best fight scene I've seen in a long time. 5 stars
5/17/04 Graham Squashed eyes. Live burials. Superman. Goldfish. Heartbreaking greatness. 5 stars
5/17/04 Idiot's Mouth Is there any movie Kevin Thomas doesn't think is "worth a look"? This was utter shit. 1 stars
5/06/04 MVC dont u ppl understand vol 1 & 2 are the same movie!! u cant compare! it was awesome!! 5 stars
5/06/04 Samantha orr Not as much action as the first one, but I like this one better than the first. 5 stars
5/05/04 J.Peckerfoot David Carradine was great,the story was predictable but always enjoyable.long live vol 1 4 stars
5/04/04 your worst goddamn nightmare The first vol. was magical and spellbinding, this was is just it's sequel. It was great tho 5 stars
5/03/04 Obi Wan Too slow, very dull..action was teasing....overall OVER-RATED! 1 stars
5/03/04 Mieszko GORAK I bet I would unsheathe in a motor home ... This is the best scene in Vol2 5 stars
4/30/04 alice hated the ending and Bill himself bored me but otherwise: very good 4 stars
4/30/04 Cameron Slick Awesomness 5 stars
4/29/04 Bobbi Some good scenes but very predictable(no shockers like the first) 4 stars
4/29/04 Sophie Fatale I'd give my right arm to see "KILL BILL VOL 3-THE INSIDIOUS REVENGE OF SOPHIE FATALE" 5 stars
4/28/04 harkman Was kind of slow toward the end, but didn't let me down. 5 stars
4/28/04 John after the cinmematic brilliance of volume 1 this is truly substandard, dull and boring 2 stars
4/28/04 maximillion Amazing! this ROX! Uma kix arse!!! 5 stars
4/27/04 Caiphn Had its moments, this definately should have been one film. Overall positive experience. 3 stars
4/27/04 Daniel Bennison the unforgettable scene with the bitch fight bewtween the bride and elle is a classic 5 stars
4/26/04 Richard Pretty boring, but Daryl Hannah looked fantastic and definitely had the best scene! 3 stars
4/25/04 The man with the plan Masterpiece......Voll II 5 stars
4/25/04 Gobsmack Amazing and emotional, dispite its flaws. A great, great film. 5 stars
4/25/04 john bale Load of old nonsense, but clever dialogue & considerable style make it great cinema 5 stars
4/24/04 PAYNE A masterpiece 5 stars
4/23/04 Matthew Smith brilliant, absolutely brilliant. 5 stars
4/23/04 Angolmois Watching Tarantino's movies is like watching a talented child. Uneven & long, but brilliant 5 stars
4/23/04 John Wallace One major letdown! 3 stars
4/23/04 Dom Carradine steals the show! 5 stars
4/23/04 paul tarantino's finest 5 stars
4/23/04 MY NAME IS BUCK AND I'M HERE TO FUCK 4 stars
4/22/04 Koitus Minimal action, great dialogue. BUT..2 obviously stretched out scenes (strip club; w/BB). 3 stars
4/22/04 Troy Butler 9.5 out of 10, ... and a wonderful way to end the saga!!! Movie making at its finest!!! 5 stars
4/22/04 sumixam Well rounded off 5 stars
4/21/04 Phartinoogan It has absolutely no substance, coherency, or appeal 1 stars
4/21/04 AfroFett We got to see the origins of O-Ren but nobody else? Second part a little rushed maybe? 4 stars
4/20/04 Jenni an exercise in style. 5 stars
4/20/04 RevTPK Sorry... Not worth the ticket price 1 stars
4/20/04 X kicks ass 5 stars
4/19/04 coreyhaim Daryl Hannah, I eat my words. You were deliciously crazy in the black mamba-memo pad scene. 5 stars
4/19/04 mason Kill Bill 2 is a movie that no clever review can do justice. 5 stars
4/19/04 A F This was great. I loved the in depth story, that answered all my ?? in the first one 5 stars
4/19/04 Tyla I thought it sucked 2 stars
4/18/04 luke incredible 5 stars
4/18/04 Gobsmack wow.....wow...wow....wow.... 5 stars
4/18/04 Lord Chu AWESOME, unforgettable brilliance 5 stars
4/18/04 maxomai I would have preferred one 4-hour movie 5 stars
4/18/04 Agent Sands Really really cool. I think it should've kept as one long action movie. Good suspense. 5 stars
4/18/04 Morally Sound Kill Bill Vol.1 kicked ass! Kill Bill Vol.2 kicked ass! Kill Bill kicks ass! 5 stars
4/18/04 Bill awsome ass movie 5 stars
4/18/04 Alan Absolutely amazing conclusion. 5 stars
4/18/04 too-much-coffee mistress absolutely beautiful... Tarantino's watermark. 5 stars
4/18/04 Tim Quentin proves again...he is the true nigga. 5 stars
4/17/04 gman excellent, what's all the complaining? QT DID action w/ VOL. 1, gave substance w/ #2 5 stars
4/17/04 John Best...Film...Evar! Beautiful film with great dialogue. 5 stars
4/17/04 antonio barboassba films o.k. nothing on gay people or theme, which i was disappointed about... 3 stars
4/17/04 nick2k wowsers! exceeds Vol 1 on all levels. NEEDS to be VIEWED in its TRUE entirety though. 5 stars
4/17/04 mike thoroughly satisfying. brilliant. 5 stars
4/17/04 george i'd keep most of Vol.1, get rid of most of Vol.2 3 stars
4/17/04 luke spectacular 5 stars
4/17/04 KingNeutron A bit slow in parts, and a bit long; but enjoyable. Nice that the sequel option is there. 4 stars
4/17/04 Jordan a total bore, not one memorable scene, i loved the first one but only because of lucy liu 1 stars
4/17/04 ajay worth my 8 bucks 5 stars
4/17/04 Titus A bit sadistic, and drags in some places, but all in all quite good. 4 stars
4/17/04 chris. beautiful. 5 stars
4/17/04 Igor Has its flaws but I felt most of the scenes are worth it. No way to make it 3 hours at once 5 stars
4/17/04 kel end of the credits? ohno still this flick rocks hard 5 stars
4/16/04 john fantastico 5 stars
4/16/04 averagejoe This couyld've been a kickass 3 hr epic, instead it smacks of greed and indulgence 2 stars
4/16/04 Christina loved it. DONT LEAVE UNTIL THE CREDITS ARE DONE!!!!! 5 stars
4/16/04 Atanu Praising Tarantino's talents has become a case of the emperor's new clothes 1 stars
4/15/04 Morally Sound As a whole, Kill Bill is my 3rd favorite movie of all time! I want some Bimbo Bread now! 5 stars
4/15/04 Brian dammit, start filming vol. 3! 5 stars
4/14/04 y2mckay Volume 1 ended in Overdrive. This one barely gets out of 3rd gear 3 stars
4/14/04 Mike V It's alright. Way too long. But mediocre Tarantino is better than most 4 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  16-Apr-2004 (R)
  DVD: 10-Aug-2004

UK
  N/A

Australia
  22-Apr-2004 (MA)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast