Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.14

Awesome52.6%
Worth A Look: 28.13%
Just Average: 7.29%
Pretty Crappy: 4.17%
Sucks: 7.81%

13 reviews, 114 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Loving Vincent by Jay Seaver

Fortress, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

MFA by Jay Seaver

You Only Live Once by Jay Seaver

November (2017) by Jay Seaver

Friendly Beast by Jay Seaver

Foreigner, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

Tom of Finland by Rob Gonsalves

Happy Death Day by Jay Seaver

78/52: Hitchcock's Shower Scene by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Shaun of the Dead
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by EricDSnider

"If they hadn't misspelled 'Sean,' this film would be PERFECT."
5 stars

Someone thought it would be funny to make a comedy that was also a zombie movie -- or perhaps a zombie movie that was also a comedy -- and sure enough, they were right. "Shaun of the Dead" is one of the funniest films of the year, a snappy comedy and horror-flick satire that is also a pretty solid zombie movie in its own right, bearing all the visceral accouterments that fans of the genre expect even as it pokes fun at them. This is that rare, lucky film that gets to have its brains and eat them, too.

Shaun (Simon Pegg) is in a rut. He's 29 years old, works at an electronics store, and goes to the same London pub every night with his girlfriend Liz (Kate Ashfield) and his lifelong mate Ed (Nick Frost). Ed is a raucous, frat-house sort of guy with no job who plays video games all day; Liz, understandably, worries that Ed is preventing Shaun from growing up. Shaun and Ed's roommate, the priggish Pete (Peter Serafinowicz), feels the same way.

Shaun screws up an important date with Liz and finds himself dumped, then finds himself getting very drunk with Ed at the Winchester (the aforementioned place where everybody knows your name). Because of this -- or perhaps because of the general obliviousness of single men in their 20s -- Shaun does not notice the cataclysms surrounding him.

We see them in the periphery: TV news reports about odd events, people on the street behaving strangely, a man in the park harassing pigeons. The signs slowly become more obvious: bloody handprints on the refrigerator case at the convenience store, which Shaun doesn't notice because he's too morose over being dumped. At last, he and Ed encounter a zombie directly -- and they mistake her slow, torporific staggering for drunkenness.

They are soon disabused of this notion, however, and the zombie attack on London is underway. (Poor London: First "28 Days Later," and now this. Zombies are to London what Godzilla was to Tokyo.) Shaun and Ed eventually become part of a band of survivors that includes Liz, her roommate Dianne (Lucy Davis), Dianne's dull boyfriend David (Dylan Moran), Shaun's mom Barbara (Penelope Wilton) and his grumpy stepdad Philip (Bill Nighy). Where to barricade themselves? The Winchester, of course. ("Your idea of a romantic night on the town and an impenetrable fortress are the same thing," Liz observes.)

Simon Pegg, who co-wrote the script and plays the lead, is as funny and hapless a hero as you'll ever hope to see. Even an old joke like accidentally giving your girlfriend flowers that say "to a wonderful Mum" becomes amusing again in his hands, and his interplay with Nick Frost as Ed is priceless, so funny because their behavior in the crisis is believable. They do exactly what we would do, if we were slacker Londoners who found ourselves besieged by the undead.

Pegg's co-writer and the film's director is Edgar Wright, also director of the British sitcom "Spaced," in which Pegg and Frost are stars. His skill at blending comedy with horror is impressive, and so is his and Pegg's appreciation for a good setup and payoff. I can't count the number of lines, actions and situations that appear early in the film and are later mirrored or parodied once the zombies attack. It isn't just that shooting zombies with a rifle reminds us of earlier, when Shaun and Ed were playing a video game; it's Ed's specific coaching -- "Upper left! Reload!" -- matching the video-game dialogue that makes the bit satisfying. Even more satisfying: You might not even catch it. People do get beaten over the head a lot in this movie, but it isn't with the jokes.

There are thrills and chills, too, and Wright gives horror fans several money shots of zombies devouring people or being dispatched with such weaponry as bullets, cricket bats and record albums. The special effects are nifty though probably low-budget; George Romero would be proud. (And look at the genius here: The film makes fun of how the zombies of yesterday's movies are slow and stupid by comparing them to drunk people -- and then they make these slow, stupid zombies scary after all.)

Fans will also be thrilled at the many references, both subtle and overt, to other zombie pictures. Folks more dedicated to the genre than I have already collected dozens of them, listed under the film's "trivia" section at the Internet Movie Database. I won't claim to have caught them all, but I did notice a few. I particularly enjoyed Ed's scolding of Shaun for actually calling them "zombies," no doubt a reference to the fact that so many of these movies never actually use the word.

Perhaps the greatest touch is that "Shaun of the Dead" does what most zombie flicks don't: It shows us the aftermath, six months later. I won't spoil it for you, but the social satire is wickedly funny. It is, again, believable, an example of what surely would be the result of a zombie attack on modern society.

I suspect people will be enjoying this film at midnight screenings and near Halloween for years to come. It is unfailingly funny, and not stupid-funny, either, but smart-funny. It displays the imagination and wit that are lacking in most comedies, not to mention most horrors.

link directly to this review at http://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=9265&reviewer=247
originally posted: 09/24/04 22:52:50
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

9/14/17 morris campbell good horror comedy 4 stars
6/28/13 Ionicera fried gold 5 stars
11/18/12 Sean Harrison An absolutely hilarious horror comedy. 4 stars
10/30/10 the dork knight Good, but unfortunately Hot Fuzz improved on it in every way, and it suffers. 4 stars
10/16/10 paul One of the best in many recent years !!! 5 stars
9/24/10 Geoff I love zombie films, and adding humor to the genre is a stroke of genius. 5 stars
1/09/10 art i HAVE only seen two ZOMBIE FILM"S in my life,WHITE zombiefrom 1932,zombie from 1980! 1 stars
12/25/09 Chad Dillon Cooper A funny gory loveletter to George Romero. Well done. 4 stars
10/06/09 PAUL SHORTT INEFFECTIVE AS SATIRE, COMEDY AND HORROR 2 stars
5/07/09 true Quirky and funny. So nice to see something different. Poor Shaun, what a life! 4 stars
12/22/08 brian First two-thirds terrific, final third generic. Original "Dawn of the Dead" better. 3 stars
12/21/08 Samantha Pruitt very smart movie, scary at the same time! 4 stars
10/30/08 Shaun Wallner Very Funny! 5 stars
4/13/08 Will Tingle Genius - Well worth your cash (especially if you like to play "spot the reference) 5 stars
3/24/08 Isaac M. Baranoff Extremely funny. Top notch. 5 stars
8/29/07 Doc Who An EXCELLENT movie 5 stars
7/13/07 fools♫gold Try not to watch it too many times at once. That's what I did, and look at my rating! 4 stars
4/17/07 Stevo u americans who think brits r stupid can just GET FUCKED. this is good 4 stars
4/16/07 tony g one of my top ten films! cracker!! 5 stars
3/18/07 Czechpointcharlie It will be hard to top this zombie satire. Tongue THROUGH the cheek. Lethally funny. 5 stars
2/24/07 Bitchflaps Vastly overpraised, promises on more inventiveness than it delivers. 2 stars
2/13/07 Laura This film is amazing, a must see for fans of romance, comedy or zombies! 5 stars
12/12/06 Frank It's not hip-hop.............it's electro. One of my all time favorites! 5 stars
10/23/06 jjones Not everyone's "cup of tea" but for movie geeks a must see. 4 stars
10/16/06 Terence Very entertaining movie. 5 stars
8/09/06 melivorous hilarious! i loved it 5 stars
6/15/06 Michele campy and funny 3 stars
5/30/06 Anthony G One of the best movies I have ever seen. 5 stars
1/03/06 Piz Some laugh out loud moments but really dragged in stretches. 3 stars
12/01/05 Jennifer S. This was one of the funniest movies I saw all year! 5 stars
11/21/05 Kurtis J. Beard So much fun. Great flick. 4 stars
11/20/05 skippy I thought it was lame, too...Christ, UNDEAD was better than this!!! 1 stars
11/19/05 YouLuvPoop This movie was fucking lame as shit - fuck the brits and their lame-as-hell humor!!!!! 1 stars
11/13/05 Kumble Yeah, that brilliant Birtish humor, where a stuck-out tongue is the epitome of hilarity. 1 stars
11/10/05 zeitgeist If you don't understand/like British humor, this movie isn't for you. 4 stars
11/01/05 mind dump Only mildly funny at certain points...no really worth the time. 2 stars
11/01/05 shackle the guy who recommended this to me got a punch in the back of the head the next morning. 1 stars
10/25/05 Crumbcake This movie was WAY oversold to me. I expected a classic...it wasn't. Lame. 1 stars
10/23/05 Suk-R-Punch What in the name of HELL was so great about THIS movie?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?! 1 stars
10/18/05 Gumbo I totally agree...I think I laughed twice. The humor was SO low-key, it wasn't even there! 1 stars
10/15/05 OodlesofOs I hate this kind of humor...y'know...the nonexistant kind. 1 stars
10/13/05 gasp I think I chuckled twice...lame, lame, lame, lame, LAME! 1 stars
10/12/05 Bryant Gumby Quite possible the most ovrrated film ever. Not funny, not scary, not...anything. Pass. 1 stars
8/29/05 ES The dart scene was priceless 4 stars
8/13/05 Gabby is Renee This is well made and cool, although it falls away a little at the conclusion. 4 stars
8/08/05 C. Fidance This movie has everything! You'll laugh yourself silly and they don't skimp on the gore! 5 stars
8/06/05 Charlene Javier Cleverly funny! 4 stars
8/05/05 Nate Frary Freaking hillarious! 4 stars
8/04/05 ron abrams loved it. great fun 4 stars
7/06/05 Elizabeth Blackey BRILLIANT! Hillarious and gross at the same time. A keeper. 5 stars
6/24/05 Mr Fluffy The best zombie film starring Simon Pegg there is. 5 stars
6/08/05 Taylor Fladgate Clever! A must see sleeper. 5 stars
4/14/05 Raymond Montoya Good Comic Zombie movie. 4 stars
4/11/05 indrid cold Very funny. Not a classic but definitely worth a look. 4 stars
4/02/05 Arse Poet Heartwarming and funny, I loved it. Watch it with your lover. 5 stars
3/16/05 Jack Bourbon Good except when Shaun cries 4 stars
3/15/05 Sum Yung Guy Inconsistent in tone, not particularly funny or scary. 2 stars
3/13/05 Tamara Burks I had to drive 100 miles just to buy the dvd and it was well worth the drive . 5 stars
3/11/05 Pete fraud good movie, but it's not very funny. I got scared 4 stars
3/04/05 Chris Stephens I loved this movie!!! 5 stars
2/26/05 Charlene Javier Funneee! 5 stars
2/24/05 L.G. Was skeptical about a Zombie Comedy... this film SURPRISED me... Loved it and laughed a lot 5 stars
2/14/05 Angela Saunders Great movie, hilarious, different! 4 stars
2/06/05 steve newman This is so great! I loved it and am going to watch it repeatedly - well done the BFI 5 stars
2/05/05 Amy Bradshaw This movie is hillarious! Very entertaining! 4 stars
1/27/05 Jim A very funny (and one suspects accurate) vision of zombie apocalypse 4 stars
1/21/05 Evan Slow start, second half is better 4 stars
12/31/04 Paterfam001 Dr. Nick the only reviewer who got it right 3 stars
12/18/04 Matt F. Loved this movie, funniest of the year. I'm Canadian. 5 stars
12/16/04 Bloody Holey Mary! True, Etheridge! But really takes off from start of zombie fight to refuge at "Winchester"! 3 stars
12/16/04 irbear very funny parody of zombie films. American here. 5 stars
12/16/04 Etheridge Hoogendijk Begins so slow; middle good eerie zombie action; ending leaves some to be desired. 3 stars
12/09/04 Kristina Williams finally finding a good use of that Sade album 5 stars
11/15/04 Dunce Delivers on every level and just all around terrific. Yes, I'm American. 5 stars
11/14/04 Ric A few decent laughs, but not nearly as fun as I'd hoped for. 2 stars
11/05/04 One more paranoid American We've been cursed with savoury ducks-goddamn British cuisine!!! 1 stars
10/26/04 the Grinch Loved it....funniest movie I've seen in awhile...maybe funnier than Team America even 5 stars
10/18/04 TITS U AMERICAN WANKERS LOL DONT NO A GOOD FILM IF IT HIT U IN THE HEAD 5 stars
10/17/04 psycho dwarf Fleshes out the parody of it's zombie pedigree. 4 stars
10/17/04 john bale Funny satire on zombie movies, especially the first half, the fairly routine. Good cast. 4 stars
10/10/04 Goggman One of the best movies I have seen this year!!! 5 stars
10/10/04 dumb brits d brits in dis movie, ex:Ed is a fair representation of brits in reality - dumb & stupid :) 1 stars
10/10/04 Archanist_101 Funny!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
10/10/04 best of british typical fucking foreigners piss off back to dawn of the dead remake then 5 stars
10/09/04 Helen Bradley Totally rubbish worst film of the decade 1 stars
10/05/04 shazamp how come IDIOTS r continuously coming out with stupid ILLOGICAL movies? :( 2 stars
10/03/04 Cassi Brilliant and very funny! 5 stars
10/01/04 hank british dance music for starts, 2 stars
9/29/04 mont progresses far too slow, unsatisfying, ending sucked royale, ONLY for 100% NERD FANS 2 stars
9/28/04 asina The best movie of the year! 5 stars
9/27/04 maxomai A commentary on humdrum life. Classic. 5 stars
9/27/04 film jerk this movie sucked - tailor made for film geeks 1 stars
9/27/04 MorallySound Hillarious! 5 stars
9/27/04 Titus I don't regret seeing it, but it wasn't spectaculr. Some real funny, but often slow. 3 stars
9/26/04 ajay I agree with most, slow at times, but I laughed out loud several times. 4 stars
9/26/04 Agent Sands First 45 minutes are HILARIOUS. Then it can't decide what it is, & good qualities taper off 4 stars
9/26/04 KD On par with the original Dawn Of The Dead in all aspects! 5 stars
9/24/04 KingNeutron Could have been a bit more fast-paced, but some really good lines in it. 4 stars
9/24/04 nik what collin said, minus the shit about "Evil Dead II" which blows llamas 5 stars
9/24/04 kriss harvey better then the Passionfruit of the Christ 5 stars
9/24/04 Andrew Potts Great fun 5 stars
9/22/04 el burro Saw it over in NZ a month ago, it's a freakin shot in the arm. 5 stars
9/22/04 HOWDINSKI JUST FANTASTIC. WHAT A FILM THE BRITS SHOW HOLYWOOD HOW ITS DONE 5 stars
9/18/04 asina combines the 2 best things in film - zombies and comedy. 5 stars
8/31/04 Jim McLennan The best comedy of 2004, and the best horror film too. 5 stars
8/12/04 Mark D. Fulwiler very amusing! 4 stars
8/01/04 Wendell Walker Inventive, hilarious, and a surprisingly good story! 5 stars
6/02/04 Littlepurch A great British cast lead a lighthearted and hilarious spoof of the great "28 Days Later" 5 stars
5/20/04 Eloise best bit...the jukebox/fight scene...made me chuckle 5 stars
5/05/04 Daveman I went, I saw, I was entertained and amused but disappointed. 3 stars
5/05/04 J.Peckerfoot i laughed until a zombie shaped shit came out..i named it shaun.great film! 5 stars
5/05/04 Bobby Fisher british comedy that didnt star hugh grant... Awesome 5 stars
5/04/04 Mattster Yay! This film rocks! A very British sense if humour pervades throughout 5 stars
5/02/04 Me a great film 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  24-Sep-2004 (R)
  DVD: 21-Dec-2004

UK
  N/A

Australia
  07-Oct-2004


Directed by
  Edgar Wright

Written by
  Edgar Wright
  Simon Pegg

Cast
  Simon Pegg
  Nick Frost
  Kate Ashfield
  Dylan Moran
  Lucy Davis
  Bill Nighy



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast