Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.14

Awesome52.6%
Worth A Look: 28.13%
Just Average: 7.29%
Pretty Crappy: 4.17%
Sucks: 7.81%

13 reviews, 114 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Fortress, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

MFA by Jay Seaver

You Only Live Once by Jay Seaver

November (2017) by Jay Seaver

Friendly Beast by Jay Seaver

Foreigner, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

Tom of Finland by Rob Gonsalves

Happy Death Day by Jay Seaver

78/52: Hitchcock's Shower Scene by Jay Seaver

Death Note: Light Up the New World by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Shaun of the Dead
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Dr Nick

"A British zombie film? And it's not even that bad!"
3 stars

I must say I was left quite disappointed by this. After laughing myself silly at the trailers, as well as loving every episode of Spaced ever made, I thought that Simon Pegg and the rest of the gang could do no wrong with this one. It is, however, not every day you get a British rom-zom-com (Romantic zombie comedy), so even if the film is not a complete success, at least itís something different.

Iím not sure why I didnít love this film. I expected this to be a life-changing experience. The genius of Simon Pegg, Nick Frost and Jessica Stevenson, directed by Edgar Wright, on the big screen. How could I not love this? Iím still annoyed at myself for not loving this film. I didnít hate it. Not at all. Itís a very funny film, the dialogue and acting are spot on (apart from some characters that just annoyed the hell out of me) and there are some good gory special effects. So, what went wrong?

Ok, weíll start with a synopsis. Shaun is a lazy, young man in his late 20ís, who likes nothing more than hanging out with his best friend Ed down at the local pub, The Winchester. In fact, he likes it so much that he spends most of his free times in there, blissfully unaware that he is neglecting his girlfriend Liz (played perfectly by Kate Ashfield). Liz has bigger plans for her life than wasting it away in a smoky London pub, so one day she dumps Ed. Before Ed can even start to think about getting his girlfriend back, he realises that everyone around him has turned into zombies. Him and Ed decide to rescue Shaunís mum, Liz and her flatmates and take them to the safest place they can think of, The Winchester Pub. Itís a long and gory fight against life and death, and when the reach the pub, itís far from over.

Ok, so this was promoted as the first rom-zom-com (Romantic Zombie Comedy), and it delivers on all three accounts. Itís got romance, itís got loads of zombies and there are many funny moments. Like with Spaced, there are endless references to the films that influenced the filmmakers. Shaunís mother is called Barbara, which naturally paves the way for the famous line from Night of The Living Dead - ďWeíre coming to get you BarbaraĒ, when Shaun and Ed decides to rescue her. And the references work. Just like in Spaced, they feel part of the film and makes the whole thing more interesting.

One thing that annoyed me was Shaunís mother, Barbara (Penelope Wilton). Completely oblivious to anything bad in the world, nothing shocks her and she spends the majority of the film, asking innocent questions and just slowing everything down. And I think thatís the main problem with this film, the pace. Spaced was so frantic, there was so much going on all the time and you never had the chance to get bored. Here, the pacing is much more traditional, and I felt that it could all have been cut down to a much shorter running time (and at 99 minutes, itís not really that long at all). All the visual trademarks from the TV series are there; the imaginative transitions, the imagined scenarios etc, and they work great on the big screen. Itís just that they're not used as much as they could have been, and as a result the film drags a bit.

Another disappointment is that Jessica Stevenson (Peggís sidekick from Spaced) is not that heavily involved in this. She appears for a couple of minutes, as an old friend Shaun bumps into before and after the zombie killing spree, but itís nowhere near enough. She was never one of my favorite characters in Spaced, but I missed her in this film. Her bubbly and spontaneous personality could have added a lot to the film.

I was also hoping to see a lot more gore. Maybe Iíve been completely desensitised to gore and violence after watching too many Troma films, but I felt that most of the effects here were pretty lame and quite shoddily made. There are some really good ones, but again, not enough of them.

I donít want to come off too bad on this film, cause I really did enjoy it. Itís funny, sweet and well acted and directed. I blame friends and other reviews for making me expect something I wasnít going to get. I am more than willing to give Shaun of the dead another shot, though. Maybe it will grow on me.

For something as unusual as a British zombie film, Shaun of the dead is pretty good. It's just a shame that they didn't keep up the manic pace of the brilliant TV series Spaced.

link directly to this review at http://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=9265&reviewer=345
originally posted: 05/20/04 10:13:58
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

9/14/17 morris campbell good horror comedy 4 stars
6/28/13 Ionicera fried gold 5 stars
11/18/12 Sean Harrison An absolutely hilarious horror comedy. 4 stars
10/30/10 the dork knight Good, but unfortunately Hot Fuzz improved on it in every way, and it suffers. 4 stars
10/16/10 paul One of the best in many recent years !!! 5 stars
9/24/10 Geoff I love zombie films, and adding humor to the genre is a stroke of genius. 5 stars
1/09/10 art i HAVE only seen two ZOMBIE FILM"S in my life,WHITE zombiefrom 1932,zombie from 1980! 1 stars
12/25/09 Chad Dillon Cooper A funny gory loveletter to George Romero. Well done. 4 stars
10/06/09 PAUL SHORTT INEFFECTIVE AS SATIRE, COMEDY AND HORROR 2 stars
5/07/09 true Quirky and funny. So nice to see something different. Poor Shaun, what a life! 4 stars
12/22/08 brian First two-thirds terrific, final third generic. Original "Dawn of the Dead" better. 3 stars
12/21/08 Samantha Pruitt very smart movie, scary at the same time! 4 stars
10/30/08 Shaun Wallner Very Funny! 5 stars
4/13/08 Will Tingle Genius - Well worth your cash (especially if you like to play "spot the reference) 5 stars
3/24/08 Isaac M. Baranoff Extremely funny. Top notch. 5 stars
8/29/07 Doc Who An EXCELLENT movie 5 stars
7/13/07 fools♫gold Try not to watch it too many times at once. That's what I did, and look at my rating! 4 stars
4/17/07 Stevo u americans who think brits r stupid can just GET FUCKED. this is good 4 stars
4/16/07 tony g one of my top ten films! cracker!! 5 stars
3/18/07 Czechpointcharlie It will be hard to top this zombie satire. Tongue THROUGH the cheek. Lethally funny. 5 stars
2/24/07 Bitchflaps Vastly overpraised, promises on more inventiveness than it delivers. 2 stars
2/13/07 Laura This film is amazing, a must see for fans of romance, comedy or zombies! 5 stars
12/12/06 Frank It's not hip-hop.............it's electro. One of my all time favorites! 5 stars
10/23/06 jjones Not everyone's "cup of tea" but for movie geeks a must see. 4 stars
10/16/06 Terence Very entertaining movie. 5 stars
8/09/06 melivorous hilarious! i loved it 5 stars
6/15/06 Michele campy and funny 3 stars
5/30/06 Anthony G One of the best movies I have ever seen. 5 stars
1/03/06 Piz Some laugh out loud moments but really dragged in stretches. 3 stars
12/01/05 Jennifer S. This was one of the funniest movies I saw all year! 5 stars
11/21/05 Kurtis J. Beard So much fun. Great flick. 4 stars
11/20/05 skippy I thought it was lame, too...Christ, UNDEAD was better than this!!! 1 stars
11/19/05 YouLuvPoop This movie was fucking lame as shit - fuck the brits and their lame-as-hell humor!!!!! 1 stars
11/13/05 Kumble Yeah, that brilliant Birtish humor, where a stuck-out tongue is the epitome of hilarity. 1 stars
11/10/05 zeitgeist If you don't understand/like British humor, this movie isn't for you. 4 stars
11/01/05 mind dump Only mildly funny at certain points...no really worth the time. 2 stars
11/01/05 shackle the guy who recommended this to me got a punch in the back of the head the next morning. 1 stars
10/25/05 Crumbcake This movie was WAY oversold to me. I expected a classic...it wasn't. Lame. 1 stars
10/23/05 Suk-R-Punch What in the name of HELL was so great about THIS movie?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?! 1 stars
10/18/05 Gumbo I totally agree...I think I laughed twice. The humor was SO low-key, it wasn't even there! 1 stars
10/15/05 OodlesofOs I hate this kind of humor...y'know...the nonexistant kind. 1 stars
10/13/05 gasp I think I chuckled twice...lame, lame, lame, lame, LAME! 1 stars
10/12/05 Bryant Gumby Quite possible the most ovrrated film ever. Not funny, not scary, not...anything. Pass. 1 stars
8/29/05 ES The dart scene was priceless 4 stars
8/13/05 Gabby is Renee This is well made and cool, although it falls away a little at the conclusion. 4 stars
8/08/05 C. Fidance This movie has everything! You'll laugh yourself silly and they don't skimp on the gore! 5 stars
8/06/05 Charlene Javier Cleverly funny! 4 stars
8/05/05 Nate Frary Freaking hillarious! 4 stars
8/04/05 ron abrams loved it. great fun 4 stars
7/06/05 Elizabeth Blackey BRILLIANT! Hillarious and gross at the same time. A keeper. 5 stars
6/24/05 Mr Fluffy The best zombie film starring Simon Pegg there is. 5 stars
6/08/05 Taylor Fladgate Clever! A must see sleeper. 5 stars
4/14/05 Raymond Montoya Good Comic Zombie movie. 4 stars
4/11/05 indrid cold Very funny. Not a classic but definitely worth a look. 4 stars
4/02/05 Arse Poet Heartwarming and funny, I loved it. Watch it with your lover. 5 stars
3/16/05 Jack Bourbon Good except when Shaun cries 4 stars
3/15/05 Sum Yung Guy Inconsistent in tone, not particularly funny or scary. 2 stars
3/13/05 Tamara Burks I had to drive 100 miles just to buy the dvd and it was well worth the drive . 5 stars
3/11/05 Pete fraud good movie, but it's not very funny. I got scared 4 stars
3/04/05 Chris Stephens I loved this movie!!! 5 stars
2/26/05 Charlene Javier Funneee! 5 stars
2/24/05 L.G. Was skeptical about a Zombie Comedy... this film SURPRISED me... Loved it and laughed a lot 5 stars
2/14/05 Angela Saunders Great movie, hilarious, different! 4 stars
2/06/05 steve newman This is so great! I loved it and am going to watch it repeatedly - well done the BFI 5 stars
2/05/05 Amy Bradshaw This movie is hillarious! Very entertaining! 4 stars
1/27/05 Jim A very funny (and one suspects accurate) vision of zombie apocalypse 4 stars
1/21/05 Evan Slow start, second half is better 4 stars
12/31/04 Paterfam001 Dr. Nick the only reviewer who got it right 3 stars
12/18/04 Matt F. Loved this movie, funniest of the year. I'm Canadian. 5 stars
12/16/04 Bloody Holey Mary! True, Etheridge! But really takes off from start of zombie fight to refuge at "Winchester"! 3 stars
12/16/04 irbear very funny parody of zombie films. American here. 5 stars
12/16/04 Etheridge Hoogendijk Begins so slow; middle good eerie zombie action; ending leaves some to be desired. 3 stars
12/09/04 Kristina Williams finally finding a good use of that Sade album 5 stars
11/15/04 Dunce Delivers on every level and just all around terrific. Yes, I'm American. 5 stars
11/14/04 Ric A few decent laughs, but not nearly as fun as I'd hoped for. 2 stars
11/05/04 One more paranoid American We've been cursed with savoury ducks-goddamn British cuisine!!! 1 stars
10/26/04 the Grinch Loved it....funniest movie I've seen in awhile...maybe funnier than Team America even 5 stars
10/18/04 TITS U AMERICAN WANKERS LOL DONT NO A GOOD FILM IF IT HIT U IN THE HEAD 5 stars
10/17/04 psycho dwarf Fleshes out the parody of it's zombie pedigree. 4 stars
10/17/04 john bale Funny satire on zombie movies, especially the first half, the fairly routine. Good cast. 4 stars
10/10/04 Goggman One of the best movies I have seen this year!!! 5 stars
10/10/04 dumb brits d brits in dis movie, ex:Ed is a fair representation of brits in reality - dumb & stupid :) 1 stars
10/10/04 Archanist_101 Funny!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
10/10/04 best of british typical fucking foreigners piss off back to dawn of the dead remake then 5 stars
10/09/04 Helen Bradley Totally rubbish worst film of the decade 1 stars
10/05/04 shazamp how come IDIOTS r continuously coming out with stupid ILLOGICAL movies? :( 2 stars
10/03/04 Cassi Brilliant and very funny! 5 stars
10/01/04 hank british dance music for starts, 2 stars
9/29/04 mont progresses far too slow, unsatisfying, ending sucked royale, ONLY for 100% NERD FANS 2 stars
9/28/04 asina The best movie of the year! 5 stars
9/27/04 maxomai A commentary on humdrum life. Classic. 5 stars
9/27/04 film jerk this movie sucked - tailor made for film geeks 1 stars
9/27/04 MorallySound Hillarious! 5 stars
9/27/04 Titus I don't regret seeing it, but it wasn't spectaculr. Some real funny, but often slow. 3 stars
9/26/04 ajay I agree with most, slow at times, but I laughed out loud several times. 4 stars
9/26/04 Agent Sands First 45 minutes are HILARIOUS. Then it can't decide what it is, & good qualities taper off 4 stars
9/26/04 KD On par with the original Dawn Of The Dead in all aspects! 5 stars
9/24/04 KingNeutron Could have been a bit more fast-paced, but some really good lines in it. 4 stars
9/24/04 nik what collin said, minus the shit about "Evil Dead II" which blows llamas 5 stars
9/24/04 kriss harvey better then the Passionfruit of the Christ 5 stars
9/24/04 Andrew Potts Great fun 5 stars
9/22/04 el burro Saw it over in NZ a month ago, it's a freakin shot in the arm. 5 stars
9/22/04 HOWDINSKI JUST FANTASTIC. WHAT A FILM THE BRITS SHOW HOLYWOOD HOW ITS DONE 5 stars
9/18/04 asina combines the 2 best things in film - zombies and comedy. 5 stars
8/31/04 Jim McLennan The best comedy of 2004, and the best horror film too. 5 stars
8/12/04 Mark D. Fulwiler very amusing! 4 stars
8/01/04 Wendell Walker Inventive, hilarious, and a surprisingly good story! 5 stars
6/02/04 Littlepurch A great British cast lead a lighthearted and hilarious spoof of the great "28 Days Later" 5 stars
5/20/04 Eloise best bit...the jukebox/fight scene...made me chuckle 5 stars
5/05/04 Daveman I went, I saw, I was entertained and amused but disappointed. 3 stars
5/05/04 J.Peckerfoot i laughed until a zombie shaped shit came out..i named it shaun.great film! 5 stars
5/05/04 Bobby Fisher british comedy that didnt star hugh grant... Awesome 5 stars
5/04/04 Mattster Yay! This film rocks! A very British sense if humour pervades throughout 5 stars
5/02/04 Me a great film 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  24-Sep-2004 (R)
  DVD: 21-Dec-2004

UK
  N/A

Australia
  07-Oct-2004


Directed by
  Edgar Wright

Written by
  Edgar Wright
  Simon Pegg

Cast
  Simon Pegg
  Nick Frost
  Kate Ashfield
  Dylan Moran
  Lucy Davis
  Bill Nighy



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast