Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.73

Awesome35.4%
Worth A Look: 30.43%
Just Average: 15.53%
Pretty Crappy: 8.7%
Sucks: 9.94%

8 reviews, 113 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Darkest Hour by Jay Seaver

Shape of Water, The by Jay Seaver

I, Tonya by Rob Gonsalves

Wonder Wheel by Peter Sobczynski

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Rob Gonsalves

Swindlers, The by Jay Seaver

Oro (Gold) by Jay Seaver

Disaster Artist, The by Peter Sobczynski

Explosion by Jay Seaver

Lucky (2017) by Rob Gonsalves

subscribe to this feed


Man on Fire (2004)
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Jay Seaver

"A good movie stretched out a bit long."
3 stars

Young actors flat-out amaze me, and films that rely on them flat-out boggle my mind. Consider Man On Fire; this is a movie that costs tens of millions of dollars and which basically rests upon the performance of a ten-year-old girl.

Sure, Dakota Fanning has a track record, earned in movies like I Am Sam and Trapped and the mini-series Taken where she's not quite as pivotal (though I hesitate to imagine the latter if she wasn't so good), but the fact of the matter is, she must have been all of nine when this was filmed, and most of us weren't quite ready for that level of responsibility at that age. She's important enough to the movie that I imagine Radha Mitchell was cast as her character's mother in part due to her resemblance to the kid rather than the other way around.

She is, arguably, more important to the movie than its actual star, Denzel Washington. Washington is good, very good, but it's up to Miss Fanning to make us believe that Pita, this little girl, can make the cynical alcoholic soldier-of-fortune Creasy take some joy in life again. She also must have enough presence in the first half of the movie that her absence in the second half not only makes us growl "son of a bitch must pay", but can send the audience into the same sort of despair as Creasy. For the most part, she's up to the task.

Sadly, the same can't be said for the director, Tony Scott. Scott's frustrating at times; his movies have always been slick and polished and generally well-crafted, but I can't remember his movies ever really connecting with the audience emotionally. The man is good at building suspense, but that's not really what this movie is about; though it has the plot of a thriller, it's more about getting into what makes Creasy tick. There is a feeling of just playing out the string Creasy follows a trail of kidnappers up the ladder to their leader, and while in a way that's right - as creative and nasty as Creasy gets, there being no real pleasure in it for the audience reflects Creasy's state of mind. It just goes on for so long, well past when we've gotten the point. The nature and severity of Creasy's injuries also comes off as inconsistent - there are points when it looks pretty bad, but others right next to them where he seems relatively unaffected. It feels like there's supposed to be a point to it, that this is something Creasy needs to do more than he needs to live, but at other times he just comes off as too badass to get hurt. The former are interesting, but are continually undercut by the latter.

By the time Man On Fire is over, it's a relief; not just because the cast and crew have built some tension, but because it's been too long since we've seen the best part of the movie.

link directly to this review at http://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=9269&reviewer=371
originally posted: 06/02/04 13:47:12
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

2/13/17 morris campbell dull slow revenge thriller wildly overrated 1 stars
4/15/14 Charles Tatum A huge surprise. 5 stars
10/22/09 the dork knight decent enough thriller, though undercooked. Walken quotes make for required viewing 4 stars
7/08/09 Jeff Wilder One of the best recent action thrillers plus a superb performance by Denzel Washington. 4 stars
1/26/09 LYNDON DOWLING POWER HOUSE PERFORMANCE BY DENZEL. DAKOTA SHINES, GREAT SUPPORTING CAST. 5 stars
8/26/08 Shaun Wallner The storyline is well made! 5 stars
5/21/08 PAUL SHORTT MEAN SPIRITED REVENGE THRILLER WITH A HERO WHO POSSESSES THE SENSIBILITY OF A CORNERED RAT 1 stars
3/07/08 Kaz Corner Brlliant entertainent 5 stars
3/02/08 ladavies not my favorite Denzel movie, but ok. 3 stars
2/02/08 Chris Crappy movie, just the story itself combined with Tony Scotts directing make it unwatchable 1 stars
7/26/07 Shawna Blake thats my favorite movie, denzel is such a good actor 5 stars
12/13/06 R.W.Welch Has a certain aura but a shade artsy. Ending is a bit much. 3 stars
12/13/06 Creasy Bear do what you do best.....kill them all.... 5 stars
11/24/06 MP Bartley It's a migraine in celluloid film. 2 stars
7/08/06 Dan Loved it, much better then that piece of crap Kill Bill. 5 stars
6/04/06 Erika This Movie Absolutly Rocks Creasy is a great man!!! 5 stars
2/20/06 Agent Sands Above average action entertainment. 5 stars
1/09/06 Michael Fast, who done it, get them back 4 stars
10/07/05 Jonathon Holmes another option if the "Kill Bill" movies are out of stock at Blockbuster 4 stars
9/03/05 Tiffany Faye Hawthorne Guess this had a big enough blast from the ass to keep EricDSnider from even reviewing it! 4 stars
8/21/05 Regina George didn't really survive the school bus accident Based on true story? Confusing end details on screen, but usual disclaimer. 4 stars
8/20/05 chris hagopian Very good, inspiring although a little cynical 5 stars
7/30/05 hoosier daddy Its about a killer redeemed by using evil tools for good. Deal with it. 5 stars
6/06/05 Helen Bradley Faced paced thriller is a 'death watch' style great acting all round 5 stars
5/02/05 J K Rowling great movie 4 stars
4/19/05 Indrid Cold This should have been fantastic, but somehow it becomes dreary and unsatisfying. 3 stars
3/30/05 Dan GREAT MOVIE! 5 stars
3/26/05 Jack Sommersby Well-acted but absurdly overlong and just plain absurd. 2 stars
3/08/05 Doremimi Great performances, but this movie is ugly simply for ugliness' sake, and WAY too long. 3 stars
3/05/05 axefell Revenge is a pure animalistic drive, you either feelin it or you ain't. I'm a sanguinous MF 5 stars
3/01/05 THY FURY I enjoyed very much!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
2/21/05 Captain Craig Very violent and sadly very true. Not for the fait hearted viewer. 4 stars
1/21/05 Tjalda L. Schiel Badly filmed and edited brutality galore. Very dispiriting garbage. 1 stars
1/04/05 HotGirl LOVED IT! 5 stars
11/27/04 Pam Bailey To me Denzel once again proved that he has the stuff that makes a movie worth watching. 5 stars
11/09/04 Jin melodramatic, manipulative, and overlong bloodbath. 2 stars
11/02/04 John the girl is great - good performances/ script but really overdone in terms of MTVstyle 3 stars
10/25/04 Puspa Allamanda .............. 5 stars
10/16/04 Tiffany Faye Hawthorne Guess this had a big enough blast from the ass to keep EricDSnider from even reviewing it! 4 stars
10/16/04 Regina George didn't really survive the school bus accident Based on true story? Confusing end details on screen, but usual disclaimer. 4 stars
10/12/04 Gracie This movie is one of the best movies I have seen all year...Amazing 5 stars
10/10/04 michaelb14 "What I do best, gonna kill 'em. Anyone who was involved, anyone who profited from it" 5 stars
10/08/04 ELI Too artsy fartsy. and I didn't like any of the characters 2 stars
10/08/04 LilyM Whenever I was drawn into the story, the camera tricks drew me right back out. 2 stars
9/28/04 ben Psycho Racist Flick 1 stars
9/26/04 ALBERT awesome 5 stars
9/22/04 Shams Huque Denzel & Dakota were both superb! 5 stars
9/21/04 Kathy I thought it was great and very emotional, Denzel was fantastic! 5 stars
9/16/04 Kyle Wellcome I really thought Denzel played his role well. It's a good film, and its worth a watch. 4 stars
9/16/04 ALDO good flick with decent twists....Revenge at its finest 4 stars
9/13/04 Dan Was great to see him get back those bastards for what they did to pita 5 stars
9/01/04 Tommy A must-watch 5 stars
8/07/04 Melissa Great movie...Denzel is awesome! Had my heart pumping the entire time. 5 stars
8/06/04 esquire damn fine flick. really enjoyed it. 5 stars
8/05/04 McGraw Flawed but fun. Editing is over-the-top but nothing awful. 4 stars
8/04/04 Nikolai Denzel president? Decorrupts Mexico while Bush Nukem can't nail one camel herder in 3 years 4 stars
8/02/04 qasim top flick! denzel at his best! 5 stars
7/28/04 TXN Good movie but the mtv-style editing can be FRIGGIN IRRITATING 4 stars
7/03/04 MorallySound Awesome thiller, great acting, amazing cinematography. Real good movie, 5 stars
7/02/04 denzel's mom my baby done good! worth the 8 dollars! 5 stars
6/07/04 jamal this movie was off the chain h tight as hell. Denzel was still great and a tight ass g 5 stars
6/07/04 James Kustes Not very good. Even though it was Denzel. 2 stars
5/31/04 bryna morris I thought the movie was great 5 stars
5/29/04 Parker fan-bloody-tastic, ignoring the music-video montages. 4 stars
5/22/04 S F what a load of crap 2 stars
5/22/04 vagile Denzel at his best. Great fun in a dark comic book kind of way. 4 stars
5/19/04 cpbjr DW was good. 3 stars
5/16/04 PAMELA VERY VERY GOOD EXCITING NERVE WRACKING 4 stars
5/12/04 Josh pretty good, needs less of 1st hour 4 stars
5/08/04 Michael Bailey A bit long, but some great acting...especially Denzel and the little girl! 4 stars
5/05/04 D Page Denzel Washington and Dakota Fanning give great depth to thier characters. 5 stars
5/05/04 DIRTYMOVIEMAN When are the awards given out. Denzel should be up again. Great Movie !!! 5 stars
5/04/04 Christian Jones Denzel was...Denzel, and Dakota Fanning was...aboluely amazing! 5 stars
5/03/04 minnie B. Clark excellent movie 5 stars
5/03/04 edward jones fucking awesome 5 stars
5/02/04 Nellie Wife comes to grips with home finances but what a price 4 stars
5/02/04 Ajax Half star for Denzel, other half for Dakota, all else just sucks. 1 stars
5/02/04 Atanu Fanning looks like a 40 year old bitch playing at being a child. she's a monstrosity. 1 stars
5/02/04 Terry McGowen very well done,but does stretch believability at times 3 stars
4/30/04 Gobsmack Flawed, not nearly as good as it could have been, but worthwhile overall. 4 stars
4/30/04 g. kane a little lengthy but still very good 5 stars
4/29/04 thomas jeffrson best movie i ever seen 5 stars
4/29/04 Cheryl Miller It held my interest & released my anger 4 stars
4/27/04 Ms J Exciting movie after the first 30 minutes 5 stars
4/27/04 KingNeutron Subtitles were effective. Only problem: Where did the $$$ come from, to get stolen? 4 stars
4/27/04 Daniel Bennison this movie was poo even worse than looking at Nathan White nude 1 stars
4/26/04 malcolm "Creasy's art is death, and he's about to paint his masterpiece." 5 stars
4/25/04 oldtexan good flick 4 stars
4/25/04 Chris Thomson I agree that this film is two movies in one, but the two just double your fun! 4 stars
4/25/04 a movie watcher great movie good story 5 stars
4/25/04 Diane Langlois Great movie! Denzel is fabulous as always! 5 stars
4/25/04 Lord Jiggy "Forgiveness is between them and God. I just arrange the meeting." Just misses greatness. 5 stars
4/25/04 Markus andrews it was a powerfully uplifting rollercoaster 4 stars
4/25/04 Cakes Denzel was awsome. And little Dakota is an incredible little giant 4 stars
4/25/04 Michael sucked. sucked. sucked 1 stars
4/25/04 gyrene Outstanding performance by Denzel.Clever camera work.Subtitles work well.Way too short. 5 stars
4/25/04 Mary Johnson Loved it. Violent yes but still a great movie 5 stars
4/25/04 julietsierra great movie! Great performances. The cinemetography adds to the "on edge" mood. Fantastic!! 5 stars
4/25/04 Alex Higa Action, drama and unique executions.....GREAT MOVIE 5 stars
4/25/04 Alan Johnson Great Moive, two thumbs up 5 stars
4/24/04 Bev Good but way too long 4 stars
4/24/04 Annie Oakley fabulous movie, very moving, made me cry 5 stars
4/24/04 shery great movieb 5 stars
4/24/04 Meghan Awesome 5 stars
4/24/04 Atanu Dakota fanning with all her creepiness is a wrong choice as ever. read the damn book. 1 stars
4/24/04 Maria M GREAT MOVIE!!! Highly recommend it--Dakota is a jewelry--Denzel is a great artist 5 stars
4/24/04 Melissa Great movie! ne of the better one's I have seen this year 4 stars
4/24/04 Deanna Not enough Walken (but then is there ever enough?) It is a terrific movie. 5 stars
4/24/04 Terry H Intredpid, gritty Denzel, with his classic "O.K." 4 stars
4/24/04 Fred Wow! Great movie! Dakota Fanning is impressively convincing! 5 stars
4/23/04 Christina holy crap! That Dakota Fanning is amazing. Denzel is DA MAN. 5 stars
4/23/04 john yummy Tony Scott, Denzel tougher than 'Training Day'...nice Mexico scenes, action, acting 5 stars
4/22/04 Mike V Tony Scott is a Tool. 2 words: Stylized Subtitiles. Waste of Denzel. 2 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  21-Apr-2004 (R)
  DVD: 24-May-2005

UK
  N/A

Australia
  05-Aug-2004




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast