Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.04

Awesome: 37.1%
Worth A Look45.7%
Just Average: 8.06%
Pretty Crappy: 2.69%
Sucks: 6.45%

11 reviews, 120 user ratings


Latest Reviews

I, Tonya by Rob Gonsalves

Wonder Wheel by Peter Sobczynski

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Rob Gonsalves

Swindlers, The by Jay Seaver

Oro (Gold) by Jay Seaver

Disaster Artist, The by Peter Sobczynski

Explosion by Jay Seaver

Lucky (2017) by Rob Gonsalves

Breadwinner, The by Jay Seaver

Endless, The by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Mean Girls
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by EricDSnider

"This is why I want Tina Fey to marry me."
5 stars

Viewers of "Saturday Night Live" enjoy Tina Fey's lethal mix of sass and intelligence each week on the "Weekend Update" segment. But Fey is also "SNL's" head writer, which means she approves an awful lot of bad material for every episode. Luckily, we get the funny Tina Fey -- the smart, clever, painfully insightful one -- in "Mean Girls," the film she wrote and has a supporting role in.

It is inspired by Rosalind Wiseman's book "Queen Bees and Wannabes," a nonfiction work about the social structures of teenage girls, and how adults can navigate them. Fey used the book's principles and her own memories of high school to construct a screenplay that is as sharply perceptive as anything we've seen since NBC canceled "Freaks and Geeks." It's what would happen if you took a John Hughes film, removed the sap, heightened the laughs, and pitched everything just a wee bit darker.

Lindsay Lohan, of "Freaky Friday" and the unfortunate "Confessions of a Teenage Drama Queen" (of which "Mean Girls" is the polar opposite, intelligence-wise), plays Cady Heron, a 16-year-old daughter of research zoologists who is entering the public school system for the first time, having been tutored heretofore by her parents while living in Africa. As a newcomer not just to North Shore High School but to high school in general, she has a clean slate and soon realizes, with the aid of misfit Janis (Lizzy Caplan) and too-gay-for-words Damian (Daniel Franzese), that she must choose her social circles wisely.

She measures up favorably in the eyes of Regina George (Rachel McAdams), leader of the Plastics, a trio of girls who are the prettiest, richest females in the junior class. Regina and her associates, Gretchen (Lacey Chabert) and Karen (Amanda Seyfried), manipulate the entire class, and keep a scrapbook of sorts in which they paste girls' pictures and write gossip about them. They are feared, loved, venerated and hated by all of their female classmates. ("One time Regina punched me in the face," says one girl in a to-the-camera testimonial. "It was awesome.")

Provided she follows the rules -- wear pink on Friday, don't join the math club, etc. -- Cady is allowed to socialize with them. This suits her: She, Janis and Damian want to infiltrate their ranks, learn their secrets, and destroy them. It begins well enough, as they employ sabotage and subterfuge to get the Plastics fighting amongst themselves, and to get Regina in a fix with her current boy-toy, the dreamy Aaron Samuels (Jonathan Bennett). Unfortunately, in the process of acting, thinking and talking like a Plastic, Cady slowly becomes one. She becomes a Mean Girl.

The best laughs are in the first half of the film, as the habits of teenagers are trenchantly observed and dissected by Janis and Damian. Cady often compares her classmates to wild animals -- they're what she knows best, after all, given her upbringing -- and finds more similarities than differences. The faculty, including Fey as math teacher Ms. Norbury and Tim Meadows as Principal Duvall, exhibit a weary resignation to the hormonal hell they work in, and between them deliver some of the best laugh-out-loud commentary in the film (which was directed by "Freaky Friday's" Mark S. Waters).

Lohan never quite convinces me as a Mean Girl, but she has a winning presence in the film and continues to show potential as a strong leading lady. The Plastics are all well-played by the young actresses, and current "SNL" highlight Amy Poehler has a hysterical turn as Regina's too-hip mother.

I'm impressed not just with the film's comedy, which is as funny as anything I've seen this year, but with its underlying realism. Many of the specific events, while exaggerated for comic effect, exemplify principles that ring true. I mentioned the girl who says Regina punched her, and it was awesome: No one would say those words, per se, but the idea behind them -- that Regina is vicious and evil, yet many girls are thrilled just to have contact with her -- is painfully true. Watch also as Cady continues to vie for approval from Regina, whom she openly despises. If it doesn't remind you of high school, you must not have gone to high school.

link directly to this review at http://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=9283&reviewer=247
originally posted: 04/30/04 00:38:07
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

10/06/11 Kevin Breece one of my favorite comedies! you can watch it many times and still laugh! 5 stars
8/22/11 Annie G Better than most films of high school. The whole (teen, adult) family enjoyed. 3 stars
7/20/11 BuyTickets So gooood 5 stars
5/25/10 art one big SNL SKIT stretched out to a MOTION PITCURE! 1 stars
5/12/10 Natalie Meyerson WHY does cast list above omit showstealers Amanda Seyfried and Daniel Franzese?? 5 stars
5/11/10 Lenny Zane GREAT, and what a marvel, coming on eve of LL showing world what a miserable slouch she is! 5 stars
9/29/09 art THIS MOVIE SUCK"S! 1 stars
8/02/09 Rachel Definitely a must see for teen girls. 4 stars
5/23/09 art WHO CARES?,THIS IS NONSENSE! 1 stars
4/10/09 Dane Youssef A REAL look at the timeless enviorment of teenage girls, bitchiness and high school itself 5 stars
1/08/09 Anonymous. i thought it was funny :] not the average dumbed down teen comedy.. 4 stars
10/06/08 Jenny Tullwartz Sorta true, Iris. DID turn out to be last significant thing Flimsy Lohan is likely to do! 5 stars
10/04/08 Iris Verna Best film of millenium so far; downside: ends most cast member's careers (nowhere up to go) 5 stars
8/31/08 Samantha Pruitt really funny and smart! very quotable, with great characters 5 stars
8/30/08 Shaun Wallner Boring not worth it! 1 stars
8/26/08 louise really good and dum 2 stars
5/20/08 PAUL SHORTT A STANDARD VERSION OF LOW COMIC JOKES 1 stars
4/01/08 superfriek great film Linsy Lohan is so pretty in this movie, I jest love her, and I love the world to 1 stars
10/15/07 Beau a well made hilarious film, great character creations and lindsay's at her best here!! 5 stars
10/01/07 Rachel MacAdamia Nuts Love the sequel in which Regina gets diarrhea and kills Karen for telling people about it. 5 stars
9/22/07 Hard Rock Jane Austen Yep,Hello Stronger, and so it'll remain unless she can extract her head from her poop chute 5 stars
8/13/07 Aaron Smith Janis is the redeeming character here. 4 stars
7/28/07 Hello Stranger lindsay lohan's best acting role. 4 stars
2/04/07 mean girls rocks omg this is one of my favourite movies of all time, you can watch it douzens of times!! xx 5 stars
1/27/07 Lauren Olin Deserved Oscar nominations much more than LITTLE MISS SUNSHINE or DEVIL WEARS PRAVDA! 5 stars
12/14/06 cherry ok but not the best 3 stars
12/10/06 Stacy Very funny and sometimes realistic portrayal of high school. Love it. 5 stars
11/26/06 sirina total crap the worst movie ever!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 1 stars
11/10/06 David Pollastrini all the women in this film are hot! 4 stars
8/11/06 Jennifer my favorite movie of all time! i watch it almost every other day! 5 stars
6/08/06 Dan Good movie actually... 5 stars
6/03/06 The Velcro Warlock Insightful & captivating but doesn't need fans like Sallie. 4 stars
4/16/06 Sallie To anyone who ever said "mean girls" sucks, go fuck yourself. 5 stars
3/22/06 tabiya karim hmmmmmmmmmmm i hate lohan she sucks goddddd 1 stars
3/09/06 Jenna Hilarious and true at the same time! 5 stars
2/14/06 Harriet Beak very funny real life teen movie 4 stars
1/02/06 cody a cool movie with sexy woman like lindsey lohan, but it had only few laughs here and there 3 stars
10/14/05 tony HILARIOUS! 5 stars
10/08/05 rob Really good; developed characters, hilarious, realism, dark (but not dark enough) 5 stars
10/04/05 shawney hartland you should show mean girls more offen on tv 5 stars
9/19/05 Jonathon Holmes if only more teen movies were like this... 4 stars
9/06/05 aiyana i love the movie so much. I've seen it like a hundred times. No kidding! 5 stars
8/31/05 Coral Good Voice it was OK 4 stars
8/15/05 alexandria it was so unbelievablly incredible like rikki 5 stars
8/11/05 nads shows tina fey in a bra. 3 stars
7/30/05 kit mean girls was so realistic to highschool. I loved it. 5 stars
7/19/05 619 love this film os should i say "thats sooooo fetch" 5 stars
7/09/05 Moctezuma I did not expect this to be so hilarious 5 stars
6/27/05 dan good film and i wanna bang lohan 5 stars
6/13/05 i am god sss 1 stars
5/09/05 Mike S. zeitgeist- I weep for you. 5 stars
5/08/05 zeitgeist I weep for the future. 1 stars
3/30/05 paris hart the best chick flick ive ever seen gd acting perfect teen comedy 5 stars
3/14/05 y2mckay Clever and funny script, the WU girls, hot chicks, and big boobs - What's not to like? 4 stars
2/25/05 dbx really overrated, ok if you can get past the hype 3 stars
2/22/05 sarah mean girls is one of my absolute favourite films of my life it is funny 5 stars
1/07/05 Buford Lindsay Lohan has big titties! 5 stars
12/29/04 Debra Sherman too jvenile but what was I expecting 2 stars
12/25/04 DM Witty and very clever. Tim Meadows is funny, too. 4 stars
12/06/04 Larry It shows Tina Fey in a bra. Good masturbation material. 3 stars
12/03/04 Britany Rose It was a good movie 4 stars
11/17/04 megan mean girls was a fun filled flick that made my family laugh so its worth a good look 4 stars
11/09/04 Diana where can i get the A little bit more dramatic top?email me at strawberilious@hotmail.com 5 stars
11/08/04 Kittie funny, sassy, more original that most teen films suprisingly entertained 4 stars
11/03/04 Koren Laholt A very good movie for kids over 12 4 stars
10/23/04 Natasha Theobald bitterly funny look at the suffering of high school 4 stars
10/17/04 gray beats the crap out of most teen girl movies 4 stars
10/16/04 Rapunzel Gladstone I think Lindsay Lowhanded, not Lindsay Lohan, wrote previous comment! 5 stars
8/27/04 Millie Maelstrom Q. Why does Karen NEED to put her fist in her mouth? A. To keep her foot out. 4 stars
8/26/04 Heather Purplethorne Shucks, Cady. I DID want to see Karen put her whole fist in her mouth! 4 stars
8/23/04 Robyn Jamil-Walid Tina Fey entertains us with her screenplay despite thinking her shit don't stink. 4 stars
8/23/04 Confessions Of A Teenage Trauma Queen Happy ending for all part a bit unrealistic. Lindsay yet to rival Freaky Friday excellence. 4 stars
8/07/04 Stephanie Throckmorton Actually,Eric C,Lindsay was at top of her radiance inCOATDQ;just couldn't save stupid movie 4 stars
8/06/04 Delight does anyone no were to get the top from that the blonde1 wore sayin"a little bit dramatic"? 5 stars
7/27/04 Tiffany Faye Hawthorne EricDSnider liked this! He must have hickupped during the fart scene! 4 stars
7/25/04 Elena A complete surprise. Insightful, hilarious and the most realistic teen movie since Thirteen 5 stars
7/23/04 yasmin its was really good good job 5 stars
7/23/04 Sandy Turynowicz funny 4 stars
7/17/04 legend One of the best teen comedy flicks out this year. 4 stars
7/15/04 Bruno I liked it! I luved their outfits, plus the soundtrack is really good! 5 stars
7/15/04 TheOthersFan For a film not rated "R," it deals with teen sexuality with surprising frankness 4 stars
7/10/04 Confessions Of A Teenage Trauma Queen Happy ending for all part a bit unrealistic. Lindsay yet to rival Freaky Friday excellence. 4 stars
7/09/04 marloes scholten the best teenage movie ever 5 stars
6/18/04 John Aster Habig true to the smallest detail based teen film since Orange County 5 stars
6/18/04 M should of been a bit more 'edgier' its too sugar coated! 3 stars
6/09/04 Savanna AWSOME!! FUINNI~! 5 stars
6/04/04 DdMM A fun, easy ride... 4 stars
5/30/04 Zierra Langham It didnt turn out the way i thought it was 4 stars
5/29/04 Alina hilarious movie 5 stars
5/27/04 Graham Though Heathers is actually better than Chekov.. 4 stars
5/26/04 Marlon makes HEATHERS look like Chekhov 2 stars
5/26/04 Ria This movie was the greatest comedy, look both ways before you cross. 5 stars
5/26/04 None Great Movie 5 stars
5/24/04 ajay surprisingly funny. The Indian dude was a crackup and you can't go wrong with Orbital!!!! 4 stars
5/23/04 Phantom Great! I saw it again just to see "Jingle Bell Rock!" 5 stars
5/22/04 Ray Zuper!!! 4 stars
5/21/04 Shark Awesome! Teen guys will fall in love with Lindsay Lohan! 5 stars
5/20/04 Blakers a great film 5 stars
5/19/04 batgirl i could watch this movie a dozen times and still laugh 5 stars
5/15/04 Chase Go see it! 5 stars
5/15/04 Marie it was just like my school def 2 stars
5/15/04 Koitus Cute film! I "personally related to" the party / puke scene, from H/S! L. Lohan is H-O-T! 4 stars
5/15/04 Blakers a great film 5 stars
5/15/04 Jay iT wAs ToTaLLy AwEsOmE n So FeTcH 5 stars
5/14/04 Jeff S Better than it had any right being, though the ending was weak. 3 stars
5/12/04 Me I am so sick of these stupid fucking teenage girl movies 1 stars
5/11/04 movieguy a great film 5 stars
5/10/04 Chiend What? No tits?!! I want my fucking money back! 1 stars
5/06/04 he a great film 5 stars
5/06/04 kevin hilarously funny! 5 stars
5/06/04 Laura I have not seen this film! 4 stars
5/05/04 Kayla I thought this movie was awesome, but then again I am a HUGE Lindsay Lohan fan!! 5 stars
5/04/04 britt actually really funny, over exageratted but true 4 stars
5/03/04 earl hofert just did not come together as i should have; horrible ending 2 stars
5/02/04 Me a great film 5 stars
5/02/04 cpbjr Funny at times, hot little girls all the time 3 stars
4/30/04 KingNeutron 3.5 *'s. Lindsay is hot as always, Rachel M looks like a young 7of9. Not bad for Tina Fey. 4 stars
4/30/04 Me A GREAT FILM I LOVED IT. 5 stars
4/30/04 susan lee tina fey rocks! 4 stars
4/27/04 Mike V Great! A really smart, funny, sweet, sarcastic take on female high school angst 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  30-Apr-2004 (PG-13)
  DVD: 21-Sep-2004

UK
  N/A

Australia
  24-Jun-2004 (M)


Directed by
  Mark S. Waters

Written by
  Tina Fey

Cast
  Lindsay Lohan
  Tina Fey
  Lizzy Caplan
  Lacey Chabert
  Rachel McAdams
  Tim Meadows



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast