Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.92

Awesome: 27.12%
Worth A Look54.24%
Just Average: 8.47%
Pretty Crappy: 3.39%
Sucks: 6.78%

2 reviews, 47 user ratings


Latest Reviews

MFA by Jay Seaver

You Only Live Once by Jay Seaver

November (2017) by Jay Seaver

Friendly Beast by Jay Seaver

Foreigner, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

Tom of Finland by Rob Gonsalves

Happy Death Day by Jay Seaver

78/52: Hitchcock's Shower Scene by Jay Seaver

Death Note: Light Up the New World by Jay Seaver

Brawl in Cell Block 99 by Peter Sobczynski

subscribe to this feed


Star Trek 4: The Voyage Home
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Ryan Arthur

"No, I'm from Iowa. I only work in outer space."
4 stars

The lightest - and one of the better - Trek films.

Star Trek IV picks up where Star Trek III left off. The gang is all set to head home in their loaner, a Klingon Bird Of Prey. They take off, and encounter a huge space probe that's emitting these strange sounds. The crew deciphers these sounds as the cries of a humpback whale, now extinct in the 23rd century. Through whatever Trek logic, they determine that the probe, when it finds now humpback whales on Earth, will destroy it. In order to save the Earth, the crew decides to travel back in time and pick up a couple of whales, and take them back to the future (a whole other movie, that is).

So immediately, you know this isn't your basic, run-of-the-mill sci-fi.

They land in San Francisco, 20th century, plopping down and cloaking in Golden Gate Park ("Everybody remember where we parked"), in search of both whales and a viable power source to get themselves home again. Kirk and a culture-shocked Spock hook up with a whale expert (Catherine Hicks) and discover that her whales (not HER whales, but the whales she's overseeing at a marine park) are due to be released to the wild soon. Jackpot. Meanwhile, McCoy and Mr. Scott are building tanks on the ship for whales, and Uhura and Chekov are searching for power ("Where are your Nukelear Wessles?").

I think what most liked about STIV was that it was such a contrast to the previous two films. Wrath Of Khan and Search For Spock were both extremely heavy movies, and this one is a complete turnaround. While there are villains (whalers, natch), there's no central villain. The humor certainly didn't hurt.

It's not every day that you'd expect a Vulcan to be swearing like a champ, but there Spock is, speaking in colorful metaphors.

There are a few notable action sequences, but they're not central to the story. The plot is, admittedly, light for a sci-fi franchise. But the Trek movies do always sort of have the core dealing with the characters, and this film is no exception.

If you can get past a sort of shaky plot, then you'll enjoy it.

link directly to this review at http://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=938&reviewer=7
originally posted: 02/08/99 13:44:50
[printer] printer-friendly format  
TV to Screen: For more in the TV to Screen series, click here.

User Comments

5/26/13 Jeff Wilder Well-put together. Good use of humor. 4 stars
5/22/10 Bob This is a bad movie, KC Au? Bullshit! This movie is the best Star Trek by far! 5 stars
1/31/10 Reality of Films Very good movie, and hilarious too! The best in the series! 5 stars
5/16/09 Sam HILARIOUS. Fans and non-fans alike will love this. 5 stars
3/24/09 John a trek that was great 5 stars
10/18/08 PAUL SHORTT AN EFFECTIVE AND ENJOYABLE SAMPLE OF ENTERTAINMENT 3 stars
10/02/06 Jeremy Davies Awesome- easily the best of the star trek movies- both series!! 5 stars
7/24/06 David Cohen Little more than an excuse to have the Star Trek cast walk around the modern world 3 stars
5/28/06 drydock54321 good sense of humor. entertaining 4 stars
4/14/06 ES The only star trek with acceptable time travel, next gen sucks 4 stars
6/20/05 Indrid Cold For once, a Trek movie is relatively straightforward plotwise. But still just mediocre. 3 stars
6/07/05 Drew Peltier P U 3 stars
3/16/05 dwarzel Good in spite of heavy-handed moralizing 5 stars
5/31/04 Nobody I hate conservationists. 1 stars
4/24/04 Easter Lemming Enjoyable Kick Ass Save The Whales Movie 5 stars
3/18/04 Belenda W. My favorite of the original trek crew movies 4 stars
12/17/03 Tim Triangle Save the whales man!! Pretty stupid aliens. Not my favourite. Interesting special effects 3 stars
3/02/03 Jack Sommersby A solid, entertaining picture. 4 stars
2/19/03 Matthew Jones The best of the Original Trek movies by far. 5 stars
12/09/02 Zefram Mann Pretty good. Gave the characters a chance to actually get out of the ship and do stuff. 4 stars
11/22/02 Charles Tatum Cutesy 4 stars
10/18/02 Red Shirt Guy Technobabble free at last! For a "Free Willy in space" movie, it ain't bad. 4 stars
5/15/02 R.W. Welch Nice break from the usual Trek stuff, more wit than usual. 4 stars
4/29/02 KC Au This is the best Trek movie?! Bullshit! Also bullshit - "transparent aluminum"!! 2 stars
12/15/01 Kenneth E. Carper For cretins only. Star Trek sold out to the mainstream moron masses! 1 stars
10/14/01 Andrew Carden Not Very Good, It's Pretty Boring, and Confusing. 2 stars
7/08/01 Gracy Lionheart I really loved this movie when I was younger. I still like it. 4 stars
6/23/01 Dean Avenger Girl, the village idiot of the HB voters. 4 stars
6/21/01 Spocks mate its all good! yep! yep! 4 stars
4/11/01 Emperor Matthew I The best and funniest of all the films. 'nuff said. 5 stars
2/04/01 Avenger Girl More trekkie crap..just total shite. Dont bother going to see it 1 stars
1/02/01 fifu funny and a good movie on of the better ones 4 stars
11/01/00 viking Still my favourite "Star Trek" movie 5 stars
4/16/00 BB-15 Tied with Khan for second-best of the series. 5 stars
2/12/00 Sabe Someone should shoot Scarface, because this movie rocks! Too bad Final Frontier sucked. 5 stars
1/30/00 Bas Westra the greatest startrek movie 5 stars
1/12/00 Jedi15 Gosh, Scarface, tell us how you REALLY feel. This movie was great! "Hello, computer." 5 stars
11/28/99 Crystal Fleming Rip Roaring Funny!!!! 5 stars
10/24/99 Scarface cheap, chessey film. Lame plot about whales. Borring! Worst of series with first movie. 1 stars
10/19/99 Lame-Oh interesting and funny 4 stars
10/07/99 sophia962 Only Nimoy and Meyer should direct SF films. Period. 5 stars
8/10/99 Japtalian I love this movie. This should have been the final film for the original cast. 4 stars
5/09/99 Arkansas Jon An humourous trek, if not overly original. The even #s are the hell best Trek movies. 4 stars
1/25/99 Yo Momma Worth a look. Excellent time travel back to the 80's. 4 stars
12/05/98 Scion of Sailor Jupiter Everyone say it with me: NOOOKLEAR WEEESLES! 4 stars
12/04/98 Shadow Raider Not your average Trek joint, but great movie. I like it. 4 stars
10/23/98 grunter Accessible, but convinced Paramount that fish-out-of-water time-travel stories=Trek. 4 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  19-Nov-1986 (PG)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  N/A




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast