Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.47

Awesome75%
Worth A Look: 11.9%
Just Average: 4.76%
Pretty Crappy: 1.79%
Sucks: 6.55%

5 reviews, 138 user ratings


Latest Reviews

November (2017) by Jay Seaver

Friendly Beast by Jay Seaver

Foreigner, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

Tom of Finland by Rob Gonsalves

Happy Death Day by Jay Seaver

78/52: Hitchcock's Shower Scene by Jay Seaver

Death Note: Light Up the New World by Jay Seaver

Brawl in Cell Block 99 by Peter Sobczynski

Almost Coming, Almost Dying by Jay Seaver

Blade Runner 2049 by Rob Gonsalves

subscribe to this feed


Goonies, The
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Jason Whyte

"They're damn good enough."
5 stars

Richard Donner's "The Goonies" has amassed a sincere cult following since its theatrical release in 1985. Although not a huge success at the start, the film thrived on video and on subsequent television broadcasts, where we came, time and again, to visit our friends trying to save the Goondocks.

For me, "The Goonies" is a sincere childhood memory. I was roughly 6 or 7 years old when I first viewed the film and I quickly fell in love with all the characters and the adventure. Today, I still warm up to it. The whole idea of kids getting into an adventure together, forgetting their differences, trying to save their neighborhood, goes back to the old pulp-comic books that you'd read and couldn't put down during a rainy November afternoon. And hey, what's a pirate film without a rockin' 80's soundtrack, Chunk, and Corey Feldman wearing a "Purple Rain" shirt?

The whole premise is just goofy: wealthy land owners in Astoria, Oregon, want to foreclose on "The Goondocks", a rather seedy section of town. ("If we don't do something, there's going to be a golf course right where we're standing!") There is a parallel that opens the film, a jailbreak where Mama Fratelli (the late, great Anne Ramsey) gets one of his sons (Robert Davi) out and a wild police chase ensues. This is where we meet the Goonies, starting with Andy (Keri Green) the cheerleader, Mouth (Corey Feldman), a wiseass chatterbox who's dad is a plumber, Stef (Martha Plimpton) who is Andy's friend, Data (Jonathan Ke Quan) who has a lot of inventions that don't always work, Chunk (Jeff Cohen) a pudgy, food loving kid with a penchat for braggery, and finally adventure loving Mikey (Sean Astin) and his brother Brand (Josh Brolin) who ground the story. When the Goonies find a treasure map in their attic (Mikey's dad is the museum curator), they set out to find it, only to run into the Fratelli's hiding out at the place they are heading. (What are the odds?) The restaurant eventually leads to a pathway underground, and with map in hand, The Goonies are set out to find the treasure.

The thrill of adventure is the strongest aspect of "The Goonies." Rube Goldberg death traps, endless trails, waterfalls, a waterslide, a pirate ship, this is what thrill seekers, especially kids, love, and the film's greatest triumph is making you wish you were Mikey, or Mouth, or Chunk on the same adventure. Oh, you can see the seams in the visuals. Matte paintings, obvious sets and optical effects (on the DVD, Jeff Cohen makes sincere mention of a poorly-timed shot and comments "THIS from the guy who made 'Superman'? I believed a man could fly!" dominate the production. It's all done so tongue in cheek, always winking at you and never wanting you to take it seriously.

The kid performers are all terrific, most notably Jeff Cohen as Chunk. I want him as a son. He reminds me of Chuckie from "Rugrats," fearing everything and bragging all the time. When he brags about the opening police chase being the greatest thing he ever saw, Mikey laughinly responds "More amazing than the time Michael Jackson came over to your house to use the bathroom?" "OK, Michael Jackson didn't come over to my house to use the bathroom," Chunk retorts, "But his sister did!" Chunk's finest moment is a "confessional" involving fake puke in a movie theater.

I also loved Jonathan Ke Quan as Data, whose inventions are because of learning from his dad. Maybe they don't always work, but they are funny, and Data's energy is admirable. Sean Astin is also very good here as main guy Mikey, but my favorite performance of his comes from "Rudy." Corey Feldman has the right sense of smartass "style" of so many '80s pre-teens. And Keri Green and Martha Plimpton are hilarious as the only teenage girls in the gang.

I must also make mention of the adults. Anne Ramsey, Joe Pantoliano and Robert Davi are very funny as bumbling crooks, and John Matusak as Sloth, the deformed, locked-up brother who bonds with Chunk adds an interesting level to the story. And who can forget the awful Troy Parker, Andy's ex-boyfriend, who has an unforgettable cry of horror when he learns Andy has went to the side of the Goonies?

Is "The Goonies" the greatest kids movie ever made? Well, no, but for me, it came at the right time, and I got caught right up in the cult following. It's a happy, well-made film, polished and directed very well by Richard Donner, that in 114 minutes gives the viewer a good, kid-friendly thrill.

Side note: The special-edition DVD of this film is strongly recommended for a hilarious, insightful commentary track by director Donner and all of the Goonie actors. It's very revealing as to how all the actors have come since the film's 1985 release. And Chunk is a lawyer!

link directly to this review at http://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=942&reviewer=350
originally posted: 04/08/04 03:49:47
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

12/10/12 Nellie Hasn't aged well. 1 stars
4/05/11 Jennifer Marquardt great adventure for kids if the swearing was removed 4 stars
1/17/11 Listy This will always be one of the definitive 80's movies, a true classic....great fun. 5 stars
10/01/10 bored mom The one classic kid film where the kids actually behave like intelligent, smart-ass adults. 5 stars
7/01/10 brian Annoying kids, stupid plot, inane dialogue, cliches every minute. What's to like? 1 stars
3/01/10 PAUL SHORTT SILLY, LIVELY AND NOISY 2 stars
8/28/08 Shaun Wallner The storyline is well made! 5 stars
5/13/08 Semper This movie so cartoonish but how evr it makes up for it in its action packed kid way and tg 4 stars
2/12/08 chris a movie to remember when you were a kid 4 stars
5/23/07 mikie ahhh Robert your an idiot, this is an 80s classic. "SLOTH LOVE CHUNK" 5 stars
4/23/07 tony fratelli just pour chocolate on the floor and let chunk eat his way thru!!....fuckin classic! 4 stars
4/05/07 TyBlack This really one of the best moives out there and its a definite classic 5 stars
12/25/06 johnnyfog Love it when Astin chucks his inhaler at the end, "Who needs it." YOU DO YOU MORON!! 5 stars
10/16/06 AJ Muller five of us saw it openingday (last day of school, 4th grade), changed our lives 5 stars
5/28/06 Troy M. Grzych One of the best films ever made. Should have made a sequel when the kids were kids. 5 stars
3/13/06 David avery Excellent movie for the whole family!! 5 stars
3/05/06 Anthony Feor An Adventure movie and a half 5 stars
1/17/06 cody a overated movie, but this movie is fun adventure flick for kids! 3 stars
12/15/05 Ryan The best movie that Spielberg has made. I wish more movies were like this. 5 stars
8/19/05 ES They just don't make kids movies like this anymore 4 stars
8/18/05 Danny SO ENTERTAINING for all ages! 5 stars all the way! Anne Ramsay is hilarious as "Mama". 5 stars
6/01/05 andrew osborn its the best movie of its liftetiome 5 stars
5/28/05 tony Great adventure movie both for kids and adults. You all will love it! 5 stars
3/24/05 Abbi one of my childhood classics! 4 stars
2/06/05 Jeff Anderson Now this is what an adventure should be like, PERIOD! GOONIES NEVER SAY DIE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
1/21/05 Steve Michaud I love this film just as much at 32 as I did at 12; one of my all-time fave '80s movies 5 stars
1/10/05 Lucas Stenz Good kids movie; Spielberg-esque in tone 4 stars
11/16/04 CHUNK HEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEY YOUUUUUUUU GUYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYSSSSSSSSSSSSSSS!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
10/28/04 Georgie Porgie We all love Mikey and still do ;) I wasn't even born when The Goonies came out! 5 stars
10/17/04 Miles Morley CHUNK-- you rock big fella 5 stars
10/12/04 Mel I <3 the Goonies 5 stars
9/30/04 dru downy all-time classic, makes me tingle 5 stars
9/03/04 T.B. It good kids movie 3 stars
7/18/04 me frog Okay, though lacking originality 3 stars
6/07/04 Erica very funny movie/ made me laugh 5 stars
5/12/04 Vacha my very favorite movie. they don't get much more fun than this! 5 stars
4/30/04 Deformed Guy from Goonies HEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEY GUUUYYYYYYYYYSSSSSSSSSS! 5 stars
4/13/04 slayathon This was a fave from when I was a kid and I have the guilty pleasure of owning it on dvd 5 stars
4/10/04 Larissa Great,awesome 5 stars
3/30/04 kenny PICE OF SHIT FILM THEY CAN ALL DIE!!!!!! 1 stars
3/11/04 Dave I loved it especially chunk and sloth 5 stars
2/25/04 kelly It is the best of all time 5 stars
2/02/04 Chelsea the movie's older than i am, but it's my all time favorite 5 stars
12/25/03 your worst goddamn nightmare if you didn't love this as a kid growing up, you'll probably never "get it"... 5 stars
12/06/03 john it's honest and fun - the kids are great! 4 stars
11/04/03 American Slasher Goddess They sure don't make them like this anymore. 5 stars
10/19/03 snowconehead Best movie of the entire decade 5 stars
10/07/03 goonies_lover great milkshake of a movie 5 stars
9/03/03 ChanceHead THIS COULD BE THE WORST MOVIE EVER MADE EXCEPT AMERICAN NINJA 1 stars
8/25/03 Jenn super-kool flick with an awesome cast of very talented kids! 5 stars
7/21/03 Double G Awesome Movie, I actually looked for a house so I can live in that neighborhood. 5 stars
7/08/03 natasha_theobald great adventure for the kid in all of us 5 stars
5/28/03 Mike Great 5 stars
5/22/03 Yeah! Super Duper the Luxe ! 5 stars
4/30/03 Naton R. Watch this when you have a dip.. it works!! 5 stars
3/31/03 Mr. Do Great movie. 5 stars
3/12/03 kelley jewell best movie ever 5 stars
2/24/03 Angie I love this movie!!!! I have seen it about a million times. 5 stars
1/20/03 Doug Onufro So what if the Goonies isn't the most perfect of movies? If it entertains, then it's great! 5 stars
1/10/03 Amanda i luv it it is the greatest movie ever 5 stars
11/24/02 Charles Tatum Really cool when I was younger 4 stars
11/10/02 Daniel The bad guys (esp. Momma) are a riot! This movie is a lot of fun!! 5 stars
9/19/02 SUZY ITS A CLASSIC 5 stars
8/21/02 TheChronic I must've seen this movie 8 times at the theatre as a kid....God it's AWESOME for a kid! 5 stars
8/21/02 TheChronic I must've seen this movie 8 times at the theatre as a kid....god it's AWESOME for a kid! 5 stars
6/03/02 NWO4LIFE As an adult, if you surrender to it, it's near impossible not to like. 4 stars
3/25/02 Rachael Gran I wached this every day after I came home from school as a kid. 5 stars
3/23/02 Hobbitsrule! I watched this movie for the first time recently (to see little Sean Astin!), and loved it! 4 stars
3/11/02 KevinS THIS MOVIE IS THE BEST MOVIE EVER MADE!!! And for" It got cheezy", SO DID YOUR MOM;0) 5 stars
3/07/02 Mo Anand This is a cool fantasy with great young actors 4 stars
2/25/02 K y L e I love this fucking movie beyond what your mind can comprehend. 5 stars
2/20/02 Xaver Fun adventure with a bit of spookiness at times. 4 stars
2/09/02 L.B. Lafady It's the best ! 5 stars
2/04/02 Nevz You.. GOONIES! 5 stars
2/01/02 Geo7654 Irresistible kids adventure movie. A lot of fun. 4 stars
1/28/02 Toni Lynn Gleason I LOVE THIS MOVIE IF FUCKING ROCKZ! 5 stars
1/27/02 Del Part of my prolonged "80's flashback" 5 stars
11/06/01 Zach Thomas The greatest movie of all time 5 stars
10/30/01 Henry Ginsberg It started of good, but then it just got cheesy 3 stars
10/25/01 shep_ramsay hey you guys 5 stars
10/09/01 Erick Barbor My favorite movie of all time!!! Honestly!!!! 5 stars
9/08/01 Dick you off Fucking good movie 5 stars
9/05/01 Mathias A movie I loved when I was a kid. And I still love it ! 5 stars
8/05/01 E-Funk My favorite childhood film...and it's still gets better every time I see it. 5 stars
6/11/01 Emily Ascue very good...i still pop it in the VCR once in a great while 5 stars
5/23/01 cat this homo erotica perspective is a disappointment and is irrelevant to the film 5 stars
5/13/01 Chunk Funny and fun as hell, if you understand the juxtaposition. 5 stars
5/07/01 Desert Eagle overrated 3 stars
5/03/01 Meagan M. Gaschk A complete classic 5 stars
4/25/01 Sarah Still as great at 22 as when I saw it at 6 5 stars
3/31/01 Andrew Carden How could anyone add this to their top 20 list? 2 stars
3/18/01 Bob Bik 022 This movie was hott. If u dont like it then suck my 9 inch c*ck 5 stars
3/16/01 ender :-D 5 stars
3/02/01 Neil Wetzel It is the greates movie of all time. 5 stars
2/12/01 zachary spiehler it's a great movie with alot of adventure 4 stars
2/05/01 curious george like the review says too much little boy touchy touchy gay molestation stuff 1 stars
1/17/01 Kipling This is my favourite movie of ALL time! 5 stars
1/10/01 Nick Ivins Nostalgic trip to wonderland. The gray scenery is neat, and underground adventures are fun 5 stars
12/23/00 Bryson This is the best fucking movie in the world. Second to none. 5 stars
12/04/00 Lindsay E Goonies has been my favorite movie since kindergarten. It is the best 5 stars
12/01/00 Ashley Duquette it was amazing my all time favorite movie. 5 stars
11/19/00 The EVIL Penguin nice 4 stars
11/17/00 Julie P. Goonies is one of my alltime favorite movies! 5 stars
9/29/00 no 1 goonie fan in the world watched this movie 21 times 5 stars
9/21/00 Jayme Jaques It's TOTALLY hilarious. I LOVE the movie!!! 5 stars
9/08/00 Solana This movie rocks! I believe in pirates, why don't you? 5 stars
8/31/00 JB McMichael The best piece of film ever created. I can watch it 1000 times (and I have). 5 stars
7/24/00 Matta My favorite movie of all time. How can you not like it? 5 stars
6/14/00 Ryan Hamilton Definately, the best teen movie after Ferris Buller's day off!!! 5 stars
6/13/00 Aaron Some stupid moments, but overall a very good film 4 stars
5/31/00 Jim Beam Great Movie! 5 stars
4/30/00 Steve Layne A lot of fun, but at times the movie feels overwhelming. 4 stars
4/11/00 jacob mclean "do you boys lke tounge" 5 stars
3/12/00 Derek BEST MOVIE EVER MADE if your a child of the 80's 5 stars
2/29/00 Alex a fun children's move 5 stars
1/26/00 The Bomb 69 even better 15 years later 5 stars
1/24/00 Lauren Good movie 5 stars
1/24/00 eric farrell pretty good sometimes stupid. 3 stars
1/02/00 Julian Yap i recall seeing this in the cinema as a kid. truly a classic. fun in the whole sense. 5 stars
12/27/99 perverted pixie One of my childhood favourites and I still love it! Chunk and Mouth are brilliant. 5 stars
11/03/99 Mickey "Father Death" MacJohnstmyster This movie is brilliant . Ahah Roc-ky Road ahah , rent it , buy it , go get it NOW ! 5 stars
10/20/99 Anthony Calomeni This is a movie for all generations 5 stars
10/01/99 Matthew Bartley A teenage classic 5 stars
9/19/99 Diana Quattrone Best Movie ever made!!!! 5 stars
9/03/99 Jason Kinsey pretty stupid- I don't know why so many retards liked this film 2 stars
6/15/99 Dylan Fucking ace kids flick. Matures well with age. 5 stars
5/04/99 Big Dog I do the truffle shuffle everyday 5 stars
4/29/99 Angie A TOTAL CLASSIC!!! Chunk, Sloth, and Mouth rule baby!! "Baby Ruth??" 5 stars
4/19/99 Martin I've seen this movie 100 times and I still like it 5 stars
4/07/99 Dave Fun movie! 5 stars
10/18/98 Kwyjibo Come on folks. This is pretty sad if you watch it now. 3 stars
9/27/98 Brandon B. Chunk rules. 5 stars
9/22/98 Johny I liked a lot it when I was younger 4 stars
9/19/98 J-Guy One time, michael jackson stopped at my dad's gas station to use the bathroom. -- loved it. 5 stars
9/18/98 P.S.Lew i could see it a hundred times!!! 5 stars
9/14/98 cheryl_ann the "truffle shuffle" made this movie...well, it was more than that. great 80's flick. 4 stars
9/10/98 The incredible, edible GKR NOW THIS IS A CLASSIC! eat the rocky road chunk 5 stars
9/09/98 Bruce Willis' mama. Yikes. Made me feel icky. 3 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  07-Jun-1985 (PG)
  DVD: 02-Nov-2010

UK
  N/A

Australia
  02-Jul-1985 (PG)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast