Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.27

Awesome53.21%
Worth A Look: 30.77%
Just Average: 9.62%
Pretty Crappy: 2.56%
Sucks: 3.85%

7 reviews, 114 user ratings


Latest Reviews

MFA by Jay Seaver

You Only Live Once by Jay Seaver

November (2017) by Jay Seaver

Friendly Beast by Jay Seaver

Foreigner, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

Tom of Finland by Rob Gonsalves

Happy Death Day by Jay Seaver

78/52: Hitchcock's Shower Scene by Jay Seaver

Death Note: Light Up the New World by Jay Seaver

Brawl in Cell Block 99 by Peter Sobczynski

subscribe to this feed


Shrek 2
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Erik Childress

"The First Non-Disappointment Of Summer 2004"
4 stars

I’ve only been a few days removed from the Shrek 2 experience and there have already been two handfuls of people who have asked me about it. “Is it better than the first?” Man, have we become that greedy to actually expect a summertime sequel to not just live up to its predecessor but to surpass it in quality? Shrek was a magical creation that ended up second on my best-of list in 2001. It’s borderline impossible to recreate the way its animation astonished us since technological milestones can only be events like that once. Beyond that we were left with lovable characters and a biting sense of humor which took Disney and fairy tales to task. You’ll be happy to know that the Shrek experience hasn’t changed all that much.

Picking up where the first one left us (or, at least, where the new Shrek 3-D DVD creates a bridge), Shrek (Mike Myers) and Fiona (Cameron Diaz) are on their extended honeymoon. A gingerbread house in the middle of a swamp may seem like a diamond in the rough, but it’s symbolic of the love they’ve built for each other. When their presence is requested in the land of Far Far Away (modeled after Beverly Hills), the couple head off with constant companion, Donkey (Eddie Murphy) to meet the in-laws.

Since Fiona’s true love was pre-destined to be the vainly handsome Prince Charming (Rupert Everett), her homecoming turns from red carpet to an ogre of a different color. Queen Lillian (Julie Andrews) urges King Harold (John Cleese) to put on his best Guess-Who’s-Coming-To-Dinner-gameface for Fiona’s sake, but he can’t help believing that his daughter has made a tragic error in judgement. When Mama’s Boy Charming has Mum, the Fairy Godmother (Jennifer Saunders) conspire with Harold to separate the two, temptation will test the loving pair into the promise of a better life.

The voicework of Shrek has already solidified itself into the lexicon of animated history. Eddie Murphy’s Donkey is as memorable and hilarious as anything he has done since his days on "Saturday Night Live," and Myers’ Shrek is endearing enough to cause a welcome memory lapse on his repetitive Austin Powers shtick and blackboard-grating performance as The Cat In The Hat. But both are upstaged by the addition of Antonio Banderas as Puss-In-Boots. Banderas is already an underappreciated comic actor, and it’s a feline with the Zorro complex that will be having audiences clamoring for a spin-off as he steals the film with the best lines and unquestionably the funniest reaction shot staring back at you all year.

The sequel never disappoints when it comes to harping on the Disney tradition. (Who knew The Little Mermaid was such a tramp?) But it’s not all wise-cracks and cleverer-than-thou snipes. Like its main character, the film’s heart is in the right place and treats the central relationship as that of the soulmate variety; willing to sacrifice their own happiness so not to compromise their spouse’s. There are no jokes about nagging wives or Shrek’s fearsomeness emasculated; only regret for not giving each other everything they feel they deserve. When Shrek goes through some changes of his own, it would have been interesting to see him test the waters now that the world is seeing him through rose-colored glasses. But this isn’t The Shape of Things and we already care for Shrek so much that we wouldn’t be mad, we’d be disappointed if he ever strayed from Fiona.

The moneymaking endeavors that sequels truly are tend to disengage the makers from the quality control (or stroke-of-luck) they had when creating the original. The makers of Shrek couldn’t have picked a greater closer theme than “I’m a Believer” the first time out and they should have thought again when choosing part two’s final number. But it’s not indicative of sequelitis and is a minor blemish on an otherwise fabulous follow-up. Shrek 2 is exactly what we want in our sequels; respect for its origins, growth in the characters and an honest attempt to replicate its laugh quotient. Surpassing the original is a bonus plan with interest but you’ll find that Shrek 2 will reward you with a happy return.

link directly to this review at http://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=9591&reviewer=198
originally posted: 05/18/04 22:17:38
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

8/14/14 Mario is the Best My favourite Shrek movie. 5 stars
10/23/13 Bernie My favorite of the series. 4 stars
3/15/12 Sean It was even better then the first installment and it was the last good Shrek movie. 5 stars
11/22/09 Jeff Wilder Not as novel as Shrek. But almost as funny. 4 stars
10/22/09 PAUL SHORTT LIVELY SEQUEL WITH GREAT AMUSEMENT, SPECTACULAR VISUALS AND A WHOLESOME STORY 4 stars
8/22/09 Zach Classic. Just as good as the first one. 5 stars
11/30/08 Roz The 1stwas gr8 cos it parodied fairy tales. This one parodied pop-cultire references. OLD! 2 stars
10/01/08 Shaun Wallner Funny Movie! 5 stars
10/20/07 mb Lame is a good word for this ... even cheap 2 stars
9/07/07 JamesCole Keep drinking that Kool-Aid, folks. 1 stars
5/08/07 Dark Enchantress great movie! 5 stars
4/27/07 Ryan Emmett This movie, I thought, was better than the first one by a long shot. But good review. 5 stars
4/22/07 David Risser A Classic. Very entertaining/funny. Good Adventure 5 stars
3/19/07 dude better than the original 5 stars
2/16/07 Vip Ebriega A fairy tale that's worth telling. 5 stars
1/12/07 saad muhammud tired of this fucking movie is so fucking lame 1 stars
8/20/06 Bilal perfect 5 stars
7/12/06 David Cohen Nowhere near as good as the first, but not bad 3 stars
5/21/06 Diane P very good and enjoyable for both adults and children 5 stars
5/13/06 kacy schwieder it was good 3 stars
4/21/06 Jack Number 1 rocks. This one dosen't 3 stars
4/01/06 JRE funniest PG movie ever made 5 stars
3/15/06 casey corcoran it was good 3 stars
3/15/06 casey corcoran it was good 3 stars
1/06/06 JM Synth For the 3rd highest grossing film in US history, not that different from Disney DTV sequels 3 stars
12/27/05 tony not as good as the first one.but still has its classic funny moments 4 stars
10/18/05 Valerie Awesome movie. hilarious. 5 stars
8/14/05 Frenzy still a great movie 5 stars
8/13/05 Renee is Gabby Not as solid as the original, lacks steady interest despite some cool moments 3 stars
6/24/05 Mr Fluffy I'm sure there's a story buried under this top heavy voice talent. Less is more etc. 3 stars
6/02/05 monique i thought it was great-!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
4/24/05 Quigley the pop culture references are awesome (Starbucks) and Puss rocks. I was in tears laughing 5 stars
4/10/05 Ionicera it tries to hard to be hip, but I liked the characters 4 stars
3/30/05 DM Funny and well-cast, but lacks the original's heart and freshness. 4 stars
3/15/05 Amy Lynch Even better than the first, and not only for children, good adult humor 5 stars
2/25/05 Brandy Great movie! Just as funny every time I see it. 5 stars
2/13/05 Jeanine Price Wonderful! 5 stars
1/17/05 wendy we have watched it about 6 times 5 stars
1/10/05 Stacey Peachfuzz Derivative and totally unoriginal. I don't understand the hype at all. 1 stars
12/06/04 Jim Pretty funny. Give Puss his own movie! 4 stars
12/06/04 Samantha diaz that i think that it was a very funny moive that i enjoyed it. It is a good family movie. 5 stars
12/04/04 Kristina Williams the Cops spoof killed me 5 stars
11/23/04 Rich Funny 5 stars
11/21/04 ad really really funny 5 stars
11/19/04 jess smith it was really funny 5 stars
11/05/04 TCIC Another crap sequel if you look beyond the jokes, the first was better but its still good 3 stars
11/03/04 stacey bradshaw wicked 5 stars
11/02/04 marissa matthews shrek 2 is bout being urself and not trying 2 be some1 ur not if ur not comfortable with it 5 stars
10/04/04 Gareth Spencer first was better 3 stars
9/03/04 Valerie Even better than the first! Very entertaining and cute. 4 stars
8/31/04 Tiffany Faye Hawthorne A tad better'n 1st, but I'd be little the worse if I'd regarded both with Shrekless abandon 3 stars
8/21/04 Daveman Disappointingly inferior to the original but some of the humour here is ingenious. 4 stars
8/10/04 howdinski as usual dreamworks team come up trumps this is great 5 stars
8/09/04 kelkly paratene i thought the movie was a must see it was really really funny i couldnt stop laughing 5 stars
8/01/04 Movieguy The first one was way better 3 stars
7/26/04 lespacified Was definitely worth seeing, but I much preferred the first one! 4 stars
7/21/04 Whitney Bullard Suprisingly, almost as good as the original. 4 stars
7/17/04 Nobody the kind of movie where you walk out and want to walk right back in and see it again 5 stars
7/17/04 legend My third favorite film this year! A must see for Puss N' Boots. 5 stars
7/17/04 Chlo-mo-bo Omg - Puss In Boots - the whole cinema went 'awwwww' when he looked up with those big eyes! 5 stars
7/14/04 Koitus I went to see it with my g-friend (her 2nd time). I agree -- A. Banderas STOLE the film! 5 stars
7/09/04 jodie Antonio Banderas really made Puss in Boots THE BEST -It rocked especially for a sequal! 5 stars
7/08/04 Littlepurch Wow what a great film! SO much better than overrated original.Saunders steals show by mile! 5 stars
7/07/04 jenny it was funny i liked it but i think white chicks was better 4 stars
7/07/04 Denise Duspiva The Cat was cute 5 stars
7/07/04 Karo,ina Trzmiel 5 stars
7/05/04 Sérgio Almeida Olá Shrek!!! 5 stars
7/01/04 Rachia LOVED it. Thought it wasn't gonna be good, as most sequels ARENT, but it rocked! 5 stars
6/27/04 KENT Better than the first; the hairball scene is worth the price of admission! 4 stars
6/26/04 Arse Poet Alright if you're six. 2 stars
6/23/04 Ray Outstanding 5 stars
6/20/04 M Over-rated and messy. looks good though. 3 stars
6/17/04 Jewelies Great Movie and Soundtrack! DVD Buy Definitely! 5 stars
6/13/04 Rowan Hill Exelent would see over and over again very original 5 stars
6/12/04 Melina puss n' boots "cat nip" & "sad eyes" was the best! 5 stars
6/11/04 Raymond Lee Great movie 5 stars
6/09/04 Mark D. Fulwiler Laugh out loud funny, a bit demented and good hearted 5 stars
6/07/04 Ron Miller Better then the first! 5 stars
6/06/04 SF Absolutely fabulous. All the characters were perfect. Puss hillarious! 5 stars
6/05/04 John Aster Habig forget puss in boots donkey is still the funniest and shrek the most endearing 5 stars
6/05/04 The More You Know cutesy at times, mostly hilarious satire. 4 stars
6/04/04 TJ Great, this was way better then the first. Really funny 5 stars
6/03/04 katsat I don't get it - this movie was a little boring - I was expecting so much more 3 stars
6/02/04 Elizabeth Great voice work by the cast and charming. Love that Puss in Boots! 4 stars
6/02/04 paganchyk Just try to find all the pop culture references! Antonio Banderas is the best part. 5 stars
6/01/04 :) Very Funny, a lot better than I expected 5 stars
5/31/04 y2mckay More of the same, but cute. Has the best "Cops" parody since Reno 911 4 stars
5/31/04 Charlene Javier The soup joke is a killer! 5 stars
5/31/04 whatevr best sequel ever 5 stars
5/31/04 jada more adult humour, funny!! 5 stars
5/30/04 Emperor's New Clothes? Nope. Just a Fat, Ugly, Naked, Guy. Not as endearing as the first but as endearing as those darling eyes of Puss in Boots <3 4 stars
5/29/04 winfield wilson I went with my two sons (13 and 17). A great bonding experience. Hilarious. 5 stars
5/26/04 Will i didn't like the pop music in the first or the second one, but that's minor. 5 stars
5/25/04 Larissa Ione Not as good as the first, but still great! 5 stars
5/24/04 dillweed Craptacular 1 stars
5/24/04 Mike Excellent! As entertaining and yet different as the first 5 stars
5/24/04 mfa willie aames almost as good as the first, not quite, go for a matinee 4 stars
5/24/04 E-Rock Antonio Banderas steals the show, but it's all good! A must see for anyone... 5 stars
5/23/04 Movie Expert The first one was great this one is very lame and poorly written. 2 stars
5/23/04 Lord Jiggy Very funnny, but overused songs as emotional bridges. Puss in Boots kills. 4 stars
5/23/04 malcolm i loved the pepper spray & "white bronco" reference 4 stars
5/23/04 Messenger Puppet uninspired, derivative tripe 1 stars
5/22/04 Mazz Why aren't you in line for it right now? Huh? 5 stars
5/22/04 BrianWilly It's that awesome. Seriously. Go see it now. 5 stars
5/21/04 ajay lots of laughs and a TON of movie references... 4 stars
5/21/04 Titus This was easily as good as the first. I'm still laughing. 5 stars
5/21/04 Nick Comes up a little short compared to the original, which says alot given the genius of Shrek 4 stars
5/20/04 Kerry V. Where were the laughs we had in the first one? This one was a waste of time! 1 stars
5/20/04 Ajax Not as fresh as the first one, but still huge fun. 4 stars
5/20/04 Wolf 2.5 *'s. Has some good laughs, but you can TOTALLY tell they only did this for the money. 3 stars
5/19/04 Jeff S Puss in Boots made this movie. Funniest animated character ever. 4 stars
5/19/04 Blakers a great film 5 stars
5/19/04 Superdave better than the first 5 stars
5/19/04 Christina Pray for mercy from Puss-In-Boots!!!!! 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  19-May-2004 (PG)
  DVD: 05-Nov-2004

UK
  N/A

Australia
  17-Jun-2004




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast