Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.27

Awesome53.21%
Worth A Look: 30.77%
Just Average: 9.62%
Pretty Crappy: 2.56%
Sucks: 3.85%

7 reviews, 114 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Fortress, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

MFA by Jay Seaver

You Only Live Once by Jay Seaver

November (2017) by Jay Seaver

Friendly Beast by Jay Seaver

Foreigner, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

Tom of Finland by Rob Gonsalves

Happy Death Day by Jay Seaver

78/52: Hitchcock's Shower Scene by Jay Seaver

Death Note: Light Up the New World by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Shrek 2
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Jason Whyte

"No Smash Mouth songs in Shrek 2! Already, it's better than the first one!"
4 stars

I'll admit, I originally overreacted to my thoughts on the first "Shrek", that wacky fairy-tale film from 2001, when I said in my original review: ""Shrek" is one of the most clever films of the year, a beautiful blend of animation, biting satire and hilarious irony, all coming together into one of the more offbeat and wicked fairy-tales ever put down on film."

That smacks of hyperbole, and of the kid-inside me that reacts emotionally first, then intellectually later, especially towards a film that is so highly anticipated. I've seen the film a few times since then, and don't get me wrong, I certainly recommend it. It's a fine comedy and that biting satire and hilarious irony is there, but it also has dated referential material, Mike Myers' whiny, overbearing Scottish accent as Shrek, and spent far too much time with the lead characters wandering in a forest when there was a huge fractured fairy tale around them. Oh, and Smash Mouth's "All Star" played over the opening credits, and it was about the fifth film that year that used it.

"Shrek 2" is certainly a little bit better than the first outing. Myers has toned down that accent of his a bit, and only a Ricky Martin song plagues a later sequence, but it isn't as worse as out-of-place soundtrack promotions. As well, the tone of the jokes and references is just as amusing as the first, and the writing and timing of all of the gut-busters are among some of the best episodes of "The Simpsons."

In the first film, Shrek the ogre rescues Princess Fiona (Cameron Diaz) with the help of Donkey (Eddie Murphy) and in a bizarre turn of events, Fiona's curse is broken and she turns into an Ogre as well. The story continues with Shrek and Fiona off to Far Far, Away to meet Fiona's parents, King Harold (John Cleese) and Queen Lillian (Julie Andrews). Neither the King or Queen know she's turned into an Ogre, and they are appalled by their appearances. They aren't impressed. Nor is Prince Charming (Rupert Everett), who was supposed to save Fiona in the first film. With some help from Charming's mom, Fairy Godmother (Jennifer Saunders), Prince Charming tries to get Shrek out of the picture so he can have Fiona for himself.

The story is a set-up for the film's bountiful supply of colorful characters. Donkey has just about as much screentime as Shrek does, and he's quite funny as the best friend. Several of the other characters from the first film, like Pinocchio, Gingerbread Man and the Three Blind Mice And when Puss 'n Boots (wonderfully voiced by Antonio Banderas) shows up, first as a kitty assassin and then as Shrek's accomplice, the cat has some of the film's best moments, especially with the big sad eyes that brought down the house at the screening I attended (as did the "Cat Nip" in a later scene).

Anachronisms everywhere! Here is a movie where our knowledge of pop culture and old stories are essential for our enjoyment. Seeing this movie more than once is recommended to let all of the jokes wash over us. Watch closely as Shrek and Fiona's post-wedding home movies are actually shot on film (who cares where the film came from?). Or how the metropolis known as Far, Far Away closely resembles Beverly Hills, right down to the valet's and the "Farbucks Coffee" shops...one right across the street from the other. And there has to be a reality show in here somewhere, so why not the "Cops" inspired "Knights"?

The film is visually spectacular (but hey, all CG animated films are these days), full of color and life, and we wish we could live right in there. It helps that creators Andrew Adamson, Kelly Asbury and Conrad Vernon have such playful, resourceful minds with these films, and I'm sure that their next projects will contain the same likable style.

"Shrek 2" is in the family-film genre that I like -- an appeal to adults as well as children, even if adults will appreciate and understand the more arcane references (Shirley Bassey! Stonehenge!) than their tykes. Add to that, the computer animated approach gives more freedom to let the creators' humour shine even further. "Shrek 2" isn't perfect (neither was the first one) but it is a lot of fun, and certainly a funny and welcome comedy.

link directly to this review at http://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=9591&reviewer=350
originally posted: 05/21/04 07:07:57
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

8/14/14 Mario is the Best My favourite Shrek movie. 5 stars
10/23/13 Bernie My favorite of the series. 4 stars
3/15/12 Sean It was even better then the first installment and it was the last good Shrek movie. 5 stars
11/22/09 Jeff Wilder Not as novel as Shrek. But almost as funny. 4 stars
10/22/09 PAUL SHORTT LIVELY SEQUEL WITH GREAT AMUSEMENT, SPECTACULAR VISUALS AND A WHOLESOME STORY 4 stars
8/22/09 Zach Classic. Just as good as the first one. 5 stars
11/30/08 Roz The 1stwas gr8 cos it parodied fairy tales. This one parodied pop-cultire references. OLD! 2 stars
10/01/08 Shaun Wallner Funny Movie! 5 stars
10/20/07 mb Lame is a good word for this ... even cheap 2 stars
9/07/07 JamesCole Keep drinking that Kool-Aid, folks. 1 stars
5/08/07 Dark Enchantress great movie! 5 stars
4/27/07 Ryan Emmett This movie, I thought, was better than the first one by a long shot. But good review. 5 stars
4/22/07 David Risser A Classic. Very entertaining/funny. Good Adventure 5 stars
3/19/07 dude better than the original 5 stars
2/16/07 Vip Ebriega A fairy tale that's worth telling. 5 stars
1/12/07 saad muhammud tired of this fucking movie is so fucking lame 1 stars
8/20/06 Bilal perfect 5 stars
7/12/06 David Cohen Nowhere near as good as the first, but not bad 3 stars
5/21/06 Diane P very good and enjoyable for both adults and children 5 stars
5/13/06 kacy schwieder it was good 3 stars
4/21/06 Jack Number 1 rocks. This one dosen't 3 stars
4/01/06 JRE funniest PG movie ever made 5 stars
3/15/06 casey corcoran it was good 3 stars
3/15/06 casey corcoran it was good 3 stars
1/06/06 JM Synth For the 3rd highest grossing film in US history, not that different from Disney DTV sequels 3 stars
12/27/05 tony not as good as the first one.but still has its classic funny moments 4 stars
10/18/05 Valerie Awesome movie. hilarious. 5 stars
8/14/05 Frenzy still a great movie 5 stars
8/13/05 Renee is Gabby Not as solid as the original, lacks steady interest despite some cool moments 3 stars
6/24/05 Mr Fluffy I'm sure there's a story buried under this top heavy voice talent. Less is more etc. 3 stars
6/02/05 monique i thought it was great-!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
4/24/05 Quigley the pop culture references are awesome (Starbucks) and Puss rocks. I was in tears laughing 5 stars
4/10/05 Ionicera it tries to hard to be hip, but I liked the characters 4 stars
3/30/05 DM Funny and well-cast, but lacks the original's heart and freshness. 4 stars
3/15/05 Amy Lynch Even better than the first, and not only for children, good adult humor 5 stars
2/25/05 Brandy Great movie! Just as funny every time I see it. 5 stars
2/13/05 Jeanine Price Wonderful! 5 stars
1/17/05 wendy we have watched it about 6 times 5 stars
1/10/05 Stacey Peachfuzz Derivative and totally unoriginal. I don't understand the hype at all. 1 stars
12/06/04 Jim Pretty funny. Give Puss his own movie! 4 stars
12/06/04 Samantha diaz that i think that it was a very funny moive that i enjoyed it. It is a good family movie. 5 stars
12/04/04 Kristina Williams the Cops spoof killed me 5 stars
11/23/04 Rich Funny 5 stars
11/21/04 ad really really funny 5 stars
11/19/04 jess smith it was really funny 5 stars
11/05/04 TCIC Another crap sequel if you look beyond the jokes, the first was better but its still good 3 stars
11/03/04 stacey bradshaw wicked 5 stars
11/02/04 marissa matthews shrek 2 is bout being urself and not trying 2 be some1 ur not if ur not comfortable with it 5 stars
10/04/04 Gareth Spencer first was better 3 stars
9/03/04 Valerie Even better than the first! Very entertaining and cute. 4 stars
8/31/04 Tiffany Faye Hawthorne A tad better'n 1st, but I'd be little the worse if I'd regarded both with Shrekless abandon 3 stars
8/21/04 Daveman Disappointingly inferior to the original but some of the humour here is ingenious. 4 stars
8/10/04 howdinski as usual dreamworks team come up trumps this is great 5 stars
8/09/04 kelkly paratene i thought the movie was a must see it was really really funny i couldnt stop laughing 5 stars
8/01/04 Movieguy The first one was way better 3 stars
7/26/04 lespacified Was definitely worth seeing, but I much preferred the first one! 4 stars
7/21/04 Whitney Bullard Suprisingly, almost as good as the original. 4 stars
7/17/04 Nobody the kind of movie where you walk out and want to walk right back in and see it again 5 stars
7/17/04 legend My third favorite film this year! A must see for Puss N' Boots. 5 stars
7/17/04 Chlo-mo-bo Omg - Puss In Boots - the whole cinema went 'awwwww' when he looked up with those big eyes! 5 stars
7/14/04 Koitus I went to see it with my g-friend (her 2nd time). I agree -- A. Banderas STOLE the film! 5 stars
7/09/04 jodie Antonio Banderas really made Puss in Boots THE BEST -It rocked especially for a sequal! 5 stars
7/08/04 Littlepurch Wow what a great film! SO much better than overrated original.Saunders steals show by mile! 5 stars
7/07/04 jenny it was funny i liked it but i think white chicks was better 4 stars
7/07/04 Denise Duspiva The Cat was cute 5 stars
7/07/04 Karo,ina Trzmiel 5 stars
7/05/04 Sérgio Almeida Olá Shrek!!! 5 stars
7/01/04 Rachia LOVED it. Thought it wasn't gonna be good, as most sequels ARENT, but it rocked! 5 stars
6/27/04 KENT Better than the first; the hairball scene is worth the price of admission! 4 stars
6/26/04 Arse Poet Alright if you're six. 2 stars
6/23/04 Ray Outstanding 5 stars
6/20/04 M Over-rated and messy. looks good though. 3 stars
6/17/04 Jewelies Great Movie and Soundtrack! DVD Buy Definitely! 5 stars
6/13/04 Rowan Hill Exelent would see over and over again very original 5 stars
6/12/04 Melina puss n' boots "cat nip" & "sad eyes" was the best! 5 stars
6/11/04 Raymond Lee Great movie 5 stars
6/09/04 Mark D. Fulwiler Laugh out loud funny, a bit demented and good hearted 5 stars
6/07/04 Ron Miller Better then the first! 5 stars
6/06/04 SF Absolutely fabulous. All the characters were perfect. Puss hillarious! 5 stars
6/05/04 John Aster Habig forget puss in boots donkey is still the funniest and shrek the most endearing 5 stars
6/05/04 The More You Know cutesy at times, mostly hilarious satire. 4 stars
6/04/04 TJ Great, this was way better then the first. Really funny 5 stars
6/03/04 katsat I don't get it - this movie was a little boring - I was expecting so much more 3 stars
6/02/04 Elizabeth Great voice work by the cast and charming. Love that Puss in Boots! 4 stars
6/02/04 paganchyk Just try to find all the pop culture references! Antonio Banderas is the best part. 5 stars
6/01/04 :) Very Funny, a lot better than I expected 5 stars
5/31/04 y2mckay More of the same, but cute. Has the best "Cops" parody since Reno 911 4 stars
5/31/04 Charlene Javier The soup joke is a killer! 5 stars
5/31/04 whatevr best sequel ever 5 stars
5/31/04 jada more adult humour, funny!! 5 stars
5/30/04 Emperor's New Clothes? Nope. Just a Fat, Ugly, Naked, Guy. Not as endearing as the first but as endearing as those darling eyes of Puss in Boots <3 4 stars
5/29/04 winfield wilson I went with my two sons (13 and 17). A great bonding experience. Hilarious. 5 stars
5/26/04 Will i didn't like the pop music in the first or the second one, but that's minor. 5 stars
5/25/04 Larissa Ione Not as good as the first, but still great! 5 stars
5/24/04 dillweed Craptacular 1 stars
5/24/04 Mike Excellent! As entertaining and yet different as the first 5 stars
5/24/04 mfa willie aames almost as good as the first, not quite, go for a matinee 4 stars
5/24/04 E-Rock Antonio Banderas steals the show, but it's all good! A must see for anyone... 5 stars
5/23/04 Movie Expert The first one was great this one is very lame and poorly written. 2 stars
5/23/04 Lord Jiggy Very funnny, but overused songs as emotional bridges. Puss in Boots kills. 4 stars
5/23/04 malcolm i loved the pepper spray & "white bronco" reference 4 stars
5/23/04 Messenger Puppet uninspired, derivative tripe 1 stars
5/22/04 Mazz Why aren't you in line for it right now? Huh? 5 stars
5/22/04 BrianWilly It's that awesome. Seriously. Go see it now. 5 stars
5/21/04 ajay lots of laughs and a TON of movie references... 4 stars
5/21/04 Titus This was easily as good as the first. I'm still laughing. 5 stars
5/21/04 Nick Comes up a little short compared to the original, which says alot given the genius of Shrek 4 stars
5/20/04 Kerry V. Where were the laughs we had in the first one? This one was a waste of time! 1 stars
5/20/04 Ajax Not as fresh as the first one, but still huge fun. 4 stars
5/20/04 Wolf 2.5 *'s. Has some good laughs, but you can TOTALLY tell they only did this for the money. 3 stars
5/19/04 Jeff S Puss in Boots made this movie. Funniest animated character ever. 4 stars
5/19/04 Blakers a great film 5 stars
5/19/04 Superdave better than the first 5 stars
5/19/04 Christina Pray for mercy from Puss-In-Boots!!!!! 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  19-May-2004 (PG)
  DVD: 05-Nov-2004

UK
  N/A

Australia
  17-Jun-2004




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast