Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.27

Awesome53.21%
Worth A Look: 30.77%
Just Average: 9.62%
Pretty Crappy: 2.56%
Sucks: 3.85%

7 reviews, 114 user ratings


Latest Reviews

MFA by Jay Seaver

You Only Live Once by Jay Seaver

November (2017) by Jay Seaver

Friendly Beast by Jay Seaver

Foreigner, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

Tom of Finland by Rob Gonsalves

Happy Death Day by Jay Seaver

78/52: Hitchcock's Shower Scene by Jay Seaver

Death Note: Light Up the New World by Jay Seaver

Brawl in Cell Block 99 by Peter Sobczynski

subscribe to this feed


Shrek 2
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Jay Seaver

"Very, very funny."
5 stars

At a certain point, a comedy wins. You overlook characters who don't reach their full potential, the jokes that weren't quite funny, and weak plotting because you have laughed enough to justify the $6.50 you spent.

Often, when a comedy works, there's one bit that pushes you over the edge to the point where the rest of the movie could be Adam Sandler and Gilbert Gottfried arguing over traffic and parking without the movie possibly moving into the loss column. For me, for this movie, it was during one of the big set-pieces, where, having already primed the comedy pump by breaking into a song so definitively 80s that it was on the Footloose soundtrack, the sound guys insert Godzilla noises. I lost it then, though I had greatly enjoyed the movie up until then - that was the point when Shrek 2 went from being funny to being a favorite.

The story itself is simplicity itself - upon returning from their honeymoon, Shrek and Fiona are invited to visit Fiona's parents in the Kingdom Far Far Away. Shrek and King Harold (John Cleese) do not get along, and Harold tries to remove Shrek from the picture to clear the way for Fiona's arranged marriage to Prince Charming (Rupert Everett), the daughter of the Fairy Godmother (Jennifer Saunders). Hilarity ensues.

One thing I couldn't help but notice is that this movie looks really amazing. The first Shrek was funny, but I found it visually a step down for Pacific Data Images from Antz; there were several sequences that yelled out video game. Here, though, everything looks smooth. It's worth noting that human models still aren't quite up to the more fantastical ones - in the first movie, the model of Princess Fiona looked good in part because we saw it before we saw the ogre Fiona. Here, we see the fantasy creatures first, and the humans don't seem nearly as expressive.

Two of the new voices, though, are keepers - John Cleese as King Harold is, well, John Cleese, and hilarious. Antonio Banderas plays Puss In Boots, a relatively unknown (in America) fairy tale character, and does it with such charm that the flimsiness of his presence in the movie is able to be completely overlooked. That said, the funniest use of Puss is almost entirely visual, as he makes gigantic cute-kitten eyes.

Is Shrek 2 quite as brilliant as the original? Maybe not. It's a little clumsier with the use of music (I may still buy this soundtrack, though), squanders Julie Andrews and Rupert Everett, and doesn't make quite as much use of the "Fairy Godmother" idea as it could.

It does, however, have Eddie Murphy at his best, along with jokes that not only come at a rapid pace, but frequently achieve the guffaws they aim for.

link directly to this review at http://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=9591&reviewer=371
originally posted: 06/02/04 01:01:27
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

8/14/14 Mario is the Best My favourite Shrek movie. 5 stars
10/23/13 Bernie My favorite of the series. 4 stars
3/15/12 Sean It was even better then the first installment and it was the last good Shrek movie. 5 stars
11/22/09 Jeff Wilder Not as novel as Shrek. But almost as funny. 4 stars
10/22/09 PAUL SHORTT LIVELY SEQUEL WITH GREAT AMUSEMENT, SPECTACULAR VISUALS AND A WHOLESOME STORY 4 stars
8/22/09 Zach Classic. Just as good as the first one. 5 stars
11/30/08 Roz The 1stwas gr8 cos it parodied fairy tales. This one parodied pop-cultire references. OLD! 2 stars
10/01/08 Shaun Wallner Funny Movie! 5 stars
10/20/07 mb Lame is a good word for this ... even cheap 2 stars
9/07/07 JamesCole Keep drinking that Kool-Aid, folks. 1 stars
5/08/07 Dark Enchantress great movie! 5 stars
4/27/07 Ryan Emmett This movie, I thought, was better than the first one by a long shot. But good review. 5 stars
4/22/07 David Risser A Classic. Very entertaining/funny. Good Adventure 5 stars
3/19/07 dude better than the original 5 stars
2/16/07 Vip Ebriega A fairy tale that's worth telling. 5 stars
1/12/07 saad muhammud tired of this fucking movie is so fucking lame 1 stars
8/20/06 Bilal perfect 5 stars
7/12/06 David Cohen Nowhere near as good as the first, but not bad 3 stars
5/21/06 Diane P very good and enjoyable for both adults and children 5 stars
5/13/06 kacy schwieder it was good 3 stars
4/21/06 Jack Number 1 rocks. This one dosen't 3 stars
4/01/06 JRE funniest PG movie ever made 5 stars
3/15/06 casey corcoran it was good 3 stars
3/15/06 casey corcoran it was good 3 stars
1/06/06 JM Synth For the 3rd highest grossing film in US history, not that different from Disney DTV sequels 3 stars
12/27/05 tony not as good as the first one.but still has its classic funny moments 4 stars
10/18/05 Valerie Awesome movie. hilarious. 5 stars
8/14/05 Frenzy still a great movie 5 stars
8/13/05 Renee is Gabby Not as solid as the original, lacks steady interest despite some cool moments 3 stars
6/24/05 Mr Fluffy I'm sure there's a story buried under this top heavy voice talent. Less is more etc. 3 stars
6/02/05 monique i thought it was great-!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
4/24/05 Quigley the pop culture references are awesome (Starbucks) and Puss rocks. I was in tears laughing 5 stars
4/10/05 Ionicera it tries to hard to be hip, but I liked the characters 4 stars
3/30/05 DM Funny and well-cast, but lacks the original's heart and freshness. 4 stars
3/15/05 Amy Lynch Even better than the first, and not only for children, good adult humor 5 stars
2/25/05 Brandy Great movie! Just as funny every time I see it. 5 stars
2/13/05 Jeanine Price Wonderful! 5 stars
1/17/05 wendy we have watched it about 6 times 5 stars
1/10/05 Stacey Peachfuzz Derivative and totally unoriginal. I don't understand the hype at all. 1 stars
12/06/04 Jim Pretty funny. Give Puss his own movie! 4 stars
12/06/04 Samantha diaz that i think that it was a very funny moive that i enjoyed it. It is a good family movie. 5 stars
12/04/04 Kristina Williams the Cops spoof killed me 5 stars
11/23/04 Rich Funny 5 stars
11/21/04 ad really really funny 5 stars
11/19/04 jess smith it was really funny 5 stars
11/05/04 TCIC Another crap sequel if you look beyond the jokes, the first was better but its still good 3 stars
11/03/04 stacey bradshaw wicked 5 stars
11/02/04 marissa matthews shrek 2 is bout being urself and not trying 2 be some1 ur not if ur not comfortable with it 5 stars
10/04/04 Gareth Spencer first was better 3 stars
9/03/04 Valerie Even better than the first! Very entertaining and cute. 4 stars
8/31/04 Tiffany Faye Hawthorne A tad better'n 1st, but I'd be little the worse if I'd regarded both with Shrekless abandon 3 stars
8/21/04 Daveman Disappointingly inferior to the original but some of the humour here is ingenious. 4 stars
8/10/04 howdinski as usual dreamworks team come up trumps this is great 5 stars
8/09/04 kelkly paratene i thought the movie was a must see it was really really funny i couldnt stop laughing 5 stars
8/01/04 Movieguy The first one was way better 3 stars
7/26/04 lespacified Was definitely worth seeing, but I much preferred the first one! 4 stars
7/21/04 Whitney Bullard Suprisingly, almost as good as the original. 4 stars
7/17/04 Nobody the kind of movie where you walk out and want to walk right back in and see it again 5 stars
7/17/04 legend My third favorite film this year! A must see for Puss N' Boots. 5 stars
7/17/04 Chlo-mo-bo Omg - Puss In Boots - the whole cinema went 'awwwww' when he looked up with those big eyes! 5 stars
7/14/04 Koitus I went to see it with my g-friend (her 2nd time). I agree -- A. Banderas STOLE the film! 5 stars
7/09/04 jodie Antonio Banderas really made Puss in Boots THE BEST -It rocked especially for a sequal! 5 stars
7/08/04 Littlepurch Wow what a great film! SO much better than overrated original.Saunders steals show by mile! 5 stars
7/07/04 jenny it was funny i liked it but i think white chicks was better 4 stars
7/07/04 Denise Duspiva The Cat was cute 5 stars
7/07/04 Karo,ina Trzmiel 5 stars
7/05/04 Sérgio Almeida Olá Shrek!!! 5 stars
7/01/04 Rachia LOVED it. Thought it wasn't gonna be good, as most sequels ARENT, but it rocked! 5 stars
6/27/04 KENT Better than the first; the hairball scene is worth the price of admission! 4 stars
6/26/04 Arse Poet Alright if you're six. 2 stars
6/23/04 Ray Outstanding 5 stars
6/20/04 M Over-rated and messy. looks good though. 3 stars
6/17/04 Jewelies Great Movie and Soundtrack! DVD Buy Definitely! 5 stars
6/13/04 Rowan Hill Exelent would see over and over again very original 5 stars
6/12/04 Melina puss n' boots "cat nip" & "sad eyes" was the best! 5 stars
6/11/04 Raymond Lee Great movie 5 stars
6/09/04 Mark D. Fulwiler Laugh out loud funny, a bit demented and good hearted 5 stars
6/07/04 Ron Miller Better then the first! 5 stars
6/06/04 SF Absolutely fabulous. All the characters were perfect. Puss hillarious! 5 stars
6/05/04 John Aster Habig forget puss in boots donkey is still the funniest and shrek the most endearing 5 stars
6/05/04 The More You Know cutesy at times, mostly hilarious satire. 4 stars
6/04/04 TJ Great, this was way better then the first. Really funny 5 stars
6/03/04 katsat I don't get it - this movie was a little boring - I was expecting so much more 3 stars
6/02/04 Elizabeth Great voice work by the cast and charming. Love that Puss in Boots! 4 stars
6/02/04 paganchyk Just try to find all the pop culture references! Antonio Banderas is the best part. 5 stars
6/01/04 :) Very Funny, a lot better than I expected 5 stars
5/31/04 y2mckay More of the same, but cute. Has the best "Cops" parody since Reno 911 4 stars
5/31/04 Charlene Javier The soup joke is a killer! 5 stars
5/31/04 whatevr best sequel ever 5 stars
5/31/04 jada more adult humour, funny!! 5 stars
5/30/04 Emperor's New Clothes? Nope. Just a Fat, Ugly, Naked, Guy. Not as endearing as the first but as endearing as those darling eyes of Puss in Boots <3 4 stars
5/29/04 winfield wilson I went with my two sons (13 and 17). A great bonding experience. Hilarious. 5 stars
5/26/04 Will i didn't like the pop music in the first or the second one, but that's minor. 5 stars
5/25/04 Larissa Ione Not as good as the first, but still great! 5 stars
5/24/04 dillweed Craptacular 1 stars
5/24/04 Mike Excellent! As entertaining and yet different as the first 5 stars
5/24/04 mfa willie aames almost as good as the first, not quite, go for a matinee 4 stars
5/24/04 E-Rock Antonio Banderas steals the show, but it's all good! A must see for anyone... 5 stars
5/23/04 Movie Expert The first one was great this one is very lame and poorly written. 2 stars
5/23/04 Lord Jiggy Very funnny, but overused songs as emotional bridges. Puss in Boots kills. 4 stars
5/23/04 malcolm i loved the pepper spray & "white bronco" reference 4 stars
5/23/04 Messenger Puppet uninspired, derivative tripe 1 stars
5/22/04 Mazz Why aren't you in line for it right now? Huh? 5 stars
5/22/04 BrianWilly It's that awesome. Seriously. Go see it now. 5 stars
5/21/04 ajay lots of laughs and a TON of movie references... 4 stars
5/21/04 Titus This was easily as good as the first. I'm still laughing. 5 stars
5/21/04 Nick Comes up a little short compared to the original, which says alot given the genius of Shrek 4 stars
5/20/04 Kerry V. Where were the laughs we had in the first one? This one was a waste of time! 1 stars
5/20/04 Ajax Not as fresh as the first one, but still huge fun. 4 stars
5/20/04 Wolf 2.5 *'s. Has some good laughs, but you can TOTALLY tell they only did this for the money. 3 stars
5/19/04 Jeff S Puss in Boots made this movie. Funniest animated character ever. 4 stars
5/19/04 Blakers a great film 5 stars
5/19/04 Superdave better than the first 5 stars
5/19/04 Christina Pray for mercy from Puss-In-Boots!!!!! 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  19-May-2004 (PG)
  DVD: 05-Nov-2004

UK
  N/A

Australia
  17-Jun-2004




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast