Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.29

Awesome: 19.32%
Worth A Look37.68%
Just Average: 15.46%
Pretty Crappy: 7.73%
Sucks: 19.81%

9 reviews, 153 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Darkest Hour by Jay Seaver

Shape of Water, The by Jay Seaver

I, Tonya by Rob Gonsalves

Wonder Wheel by Peter Sobczynski

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Rob Gonsalves

Swindlers, The by Jay Seaver

Oro (Gold) by Jay Seaver

Disaster Artist, The by Peter Sobczynski

Explosion by Jay Seaver

Lucky (2017) by Rob Gonsalves

subscribe to this feed


Day After Tomorrow, The
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Laura Kyle

"As a film... blah... as a disaster flick, it's as smooth as ice."
4 stars

Some detectable CGI, laugh-worthy dialogue, second-rate acting, and a political agenda that is too obnoxious to mask - all these factors draw THE DAY AFTER TOMORROW from any artistic integrity or believability. On the other hand, writer and director Roland Emmerich has created quite a tour de force - even if it is essentially made up of shit. If only James Cameron or Steven Spielberg were the masterminds behind it and had steered it away from the typical formula of action/disaster Blockbusters which have become so commonplace.

When paranoid climatologist Jack Hall's (Dennis Quaid) catastrophic predictions of natural disaster in the Northern Hemisphere begin to come true, the White House that once snubbed him, specifically a vice president who has quite a resemblance to Dick Cheney, finally starts to take notice of his forewarning. But it's too late. Storms overtake Europe and the Northern States of America, Los Angeles destroyed by rampant tornadoes, and New York submerged under water after a grand tidal wave envelops the city. Earthquakes, hurricanes, and other natural devastation all over the northern continents gradually make way for what is to soon be a new ice age.

While I hear the film's premise is loosely based on science, I have a feeling most of it is rooted in science fiction and enormously theoretical concepts developed in such a way as to scare those not hugely concerned with global warming and the greenhouse effect (if you are a liberal, that's what you do to convert people, you scare them). As the southern populous of the United States is evacuated even further south, the last survivors in Manhattan take refuge in a somewhat elevated library, burning books over a fire.

Among those survivors are Jack's son Sam (Jake Gyllenhaal) and Sam's love interest Laura Chapman (Emmy Rossum, the soon to be Christine in Fall 2004's musical/movie The Phantom of the Opera), as well as a homeless guy who becomes one of the film's symbolic heroes (who of course irrationally grumbles about air pollution early on in the film - what homeless dude cares about the environment? I mean I'm sure he likes to eat recycled food... but c'mon - an obvious ploy by Emmerich - make the environmentally concerned and government dependents the true heroes). Also, there is annoying philosophizing by one character who gives mini monologues on Western civilization and what will be left over after its ultimate fall... it doesn't even begin to measure up to let's say the dinner table conversation in 28 Days Later. Jack's fight to save the world and his son and Sam's struggle to keep himself and his company alive are paralleled and other less interesting subplots sneak in and out of the overall disaster that wreaks havoc on the Earth.

Jake Gyllenhaal, Emmy Rossum, Dash Mihok, Jay O. Sanders, and Ian Holm manage to uphold some of the dignity of the supporting ensemble that accompanies Emmerich's quick paced visual spectacle. But The Day After Tomorrow's stronger points do not lie in character development, drama, or ideas. In the more heated, intense moments of characters coping with the tragedy around them, I almost expected someone to say "I have good news. I just saved a load of money on my car insurance by switching to Geiko." No such luck, though. Yet, there was a lot of very good intended humor throughout the picture; I almost wish it had forced itself a little more, drowning out the melodrama.

There are a lot of unnecessary plot elements and a great deal of over-acting with barely any attention to or development of the bigger themes. Not only that, but I get a bad taste in my mouth when I am being lectured to by Hollywood filmmakers who take themselves way too seriously. In reference to the evacuation to the South, the Vice President says "we are now guests in Third World countries" and "we should be grateful" or something to that extent. What does that mean, why throw that in the script? Oh, good Third World Country, for allowing America on your turf. Who gives a crap, an ice age is coming! Like the world would be better off without America any way. Please.

What The Day After Tomorrow's does have, though, are spectacular and incredibly engaging sequences of natural disaster. It would almost be an understatement to say it held me in suspense, I was awe struck. Besides the senseless mid-movie attack of killer digital wolves, the special effects are well made and well used and the direction is amazingly skilled. Especially extraordinary is the image of a huge ship floating through New York City, and the film's shots of frozen lands, buildings, and people add a remarkable eye-catching touch. Emmerich and his team know what they are doing, and their task was meticulous and extremely detail oriented, and for that I raise my hat. The Day After Tomorrow is a summer disaster movie of tremendous magnitude and is one you should definitely try to catch at your local cinema. You won't get ripped off, Emmerich was not lazy, he wants to thrill you and he does. And despite the fact that I wasn't very convinced of the characters or the overall predicament us car drivers and factory builders got the Earth into (without the help of things like volcanoes and other natural causes of course), Sam and his Dad are pretty credible, and likeable, as determined and resourceful heroes amidst the apocalyptic terror surrounding them.

Just a snippet here and a snippet there and less of an attempt to turn the film into a dramatic epic, and THE DAY AFTER TOMORROW could have lasted for a crisper and more effective hour and a half, rather than an overdramatic two hours. But if the day after tomorrow you're still imagining horrific weather patterns and making sure to do your part to save the planet, mail Emmerich a fan letter or write your evil, stupid, rightwing representative or better yet -- Dubya. Otherwise, just take the movie for what it is and marvel at it's awesome eye candy.

link directly to this review at http://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=9640&reviewer=369
originally posted: 05/29/04 01:06:33
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

10/30/16 morris campbell boring disaster flick good fx though 1 stars
2/14/14 Talal Al-Khaldi It was an OK movie. Special effects were the only thing going for it. Dialogue was terrible 3 stars
2/25/13 Mario Segale It's just like mama used to make! 5 stars
1/30/13 Bart If this movie is on I ALWAYS want to watch it! It does exactly what it's supposed to do. 5 stars
10/04/12 mike miller see this one mainly for the effects 3 stars
2/19/11 Ark Not bad, but formulaic! 4 stars
8/16/10 teachinla Doesn't do the global-warming warners any favors. Its science was ludicrous. 2 stars
7/31/10 Imogen Jones If this is such an enviromental movie, why make wolves look bad? They're nature too! 3 stars
5/20/09 Jake Shit "review". More of a bashing. And Penicillin is a latin phrase, universal for science 3 stars
4/05/09 Monica Hands down worst movie ever made. Absolutely laughable 1 stars
11/26/08 R.W. Welch Hokey disaster flick fails to grab, but has some good FX. 2 stars
11/25/08 Leo T crummy title, crummy movie 1 stars
10/23/08 action movie fan the best movie of 2004-great original story terrific in every way 5 stars
9/30/08 Shaun Wallner Great Movie!! 5 stars
6/18/08 OddworldPoop I'm giving it five for making me laugh and point at how pathetic and overrated it all was. 5 stars
6/07/08 PAUL SHORTT HINTS AT OUR FRAGILE HUMANITY AND TRIES TO PUT A FAMILIAR FACE TO MISERY 3 stars
5/16/08 James Dean sucked. absolutely sucked 1 stars
5/03/08 mark madsen why do people think that this could not happen is beyond me 5 stars
3/22/08 Rob g This is a terrible film. It makes no logical sense. It makes me want to punch Roland Emmerw 1 stars
3/07/08 Pamela White Shows that weather will happen even if we count our carbon credits 5 stars
11/17/07 Tee Effects - 7 Acting & Script - 0 2 stars
10/24/07 Ivana Mann Schmaltzy,cartoonish poo that makes "Independence Day" look like "Citizen Kane"! 1 stars
7/22/07 SCOTTIE WORST MOVIE EVER...! 1 stars
6/08/07 Danielle Ophelia I've this theory that a Gyllenhaal could make a Plan 9 redux work. 4 stars
4/22/07 David Risser This was a disaster, completely fake and unrealistic, highly overated 1 stars
4/19/07 Stevo UK Global warming isn't going to happen for a million billion years. Good film. 4 stars
2/16/07 Vip Ebriega The day after, you learn to like it. 3 stars
1/11/07 Matt It isn't about to happen so just ENJOY the fun 5 stars
12/27/06 Richard Paquette ho-hum 2 stars
12/04/06 Stanley Thai A promising thriller. Great SP FX and action scenes! Casts' performance are great. 4 stars
11/10/06 David Pollastrini great fx 5 stars
8/15/06 gem awsum as 5 stars
8/09/06 Dragon The Artist Clever,suspenseful,fascinating,Although some dragging, it is ownable!! 4 stars
7/08/06 Anthony Feor Goes from fun to boring 3 stars
6/15/06 Michele clever 3 stars
6/13/06 oola suspenseful... interesting 4 stars
5/16/06 rocky I thought the way the used little side storys was awsome!!! 5 stars
4/13/06 MP Bartley Best bit = where they tried to outrun cold. Looks terrific and great fun. 4 stars
3/17/06 Bobert This movie was soooo awsome 5 stars
3/11/06 the laughing man Everything was great, except for Dennis Quaid. 4 stars
3/09/06 Dk Emmerichs second best movie. Only Godzilla is better 4 stars
2/06/06 Anthony Good weather flick 4 stars
1/02/06 cody a cool visual effects movie with good subplot and good perf. by dennis, that's all 3 stars
11/12/05 Quigley what this film lacks in acting talent, plot and script is made up for with awesome visuals 5 stars
10/26/05 chris a not bad movie have seen better and have seen worse 3 stars
10/19/05 Agent Sands Unlike other Hollywood disaster movies, this one shows America with a bit of humility. Good 3 stars
10/06/05 Bob Smith Not bad, worth the seeing. 4 stars
9/25/05 a. kurlovs the first half is quite well done. second - dumb beyond imaginable. 4 stars
8/22/05 ES seen worse, not as bad as I figured 3 stars
8/11/05 Kelly same old disaster story but very entertaining,good effects and Jake Gyllenahal 4 stars
8/06/05 Ed Campbell Another reviewer ignorant of science fiction or science. 5 stars
8/02/05 Sully a solid, fun flick. sometimes you just need to enjoy a movie and not critique it.... 4 stars
8/02/05 Hockeytown Global Catastrophe on ICE!!! 4 stars
8/01/05 George It was good and all but the acting really let this one down 3 stars
7/04/05 NANCY I LOVE IT! AWESOME EFFECTS!!! 5 stars
6/07/05 Darcy only average 3 stars
5/02/05 dwarzel Makes Jurassic Park look like a hotbed of scientific plausibility 1 stars
5/01/05 ed.williams Formilaic, same as all the other disaster movies just a different disaster. 2 stars
4/28/05 Quigley absolutely sick acting from some lead characters, but the CG make this worth it 5 stars
3/31/05 failingloser i like it. it's got a point to get through, you just need to recognise it 5 stars
2/25/05 Danny This is one of the stupidest, worst, unrealistic films I've ever seen. 1 stars
2/10/05 Jeff Anderson Begins greatly, but absolute stupidity quickly takes over! Outstanding special effects!!!!! 2 stars
2/02/05 G-Man best movie ever 5 stars
1/27/05 Charlie Wolves and tornadoes pretty lame. Okay, I guess. 3 stars
1/21/05 Rob McKeown The worst movie in history... absolute crap. 1 stars
1/16/05 JJ utter shite...lol gman also gave attack of the clones 5/5 lmao 1 stars
1/02/05 2012 Mayan thin plot doesn't matter, it's mainly about mans ignorance, nature always wins in the end 4 stars
1/01/05 MyGreenBed Atrocious. A "year's worst" listee. Laughable often (and not in a good Ed Wood way). 1 stars
12/11/04 john a big wave splashes over NY and after that Dennis walks there through the snow - the end 1 stars
12/09/04 Jason Kaul Special Effects=WOW. Plot=Thin @ best. Overall=Gotta have more than effects to please me. 2 stars
12/04/04 HL Quaid walks from PA to NY in blizzard in 38 minutes..oh, he saves the world. 4 stars
11/23/04 Zenny does cheese freeze? 2 stars
11/07/04 Joe Smaltz The crack smoking thing seems Plausible. good Cinematography 1 stars
11/04/04 Duncan I wanted to leave. 1 stars
10/31/04 G-man best movie ever 5 stars
10/23/04 lotrEEproper owns....but this is an utterwank film almost as bad as the others they made like iday and armagedon etc..but it has great effects 1 stars
10/23/04 Doc Shock Amusing. Nothing great, but worth a look for mindless entertainment. 3 stars
10/19/04 Joe I can't believe I paid two bucks to see this. 1 stars
10/18/04 EUGENE ahh it was ok but id rather watch an anal orgy 3 stars
10/16/04 Dan Good 4 stars
10/13/04 Nickydonpablos I thought it was interesting. Atleast it caught my attention and kept the story going. 5 stars
10/13/04 tatum Great FX, but stunted and obvious all over the place 2 stars
10/12/04 American Slasher Goddess Has a lot of plot holes, but it's decent two hour entertainment. 3 stars
10/05/04 Paul BORING! BORING! Save ur time,and just fast forward for the pretty effects! 2 stars
8/07/04 G-man best movie ever....tornadoes, ice overs....just plain awesome 5 stars
8/02/04 Nikolai I laughed a little, and I cried a little. what more can one ask? 1 stars
8/01/04 valerie hart fanatstic 5 stars
7/23/04 Jurko the Great Total crap! 1 stars
7/18/04 assassin_chick Special effects are pretty fun--Great flick if you love apocolyptic movies like we do! 4 stars
7/17/04 legend Good summer flick. Excellent special effects which seemed to run out at end. Bad story. 4 stars
7/10/04 Vince Completely unrealistic, standard hollywood fare action flick, saved by special effects 3 stars
7/07/04 Denise Duspiva Good movie and it made a point 4 stars
6/29/04 Mike C. This movie is SO funny, don't view with a critical eye, just enjoy the comedy and specialFX 4 stars
6/27/04 Dan Denson It used fake science to sell itself, and was I the only one hoping the charcters WOULD die? 1 stars
6/26/04 Koitus Gotta love the bus ON the Porsche, and the anchorman getting plastered by the billboard! 4 stars
6/25/04 M slick sfx movie with a plot......finally! 4 stars
6/20/04 cobretti Laughably bad with some real howlers for dialogue. All the effects are in the trailer. 1 stars
6/18/04 Emily I loved this movie 5 stars
6/16/04 Hilarium Is Darkofnight nuts? He honestly thinks this couldn't be better? My god. Warn the children. 1 stars
6/16/04 Luke Wow i would like to know what goes through the heads of people who think this is good 1 stars
6/14/04 Jack Bourbon Mr. Vice President, why haven't you stopped the making of shitty movies?!?!?! 1 stars
6/13/04 Lord Jiggy Better than you've heard...only film this summer not to disappoint 4 stars
6/12/04 Melina entertaining, but not memorable 4 stars
6/09/04 maxomai Pleasantly thrilling if stupid. 4 stars
6/08/04 Dion Ignore the sci-fi haters - this movie is excellent 5 stars
6/07/04 The Chronic only showed destruction in US and then only in NY & LA, plot too unbelieveable 3 stars
6/05/04 Captain Highcrime Wouldn't ya know it, just when I finally land a decent LA apartment... 4 stars
6/05/04 Melissa I thought this movie was great. It actually frightened me that this could happen. 5 stars
6/05/04 alien assassin Head and shoulders above most disaster films 4 stars
6/04/04 DdMM I should have stuck to my original plan for the evening and gone to the gym... 2 stars
6/04/04 iami I laughed outloud (Literally) when Mexico closed the border to the Amaricans. 4 stars
6/04/04 M Hated wil smith in ID4, hate fake wolves in this one! still awesome though 5 stars
6/03/04 Doc Hollywood nonsensical plot forced romance wolves dennis quaid got the picture? 2 stars
6/03/04 SIr Spam-a-lot Best comedy of the year - oh wait 2 stars
6/02/04 Agent Sands Unlike ID4 & Godzilla, this shows a practical disaser & gives the US some humility. 4 stars
6/02/04 Coolhand How in the hell is this 4 stars? Did the price of crack just drop? 1 stars
6/02/04 William DuBay A great spoof of all the disaster films ever made. One campy cliche after another. 4 stars
6/02/04 man on fire This movie was a pathetic excuse for a political thriller/environmental desaster film. 2 stars
6/01/04 Nicole There were some cool effects, but overall the story was weak 3 stars
6/01/04 Obi Wan Good summer movie. Held it's own and thank god we did without the Nuke it scene! 4 stars
6/01/04 Worthy Slacker A few "money shots" doesn't make a good movie. Totally idiotic. "We walk from here" huh? 1 stars
6/01/04 Mike V An unbelievablly atrocious piece of crap. Boring. Roland Emmerich needs to be stopped. 1 stars
6/01/04 A F Anyone who takes this seriously, needs to take a few science classes. Way over done. 1 stars
6/01/04 Susan the best disaster film i've ever seen...phenomenal special effects 5 stars
6/01/04 Wolf Fascinating flick, a real gripper in parts. Wolves weren't good tho. 4 stars
5/31/04 Charlene Javier Deep Impact of the Twisters 2 stars
5/31/04 Kev Bogus, loaded with disaster movie clichés, and numerous eye-rolling moments... but still ok 3 stars
5/31/04 Maalstrom I was yawning 3 stars
5/31/04 Mike It insults anyone with a brain. 1 stars
5/31/04 Jim Pretty good weather porn. Ice age reminds me of upstate New York in January. 4 stars
5/31/04 ajay effects were good, acting/script *wasn't* as bad as expected 4 stars
5/30/04 Meryl Fuckin' rocked. people who don't like it are just worried cuz their SUVs will make it true, 5 stars
5/30/04 Emperor's New Clothes? Nope. Just a Fat, Ugly, Naked, Guy. Good effects & if you ignore the Hollywood drama, you'll see the kernel of dangerous truthh 4 stars
5/30/04 Lukie hated it - worst film I've seen for years 1 stars
5/30/04 BrianWilly Awesome disaster flick with surprisingly good backstory and acting. 5 stars
5/30/04 Prime Worth seeing for the amazing effects. 4 stars
5/30/04 qemm greatest apocalyptical effects ever 5 stars
5/30/04 Jack Bourbon I've never seen a worse film. You reviewers should have your internet privelages revoked 1 stars
5/30/04 Joanna For a disaster film, it was great! 4 stars
5/29/04 Dan Great SFX, but illogical script and boring characters 2 stars
5/29/04 ALI HBOUS the visual effects are scary 4 stars
5/29/04 M Very "COOL" 5 stars
5/29/04 Cameron Slick Paper-thin plot vs. great vfx, breaks down to caring about the characters - I didn't 3 stars
5/29/04 othree funny,unbelievable,no emotional attachment,familiar casts,see trailers 4 efx 3 stars
5/29/04 Edler Made no sense at all. The special FX dudes bribed the producers to make this idiotic heap. 1 stars
5/29/04 Gray needed better editing + end buildup+ less specific science explanations=more belivable 4 stars
5/28/04 Christina That homeless guy was annoying as hell 5 stars
5/28/04 Bradley Woods save yourself some money and rent the DVD. its extreme silliness is amusingly entertaining. 3 stars
5/27/04 Help! My Brain Is Still Turned Off! Now I need it to erase all the bullshit that was fed me in this film! 1 stars
5/27/04 Sebastián Freigeiro I liked it a lot, great movie, at least for me... 4 stars
5/27/04 P.Rodriguez made me laugh, made me cry.. oh wait wrong movie. Total leave you brain and enjoy flick 5 stars
5/27/04 Over-hyped BORING! No sustanable plot, bad dialogue, only 2 action scenes = TERRIBLE MOVIE! 1 stars
5/23/04 Blakers A great film 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  28-May-2004 (PG-13)
  DVD: 24-May-2005

UK
  N/A

Australia
  27-May-2004 (M)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast