Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.3

Awesome70.5%
Worth A Look: 11.11%
Just Average: 6.13%
Pretty Crappy: 2.68%
Sucks: 9.58%

9 reviews, 207 user ratings



Life is Beautiful
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by davebo

"Perfection!"
5 stars

This is one hell of a good movie. :)

I loved this movie to death. Guido Orefice is the most light hearted character i've ever seen on film which just makes it a pleasure to watch. The first half of the film is about his pursuit of Dora, a beautiful Italian school teacher who is supposed to marry this goatee-having jerk person :P well i guess this review kinda contains a spoiler but i don't see a way around it... so they have a kid and they're all taken away by the Nazis (boo, hiss!) While everyone around him seems to have their spirits broken, Guido pretends that its all a fun camp and that if they hang in there they'll win first prize, so that his son never has to know what's really going on. I could never imagine anyone being that brave in real life, which just makes the story all that more incredible.

If ever the Academy were to award a foreign film best picture of the year, this would be the time to do it.

A masterpiece that pulls the heartstrings in every direction imaginable :)

link directly to this review at http://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=976&reviewer=30
originally posted: 02/24/99 13:02:21
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

5/01/15 Anne at times moving, yet comedy is forced and contrived so the slapstick just doesn't work 2 stars
3/17/13 cg Beautiful. Story of hope during one of humanities darkest times 5 stars
5/16/12 Teacher The War is the backdrop, not the central theme. As a fable, it's terrific. 5 stars
3/20/11 omfg wtf fml fml wtf omfg 1 stars
2/09/11 Sylvia It is humour at his highest level - positive in the face of such tragedy. Creative & daring 5 stars
11/25/10 Sia Shar the world of cinema needed that movie.yeah. 5 stars
11/19/10 Taylor This movie is terrific!!!! it was absolutely amazingly put together perfect!! 5 stars
10/21/10 Lece I loved this film its worth watching over and over 5 stars
6/18/10 TravisN Unimpressed with Benigni's performance, and I didn't think he was very funny either. 1 stars
2/16/10 Tim Parks Disconcerting,moving, funny.. and provocative as hell for yoir reviewers! Makes it a truly 5 stars
1/17/10 blimjo the filmaker should be killed and thrown into a pit 1 stars
12/18/09 kayla it was sick as fuck assholes and it was sweet so screw you 5 stars
10/27/09 danny liked it 5 stars
10/27/09 kate awesome 5 stars
9/26/09 Seth Disappointing. No depth. Farsical depiction of holocaust/history. Naive message 2 stars
12/19/08 arro one of my absolute favourites 5 stars
9/16/08 DL Guido is insane, so insane that even in a CC he thinks of nothing but his kid and wife. 5 stars
5/26/08 siddhant cudnt be any better!!! 5 stars
5/21/08 yupp not a terrible movie, but not something I would ever want to see again. 3 stars
5/19/08 PAUL SHORTT INSPIRING, HEARTRENDING, FUNNY, SAD, SUPRISING AND RICHLY IMAGINED 5 stars
5/15/08 chelsea818 ghey. 1 stars
4/29/08 Loren the most amazing film i have ever seen. benigni sei grande!! 5 stars
3/24/08 sana superb...there is nothing more i can say 5 stars
3/13/08 waqar Excellent movie that i have ever seen 5 stars
2/06/08 mouse Love the story line with humor and courage of one mans tale 5 stars
2/05/08 Ann Sellars Glorious Italy! Wonderul love story! Terreble cruelty of human against human. Great film. 5 stars
9/20/07 Airra I love this film. I cried after watching it. I hate Hitler. 5 stars
9/11/07 andi very inspirational film. every student should watch! 5 stars
9/11/07 Michelle a must see for EVERYONE! it says it all in the title, life is BEAUTIFUL!!!! 5 stars
9/03/07 R.W. Welch Bizarre tragi-comedy that somehow manages to work on both levels. 4 stars
8/31/07 Leanne Daniella i cried at the end of the film 'cause i got so touched with the love Guido has for his son. 5 stars
6/13/07 fools♫gold Like Terminator 2, it's perfect in EVERY sense so that you DON'T see how "imperfect" it is. 5 stars
5/22/07 Belinda Isadore The guy is smooth in eveything he does. 4 stars
4/15/07 milica its amazing how one movie can make you cry & laugh at the same time 5 stars
2/12/07 Isma Very good!!! Salut to benigni...entertaining and touching...it make mcry and laugh together 4 stars
2/11/07 liz Benigni master emotional engineer. what would you do for love? 5 stars
11/19/06 Jerome Bosch Bullshit. NOT funny. Benigni is nothing but a poseur. 1 stars
11/07/06 Bibiana This movie shows the positive side of a cruel reality 5 stars
10/21/06 Gillian A way to wipe the bad out of the good (and for all you 1- star ppl- eat shit) 5 stars
10/05/06 erm pretty good movie considering it's about the halocaust 4 stars
5/26/06 Sheena Sad...makes you relize how bad ww2 was 5 stars
5/12/06 Ann Marie It was an awesome movie. it was funny and heart warming. I would recomend anyone to see it 5 stars
4/30/06 shilpa excellent 5 stars
3/20/06 bibi great and touching! 5 stars
1/16/06 Jared Wilson I'm a sucker for this movie 5 stars
1/03/06 Piz loses a little in translation but a great movie, funny and deeply touching 5 stars
12/22/05 Gabe the most beautiful piece of art I've ever seen 5 stars
9/09/05 noops one of the best films i ve ever seen 5 stars
8/19/05 ES One of the few movies where the englich dubbing turns a great movie into a goofy movie 4 stars
8/15/05 pip smythe i thought that the movie was very sad and had bits and pieces of comedy in it 5 stars
5/10/05 Katie Malone Indeed. Life is beautiful. 5 stars
12/04/04 Alan Liddle The funniest sad story I have ever seen 5 stars
11/30/04 Evgeny Another black-white attempt at picturing Germans truly evil and Jews sweet and innocent 3 stars
11/15/04 katherine excellent totaly heart breaking definatly a watch again 5 stars
8/05/04 ELI I'm sorry, but I thought the main character was soooo annoying. I couldnt stand him. 2 stars
7/27/04 Manju This is an INCREDIBLY AWESOME picture 5 stars
7/06/04 EricDSnider Beautiful 5 stars
6/14/04 T. Maj Daring concept tackled almost always successfully 4 stars
4/23/04 star moving; outstandingly beautiful 5 stars
4/04/04 Nick Morley Genius. Difficult subject matter tackled sensitively. Must see. 5 stars
2/19/04 MP Bartley A devastating, inspiring, thoughful piece of work. 5 stars
12/04/03 john a brilliant piece of work - phenomenal! 5 stars
5/28/03 leanne i thought the film was really good. i am studying it for english at school 4 stars
3/27/03 Gray only an Italian could make a comedy about the Holocaust (I say this in praise) 5 stars
1/22/03 Pinkline Jones Totally overrated by people who haven't watched many non-English films 3 stars
12/29/02 John Aster Habig a movie for everyone, Roberto funny and profound, the movie heartwarming and intelligent 5 stars
6/26/02 Bada Bing Crosby Only saving grace is that it seems like this is it for Roberto's career 1 stars
6/11/02 Hulahula Just didn't want the film to end...Benigni is incredible. 5 stars
5/27/02 Charles Tatum The best film of the last twenty five years 5 stars
5/22/02 Piz Johnny, being sarcastic to all those who says it makes a mockery of CCamps! 5 stars
4/12/02 Moeru A great movie that touches our Humanity!!! Benigni's the best 5 stars
3/17/02 Johnny A great movie!! 2 thumbs up! Piz, it may be a movie but it is a true story!!!!!!! 5 stars
1/31/02 Andrew Carden Go Home People...and Rent Pleasentville. 2 stars
1/16/02 Piz Cinematic masterpiece, remember kids, its only a movie! 5 stars
12/11/01 Monster W. Kung One of the most overrated movies ever. I like Benigni, but this is not good. 2 stars
10/23/01 Connoisseur mockery? john gotti, you make me ashamed of being part of the human race 5 stars
10/22/01 john gotti shamfeul mockery of a terrible period in history 1 stars
10/21/01 muddy One of the best movies ever made. Funny, Moving, Wonderful! 5 stars
9/14/01 pooberry The basic plot is ridiculous and even frankly insulting. 1 stars
9/07/01 Bada Bing Crosby To call this dogshit insults the genuine dogshit; it was worse than that 1 stars
9/03/01 spaceworm Dogshit. 1 stars
8/28/01 Phil M. Afficianado Honest: really WANTED to love this, but liking it became a chore. What'd I miss? Sorry guys 3 stars
6/20/01 Tzila Seewald BEAUTIFUL MOVIE! Nichotta is very cute when he acted goofy! 5 stars
6/19/01 Maghfira Damayanti A Very touching film 5 stars
5/22/01 A Father Shows lengths people will go to for their children 5 stars
5/17/01 Melissa in NYC Get the Prozac, you're going to need it! Great, sad, funny, incredible. 5 stars
5/12/01 kenstillman like watching someone piss on the graves at Auschwitz while laughing at himself 1 stars
4/04/01 tawni burgess I just love roberto benini, women dream to be loved like this, and he is SO FUNNY! 5 stars
4/02/01 earthpet GREAT! If you love to READ your movie instead of watching! 1 stars
3/21/01 Guoda Roberto Benigni's acting was wonderful. It really made a big impression on me. 5 stars
3/19/01 Elendil A clue for those who don't get the comedy angle - juxtaposition. Depressing, brilliant. 5 stars
3/16/01 ERAN A holocust - Denier film. Terrible 1 stars
3/08/01 gmh Profound film about matters even bigger than the Holocaust 5 stars
2/27/01 Steve in Prague jesus christ teen movie II is a total little stupid BITCH!!! FUCK OFF!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
2/22/01 CeoBenzGirl Great movie. Hard to put words to it.. One of those you just have to see yourself! 5 stars
2/16/01 Jake Benigni annoys! 1 stars
2/15/01 antonio wow! 5 stars
12/02/00 Mitja Podgajski One of the best movies i have ever seen in my life... 5 stars
11/14/00 salvo toscano bravo roberto, "la vita è bella" è un gran film 5 stars
11/01/00 JOHNNY Another Jewish Pity Party... worse then SHITliers list!!!! 1 stars
10/31/00 Nicole H Excellent! When I wasn't laughing, I was crying. 4 stars
10/02/00 Zeitgeist amazing 5 stars
9/10/00 MIKE boo hoo hoo.... what a bore. 1 stars
8/28/00 libs classic 5 stars
6/03/00 emma Made me cry for our world's tragic past. Filled me with sadnes, guilt, embarrassment that I 5 stars
6/03/00 Piz Don't listen to the bigots...in any language this is a masterpiece. 5 stars
6/01/00 Wafer brilliant movie. simply put 5 stars
5/20/00 mellemel Excellent movie! 5 stars
5/04/00 nadim sara dangerous subject, briliand performance 4 stars
4/13/00 2345 2345 1 stars
4/03/00 PJ Nothing short of a Miracle 5 stars
3/28/00 Heathyr Wolfe This movie was awesome and the first Holocaust film i have ever been able to sit thru.u 5 stars
3/26/00 Billie A simple, beautifull, fable. :) 5 stars
3/03/00 Pizaster brilliant work by Begnini, will move you in every way. Best Foreign Film ever. 5 stars
3/01/00 Mic More 3.5 than 3 stars. After Schindler's List, the second half of this looks contrived. 3 stars
2/04/00 john gotti Shameful mockery of a terrible period in history 1 stars
12/09/99 Kristin M Benigni perfectly incorporated a comical twist to the serious subject of the Holocaust. 5 stars
11/16/99 Monica Bersani LOVED IT! 5 stars
11/10/99 Fenris This is not a "shameful mockery" but a triumph of the human spirit! 5 stars
11/02/99 michele po esse meglio 4 stars
10/23/99 SJKelley Few movies will move you this much. 5 stars
9/15/99 Ratso Roberto Begnini is jiggling my ASS! 5 stars
9/12/99 kelly totally awesome i'd see it 5 zillion times 5 stars
9/10/99 Timbo OH MY GOD ROBERTO BEGNINI JUST SCALDED ME WITH HOT SOUP 5 stars
9/08/99 azzad I laughed, I cried, what else can you say- the best! 5 stars
8/10/99 Dane Jackson Great movie, I need to rush out and rent 'Il monstro' 5 stars
7/23/99 Bozo He couldn't die fast enough for me-at least that way I didn't have to hear him anymore!!!! 1 stars
6/28/99 meirose Shameful mockery of a terrible period in history 1 stars
6/14/99 David It's easily Benigni's best work, if extremely heavy on the pathos 4 stars
6/05/99 CozoShimpo 5 STARS! Benigni is a genius. 5 stars
5/07/99 Diptherio I HATE BENNINI 1 stars
5/07/99 Katie I saw it twice, it's simply wonderful. Roberto, what a guy! 5 stars
5/06/99 Debbie One of my top ten of all time 5 stars
4/29/99 Goddess This movie is so touching, but so real. See it! 5 stars
4/27/99 ROBERTO_ROBERTO_ROBERTO ROBERTO ROBERTO ROBERTO ROBERTO ROBERTO ROBERTO ROBERTO ROBERTO ROBERTO ROBERTO ROBERTO! 5 stars
4/27/99 HOLLY KRENEK AT FIRST I WAS LIKE,:I HAVE TO READ SUBTITLES!', BUT NOW I KNOW IT WAS WORTH IT!!! 5 stars
4/19/99 bb Beautiful Movie. 5 stars
4/19/99 Kalolaina Amazing piece of art. Reminded me what a movie can do-tell a story and touch your heart. 5 stars
4/16/99 meirose Shameful mockery of a terrible period in history 1 stars
4/16/99 papa eddie one of the best movies...ever 5 stars
4/13/99 Ami the Wonderbread I can't help but smile and giggle every time I see Roberto!!! 5 stars
4/13/99 François A. Jacques Super. Excellent. Bravo to Roberto!!! 5 stars
4/11/99 Alonzo This movie was awesome 5 stars
4/10/99 mikebo It had that magic that old hollywood used to have which we don't see much of anymore. 5 stars
4/09/99 Matt Miller I was one of the greatest movies i have ever seen 5 stars
4/07/99 Brian M Roberto is THE clown 5 stars
4/05/99 film dude comparable to the great films of filmdom 5 stars
4/04/99 Cool Thing People who are offended should chill the fuck out. Enjoy a brilliant movie. 5 stars
4/04/99 kelykel Incredibly moving, a brilliant telling of a horrific story. 5 stars
4/03/99 o_u_kidd The guy was so gallant; the idea that funny walks in this situation are FUNNY is pathetic. 2 stars
3/30/99 The Graduate Astounding--the final scene had me laughing and crying at the same time. Pure genius. 5 stars
3/30/99 Tony K. Overated, overacted, overdone. And whose idea was it to make a comedy about the Holocaust? 3 stars
3/28/99 Kenda beautiful 5 stars
3/28/99 HeatherLadyBug life is ugly...very ugly 3 stars
3/27/99 Donna This movie was the worst! In fact, I walked out of it after the first 30 minutes! 1 stars
3/26/99 arkasha very moving, beautifuly un-Hollywood 5 stars
3/25/99 debbie tuttle bonjourno principessa! 5 stars
3/24/99 meirose insulting parody of a terrible time in history 1 stars
3/22/99 Shuita Brilliant film, genius filmmaking 5 stars
3/22/99 Totok Wicaksono I don't like it 3 stars
3/20/99 Zandman Impressive and inventive mixture of comedy and tragedy. 4 stars
3/20/99 Lindsay Amazing. 5 stars
3/20/99 Charlie Cannot buy Dad's deception/Son's belief 3 stars
3/14/99 Dharma Once you finish sobbing, you will be smiling for two hours straigt after seeing this movie. 5 stars
3/10/99 Negative Creep Hands Down this is the best film of the year principesa! 5 stars
3/09/99 Katie Roberto Benigni is wonderful, this film's a joy to watch. 5 stars
3/01/99 jennifer newsome this film was beautiful in all aspects, bravo! awesome! 5 stars
2/28/99 Malbert Best movie I have ever seen! 5 stars
2/24/99 Cool Thing This is one of the great ones. Will be remembered for a long time. 5 stars
2/23/99 Mira This is fantastic. Life IS beutiful, and it doesn't get any better than this! 5 stars
2/22/99 kitty houston Couldn't stand this wildly over-rated stinker 2 stars
2/21/99 sp it moved me to tears!! 5 stars
2/21/99 Bryan Best Movie of '98 5 stars
2/20/99 bp Absolutely incredible film experience. I will go see this again. 5 stars
2/19/99 Jeff It REALLY doesn't get any better than this movie. See it. 5 stars
2/18/99 jess amazing. you HAVE to see this film. 5 stars
2/17/99 Derek Begnini is a treasure. Funny, eerie, and unique. 5 stars
2/17/99 Dave Piz touched on every emotion...a blend of what makes movies great. 5 stars
2/17/99 Carol Touching, funny, lovely, SEE IT. Twice. 5 stars
2/16/99 Bridgette Beautiful 5 stars
2/16/99 Icy This was definitely one of the best movies I've ever seen...I hope it wins Best Picture! 5 stars
2/10/99 jeannine The best movie I have seen in years! 5 stars
2/01/99 Bob M. I've seen it twice this week. Great Movie!!! 5 stars
1/23/99 sparkwoman WOW! I had no idea what I was in for; what an incredibly wonderful surprise. 5 stars
1/23/99 Hannah Hopkins-Maupin Thought-provoking...everyone should see it. 5 stars
1/22/99 Goofaloo The most wonderful film of 98. Freakin' brilliant. Hollywood can't do this. 5 stars
1/10/99 Kudra This was one of the most amazing films I've ever seen. 5 stars
1/09/99 Suzz wonderful film 5 stars
1/06/99 Jon excellent 5 stars
12/29/98 jvt So close to being great, but the overlong first half takes it down 4 stars
12/23/98 Lou Pine, Jr. You either suspend your disbelief or you don't. I did. Very moving. 4 stars
12/21/98 Jim Niles I really enjoyed this film...wonderfully drawn characters 5 stars
12/20/98 c foley I can't get this film out of my head, i loved it 5 stars
12/19/98 Tom Ripley Seems most of you miss the point. The movie is about denial; ain't just a river in Egypt. 5 stars
12/09/98 UncleMonty A genuine warmth. Not perfect, but wonderful in the true sense of the word. 4 stars
12/06/98 Mr Showbiz Warm and cuddly film about the holocaust? And it's as tasteless as it sounds. 3 stars
12/04/98 grunter the only thing more annoying than Benigni is a Mr. Bean marathon - yeeuck. 1 stars
11/30/98 Evil Buffy awsome. it was so sweet and charming and funny, and then it was so sad. i laughed i cried 5 stars
11/27/98 GLee Charming, but not thrilled with light depiction of the camp. 4 stars
11/25/98 Missy Funny, charming, and heartwrenching 5 stars
11/22/98 Chris Best Foriegn Film I've seen. 5 stars
11/22/98 Montes Great movie. Effective, powerful, beautiful. 5 stars
11/17/98 Goshosento Tears of laughter literally mixed with those of sorrow as I watched this unforgetabl film 5 stars
11/16/98 Tom Ripley Funny as hell, until the subtext kicks in. Hello, Oscar! 5 stars
11/15/98 Johny Lacks some cruelty, but does NOT make light of Nazis. Controversy is misguided - 4.5 stars 4 stars
11/15/98 MissDelicateFlower damn good, not perfect, but damn good. 5 stars
11/14/98 dforcher Depict humor, joy, and hope in the face of doom. Heavy, heavy. 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  06-Aug-1999 (PG-13)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  26-Dec-1998 (M)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast