Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.45

Awesome69.3%
Worth A Look: 17.54%
Just Average: 6.14%
Pretty Crappy: 2.63%
Sucks: 4.39%

5 reviews, 84 user ratings



Pink Floyd: The Wall
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Old Monkey

"So you thought you might go to the show?"
5 stars

Okay, if you've seen this film, and you want to know what it's about, read my review. If you haven't seen the film, just see it, it's awesome (if you like Pink Floyd, it's even better).

So, here's the deal with this movie, it's one story, started at 3 different points. You have little Pink, who you can ascertain has lost his father to the war. This is slightly autobiographical, as Roger Waters lost his father in "black forty four". You also have rock and roll star Pink, who is ruined by his looming insanity, and is driven over the edge by his wife's infidelity. And then you have full blown insane Pink, who is the Nazi-esque leader of the Hammer Regime.

The story plays out well with the music. The music being my favorite part. Roger Waters put together this 2 disc album AFTER the making of the film.

Delving further into the biographical side of the Wall, Pink Floyd had a singer named Syd Barrett in the 60's. Syd was really into the acid scene, and it was pretty well known that in his house, unless you poured a drink yourself, don't drink it, because someone probably spiked it with acid. He was taking it 5 to 6 times a day, and subsequently lost his mind. He resides in a home for mentally ill people, after the death of his mother some years back. He has absolutely no recollection of being in the band, or the 1960's.

So, the story is sort of a meld between Syd and Roger, and what you learn is that the death of Pink's father, the overbearing nature of his mother, the nasty school teachers, the life of a rock star, the cheating of his wife, we're all bricks in "The Wall". The Wall being the shell he built around himself, the driving force behind his insanity.

What happens in the end is truely frightening. Pink, after coming out of a psychological breakdown becomes the "charismatic leader" of the affore mentioned Hammer Regime. He leads them in a series of "KrystalNacht" type events, raping, breaking, pilliaging. And they overtake the government, finally, in the ending, an explosion shown tearing down the Wall (man, the stuff you can see in that wall!) is how Pink's empire comes to an end, and we can see the children who survived rebuilding from what is left.

So, that's what was going on, in case you were unfamiliar with the story of the band. Now, as far as a review goes. This film used some special effects that were, as far as I can say, ahead of it's time. Some of the footage is just plain eerie. The music compliments this film so well, from blaring rock and roll, to quiet ballads of insanity, from begining to end, a fine soundtrack. The cast, namely Bob Geldof, is amazing, having to play this role while rarely speaking is an accomplishment. Although, he could work just a little on his lipsync skills.

The film stands out in my mind as one of the classics in the teenage scene, especially teenagers who partake in the use of narcotics (marijuana, and LSD, mostly). Simply due to the psychedelic nature of both the music and the photography.

The film stands out in my mind as one that someone not in the above demographic could easily think "Why did I just spend money on this?" It's not easy to follow at all, but I don't think it was intended to be. It's a highly personal story told through music. If you do rent this, think of it more like Fantasia, than A Hard Day's Night.

All in all, I'd have to say that you should give this film a shot once, you never know, you might end up learning something new.

link directly to this review at http://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=994&reviewer=2
originally posted: 05/11/99 03:42:57
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

1/11/12 Matthew Thompson Dalldorf Damn, movies do not get any better! 5 stars
7/08/11 Josie Cotton is a goddess A must for any Pink fan 5 stars
8/09/10 John Aster Habig Touches with graphic emotion all the things that alienate us in society 5 stars
5/12/10 pd Your facts on Syd are either fabricated or badly-sourced and embarassing to fans of the man 5 stars
12/02/08 Nick The music is great, makes the movie good. 4 stars
11/27/08 Chris Classic, you might have to love the album which is also a classic 5 stars
10/04/08 Samantha Pruitt i think i have to see it intoxicated! amazing to look at still. 4 stars
9/10/08 Layla Great first half hour but ultimately misogynistic jaded doom mongering 3 stars
3/16/08 Pamela White tremendous movie length music video 5 stars
3/16/08 james kielty The most intelligent music and film Ive ever seen/heard 5 stars
9/13/07 Peppy Do a barrel roll! 5 stars
11/30/06 David Pollastrini best viewed while stoned 5 stars
10/24/06 David Pollastrini great music 4 stars
7/24/06 shane swank One of the least dated Rock Films.Fascism,alienation never go out of style. 5 stars
2/23/06 omar i friggin love this movie. if ur lookin for great music and cool visuals, this is it 5 stars
10/20/05 Arska one of the best movies i've ever seen! 5 stars
10/08/05 tim fuckin trippy 5 stars
9/05/05 ashe yernon gives you a different outlook onlife itself 5 stars
8/12/05 Ben Quinn Despite the very thin plot, this film is excellent and MANDATORY for any Pink Floyd fan 4 stars
6/02/05 Sammy I've learned alot from that film. 5 stars
5/28/05 Reih I thought it was a very indepth movie. This is really what got me into Pink Floyd. 5 stars
1/14/05 Elze IT'S THE BEST FILM! 5 stars
11/26/04 Thomas Skroob I loved it! 5 stars
10/08/04 rita giusti the best film ever!! 5 stars
9/22/04 Kenny Wilson One of the best movies i've seen, ever!!! 5 stars
9/07/04 Bob Excellent. 5 stars
8/21/04 Josh Standlee I think I said this movie was bad, well that was before I REALLY got into Pink Floyd. 4 stars
6/29/04 DM That was a fucking weird movie 4 stars
6/21/04 andrew great movie fun to watch 5 stars
6/04/04 Craig Isenor An amazing assault on all the senses. 5 stars
4/30/04 Dark Archon If u don't get it - don't rate it crap. It's just to complicated 4 you. It's great. 5 stars
4/29/04 ArcticCheetah Psychololgically delicious... learn something new every time I view it. 4 stars
4/29/04 Sarah Jackson The best movie I've seen in a while 5 stars
4/25/04 Justin Mulligan This movie is ingenious and takes countless hours for one to be able to understand fully 5 stars
4/01/04 Barry Dunlop Alot of the images should have been cencored so kids could see it as well. Dunlop out! 1 stars
3/07/04 Snickerdoodle Really great movie, powerful anti-war message, I wish the ending was different though. 5 stars
2/22/04 Daveman Alan Parker and Roger Waters, the worst collaboration of two British creative talents, EVER 2 stars
12/25/03 ROY L. CAIN,JR. The perfect movie to the perfect album. HEY YOU!!! 5 stars
12/08/03 john kids love it and with good reason and I like it still - the music is phenomenal 5 stars
10/23/03 Josh Standlee All I can say is once the movie was over, all I could think was,"What the hell was that?" 1 stars
8/05/03 Christina AMAZING 5 stars
7/12/03 Morpheus Pretentious, self-important wank, just like the album. 2 stars
5/25/03 Pascal One of my favorite films 5 stars
4/09/03 Dave Some nice visual flare but contains the same artistic flaws of the album of the same name. 2 stars
1/08/03 April I LOVE it! 5 stars
10/15/02 maximal01 the end wraps up kinda wrong; it woulda been nice to see pink "after the wall"... 4 stars
4/15/02 andrew rozen The CD is fucking amazing, roger waters is a genius 5 stars
4/01/02 bonnie Its all forms of film rolled up into one, history, montage, animation, musical, etc. 5 stars
1/01/02 Andrew Carden The Music Of Pink Floyd Is Good...The Movie Isn't. 1 stars
12/31/01 a floyd fan Best movie I've ever seen!! A must for fans of Pink Floyd!!!! 5 stars
12/19/01 Dgunner71 Quite possibly the greatest footage ever to be brought to film. 5 stars
12/10/01 Dana Brilliant! 5 stars
11/12/01 Monster W. Kung Great rock opera. The scene with the young kid thinking about his father is heartbreaking. 5 stars
6/22/01 Chris after the first 50 or so viewings, it's all downhill 4 stars
3/27/01 Amanda Too great for words. 5 stars
3/08/01 Matthew Richardson dark, depressing, very "real", great film 5 stars
3/01/01 Leonardo Madeira For stoned ones who don't mind listening to Pink Floyd through almost 2 hours 4 stars
2/13/01 Alex Bergen The best movie I have ever seen.... 4 stars
2/11/01 john d(THE DUDE) you don't need to be into drugs to enjoy this artwork, a masterpiece! 5 stars
11/28/00 Cristopher Revilla The most psychotic film i've ever seen, maybe because i wasn't in to Pink Floyd at the time 4 stars
11/01/00 Galgon Waste of money and time. Don't bother, unless you are heavily into drugs. IT SUCKED!!!! 1 stars
10/10/00 bob gets better each time. a real thinker 5 stars
10/02/00 Diggs D A movie that will shock you and educate you at the same time. 5 stars
5/15/00 adjensen Deep, dark and intense. Great music. 5 stars
5/07/00 Daniel Greve maybe this fil is the best scan from 80s to our times 5 stars
5/03/00 Chad Sheer genius 5 stars
4/11/00 Shelly how can you not get totally into such iteresting minds like those of pink floyds 5 stars
4/04/00 john holmes decent 5 stars
3/02/00 joel toooooo underated, i am a die hard floyd fan 5 stars
12/20/99 Cerise347@AOL.com Everytime you watch it, it's a totally different experience in viewing the film. 5 stars
12/15/99 serge Best COMMERCIAL album 5 stars
12/02/99 perpetual loser i was born in the wrong fuking decade. this is great shit (and i'm not a druggie) 5 stars
8/18/99 David You think it's a head trip in your home, imagine watching it on a movie screen in 70mm 5 stars
7/16/99 Ostrich My favourite movie, and no, I was NOT stoned or drunk, grunter, thank you very much... 5 stars
6/18/99 theo_mcl@hotmail.com This is just amazing... all I can say. 5 stars
5/16/99 Matt I'm a huge Floyd freak but this movie IS overrated. 4 stars
3/28/99 HeatherLadyBug oh my! 5 stars
1/02/99 tarkin666 On par with a Pink Floyd laser show, this is a damn trip! 5 stars
12/05/98 tj a great mind-fuck...one of the best albums ever written 5 stars
10/30/98 Silent Rob Well done visual interpretation of one of the greatest Albums of all time. Haunting!!! 5 stars
10/23/98 grunter dada for frat boys; slapstick psychology; gee, lemme guess were you stoned at the time? 1 stars
10/01/98 arachic13 the greatest experimental of all time!!!!!! 5 stars
9/30/98 CaptNish Tell me what it's about....please....I can't figure it out alone... 4 stars
9/21/98 Miss Stress if you wanna feel like you're tripping without doing the drugs watch this movie. 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  13-Aug-1982 (R)

UK
  14-Jul-1982 (15)

Australia
  N/A (M)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast