Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
2.95

Awesome: 14.41%
Worth A Look29.73%
Just Average: 13.51%
Pretty Crappy: 20.72%
Sucks: 21.62%

4 reviews, 87 user ratings


Latest Reviews

MFA by Jay Seaver

You Only Live Once by Jay Seaver

November (2017) by Jay Seaver

Friendly Beast by Jay Seaver

Foreigner, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

Tom of Finland by Rob Gonsalves

Happy Death Day by Jay Seaver

78/52: Hitchcock's Shower Scene by Jay Seaver

Death Note: Light Up the New World by Jay Seaver

Brawl in Cell Block 99 by Peter Sobczynski

subscribe to this feed


Friday the 13th Part 2
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by EricDSnider

"More summertime fun."
2 stars

"Friday the 13th Part 2" is actually a little better than its predecessor. Of course, that's like saying the Vandals didn't rape quite as many Romans the second time they invaded the city, but still.

For one thing, as primitive as they may be, there are glimpses of character arcs in the second movie. The blond, mannish heroine, Ginny, says early on that she knows something about child psychology. Later, she uses this knowledge to save herself from the killer. It's not Eugene O'Neill, but at least someone was trying. The first film is just a smorgasboard of characters who deserve to die.

For another thing, the sequel is 12 minutes shorter. It's only 86 minutes, and six of that consists of flashbacks from the first movie.

I might add that those flashbacks are unnecessary, by the way. Everything they tell us is later told to us in the actual dialogue anyway. Plus, the only two characters from the first movie to carry over into the sequel are also the first two characters killed. There is literally no reason to even include them, except that one of them is the delightful old Crazy Ralph, the bewildered septuagenarian who goes around telling people they're "doomed" if they go to Camp Crystal Lake. (And of course, he's right. A prophet is never accepted in his own country.)

Which means the movie is really only 80 minutes. I can sit through almost anything for 80 minutes.

Now for why the movie is bad:

- Every other reason you can imagine.

It copies the original film almost verbatim, even down to the trick used in the final scene, where serene music plays, signaling the end of the movie, at which point someone we thought was dead leaps into the frame and grabs the heroine. It's even the same music, for crying out loud.

The body count is the same, too: five men and four women. In both films, a couple is killed immediately after having sex, both times with a spear that also goes through the bed. Both films feature cars that won't start and people who say, "I'll be right back" just before being murdered. Both films have a person whose actual death we do not see, but we know they're dead because their bodies are used to surprise us later. Both films feature far more men in Daisy Duke shorts than a movie ought to have.

The villain in the sequel is the infamous Jason, of whom you have no doubt heard tell. He supposedly drowned in the lake when he was a young boy because the camp counselors who were supposed to be watching him were having sex instead. (Have sex, or watch the dumb kid swim. I'm not sure which I would choose, either.) It was that drowning that sent his mother over the edge, and it was she who killed all those camp counselors in the first movie.

Apparently, however, Jason wasn't altogether dead, which means his mom kind of overreacted. He's been living in a filthy shack in the woods all these years, no doubt looking at Internet porn and writing anti-government manifestos. He is, as one character puts it, probably a "frightened retard." Now, five years after his mom's rampage (though the movie came out only one year after), the camp is being reopened, and he's getting revenge on the people who killed his mom five years ago. Well, not the actual people, of course. One of them, yes. The rest are guilty only because they, too, are teen-agers who work at a summer camp. It makes you wonder just how well thought-out Jason's plan is. Does he intend to kill every camp counselor in the world? The ones in Brazil, for example, are no more or less culpable in his mother's murder than the ones at Crystal Lake. And to be fair, she really did have it coming, what with having killed nine people to avenge the death of her son -- who turned out to be alive anyway. It's the sort of big, embarrassing mix-up that we'll all laugh about one day.

Anyway, Jason doesn't wear his famous hockey mask yet in this movie. He has a KKK-looking hood over his head, the reason for which becomes apparent when we see him without it and realize he has been the victim of a very bad Rick Baker makeup wannabe. I'd cover my head in shame, too.

So he kills a bunch of teens and cops and old guys, and we're led to believe he kills a dog, too, but thank goodness, it turns out the dog lived! Everyone else is dead, though. None of it is scary, though a lot of it is bloody, in case you're one of those people who thinks they're the same thing.

link directly to this review at http://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=999&reviewer=247
originally posted: 07/27/01 19:37:01
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

9/21/17 morris campbell same old shit 1 stars
10/28/11 Louis Blyskal Just another scary movie 2 stars
7/17/11 art Once again FRIDAY the 13th BURRIES halloween!!!! 5 stars
10/07/10 art i saw this at a drive -in,it was a double feature with SATURN 3, i liked saturn 3! 1 stars
9/28/10 PAUL SHORTT REPETITIVE AND TEDIOUS 1 stars
12/26/09 art THE BEST FRIDAY'S are as follow's PART ONE,PART TWO{THIS ONE},AND PART 3. > 5 stars
10/07/09 art THIS SEQUAL TO THE 1980 CLASSIC IS FOR THE BIRD"S!,NICE TRY. 1 stars
6/13/09 art THIS FRIDAY THE 13TH[PART TWO] is FOR THE BIRD"S!. 1 stars
2/09/09 lo& This movie scared the crap out of me when I was a kid. 4 stars
10/20/08 Monster A Go-Go Awful-worst of the series-it's a wonder Miner got another job after this.Horrible direction 1 stars
10/04/08 blarginbadigalnohif mehhhhhhhhhhhhh 3 stars
4/15/08 art FRIDAY THE 13THpart ONE THE BEST SLASHER FILM I APOLOGIZE IT SUCKED JUST LIKE PART 2 1 stars
2/16/07 David Pollastrini Jason looks better in the hockey mask 4 stars
12/08/06 GAH! gay 1 stars
11/04/06 MP Bartley Good opening and thumbs up for the weirdo ending. Some decent chills to be had. 3 stars
7/23/06 Quazar oo look out im wearing a bread bag. ooga booga. spare me 1 stars
4/11/06 Daniel Kirsten Baker,s Sexy Goddess 5 stars
1/16/06 Anthony Feor Sequels suck and this movie proves it 2 stars
11/23/05 cr almost good as the first friday, I like Ginny and all the other characters Ki ki ki ki ha 4 stars
10/13/05 Darren O Delivers as good as the first, though the diluted gore dulls the effect. Amy Steel rocks. 4 stars
8/23/05 Sugarfoot Just a tip:Having the killer wear a gunny sack over his head is more amusing than scary. 2 stars
7/13/05 Brandy Harrington The Fiday The 13th series blows, each movie spawned a Halloween rip-off. 1 stars
6/27/05 R just for fun, hold this up against the likes of "audition." american horror is a joke. 1 stars
6/10/05 Manu Ginobli God this fuckin' shit sucks. 1 stars
5/26/05 tony not as good as the first one.but still has its classic scary moments 4 stars
11/09/04 Iwata One of the best sequels for the best slasher series out there. 5 stars
11/04/04 dave oh im scary im wearing a bread bag oga boga. spare me 1 stars
10/12/04 kevin watts NOT AS GOOD AS FIRST,BUT NOT BAD 4 stars
7/01/04 American Slasher Goddess The best sequel in the series, Amy Steel is a likeable heroine. 4 stars
6/07/04 Ryan Clark The best sequel of the series... this is just as good as (if not better than) the original. 4 stars
5/16/04 John oh well 2 stars
4/07/04 phoenix Amy Steel is a great and sexy heroine. Jason's rules, except for that sack. 4 stars
3/17/04 PAYNE_KillerZ No hockey mask!!!!... BOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO 2 stars
2/25/04 Samuel A great sequel to a great origional 4 stars
2/17/04 Ramey Jason needs a mask not a bag on his head. Otherwise decent flick. 3 stars
2/05/04 c.r a good sequel, Jason best movie! 4 stars
2/03/04 Chad Foster Luv It 5 stars
12/11/03 Captain Spaulding probably the second best in the series, not counting 'Freddy vs Jason' 5 stars
12/11/03 Kellie unintentionally funny..but still a good horror flick!! 3 stars
12/09/03 Tommy good film!! 4 stars
11/01/03 American Slasher Goddess Very good followup to the great original. Steel is a likeable heroine. 4 stars
10/15/03 Erik Van Sant Jason's debut! Looks like a KKK hillbilly though. Watch for wheel-chair arm wrestling! 4 stars
10/07/03 Double G Potatoe Bag over jason's head, UNBEATABLE! 5 stars
9/16/03 Samuel Justus This is where the torture starts from part 2 all the wat to Freddy vs Jason!! Shit!!!! 1 stars
8/29/03 darren ALMOST MATCHES THE CLASSIC ORIGINAL-BUT TOO MANY CUTS 4 stars
7/21/03 Double G A classic. Jason has not yet found his hockey mask! 3 stars
6/03/03 Mike I watched this? Why me!? 2 stars
1/01/03 Chowie mmm.... 2 stars
12/28/02 Jack Sommersby Kristen Baker's awesome butt in those short-shorts is to die for!!!! 2 stars
11/27/02 Kyle Repectable sequel, then they really start going downhill fast. 3 stars
10/14/02 Charles Tatum More gore for your snore 3 stars
9/30/02 Michael Carruthers Pretty much the same as the first one - except scarier, with more nudity and overall better 2 stars
8/15/02 Shaun good 4 stars
8/09/02 Tyner best of the series, last 4 movies are fucking lame 5 stars
6/19/02 Film Dude Full nudity. Sweet. 4 stars
6/02/02 I'm in (L) with a Jedi well, i actually liked his mum more....but ok 3 stars
4/24/02 maximal01 Oh,wow. Look. The guy who wants to kill us is having a bad hair day (yawn). 1 stars
3/09/02 Chowie the people who made this should be stripped of their clothes, tied up &shitted on 1 stars
1/15/02 David A. The first twenty minutes were the scariest. 4 stars
11/29/01 Rutt13 can't explain it, but I kinda dig it 3 stars
11/19/01 Chris K. Once again, this ripped off Mario Bava's TWITCH OF THE DEATH NERVE (1971). 1 stars
10/05/01 Eric Incredibly boring. Parts 4, 6, 7, and 9 are a lot better. 1 stars
9/28/01 Phoenix Compared to some of the other sequels, this one is OK. 3 stars
9/25/01 Shane Robert Myers!!!!!!!!!!!!!! It's strange because... I thought Jason was'nt alive!?! 4 stars
9/15/01 Mr. Hat Better than the first one. 3 stars
8/05/01 E-Funk Jason makes his entrance...I'm lovin' it! 5 stars
7/27/01 Francine Boobs...yes. Scary...no. Blandly entertaining. 2 stars
4/14/01 LiL Predictable piece of shit. What the fuck is Jason wearing around his head?! 1 stars
2/23/01 Jeremy part 1 and 2 (also "jason in manhattan")are great 5 stars
1/27/01 Barrett Kaelin Kirsten Baker has the nicest looking arse! 3 stars
1/08/01 Steve Summers This is the best movie of the series in my opinion, i don't care what all you fucks think 5 stars
8/11/00 Justin Its got decapitations, dead dogs and full frontal nudity! What more could u want? 5 stars
4/30/00 Bender Underrated and scarier than the original. 4 stars
4/30/00 Gus Van Sant wonderful shite! 5 stars
4/29/00 Ehh... good 5 stars
4/13/00 SwatchDog The final scene is a real chiller.. good performances and even some T&A for the desperate! 4 stars
3/30/00 TIGGER I word- CRAP! 1 stars
3/23/00 David Rogers In the first one they said Jason was a dead little boy, that just confused me. 1 stars
3/01/00 Kyle Broflovski I fell asleep--and I was on a caffeine binge!!! Need I say more??? 1 stars
1/17/00 Jedi15 More of the same, only much worse. Not even the death scenes can save this shit. 1 stars
9/30/99 rob better than the first 3 stars
3/14/99 Tirana Parker The 3rd i luv sein the white crakers getn hacked, i do it 2 and shit 5 stars
3/07/99 Abdulawana the Boshma of India Teefa no like this movie, no indians. 1 stars
3/07/99 KK Dusenbury It fucking kicks ass. Lets all go out and machete handicap people!!!( I love that part) 5 stars
11/13/98 Lord Of The Dunce It got worse. And worse. And worse. 3 stars
10/29/98 Negative Creep Much like Scream, The first fifteen minutes makes up for the rest of the film. 3 stars
9/27/98 katherine the fri 13 movies all stink. i luv horrors, but fri 13 is boring! 2 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  01-May-1981 (R)
  DVD: 05-Oct-2004

UK
  N/A

Australia
  02-Feb-1982


Directed by
  Steve Miner

Written by
  Ron Kurz

Cast
  Amy Steel
  John furey
  Adrienne King
  Kirsten Baker
  Stuart Charno
  Warrington Gillette



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast