Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.97

Awesome47.33%
Worth A Look: 24.43%
Just Average: 13.74%
Pretty Crappy: 6.87%
Sucks: 7.63%

5 reviews, 101 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Tokyo Ghoul "S" by Jay Seaver

BrightBurn by Rob Gonsalves

Booksmart by Rob Gonsalves

Dead Don't Die, The by Rob Gonsalves

Fagara by Jay Seaver

Rezo by Jay Seaver

Depraved by Jay Seaver

Linda Ronstadt: The Sound of My Voice by Peter Sobczynski

Goldfinch, The by Peter Sobczynski

Freaks (2019) by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Casino
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Chef ADogg

"He puts the guy's head in a vice. Hehe."
2 stars

"Casino" had me yelling "That's come cool shit!" for three hours. I don't know, though, if that was Martin Scorsese's purpose for making the movie (ie, entertaining easily excitable fifteen year old boys thirsting for profane ultraviolence).

The problem with "Casino" is that there are no down moments when the film can breathe; somebody's always shouting or shooting a gun or getting their eyeballs squeezed out like grapes while Joe Pesci sweats profusely.

He sweats ALOT.

Robert De Niro does not sweat. That's because he's not human. He's a coldly efficent machine with his controls set to Gamble, but since he is in fact a robot, there's never really much at stake. And no one to root for.

I was initially intrigued by his romance with Sharon Stone, but they're only happy for five minutes before she starts snorting cocaine and fucking Joe Pesci.

In my mind, I am better looking than Joe Pesci. Yet, Sharon Stone does not want to have sex with me. Something to think about.

Scorsese pulls out all the usual tricks, but they're starting to seem a little bit stale. Everytime I watch this movie, in my heart the feeling grows heavier that, unlike "Mean Streets" or "GoodFellas," he's not using his dazzle for some personal aesthetic satisfaction, but for the sheer THRILL of it.

But "Casino" is too long to be thrilling. Kind of a problem. I know Marty was going for the whole epic vibe, and I can admire the scope of the story, but I would have trimmed it by a good hour, hour and fifteen minutes. There really aren't enough characters to warrant a three hour running time.

"Casino" entertained me but did not satisfy me. It's too controlled, too empty, too obviously manufactured for cinematic rush. I like it, but I can't love it, 'cause I can't find my way under the skin of it.

link directly to this review at https://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=1012&reviewer=123
originally posted: 08/10/99 15:52:34
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

2/13/17 morris campbell very good even if its goodfellas goes 2 vegas and it stick close to the real story on which 4 stars
5/27/16 stephen a masterwork 5 stars
6/03/15 stanley welles deft, visually impressive and admirably performed 4 stars
9/11/11 Captain00Kirk A 3 hour-version of Goodfellas, I'm in! www.youtube.com/Captain00Kirk 5 stars
3/02/11 chris c Kinda of a retread of Goodfellas with De Niro and Pesci but ultimately rewarding 4 stars
2/26/11 Jeff Wilder Great overall even if half an hour shoulda been shaved off. 4 stars
2/09/11 nigger whipper fuck the niggers 5 stars
11/02/10 Mark O. Avery Pesci & DeNiro Score again!!! 5 stars
9/23/10 Flathead King Not bad but well below Scorsese's best. 3 stars
4/10/09 Dane Youssef Almost a dream state. The world's most insight look at the universe's most fascinating city 5 stars
2/23/09 brian Scorsese's best crime film, with more objectivity than he's used to 4 stars
1/04/09 matt one of the best movies ever, incendiary, brilliant script 5 stars
11/19/08 PAUL SHORTT AN OVERLONG AND UNFOCUSED SORDID PIECE OF SLIME 1 stars
3/04/08 ladavies Nobody can tell a better gangster story than Scorsese. 5 stars
2/01/08 Quigley Good acting and direction, but it was too much of a Goodfellas imitation to be acceptable 3 stars
11/19/07 Wendell O. Maness True story, but Civella was a wimp, chickenshit old man 3 stars
7/27/07 theresa Aldrich 3 hours of pure genius! 5 stars
7/23/07 Terry Departed is ripoff of a better Hong Kong film. At least Casino is more original. 4 stars
6/23/07 Bitchflaps Scorcese had been here before with Goodfellas, and Goodfellas was average. 1 stars
4/27/07 Double M One of Scorsese's best. everything is just great. 5 stars
2/14/07 I Gluck Great movie, great cast...Pesci is top notch 5 stars
2/13/07 action movie fan too long and tedious the departed was a good deal better 2 stars
2/12/07 The chode Awesome Movie. 5 stars
10/10/06 Jan A classic!!! 5 stars
10/09/06 Bugsy Last and great Scorsese film. Departed sucked. 5 stars
8/20/06 Sepi53 Great cast! Joe Pesci, De Niro and above all SHARON 5 stars
7/24/06 Sandy + Stephanie (twins) very nice 4 stars
5/22/06 Agent Sands A great Scorsese epic. No one can top Pesci's gangster charisma. 5 stars
5/05/06 dionwr Good but not great Scorsese 4 stars
5/02/06 Ryan_A Haven't seen all of it. 3 stars
5/01/06 William Goss Still haven't seen it. 4 stars
5/01/06 David Cornelius Gets better with repeat viewings 5 stars
5/01/06 HBS-SH cards with the kgb 5 stars
3/17/06 MP Bartley Nastier than Goodfellas...but not better. 4 stars
2/27/06 matt they don't make em like this anymore 5 stars
1/04/06 John Dog Great movie. 5 stars
12/26/05 Monday Morning Great until S.Stone entered the pic...then it gummed up a bit. 4 stars
11/19/05 Phil M. Aficionado Sciortino sez: "..ex-boyfriend (Don Rickles).."; No, James Woods. Great film, esp S. Stone 5 stars
10/15/05 Moctezuma Though not as good as Goodfellas, it's still pretty great 5 stars
10/04/05 Jesse Taylor One of the finest films of the 90's 5 stars
9/29/05 Michael Blower Next to the Godfather trilogy and Goodfellas this is the daddy! 5 stars
9/26/05 Anthony G Highly entertaining, I didn't move for three hours! 5 stars
8/17/05 Indrid Cold Some surprisingly disturbing violence, but a good story to support it. 4 stars
7/02/05 jimmy better than goodfellas 5 stars
6/12/05 Agent Sands For a 3-hour movie, it sure doesn't seem that long. 5 stars
3/15/05 Pete fraud good movie. a little bit long 4 stars
2/21/05 Captain Craig The best gangster-Vegas movie you will ever see 5 stars
1/26/05 Jeff Anderson About as great as GOODFELLAS and THATS saying something! Amazing production design & acting 5 stars
12/02/04 Carly Austin Robert de Niro in one of the most understated, underrated performances of all time. 5 stars
11/23/04 Geoff My 2nd favorite Scorsese movie behind Raging Bull 5 stars
11/20/04 Kristina Williams Sharon Stone's best work 5 stars
10/23/04 UMER i don't know why it is one of the most underrated movies of all time 5 stars
5/29/04 king eric top quality film. pesci kicks ass 5 stars
2/21/04 your worst goddamn nightmare cool flick; narration reminded me of Goodfellas... and that's a good thing! 5 stars
9/22/03 jack after i saw this movie it made me go hit my friend in the teeth with a baseball bat 5 stars
7/21/03 AD underated masterpeice 5 stars
7/20/03 john_cord Very damn good film. No Goodfellas or Raging Bull or Taxi Driver but riveting nevertheless. 5 stars
7/01/03 jackass if its too graphic then dont watch it ya wacky prick:P 5 stars
5/12/03 Mr. Hat (I'm Back, Mo'fos!!!) De Niro, Pesci, & Scorsese should've won every award there is for this. Good soundtrack, 2! 5 stars
4/16/03 Jon "Thumb the Toad" Lyrik Superb. 5 stars
3/21/03 GMan A good movie. Goodfellas is better. Sharon Stone sucks ass. DeNiro kicks ass. 3 stars
2/22/03 jennifer carter awesome flick 5 stars
1/22/03 Pinkline Jones Good film - swearing overload though 4 stars
12/29/02 Femme_Fataleaa Very dissapointing...thought these heavy hitters could bring the heat! 2 stars
12/27/02 Charles Tatum No one addresses how frickin' long this thing is 3 stars
12/27/02 Jack Sommersby A 3rd-rate version of the 2nd-rate Goodfellas 1 stars
10/15/02 Monster W. Kung Great. Violence is occasionally too graphic, but it's still an excellent film. 5 stars
8/24/02 Turkish if u hav got the patience for long movies, you gotta see this shit man 5 stars
7/27/02 sdjfsdkjf get over the comparisons with goodfellas, it gets old. Not as bad as ppl make out. 4 stars
6/22/02 R.W. Welch Nothing really wrong here but it's mostly familiar stuff. 4 stars
11/28/01 The $1.98 Pyramid Perfect in every way. 5 stars
8/08/01 E-Funk Feels like a Goodfellas re-visit, but it stands out as another great Scorsese film. 5 stars
3/19/01 Michael Nicholls It's true i tell u! It;'s my life story on celluloid! 5 stars
2/16/01 MagdaM I have seen this film and I think it is very good film 5 stars
10/26/00 Jackie Townsend It was okay, but needed plot development 4 stars
9/07/00 Terrie Smith A lot like "Goodfellas" but not nearly as good. Pesci very boring. 3 stars
8/04/00 Elvisfan A rare Scorsese failure; by now its all been done by him, better too 3 stars
7/09/00 Tim In many ways a rehash of "Goodfellas", but still worth a look because of the sets & fashion 3 stars
6/24/00 Crystal Fleming Held my interest the entire time. Good acting. 5 stars
1/14/00 Fuck Yeah!! The cleverest,wittiest,most thought provoking movie ever!Right up there with Goodfellas!! 5 stars
11/11/99 jj fgf 1 stars
10/12/99 JERRY GARCIA PART 2 SCORSESE'S BEST-BETTER THAN GOODFELLAS!ITS FLAWLESS IN EVERY WAY 5 stars
9/24/99 alyssa Wish Scorcese made more pix. 5 stars
9/03/99 Elizaveta I am fucking scared of the mafia. Did Joe Pesci and little bro really have to die that way! 4 stars
6/30/99 Popa Chulo Almost hard to watch. Fuck is said 362 times, eyeballs are popped out of heads. It was good 4 stars
6/27/99 Chris Gianaras Great movie even though it recycled everything from GoodFellas. 5 stars
6/14/99 Dylan Scorcese does it again. De Niro and Stone are fantastic. 5 stars
4/22/99 lucas jackson This movie was a great display of the underworld in casinos 4 stars
3/14/99 little jerry Goodfellas is more flashy but also more annoying.I suspect this will stay with me longer. 4 stars
3/06/99 davebo Great movie overall but lets face it, its no Goodfellas 4 stars
11/27/98 Mr.Pink Has it's laws, but still impressive overall. 4 stars
11/25/98 Fred Stone almost became an actress. I wish I could stab some dick in the neck & get away w/ it. 5 stars
11/06/98 grunter 1 image remains: a dead Pesci being buried in his underpants: big Scorsese misstep 2 stars
11/04/98 Bad Kosh De Niro and Pesci rule, mobsters owning a casino... but lacking. 3 stars
10/26/98 Silent Rob Just misses a 'F.A.' If you liked 'Goodfellas', here's more..... 4 stars
10/24/98 Lord Of The Dunce Sharon Stone is sad. She's such a coffee table. 3 stars
10/07/98 Maegs More pretty pictures. Not a big Stone fan, but she was better than usual 4 stars
9/30/98 Melissa De Niro is really cool! This movie is a must see for the family. 5 stars
9/19/98 {{{OZ}}} Lost a star for Pesci, another for Stone. 3 stars
9/19/98 J-Guy *really good, but really long. maybe too long. but really good. loses a star for length.* 4 stars
9/16/98 Bbanks2908 Fucking awesome De Niro and Pesci at there best 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  22-Nov-1995 (R)
  DVD: 17-Jan-2006

UK
  23-Feb-1996 (18)

Australia
  07-Mar-1996 (R)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast