Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.98

Awesome: 26.43%
Worth A Look54.29%
Just Average: 12.14%
Pretty Crappy: 5%
Sucks: 2.14%

10 reviews, 80 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Joysticks by Jack Sommersby

Exterminator/Exterminator 2, The by Jack Sommersby

Doorman, The (2020) by Jay Seaver

Postmortem by Jack Sommersby

Warrior and the Sorceress, The by Jack Sommersby

Come True by Jay Seaver

Prisoners of the Lost Universe by Jack Sommersby

Stand Alone by Jack Sommersby

Borat Subsequent Moviefilm by Rob Gonsalves

Playing with Fire by Jack Sommersby

subscribe to this feed


Ray
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Peijin chen

"Oscar buzzes and post-film letdowns"
4 stars

You ought to watch this movie just to see Jamie Foxx. He doesn't have the best script to work with, but his acting is definitely a sight to behold. Towards the latter half of the movie, when they start using a newsreel type of look in a montage of Ray Charles' rocket to the top of the American charts, you start to forget that this is Jamie Foxx acting as Ray Charles. The acting is that good.

But this movie fails to transcend the cliches of the biopic. And I didn't really expect it to. The flashbacks to Ray's troubled childhood, the way his repressed memories of watching his brother drown haunt him, the hallucinations, the rehab program, how he finally "confronts" his mother and dead brother and gets over his conscience--all of this glib psychobabble is done in the usual way. The LSD inflected colors, the fast cutting, etc. is all a bit tiresome.

Similarly, the scenes of his philandering and dealing with his wife, left alone in her mansion with her kids, desperately wondering when her husband is going to return to the righteous path of the family man--all fairly formulaic, people say the things they are supposed to say, they cry when they're supposed to cry, they put their hands over their face and weep when the doors are slammed, drink after an angry phone call.

Biopic as hagiography is for backwards countries, but for us it's de rigeur to talk about all the sin and darkness in the lives of the rich and famous, maybe cast a little doubt on these objects of public admiration. I think that's OK, given that Ray Charles was a playa and a junkie in his life, facts are facts and cannot be shooed away. I just object to the way that it was done. But what can you do? It's a Hollywood biopic about Ray Charles, if I was directing I'd probably have played my cards the same way--the safe way.

Watch Jamie Foxx, because an actor making strides of this sort needs and deserves an audience that can appreciate this.

link directly to this review at https://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=10361&reviewer=391
originally posted: 12/24/04 00:36:43
[printer] printer-friendly format  
OFFICIAL SELECTION: 2004 Starz Denver Film Festival. For more in the 2004 Starz Denver Film Festival series, click here.
OFFICIAL SELECTION: 2004 Toronto Film Festival. For more in the 2004 Toronto Film Festival series, click here.

User Comments

10/05/18 morris campbell good not great 4 stars
8/28/09 Jeff Wilder Foxx's performance alone makes it worth viewing. 4 stars
9/27/08 Shaun Wallner Boring!! 1 stars
2/03/08 Pamela White Nice to see that celebritys whole life 5 stars
4/30/07 MP Bartley Foxx is excellent but it's no Walk the Line 3 stars
2/21/07 R.W.Welch Overlong biopic is carried by class A acting across the board. 4 stars
7/04/06 bonnie mckeithren It's obvious,that though you rate many movies you know nothing...about life. 5 stars
4/24/06 Frankie Its not everything i imagined but it was iight 3 stars
4/02/06 JRE great acting, but average movie 4 stars
9/08/05 ralph a true movie expert 32 yrs old jamie foxx really won me over with this performance.if you dont like this film your weird. 4 stars
8/02/05 ALDO Overactors' showcase, Ray's mom was pitiful, script sucked, lighting sucked, Foxx was good 2 stars
7/25/05 Eric Rollins You have to be blind and deaf to enjoy this, retched. 1 stars
7/07/05 ELI AAAAAAARG!!! People didn't like it that much??? screw 'em! 5 stars
6/27/05 JFK good movie, too long i think. Jamie foxx best job 4 stars
5/21/05 Cham A big letdown after all the hype. Jamie Foxx is good though. 3 stars
5/19/05 wendy rogers I liked this movie ok...did not know much about Ray before seeing it 4 stars
5/06/05 edsandiego2 I love the movie. Just listening to the music is well worth it. 4 stars
5/05/05 Michelle Lofton inspirational! 4 stars
5/05/05 Mind Junkie Awesome 5 stars
5/03/05 Kyle Kapetanakis Only watch it to see a great performance from Jamie Foxx, like Charlize Theron in Monster 4 stars
5/01/05 dwarzel Academy awards for doing impressions? 1 stars
4/24/05 OverTheRainbow one of the best in a long time- a must see! 5 stars
4/18/05 Maril Smith Excellent acting by all and very in-depth look at Ray Charles' life 5 stars
4/15/05 Carol Conway Great acting and soundtrack 4 stars
4/15/05 Jeff Gilliland Wow, I didn't know Ray was such a jerk. Good flick, but perhaps overated. 4 stars
4/11/05 Carolyn Rathburn Very well done, good movie. 5 stars
4/08/05 Dan AWESOME. 5 stars
4/08/05 Tanya Grays regina king was great 5 stars
3/25/05 Denise moving 4 stars
3/23/05 dana Gordon A rate of awesome for Jamie Foxx's performance alone 5 stars
3/18/05 Green Grenlim Jamie Foxx is the best thing about this movie !!! 4 stars
3/07/05 Taylor Fladgate Eric Childress, once again, nails a review...Jamie Foxx was incredible. 4 stars
3/06/05 Daveman Cracking performance from Foxx is done no justice by this altogether ordinary biopic. 3 stars
3/02/05 David Tsung jamie deserved the oscar 4 stars
2/23/05 Mary JD Wonderful... I cried... felt such emotions from Jamie Foxx's acting 5 stars
2/23/05 KR Best Picture? No. But Foxx better get that Oscar, damnit! 5 stars
2/21/05 George "The Duke" Feist Amazing Jamie Foxx...3 movies (on TV) up for awards 5 stars
2/18/05 Captain Craig Talent production from start to finish. 5 stars
2/18/05 april gupton good, but a little too long 4 stars
2/15/05 Miranda Lahr Great movie, Rest well ray 5 stars
2/13/05 Jeanine Price Loved Jamie Foxx 4 stars
2/12/05 Sylvia Belle Very interesting biographical information 4 stars
2/11/05 Aimee Shelton Jamie Foxx delivers an amazing performance! 4 stars
2/08/05 Lisa Jochelson I loved this movie. They left a ton out, but I guess they had to. 5 stars
2/08/05 Al Guy A great movie, especially for music lovers. 5 stars
2/06/05 Jim Interesting. Learned a lot of stuff, for instance, "Booger' has gotten bald. 4 stars
2/05/05 Cassandra Farrar AWESOME!!! 5 stars
2/03/05 Tanya Grays Excellent film, Jamie Foxx has proven himself in this movie to be a great actor. 5 stars
2/03/05 Kent B. Jamie Fox did an excellent job in this movie. 4 stars
2/01/05 Rodney Stephens REALLY ENJOYED IT 4 stars
1/31/05 Danita Berg Go get your Oscar, Jamie! I really thought this movie was well done, and Jaime suprised me 5 stars
1/31/05 Lynda Eby Was interesting 4 stars
1/31/05 Andrea Haresign Loved It!! 5 stars
1/31/05 Alison this movie has not gotten near the attention it deserves 5 stars
1/29/05 Gretchen Lowe very good, I was expecting a comedy though 3 stars
1/28/05 Richard Brandt Like many biopics, ends by trying to wrap things up rather than come to a conclusion 4 stars
1/21/05 Uncle Phucker Don't respect the director but he pulled off a pretty damn good movie. Acting is great! 5 stars
12/27/04 efrain Not spectacular, but really worth seeing. Foxx is awesome. 4 stars
11/30/04 malcolm that was 2.5 hours? never felt like it. Foxx's Ray a million times better than Smith's Ali! 4 stars
11/12/04 ownerofdajoint foxx is brilliant;BRILLIANT i tell you;this has best actor for foxx all over it! 5 stars
11/09/04 psycho black dwarf sweet sounds, well delivered dialogue, visually stimulating flashbacks 4 stars
11/07/04 Eric This is definitely the best film of the year! Jamie Foxx was incredible! 5 stars
11/06/04 Suzz great performances; good film making; a bit long 5 stars
11/05/04 Jonetta It was great 5 stars
11/03/04 Arlene mesmerizing performances, fantastic movie! 5 stars
11/03/04 John phenomenal performances - well done and very entertaining 5 stars
11/03/04 vagile Surprisingly good. 4 stars
11/02/04 Kris Jamie will get a nod but the academy wont give him his due...watch 4 stars
11/01/04 Jay It was great, JF should get a nod and the music was wonderful, I agree it was a long movie 5 stars
11/01/04 Shay Knowles I thought the movie was good, a bit long but it kept my interest. Jamie Foxx was excellen! 4 stars
11/01/04 Llorie I thought the movie was amazing and anyone who love music should go see it 5 stars
11/01/04 lulu jamie foxx rocks! 5 stars
11/01/04 Jack Paris Best bio flick that I have ever seen 5 stars
11/01/04 Paul E-motive! Wonderful performance by JF & cast. 5 stars
10/31/04 Naka Somebody should delete that previous comment. Jackass. 5 stars
10/30/04 ajay certainly worth a look. 4 stars
10/29/04 Kimberly Phenomenal 5 stars
10/29/04 Mix Master Mason Foxx rocks, but this is generic bio-pic stuff... like a VH1 behind the scenes kind of thing 4 stars
9/26/04 Dawn Danowski I loved it. The music was great, Jamie Foxx was great! 5 stars
9/14/04 MM Some problems, but Jamie Foxx is amazing 4 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  29-Oct-2004 (PG-13)
  DVD: 01-Feb-2005

UK
  N/A

Australia
  26-Jan-2005




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast