Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
2.62

Awesome: 18.99%
Worth A Look: 24.05%
Just Average: 6.33%
Pretty Crappy: 1.27%
Sucks49.37%

2 reviews, 67 user ratings


Latest Reviews

In Action by Erik Childress

Spiral (2021) by Peter Sobczynski

Woman in the Window, The (2021) by Peter Sobczynski

Those Who Wish Me Dead by Peter Sobczynski

Oxy Kingpins, The by Jay Seaver

Dry, The by Jay Seaver

Water Man, The by Jay Seaver

Who We Are: A Chronicle of Racism in America by Jay Seaver

About Endlessness by Rob Gonsalves

I Was a Simple Man by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Howard the Duck
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by CaptNish

"Let the flames begin...."
4 stars

"Philzy.....Philzy"

C'mon man....when you get past the words "box office flop," this movie ain't so bad. I mean really...look at it. It's just a zany little flick based on a Marvel comic of the same name. It wasn't meant to be a serious action flick or an incredible Sci-Fi movie, it's just good old wholesome fun.

So what's the scenerio? Through some scientific experiment, Howard the Duck is rocketed out of his life and homeworld and brought here to Earth. He meets Beverly (Lea Thompson) who's in this all chick band. Well, the scientist know that something came through that transfer and they are out looking for our pal Howard. So, with the help of the ever so obnoxious Phil (Tim Robbins), Bev hides Howard, and shortly thereafter falls in love with him.

Trying to recreate the experiment, Dr. Jennings (Jeffery Jones) brings down and is embodied by this supreme overlord hell bent on taking over the world. So who can save the Earth from it's untimely doom? Yeah...you guessed it...the duck.

Alright, it's campy, but equally it's a real fun film and you get to see Lea Thompson lookin' all hot an' shit in her undies. It's pretty kick ass.

But for some reason, this flick always comes down on the head of George Lucas. And I don't know why. I mean, all he did ws produce the bitch. If anyone should be hung, it should be Willard Huyck, the guy who adapted and directed the damn thing. Blame him. Lucas has enough faults to deal with without worrying about this one (The Phantom Menace -- yeah good title for the opening prequel asshole.)

Really, I have yet to figure out what the problem was with this flick. Maybe just too much hype...

link directly to this review at https://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=1052&reviewer=43
originally posted: 09/30/98 11:51:30
[printer] printer-friendly format  
Marvel Characters: For more in the Marvel Characters series, click here.

User Comments

10/01/19 Fuck this movie gatabombatabuz 1 stars
5/15/15 felix As long as you can get over the cheap duck costume, this movie is solid 5 stars
12/31/14 david froman worst film of the decade 1 stars
11/02/14 Charles Tatum Do not be conned, this movie is among the worst of all time 1 stars
10/09/12 Quigley I'd say it's actually worse than its reputation. Do yourself a favor and avoid at all costs 1 stars
3/15/12 PAUL SHORTT EGREGIOUS ADAPTATION 1 stars
10/10/11 Heather Furmanek Lol funny! A must see. 5 stars
11/20/10 DUKE7734 I think this movie is underrated...I find it is hilarious 4 stars
2/17/10 Jesse S. This is a 1 star movie sober, but a 5 star movie when you're stoned! I LOL'ed!!! 5 stars
12/28/09 Dane Youssef One of the most astonishing bad, hurtfully awful excuses for film there ever was or will be 1 stars
9/04/09 rob lucas should be hanged for this pile of steaming duck sht 1 stars
4/11/08 Jackie One of the best kids films ever. Plus Lea Thompson is really hot in this. 5 stars
3/15/08 Pamela White total garbage 1 stars
2/28/07 hush reminds me of that movie with the chick and the mirrors, member that? 3 stars
1/18/07 lucasallen whoa whoa whoa 3 stars
1/05/07 Sugarfoot Direly inept disaster which like Jack Sommersby, I blame on my low SAT score. 1 stars
12/18/06 David Pollastrini Duck suit looked really bad 1 stars
7/17/06 David Cohen Fake looking duck suit,desperately misses the satirical humor of the comic 1 stars
6/07/06 Carolyn Rathburn Strange, funny, plain weird 4 stars
2/23/06 omar im still wondering why i saw this 1 stars
2/02/06 Jeff Anderson Another great guilty pleasure from the 80's & SURPRISE, it's a lot of fun. Thompson ROCKS!! 5 stars
11/28/05 kyle pretty damn good, got its flaws but, look past that and you got a great film 5 stars
8/12/05 ES the overlord thing was pretty cool looking, plus I liked the concept 4 stars
7/10/05 Corky My favorite guilty pleasure... 4 stars
7/09/04 Garry Not a great plot, not a great adaptation of the comic, but campy and full of quirky humor. 4 stars
5/18/04 gray fun cheese 3 stars
4/17/04 American Slasher Goddess Just horrifying. How the hell did this script ever get approved by Hollywood execs? 1 stars
3/08/04 Sean McLean The original comics were nothing short of brilliant, the movie is fun-filled 80's cheese! 4 stars
1/07/04 Minderbinder It's like watching a train wreck in slow motion, but not as funny. 1 stars
12/16/03 Allison HUH?! What the hell was this? It never made sense to me! 1 stars
4/28/03 Buko I guess people could not see how funny and enjoyable is this movie 4 stars
3/31/03 Jack Sommersby Saw thius opening day when I was 16. So THAT'S why I got only a 740 SAT score!!!!!!!! 1 stars
3/21/03 Jack This crap is what the studios think they can pass off a funny, well it's not 1 stars
3/12/03 Tracy best movie ever made if you don't think so shut the f*ck up i know someone else too!!! 5 stars
2/12/03 deza One of the only thing that made watch this was to hear John Barry's part of the score. 4 stars
2/06/03 jeff 1 of my fav. kids movies growing up. Its 1 of the chessiest movie ever. i love it! 5 stars
1/20/03 UrMom Enjoyable at 12 at night, so bad it spins around to good again..and it has stop motion 5 stars
11/18/02 Dr Sky Tower ABSOLUTE SH*T, don't bother with this unless u want ur braincells to shrivel up 1 stars
8/16/02 Hugh Jass In the right mood it can be funny because of how stupid it is 3 stars
1/12/02 Magnum Craphole Even back when I was 11 I thought Howard the Fuck was moronic beyond belief. 1 stars
1/03/02 Cracked head This is what they make bad people watch in hell. 1 stars
11/29/01 Andrew Carden The Comic Book Was Awesome, but This Movie Is Dull To The Core. 1 stars
11/27/01 Cookie Cutter WHAT THE FUCK WAS THAT?!? 1 stars
10/17/01 Howard Rosenman Crap! 1 stars
9/03/01 Butterbean A cute, cheesy movie. You have to watch it with your goofiest friends. 4 stars
8/11/01 Ryan Kenner Not that bad actually, it is amusing 3 stars
7/20/01 Rolling Thunder One of the worst movies ever made 1 stars
6/06/01 Dean I can't believe some people actually LIKED this movie. It's a disease! 1 stars
5/07/01 Phobos if you voted "Sucks All Ass" you should be shot 5 stars
4/04/01 Monster W. Kung Anyone that thinks this is any better than shit should be shot. FUCK THIS FUCKING MOVIE! 1 stars
3/03/01 Schmendrick The Magician VERY GODAWFUL!!!!!!! 1 stars
2/28/01 *~Danielle*Ophelia~* (formerly KyLe*BrOfLoVsKi) Worth a Look...to laugh at how woefully bad it is. No wonder Lucas disowned it. 1 stars
2/23/01 Corbin Dallas cool film, recommended if you like " The 5th Element" and " X-Men". 5 stars
2/19/01 Rainey Roo I just loved this movie as a kid 5 stars
2/12/01 Corbin Dallas WHAT WAS LUCAS THINKING!!!! 1 stars
12/28/00 EvilDead-Ash My God, What people are you on, This Stunked like Hell. 1 stars
5/21/00 foxdvd The worst movie ever made 1 stars
2/11/00 steve layne I loved it as a kid and still like it today but im sort of ashamed I still do. d 4 stars
1/17/00 Jedi15 I actually LOVED this when I was a kid! Still good after all these years. 4 stars
11/28/99 Crystal Fleming Interesting and Fun 5 stars
10/26/99 Karahde Khan Not the best movie ever but highly superior than most movies today. Sadly underrated. 5 stars
9/09/99 Jason Kinsey one word: this is the stupidest piece of shit I've ever seen! Jesus! 1 stars
7/13/99 SID Umm....Tim Robbins was alright.... 2 stars
5/20/99 J. Random Hacker Never understood why this flick has such a bad rep... just don't expect 'Citizen Kane' 4 stars
4/18/99 jimmy jam If you ar ein a coma - then this movie is for you 1 stars
1/15/99 DRMJSP Gave me nightmares when I was little. I LIKE IT!! 4 stars
9/28/98 Marty in St.Louis I must give this movie a good review, it's director is a jedi knight. 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  01-Aug-1986 (PG)

UK
  12-Dec-1986 (12)

Australia
  18-Aug-1986 (PG)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast