Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.55

Awesome73%
Worth A Look: 16%
Just Average: 7%
Pretty Crappy: 1%
Sucks: 3%

6 reviews, 64 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Pain and Glory by Peter Sobczynski

Rusalka (aka The Siren), The by Jay Seaver

Riot Girls by Rob Gonsalves

Crawl by Rob Gonsalves

Wallflower by Rob Gonsalves

Parts You Lose, The by Jay Seaver

Dilili in Paris by Jay Seaver

First Love by Jay Seaver

Dolemite Is My Name by Peter Sobczynski

Monos by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Raising Arizona
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Chef ADogg

"How many Coen brothers does it take to screw in a lightbulb?"
5 stars

Joel and Ethan Coen, those two wackily pretentious filmmaking bros, deliver with this wily down-South tale of trailer park couples, kidnapped children, redneck outlaws, and one very angry apocalyptic road warrior.

The Coens have a habit of crafting high minded morality tales full of drab scenery and ridiculous symbolism. "Raising Arizona" is a break in form, and a new kind of film altogether. Everything is strange and blown out of proportion--the story seems to take place in an alternate reality where the heroes are just as goony as everybody else (if a bit more articulate}.

The picture is best when it slows down and opens up--the car chases are good, yes, and inventively filmed, but the real heart is in the way that Nicolas Cage fawns over his wife and kidnapped son, the way that unwanted houseguest William Forsythe compliments Holly Hunter on her delicious cereal flakes, and the way that hard hearted businessman Nathan Arizona melts at the sight of aforementioned child returned to its home.

As all Coen pics, this one is full of delectable details that make every shot something you've never seen before--the brothers rival Orson Welles as master frame stuffers. Tidbits are tucked into every corner of the film, serving as rewards for those patient enough to watch "Raising Arizona" multiple times.

But there's also a bigger picture, and that's what mass audiences will pick up on--the heartwarming story of a barren couple who so desperately want a child that they're willing to hijack one from a woman who has just given birth to quintuplets. The film examines their twisted logic with close, strangely approving scrutiny, and in turn makes the audience believe in and sympathy with these motley oddballs.

Armed with an experimental visual style and a great cast (the standout being a pre-action film Nic Cage}, the Coens serve up the goods with this wonderful film. There's something here for everyone, but the picture never feels strained--this kind of comedy comes naturally to the Coens, and I wish it was a side of themselves they explored more often.

"Raising Arizona" is strange and sure to please anyone who's willing to open up their minds (and hearts} to a supremely immature group of people grasping desperately for just a little bit of satisfaction and a piece of the old American dream.

link directly to this review at https://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=1055&reviewer=123
originally posted: 07/18/99 15:42:11
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

6/03/13 PAUL SHORTT QUIRKY, FUNNY SPOOF 3 stars
9/03/12 Courtney The Coen brothers one true comedy. Hilarious. 4 stars
11/18/11 Golden J. Williams Jr. Laughing all through this movie; did wonders for me. Cage and Hunter-what a team. 5 stars
7/02/09 brian Okay then. 5 stars
9/17/08 Stu Very funny (and sometimes poignant). The Coens rock. 4 stars
10/23/06 R.W.Welch Inspired lunacy. 5 stars
8/22/06 Sepi53 nice suprisingly good film 4 stars
2/18/06 VC so weird so funny 5 stars
2/04/06 Kankasaur clever and kooky Coens' classic 5 stars
8/19/05 Indrid Cold A little out of control in places and not wall-to-wall hilarious, but still very memorable. 4 stars
7/12/05 Jake This is a wacky film with a bizarre, ironic and hilarious sense of humor! 5 stars
1/27/05 Charlie Hilarious? Extremely Entertaining! 5 stars
10/01/04 Daveman Despite the maudlin final reel, it's simply bursting with ideas, wit and imagination. 5 stars
7/26/04 MyGreenBed One of the great comedies in movie history (with After Hours and Take The Money And Run). 5 stars
6/14/04 T. Maj Whimsical classic--the Coens' best film 5 stars
6/10/04 Kevin Farkas It doesn't get any funnier or more fun than this! 5 stars
6/10/04 jason nimtz 1 stars
3/12/04 James Kustes One of the Coens' best 5 stars
2/09/04 HorrorScribbler Would you buy furniture from a store called Unpainted Huffheinz? 5 stars
11/21/03 adguy If you don't like this movie, you must have a panty on your head. 4 stars
9/11/03 DANIEL DOUGLAS ONE OF NICOLAS CAGE'S BEST! TOP FILM!!! 5 stars
6/22/03 cochese Another "classic" I cant love. Is it just me? 2 stars
6/19/03 John Aster Habig classy stab at white trash cliches but not as great as O Brother 5 stars
5/16/03 George Jung People who hate this movie can suck diseased monkey cock...or a cock of some kind...I guess 5 stars
11/08/02 Stevo 'When there was no crawdad, we ate sand.' 'You ate whut?!'?!' 5 stars
9/30/02 hoboe joe i agree with Erik 1 stars
9/29/02 Charles Tatum Your'e a flower you are 4 stars
9/10/02 Francofile This one sticks in your craw, and tickles, for a good long time. Nic Cage's finest hour. 5 stars
9/07/02 Jim The Coen brothers' funniest movie 5 stars
9/07/02 Kyle A damn good surprise. 5 stars
7/10/02 Film Dude No Andrew, this was NOT A BAD MOVIE. FUCK, I hate you... 5 stars
3/05/02 Veronica Foxx aka The Raven-Haired Temptress Quirky little film that makes for an entertaining and delightful viewing. 4 stars
2/01/02 the scarecrow Do you hate every movie you see, Andrew Carden? 5 stars
11/17/01 Andrew Carden It's Very Rare When A Movie Like This Comes Out. It's That Bad. 1 stars
10/22/01 Soggy Bottom Boy One of the best comedies of the 80s, this one will live on as a classic! 5 stars
9/05/01 Butterbean A brilliant comedy 5 stars
8/08/01 moviegoer What else to say but, I LOVE THIS MOVIE! 5 stars
8/06/01 E-Funk This was my first Coen bros. experiences...it's hard to top. 5 stars
6/14/01 Law Firm of Dewey, Cheatam & Howe Coens are genuises. Period. 5 stars
3/17/01 hum if, like me, you adore the coens work, its awesome. for others... 4 stars
2/11/01 john d(THE DUDE) my second all time favorite movie 5 stars
1/14/01 John Nelson One of the funniest movies, ever!!! 5 stars
1/12/01 zippernek Son, there's a panty on your head 5 stars
12/03/00 Cristopher Revilla quirky but awesome action/comedy flick 5 stars
10/26/00 Liz S Funny, but not a movie i would choose to watch on my own time 4 stars
10/21/00 Hartman Nic Cage's best role ever. Holly Hunter's one of the best actresses around. Perfect movie 5 stars
10/11/00 Phil hilarious chase, hilarious movie 5 stars
10/02/00 Zeitgeist "Would you buy furniture from a store called 'Unpainted Hufheinz'?" 5 stars
8/10/00 Elvisfan Turn to the right 5 stars
10/19/99 The Bomb 69 classic, the late,great Tex Cobb was icing on the cake 5 stars
9/24/99 alyssa Great movie - love the music. 4 stars
9/15/99 Ratso The best comedy ever made. John Goodman is unstoppable. 5 stars
9/08/99 Haden maybe my favorite movie ever. If you don't like it-you suck 5 stars
9/03/99 Elizaveta Yodas and Shit! 5 stars
7/25/99 Josh Radde Magificent movie 5 stars
7/21/99 PhilmPhreak Son, you got a pantie on your head. 5 stars
6/27/99 Jim Armstrong Only incredibly anal and unimaginative people could dislike this movie. 5 stars
1/19/99 C Dub Exceptional comedy, great performances and of course, the phenomenal fight scenes! 5 stars
11/19/98 Emma brilliant 5 stars
10/29/98 Silent Rob A quirky comic extravaganza. You'll either get it, or you like Friends... 5 stars
10/19/98 Kwyjibo Classic Coens movie. Better than Fargo in my opinion. 5 stars
9/30/98 Nate Dogg EXCELLENT FLICK!!! I live near that motorcycle guy with the grenades too... 5 stars
9/28/98 {{{OZ}}} Great fucking film. It all went down for Cage after this. What a shame. 5 stars
9/28/98 Johny A true landmark comedy 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  02-Feb-1987 (PG)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  N/A


Directed by
  Joel Coen

Written by
  Ethan Coen
  Joel Coen

Cast
  Nicolas Cage
  Holly Hunter
  Trey Wilson
  John Goodman
  William Forsythe
  Sam McMurray



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast