Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
1.85

Awesome: 0%
Worth A Look: 2%
Just Average: 26%
Pretty Crappy: 27%
Sucks45%

10 reviews, 40 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Homewrecker (2019) by Jay Seaver

Gemini Man by Jay Seaver

Pain and Glory by Peter Sobczynski

Rusalka (aka The Siren), The by Jay Seaver

Riot Girls by Rob Gonsalves

Crawl by Rob Gonsalves

Wallflower by Rob Gonsalves

Parts You Lose, The by Jay Seaver

Dilili in Paris by Jay Seaver

First Love by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


White Noise
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Elaine Perrone

"Ghost in the Machine."
3 stars

Jonathan and Anna Rivers are living the American dream. Jonathan (Michael Keaton) is a successful architect. Anna (Chandra West), an internationally acclaimed writer with the face of a super-model, is newly pregnant. When Anna leaves the house for an appointment with her publisher, backing out of their driveway with a breezy “Don’t worry about me,” it should come as no great surprise to savvy moviegoers that this will be the last time Jonathan sees Anna alive.

While grieving for his murdered wife, Jonathan is approached by a stranger, Raymond Price (Ian McNeice), who claims to have communicated with Anna through a process called EVP – Electronic Voice Phenomena – a method of tracking voices of the dead through a television’s, radio’s or other transmitter’s “white noise” and recording them onto audio tapes. Jonathan brusquely dismisses the man as a crackpot, until he receives two incoming calls from Anna’s cell phone, which understandably freaks him out.

Fueled by a mixture of grief and curiosity, Jonathan goes to Raymond’s home, where he starts to become convinced of the validity of EVP when he hears the other man’s recording of Anna and speaks with Sarah Tate (Deborah Kara Unger), a bookstore owner and devotee of EVP who has worked with Raymond to find closure with her dead fiancé.

After setting up a network of televisions, radios, and computers in his own home, Raymond is repeatedly contacted by Anna, who pleads with him to save the future victims of the man who murdered her.

The concept of Electronic Voice Phenomena has had a substantial international following for over 20 years. Extensively researched and documented, there is plenty of information available about EVP that makes fascinating reading.

Unfortunately, Niall Johnson’s script is ridden with far too many plot holes for “White Noise” to make any serious argument for the validity of EVP. Still, until the movie completely cheeses out with a “Saw”-like serial killer ending, it delivers plenty of tense moments and chills without resorting to the usual Hollywood clichés of the genre.

Michael Keaton’s performance is nicely understated, as is the direction of the BBC-trained Geoffrey Sax, for whom “White Noise” is his first feature.

2004 turned out to be the Year of the Romanticized Bio-Pic, some (The Aviator, Ray, Kinsey) far better than others (Callas Forever, Beyond the Sea). 2005 seems to be shaping up early as the Year of the Paranormal, with the usual promise (threat) of varying degrees of quality. While “White Noise” is far from the best of the genre, there have been – and will be – plenty worse.

link directly to this review at https://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=11420&reviewer=376
originally posted: 01/07/05 18:03:03
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

9/19/13 Marmite I was 90% sure I hated this movie before the climax. I ended up 200% sure. 1 stars
1/26/13 PAUL SHORTT MORBID, MUDDLED UNINVOLVING THRILLER 1 stars
4/10/10 Andrew, Amy and Gaelan shite, shite and more shite. The ending was terrible! I've never said WTF as much! 1 stars
11/27/09 Martin Smith I liked the concept but thought the characters were weak and pointless 3 stars
9/02/08 Shaun Wallner Ugg boring!! 2 stars
3/30/08 Raika Any chance those three ghosts can attack the director? 1 stars
10/23/07 Ivana Mann The ending was the biggest WTF moment in the history of American cinema.Absolute poo! 1 stars
8/19/06 Beau pointless scenes, lacked scary themes and trash that should neva have made it to the cinema 1 stars
8/13/06 Sharon its sucks!!! they should have never made this movie I wasted my time and $7!!! I hate it!! 1 stars
4/30/06 Ben W I was a bit clueless, I really wanted to know who the three ghosts were. 2 stars
3/26/06 Doremimi Would someone please cast Michael Keaton in a decent movie? This is getting ridiculous. 1 stars
1/27/06 chris f good movie worth watching 4 stars
1/02/06 Wiseman it was good half of the begining, But what the hell was the end all about? dumb as hell! 1 stars
11/06/05 Count Blah I want the wasted time back. I could have slept instead. . . . 1 stars
9/19/05 Mickey This is like watching a foreign film with no subtitles!! 1 stars
9/01/05 Teh Gret one I really didn't get it....so who was the guy in the chicken suit? Poo movie LOL111111111111 1 stars
7/25/05 Eric Rollins Poltigeist treated this subject more effectively, but it has it's moments. 3 stars
7/05/05 Indrid Cold The story is somewhat weak and unsatisfying, but not bad overall. 3 stars
7/02/05 kanga311 It totally left me hanging. Glad I didn't spend $10 at the theater to see it! 2 stars
6/08/05 camille What was that about? 2 stars
6/07/05 Darryl Watched this same night as "Boogeyman" and this wasn't as scary. 3 stars
6/05/05 Monday Morning Don't waste your time except to ogle Deborah Unger, an ultrababe if I ever saw one. 1 stars
5/24/05 Bart michael keaton is THIS desperate?? I mean..did he even READ the absurd ending? Kill me now! 2 stars
5/24/05 Doug Awfully done, yet by the end you'll be too ANGRY to laugh at it. 2 stars
5/22/05 Victor Meldrew What the hell was that ending all about?! I just didn't understand it! 1 stars
5/22/05 Tammy Horrible film too confusing to be interesting 1 stars
5/20/05 Christy Schultz Look at all the time I will never get back 1 stars
5/19/05 wendy rogers This movie started out ok and then the ending got alittle crazy. It was ok overall. 3 stars
5/18/05 ad could be worse i guess 2 stars
4/15/05 shatonjia Am I allowed to sue for false advertising on a movie preview? 1 stars
2/07/05 Richard Linxwiler Liked it, a scary movie with an actual plot. 4 stars
2/06/05 Real This was a really bad movie. The end totally sucks. 1 stars
1/29/05 Christine It was an okay movie 3 stars
1/29/05 clarance the cobra LICKS BALLS 1 stars
1/27/05 New Jersey Rules There hasn't been a good horror movie since The Blair Witch. 1 stars
1/13/05 Al Guy Not scary. The ad was scarier. 2 stars
1/10/05 Aaron Brown Has its flaws but is still an okay movie. 3 stars
1/09/05 Steve Michaud Staggeringly inept; devoid of chills, atmosphere, logic, or entertainment value 1 stars
1/08/05 Meryl As a student of EVP...this made me weep. Television static? WTF? 2 stars
1/07/05 Kristina Williams Batman sees dead people 3 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  07-Jan-2005 (PG-13)
  DVD: 17-May-2005

UK
  N/A

Australia
  21-Apr-2005




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast