Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.27

Awesome: 17.78%
Worth A Look: 18.89%
Just Average43.33%
Pretty Crappy: 12.22%
Sucks: 7.78%

7 reviews, 48 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Tammy and the T-Rex by Jay Seaver

Extra Ordinary by Jay Seaver

Daniel Isn't Real by Jay Seaver

Midsommar by Rob Gonsalves

Blood on Her Name by Jay Seaver

Parasite (2019) by Peter Sobczynski

American Fighter by Jay Seaver

Moon in the Hidden Woods, The by Jay Seaver

Homewrecker (2019) by Jay Seaver

Gemini Man by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Hitch
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Elaine Perrone

"By all means, get Hitched this Valentine's Day weekend."
4 stars

The experience of “Hitch” is somewhat like being invited out on a date with a quirky friend – no one you’d want to marry, mind you, but an amiable person with whom you enjoy spending a lively evening. When that person arrives at your door, he or she is bearing the most beautifully wrapped box of chocolates, all tied up with a lovely bow. When you open the box, you’re delighted to find an assortment of your favorites – in this case, 74 of them. I don’t know about you, but in a situation like this I don’t even try to resist.

“Hitch” was filmed entirely in New York, on 74 locations, and as seen through the lens of DP Andrew Dunn, the city couldn’t possibly be more glorious. Much of the movie was shot downtown, in and around SoHo and the Meatpacking District near 14th Street. Pivotal scenes were shot in Central Park, in the Fulton Fish Market, inside and outside the Ellis Island Museum, on the Hudson River waterfront, and on the steps of the Metropolitan Museum. A lot of the fun comes from spotting the film’s “non-human” stars and cameo players, from the Statue of Liberty, Madison Square Garden, and the Chrysler Building to a trendy rice-pudding restaurant, Rice to Riches, in NoLita on the Lower East Side. The loft interiors were shot from real lofts in TriBeCa and SoHo, with spectacular views of the Manhattan skyline. Even if “Hitch” had absolutely nothing else to offer, it is well worth the price of admission to view it as a lovely Valentine to New York City, decked out in all her best and saturated in brilliant color.

On the level of a screwball romantic comedy, “Hitch” hardly qualifies as a classic, but it definitely comes under the category of that enjoyable moviegoing experience known as Big Dumb Fun.

Will Smith is utterly charming as Alex Hitchens, a dating coach who “hitches” up decent but schlubby men with the women of their dreams, with whom they might otherwise never have had a prayer of connecting. As Hitch philosophizes, “Any man has a chance to sweep any woman off her feet – he just needs the right broom.” Hitch works anonymously and only by referral. His cardinal rule is that he will not coach any man who treats women disrespectfully.

Hitch’s latest client is Albert (an hilarious Kevin James), a nebbishy accountant who wears white socks with his suits and who has a propensity for spilling mustard on his lapel. While coaching Albert in his quest to win the heart of heiress Allegra Cole (Amber Valletta), Hitch makes his own connection with Sara Melas (Eva Mendes), a gossip columnist who follows Allegra’s every move and who is trying to get the scoop on the anonymous “Date Doctor.”

Of course, complications ensue and identities – and intentions – are mistaken before everything is wrapped up exactly the way it should be in the end. Still, the performances are scintillating, director Andy Tennant’s hand is light and deft, and first-time screenwriter Kevin Bisch’s script is warm and funny.

As a whole, “Hitch” is as bubbly and sparkling as a glass of Champagne – the perfect accompaniment to that box of chocolates this Valentine’s Day weekend.

link directly to this review at https://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=11675&reviewer=376
originally posted: 02/12/05 18:51:29
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

3/24/18 morris campbell amusing flick 4 stars
10/21/15 pfovhcu USA 2 stars
8/03/14 Jamie Love this movie, fun and feel good, but what's with this review? 5 stars
2/26/14 Monday Morning Pretty good, but maybe 20 minutes too long. 3 stars
3/18/10 PAUL SHORTT LONG-WINDED, FAR FETCHED AND UNAMUSING DESPITE ITS WARM HEARTED PERFORMANCES 2 stars
10/22/09 Rachel Laughed until I cried with this movie. Definitely worth a look. 4 stars
5/07/09 true Love Smith, hate when a director ruins a movie trying to make it "different" 1 stars
11/30/08 Shaun Wallner Well made. 3 stars
4/07/08 pineapple Didn't like it so much. I don't see why everyone has such high ratings. 1 stars
9/13/07 Tracy very funny movie, loved Will in this. 5 stars
12/14/06 Stanley Thai A good, funny comedy. It's a bit too long, I think... 3 stars
4/02/06 robbo once it settled down brilliant 5 stars
2/26/06 Steven Lewis An O.k. romantic comedy from action star will smith 3 stars
2/06/06 Anthony It was funny and good 4 stars
1/15/06 Frank Rountree Not bad, good story, and a good job by all the actors and actresses 3 stars
1/04/06 Barry Too bad the heroine is such an unethical bitch. 2 stars
1/01/06 Ry Also better than I though, good movie 5 stars
10/17/05 Josh Hitch rocked my socks off! 5 stars
9/21/05 Indrid Cold All I know is that I lauged a lot more than at "The 40 Year Old Virgin." 4 stars
9/13/05 bbbr funny and worth watching 5 stars
8/25/05 Brian Wilshire Funny, insightful script helps likeable stars present a film to recommend to everybody. 5 stars
8/12/05 ES Better than I thought it'd be= good for a date 4 stars
7/28/05 Nobody I thought it would be just another chick flick, but it's actually pretty funny 4 stars
7/25/05 Eric Rollins Apathy thy name is Hitch. 2 stars
7/13/05 Matthew Rudawsky Cute, but veeery predictable. A few nice ideas and mostly good acting. Worth a look... once 4 stars
7/03/05 Steven shit,fell asleep till the last 5 mniutes 1 stars
6/19/05 Brian It was pretty stupid, but Kevin James was funny as hell. 2 stars
6/17/05 ELI It was cute, just the ending wedding was REALLY retarded.... 4 stars
3/23/05 Kathy terPlugg Ridiculous stock characters, cliched situations. Groan!!!!! 1 stars
3/20/05 R.C.F. Kevin James saved most comedy-factor that's missing here overall, too slow towards the end 4 stars
3/13/05 Rebecca Great movie, had me in hysterics 5 stars
3/05/05 I.P.Freely Great!!! 5 stars
3/04/05 Leesha Lots of laughs amid the sappy (yet enjoyable) love stories. 4 stars
3/03/05 jeff funny but not that funny. kinda slow. 3 stars
3/02/05 HORAN THE MAN!!!!! EHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH!!! 5 stars
2/27/05 Jim Amiable fluff 3 stars
2/26/05 Gray wow a black guy teachs a white guy how to be cool how original 1 stars
2/24/05 L.G. Best Romantic Comedy Ever, it's a Pick Me Up, Loved it, Great Cast and Script 5 stars
2/23/05 Mary JD Great movie... had me laughing most of the time! would recommend 5 stars
2/19/05 Jennifer Tower LOVED IT!! So cute! 5 stars
2/19/05 Steve Michaud Engaging, entertaining, and funny; for once, a romantic comedy done right 4 stars
2/18/05 Denise Duspiva funny 3 stars
2/17/05 Eileen Lammers I laughed all the way through this one! It is a joy! 5 stars
2/17/05 Fahad Pinto It was ok, not the best, but not bad either. 3 stars
2/14/05 Obi Wan Great Job by Will Smith! Very funny and definately a great date movie! 5 stars
2/14/05 Will Smith Aw, hell no! 1 stars
2/13/05 Kristina Williams when will people see that he acts the same in EVERY movie? Dammit. 1 stars
2/11/05 Kenneth Flickstein Will Smith shows off well in this chick flick for guys. 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  11-Feb-2005 (PG-13)
  DVD: 14-Jun-2005

UK
  N/A

Australia
  03-Mar-2005


Directed by
  Andy Tennant

Written by
  Kevin Bisch

Cast
  Will Smith
  Eva Mendes
  Kevin James
  Michael Rapaport
  Adam Arkin
  Amber Valletta



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast