Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.12

Awesome: 22.58%
Worth A Look25.81%
Just Average: 18.28%
Pretty Crappy: 7.53%
Sucks25.81%

6 reviews, 57 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Fagara by Jay Seaver

Rezo by Jay Seaver

Depraved by Jay Seaver

Linda Ronstadt: The Sound of My Voice by Peter Sobczynski

Goldfinch, The by Peter Sobczynski

Freaks (2019) by Jay Seaver

Official Secrets by Jay Seaver

Balloon by Jay Seaver

Satanic Panic by Jay Seaver

Ms. Purple by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Drop Dead Gorgeous
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Chef ADogg

"The most witless production this year."
1 stars

I think the most telling thing about "Drop Dead Gorgeous" is its audience's reaction. When I went to see it, the theater was not exactly packed--me, my buddy Wollman, a few scattered teenagers looking for laughs, and an old lady sitting by herself in the corner of the room. Who do you suppose laughed most at the jokes about Jews, homosexuals, and the mentally handicapped?

I sure as hell didn't chuckle.

There aren't very many films that offend me, but "Drop Dead Gorgeous" is one of them. I suppose the reason I found the picture so insulting was the utter lack of intelligence, wit, or heart behind the desperately vulgar "humor" that works as a foundation here.

The movie centers around a small town beauty pagent (the small town is, of course, located in Minnesota, giving the actors plenty of chances to employ "funny accents") and the cutthroat backstage antics that drive it.

Kirstie Alley (officially washed up) plays a stereotypically conniving bitch-mother who wants her daughter (Denise Richards, she of fabulous breasts and little acting talent) to win the pageant in an effort to regain some of her past glory.

The main contender for the coveted tiara is Amber Atkins, played by Kirsten Dunst. Dunst nearly salvages a few of her scenes where the other actors aren't around, but she never really manages to overcome the tastelessly unfunny script.

"Drop Dead Gorgeous" strives for the "black comedy" label, and thinks it can achieve this through lots of explosions and vomit-fests (actually, only one vomit fest, but it's the most shallowly disgusting thing I've ever seen). The goods just aren't there, though.

Maybe if the filmmakers behind this wretched lump of shit had concentrated more on the performances and story (not to mention one sympathetic character...would that really be asking too much?) instead of straining so hard for a wickedly irreverent tone, "Drop Dead Gorgeous" might have been worth watching.

FYI: The old lady in the corner laughed the hardest at all the racism on parade here. It's not really her fault she's an insensitive bitch, though. She's just from the old school, where it was common to laugh at misfortune and pain. And sympathy was not a virtue.

link directly to this review at https://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=1317&reviewer=123
originally posted: 07/30/99 03:34:36
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

1/21/16 FireWithFire For those who thought "Fargo" didn't shit on White Minnesotans enough 1 stars
8/19/13 PAUL SHORTT IRRITATING, MEAN-SPIRITED AND CONTRIVED 1 stars
9/27/10 Phineas DROP DEAD HOLLYWOOD, for your RACIST depictions of White Minnesotans!!!! 1 stars
11/06/09 art RIDICULOUS! 1 stars
2/18/07 Tiffany funny, in a dumb blonde kinda way 4 stars
6/14/06 Lisa First watch really funny. Second watch didn't laugh. Not a fave. 4 stars
5/22/06 Ashley Hinz Strange, very strange. 2 stars
2/08/05 Jeff Anderson Some very funny moments & the cast is a BLAST, but the film doesn't know when to quit! 3 stars
7/24/04 Michelle Bird I THOUGHT THIS MOVIE WAS REALLY CREATIVE! 5 stars
7/16/04 J I feel like dropping dead after seeing this film. 3 stars
4/16/04 Michael Greenwaldt A hilarious and underrated dark comedy! 5 stars
12/18/03 funny yeah 5 stars
8/23/03 Valerie Cameron Kirsten D. awesome! then dookyheads go waste her on crap like virgin suicides & bring it on 5 stars
6/13/03 snowconehead Does anyone else miss "The State" ? 5 stars
3/22/03 pj Oh, I thought it was pretty damn funny 4 stars
12/29/02 John Aster Habig a true look at dark world of midwest life and status quo plus kirsten is hot 5 stars
11/28/02 mr. Pink Flawed, but hilarious in some parts! Cast, even Richards, is great. 4 stars
11/08/02 Stevo Very funny for a while but ran out of good material after about half an hour. 4 stars
9/20/02 I Can't Swim One good scene w/Mo Collins & that SNL chick cannot save this horseshit 1 stars
6/23/02 blake not bad 4 stars
6/11/02 Helen Souter Rated only 3.5 stars??? I loved this movie. This website is bullshit. 5 stars
3/24/02 Veronica Foxx (The Raven-Haired Temptress) How is this Fucking Awesome? Jesus Christ, this is more like horseshit on celluloid! 1 stars
1/31/02 Valerie Cameron Kirsten D. awesome! then dookyheads go waste her on crap like virgin suicides & bring it on 5 stars
1/16/02 Jockstud Anyone who doesn't see the great humor in this movie needs a vagina. 5 stars
12/31/01 Andrew Carden It Was OK...Wasn't Much Of A Funny Comedy, but Still Watchable. 3 stars
9/17/01 cinkcool Has its Moments. 4 stars
9/02/01 Butterbean Nice comedy that was corny in some places. 3 stars
8/30/01 Gary Solid three-star comedy. Good performances and some really strong comic moments. 3 stars
8/25/01 bob davis this is a funny movie. sorry the critics "missed" it 5 stars
6/11/01 Rebecca Hartnett It was a good movie, kirsten did great. 4 stars
5/12/01 The Moorhen I absolutely HATE documentary style films. The mother's hand being fried to a can was good 2 stars
2/06/01 the?girl prob. best viewed by those outside looking in... black and piss funny. 4 stars
9/07/00 Gray Kirsten Dunst is really good in this. Denise Richards is crappy tho. Pretty funny. 4 stars
7/05/00 Elvisfan Janney aside, this movie reeked of yesterday's barfbag 1 stars
6/03/00 Luke *********************!!!!!!! This movie is pure gold!!! 5 stars
3/24/00 SwatchDog Delightful satire on the pageant biz! Allison Janney + the step ladder dance rule! 5 stars
11/29/99 Mic An attempted satire that tried to be funny and biting but failed both tasks miserably. 1 stars
11/27/99 Joel Harwood Worth a look if you no what i mean 5 stars
11/18/99 Lary waste 1 stars
11/15/99 Miyo Funny, got to be in a good/silly mood to appreciate it. 4 stars
10/25/99 H'Woodbigshot Made by ugly, fat H'wood whores who can't get a man 1 stars
10/15/99 Ryan Philippe gets hit by a car and it rules WOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO 5 stars
10/09/99 Viral Messiah Worse than Jawbreaker! 2 stars
10/03/99 Joe Schmoe Yucky movie 1 stars
9/23/99 Rob hey, who gives a shit about correctness, it's ok too laugh! 5 stars
9/15/99 Ratso Hey, people blow up...that's funny! Denise Richards explodes! Literally! OZZY! 5 stars
9/10/99 Timbo You people suck dancing with jesus rules 5 stars
9/01/99 Nick A very,very funny movie that makes fun of all things close to americans hearts 5 stars
8/19/99 Annie Very fun...we laughed all the way through 5 stars
8/18/99 Admiral Crunch I've seen better on The Tonight Show with Jay Leno 2 stars
8/03/99 Ah Dooey Should've been called Drop Dead Stupid. Stupidity does matter. 2 stars
7/31/99 mara ...tries to be shocking, is just stupid...only good things->kirsten dunst, her mom's hand 2 stars
7/29/99 ralph norton Don't miss this one its a comic gem!!! 5 stars
7/28/99 Narwhal A brilliant poke at MN bumpkinerry and human faults 5 stars
7/26/99 Laa-laa Um, this was bad. It had potential, but it sucked. 2 stars
7/23/99 Malbert Funny movie 4 stars
7/01/99 David The trailers had the best parts; the whole is a horrible, obvious mess. Vulgar, unfunny 1 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  23-Jul-1999 (PG-13)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  11-Nov-1999




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast