Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.61

Awesome: 17.33%
Worth A Look44.67%
Just Average: 25.33%
Pretty Crappy: 6.67%
Sucks: 6%

14 reviews, 66 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Psycho Goreman by Jay Seaver

Coming 2 America by Peter Sobczynski

Raya and the Last Dragon by Peter Sobczynski

Jumbo by Jay Seaver

Blithe Spirit (2021) by Jay Seaver

My Zoe by Jay Seaver

Nomadland by Rob Gonsalves

Stylist, The by Peter Sobczynski

Hidden Man by Jay Seaver

Writer's Odyssey, A by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Mystery Men
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Jimmy-Bond

"Hmmmm... I guess it was OK."
3 stars

In an attempt to recapture our love of superheroes on film, this movie falls far short of expectations. It wasn't horrible, but it failed to grab and drag me into the movie like such classics as Superman, Batman, etc... Jimmy-Bond says see it if you want to, but you'll just be paying for the special effects.

With a line up of Hank Azaria, Janeane Garofalo, William H. Macy, Ben Stiller, Wes Studi, Greg Kinnear, Geoffrey Rush, Clair Forlani, and even Eddie Izzard and Paul Reubens, this movie should have been fantastic. Only problem, the acting WAS fantastic, it was the writing that stunk. Even the special effects were pretty good, they were nothing we haven't seen before, but they're pretty good.

The storyline is this - Big Superhero(Captain Amazing), fake mega-city(Champion City), no supervillians left so Captain A. sets one loose(Cassanova-Frankenstein), Captain A.'s plan backfires, send in the other guys(Mystery Men). It's all pretty standard comic book stuff.

I will say this... writing sucks, acting good, special effects OK, see if you want, only reason to see in theater is special effects.

link directly to this review at https://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=1329&reviewer=133
originally posted: 08/10/99 11:31:09
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

12/31/19 dupadoit angel boy 4 stars
12/14/13 Mister Jimmy The super-hero auditions scene had me laffin my ass off! 5 stars
1/28/09 Nori This was one of those super corney awful movies that you absolutely loved. I enjoyed it. 5 stars
11/21/08 Shaun Wallner Great Film! 4 stars
9/14/08 nastyrabbit There's never been an ensemble cast with this kind of chemistry before....it's PERFECT! 5 stars
12/06/07 Adrian BUT I AM SCARED OF THE SUZIES! 5 stars
4/15/07 Ne44FaSt Funny when they accidently psychofraculate Capt. Amazing 5 stars
7/28/06 David Cohen Speaks to the inner hero in all of us 4 stars
1/22/06 Indrid Cold I had heard that this is a lot funnier than you'd expect. It's true. 4 stars
5/02/05 dwarzel There are heroes/villains in the Marvel universe with MUCH lamer gimmicks than these. 4 stars
1/24/05 Jeff Anderson MY KIND OF UNIQUE SUPER HERO FILM! A great double feature with THE SPECIALS with Rob Lowe. 5 stars
9/04/04 DM Silly but perfect for your inner 10-year old 4 stars
6/07/04 Elen Sly and witty, and fun for comic book geeks and non-geeks alike. 5 stars
1/07/04 Phil M. Aficionado Bizarre. A gas. Great casting. Must have cost a FORTUNE to make 4 stars
4/12/03 Jack Sommersby Forced and uncouth nonsense. Stiller's panache is film's only asset. 1 stars
7/19/02 Bastard Child of Mother Teresa Pretty darn good! Fry in heck, gay man! 4 stars
5/15/02 Gerox Hooha! Janeane ownz me. 4 stars
11/02/01 Andrew Carden A Few Very Funny Scenes Are Overblowed With Special Effects. Stiller Looks Terrible. 3 stars
10/03/01 Monday Morning Do the HBS reviewers get paid to write all that or do they just have time to burn? 5 stars
10/03/01 Butterbean Stiller is corny, like always, but this movie put a smile on my face 3 stars
8/15/01 Dakamus Janeane Garafalo = Sexiest woman alive. 5 stars
8/07/01 Kasey Anderson I had to keep watching it over & over. WOW! 5 stars
3/02/01 dave funnier than I expected. Loved Jeanene. 5 stars
1/28/01 Jared Barber The best movie ever. Funny, and creative. 5 stars
4/19/00 Sergio Allen It really really Sucked I wanted my money back I almost walked out thats how much it sucked 1 stars
4/06/00 SID Why do they have superpowers at the end? Doesn't that contradict the whole movie? 4 stars
3/31/00 Mr Happy This movie was horrible shit. Not funny unless you from Newyork. 1 stars
3/28/00 Pat Spline is so funny 5 stars
3/07/00 David Rogers Pretty funny but it could have been better. 4 stars
3/05/00 Kyle Broflovski Gut-busting hilarious, with shades of The Thing in one particular scene...:-) 5 stars
2/08/00 Joel Harwood CLARE FORLANI IS Hot so 5 stars for her but the movie sux big time 2 stars
1/29/00 Steve Total unadulterated boring crap 1 stars
1/26/00 Katherine Hughes Humerous and enjoyable 4 stars
1/22/00 Kevin Cho At least 100 to the 10th power better than I thought it would be. U catch PW Herms in it?! 5 stars
1/22/00 Quintas Brilliant, hilarious, see it. 5 stars
10/14/99 Sara Phillips 5 stars
10/08/99 Theresa Wonderful, Hilarious! Among the best were Azaria, Macy, Garofolo, and Stiller 5 stars
9/26/99 Weird Andy Like sex with an ex-girlfriend,fun at the time, but ultimately a cheapening experience. 3 stars
9/13/99 Ratso Good job, they took a great cast and idea and made a piece of shit! 1 stars
9/03/99 Andel Crodo A disappointment if you expect a superhero movie, but a thrill if you expect a goof on them 4 stars
9/01/99 PhilmPhreak It was pretty cool - check it out 4 stars
8/26/99 Ah Dooey Okay for this type of movie. The characters were funny. 3 stars
8/21/99 Daelic I laughed. I groaned. Not great, but it was good fun. 4 stars
8/18/99 Admiral Crunch hey, at least it kicked Power Rangers in the butt 3 stars
8/18/99 Nessus Not as good as the old Tick comics, but pretty funny in spots. 4 stars
8/18/99 Geoff Unique. Watchable. Fun. A decent escape for 2 hours. 4 stars
8/17/99 KK I fell asleep halfway into it. Not even worth the price of a rental. 1 stars
8/16/99 Obi Wan Movie sucked! All funny scenes can be seen on the trailer! 2 stars
8/15/99 Temper One of the most halarious and wicked movies that I've seen in a few years! 5 stars
8/14/99 Mark Levin Hilarious send-up of formulaic comic-book superhero genre. 5 stars
8/14/99 Cage Against The Machine I was definately disappointed. 2 stars
8/13/99 jen Can't remember the last time I thought about walking out before the end credits... 1 stars
8/13/99 Mike Snell Laughed my ass off 4 stars
8/13/99 Roman has its moments 3 stars
8/12/99 PurityJustBegs this film is saturated with wonderful potential, but that is lost in time-weary cliches 3 stars
8/11/99 Michael Hodgman This movie is frickin great 5 stars
8/11/99 Cherry Very funny movie! 5 stars
8/10/99 kirk uhhh something to do for fun 3 stars
8/10/99 Michael Grimm if you like campy humor this movie is for you 4 stars
8/10/99 jenn "Blu Smrf" what a great movie, that is fun for both adults and kids alike 5 stars
8/10/99 Jo Jo, The Idiot Circus Boy The only thing that kept me from falling asleep was trying to imagine Garofalo nekked. 1 stars
8/10/99 Laz lighten up folks.this is a fun,hip ride.much better than expected. 5 stars
8/10/99 jvt Stiller was the only worthwhile character, a huge let down 2 stars
8/09/99 elfpunkt Paul Ruebens getting leghumped by a skunk was funny. The movie was not. 1 stars
8/09/99 Z it's funny, laugh! 5 stars
7/27/99 David Gilmour Reminiscent of the first two Batman movies and Bukaroo Bonzai. 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  06-Aug-1999 (PG-13)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  13-Jan-2000 (PG)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast