Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3

Awesome: 37.76%
Worth A Look: 6.12%
Just Average: 14.29%
Pretty Crappy: 2.04%
Sucks39.8%

6 reviews, 62 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Better Days by Jay Seaver

Scandalous: The True Story of the National Enquirer by Rob Gonsalves

Paradise Hills by Rob Gonsalves

3 from Hell by Rob Gonsalves

Dolemite Is My Name by Rob Gonsalves

My Dear Liar by Jay Seaver

Truth, The (2019) by Jay Seaver

Primal (2019) by Peter Sobczynski

Last Christmas by Peter Sobczynski

Midway (2019) by Peter Sobczynski

subscribe to this feed


Grandma's Boy
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Doug Bentin

"No, the wind is not blowing in from the stockyards."
1 stars

The script for “Grandma’s Boy” is one of the most unusual ones I’ve encountered in a long time, but I don’t mean that in a good way. It’s as if Barry Wernick, Allen Covert (who also stars in the movie) and Nick Swardson (who co-stars) sat around riffing on the kinds of things guys kid each other about when they’re in high school—or grad school but they’re pretending to still be in high school--and then wrote an opening scene in ten pages. Not satisfied with that, they wrote another ten page opening scene using mostly the same characters. And then a third one emerged.

The logical thing to do would be to pick one and toss the other, less worthy, two. But no, they turned them all in and director Nicholas Goosen filmed them all.

Covert is Alex, a mid-thirties former accountant turned video games tester. He and his colleagues play new games to find the bugs so J.P. (Joel David Moore), the Matrix-obsessed creator of the games can re-work the programming.

J.P.’s new game is nearing completion and its release date is fast approaching. Samantha (a so hot I’m embarrassed to think about her when my wife is in the room Linda Cardellini) is hired to keep the testers on track, and she soon develops a thing for uberslacker Alex.

The plot, if you’ll excuse the hyperbole, comes in when J.P., who also has a letch for Samantha, steals a new game developed by Alex and all must be set right. That’s it.

So where does the “Grandma” part come in? Our tester has been kicked out of his apartment because his roommate has been spending their rent money on Filipino hookers, and Alex accepts an invitation from his granny (Doris Roberts) to stay with her and her two elderly housemates, Grace and Bea (Shirley Jones and Shirley Knight). Shirley you jest.

Stop groaning. That’s the funniest line you’re going to find associated with this fermenting pit of numero doso.

We’re supposed to laugh at such knee-slappers as old ladies playing video games, innocently drinking tea laced with weed—a pot of tea, indeed—and getting horny and pursuing nerdy game testers. Let me tell you something: the idea that old women acting like young potheads is funny, or that hearing them curse or belch or fart is funny, or that anything else they do in this dreadful assisted care center of a movie is funny is wrong to the point of perversity.

The ladies learn the joy of getting stoned and having wild parties, and he learns—damned if I know what he learns. Nothing, I think. Oh yeah, love is good and jealousy is bad.

It’s all just a string from which to hang a series of unlikely gags that don’t tie together very well and a plot so thin you couldn’t use it to wipe a mouse’s, uh, nose. Believe me, a good time will not be had by all.

What this movie does is break your heart with the realization that this shit is probably the best thing that has been offered to Shirley Jones since she reached That Certain Age. It presents a similar dilemma to the one I faced with “The Ringer” a few weeks ago. Even if these fine actresses are willing to be good sports and allow themselves to be exploited , they’re still being exploited.

This picture’s abuse of everyone in it left a bad taste in my mouth. All the men are sexually-bewildered morons and the women are there to be laughed at or ogled. I didn’t do any laughing but I ogled Cardelinni like a sonuvabitch.

If there were even a smidgeon of taste or genuine joy to the affair, it would be different, but it’s surely the saddest comedy we’ll see all year.

link directly to this review at https://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=13713&reviewer=405
originally posted: 01/18/06 16:39:03
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

4/23/17 David H. Not even good to watch if you're high. 1 stars
1/04/14 Deez Nuts Your review is infinitely more poorly written than this movie. As in, I enjoyed the latter 5 stars
5/24/11 Eddie I can watch this movie ALL DAY LONG it is FUCKING HILARIOUS PERIOD 5 stars
6/02/10 User Name The occasional chuckle does not sustain the whole film. 2 stars
2/28/10 KVM117 Funny.. Though the poor acting is more apparent while stoned.. 5 stars
2/11/10 HM If you don't love it you are boring. Hilarious. If you want a plot, go watch The Holiday 5 stars
12/15/09 DAGGER DENNIS CHRISTIAN! Grandmas boys was fucking magic, your a terrible biased critic, and that will haunt you 5 stars
9/06/09 stoner have we really been reduced to calling this comedy? i may be a stoner but im not an idiot. 1 stars
2/24/09 matt a very funny movie, criminally underrated 5 stars
1/21/09 Passersby It's increasingly amusing how many people here rave over this film. Witless and stale. 1 stars
7/29/08 K went in not expecting much, but found it hilarious 4 stars
7/20/08 Samantha Pruitt this is pretty funny, good stoner movie, hehe 4 stars
2/13/08 zac best movie ever 5 stars
2/13/08 Grandma If you don't like this movie you need to pull the stick out of your ass! 5 stars
1/01/08 Total Crap Don't listen to the neg. reviews, they are dead wrong. I REPEAT DO NOT LISTEN!!! 5 stars
11/14/07 t(^^t) This movie is a great one with a PLOT. 5 stars
10/26/07 Scott Cutter All the negative comments on here were obviously PLANTED. This movie was Awesome! 5 stars
8/06/07 Chad Hossack David Cornholeius has a dick up his ass and hates anyone who pokes fun at his fag friends. 5 stars
8/02/07 slang I'm gonna get a cb radio for xmas so I can talk to other car beds. Great comedy! 5 stars
6/30/07 Michelle what I want to know is what scott weinberg is smoking...this movie is hilarious. 5 stars
6/09/07 M.S. Hilarious!!!!! 5 stars
5/22/07 Hannah Dude I'm way too baked to drive to the devil's house... DRIVE MONKEY DRIVE!!!! 5 stars
5/22/07 Brian Mckay If you like weed and video games, you'll find it's funnier than it has any right to be. 3 stars
5/17/07 j what is the deal? it was HILARIOUS 5 stars
5/16/07 Yamis I'm still mad--waste of my fucking time 1 stars
5/06/07 fools♫gold An attitude that surpasses 2001 Maniacs, and much funnier than Idle Hands + BASEketball. 3 stars
5/06/07 brian hilarious stoner movie - way underrated 5 stars
4/21/07 ashly my FAV movie ever.. fucking hilarious. 5 stars
4/20/07 Dude unfuny 1 stars
4/13/07 Nusic Funny movie, pure entertainment. Not a chick flick. Pseudo-intellectuals...don't rate it 4 stars
4/05/07 scratchdisk Super Funny ... loved it. 5 stars
3/18/07 Lawrence It doesn't suck, it FUCKING SUCKS! 1 stars
2/08/07 The chode Completely blew ass. 1 stars
1/30/07 Come On!!! Recommended for anyone that has had a lobotomy 1 stars
12/30/06 Hugh Jeballs This is movie is for stoners. AMAZING 5 stars
12/06/06 John Amazing. Really really funny. JP is a riot, Dante is amazing. 5 stars
12/04/06 Emily this movie was insanely crap-tacular 1 stars
12/03/06 Tommy Great fucking movie, not for people who are uptight and don't like to have fun. 5 stars
11/30/06 Scott This movie isn't for pussy faggets like David Cornelius. 5 stars
11/10/06 biron i want to beat the shit out of all of you, this movie is an emberrassment to film makers. 1 stars
11/02/06 MF HANNNA this movie changed my life. ADIOS TERD NUGGETS 5 stars
10/29/06 stacey campbell i thought it was hilarious and those that don't like it is fucken stupid 5 stars
10/14/06 Lauren Im not even into stupid humor movies and I absolutely LOVE this movie! 5 stars
10/09/06 noooicedude this movie was insanely good 5 stars
10/06/06 Andrew Ridiculously Good 5 stars
9/30/06 Tamara D. Leonard Terrilbly embarrasing...I took my father with me to see it. Big mistake! 1 stars
9/29/06 Nacho My fovorite movie for sure! Treu!! 5 stars
9/13/06 Josh P this movie is crazy funny!! you gotta see it 5 stars
9/09/06 Ashley It Was Fuckin Woderful 5 stars
8/29/06 jj i liked this movie, everything doesn't have to be masterpiece theater 4 stars
7/19/06 Mjsgrass This movie was funny, are you guys really movie critics? Take the movie for what its is, l 4 stars
7/13/06 Alex this is one of the best movies I have seen in an extremely long time. its a have to see mov 5 stars
6/27/06 Tiffany Faye Hawthorne Danged if I can imagine what about this justifies an unrated version. Bet it's lame too! 2 stars
5/27/06 Jeff Anderson Surprisingly funny. The sexy Cardellini's drunk kareoke jam is a screamingly funny delight! 5 stars
5/21/06 Brandon Norman it was ok, but that robot guy annoyed me 4 stars
5/21/06 Ryan_A Staggeringly unfunny. Covert's fine, but the rest of the cast is beyond awful. 1 stars
5/18/06 your worst goddamn nightmare As a stupid kinda comedy, this flick was sooo fuckin' funny! Chix won't dig it... 5 stars
1/14/06 Ron Dahlem Fricken hilarious 5 stars
1/12/06 Marjorie Cressy Absolutely horrendous movie 1 stars
1/10/06 Tamara D.Leonard Rude, crude and stupid! 1 stars
1/07/06 Evil Wolfie Soo goddam funny 5 stars
1/07/06 Abbath Felt like 3 hours long. 3 painful, unfunny hours. 1 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  06-Jan-2006 (R)
  DVD: 09-May-2006

UK
  N/A

Australia
  23-Mar-2006




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast