Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
2.81

Awesome: 10.89%
Worth A Look: 21.78%
Just Average27.72%
Pretty Crappy: 16.83%
Sucks: 22.77%

8 reviews, 53 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Blithe Spirit (2021) by Jay Seaver

My Zoe by Jay Seaver

Nomadland by Rob Gonsalves

Stylist, The by Peter Sobczynski

Hidden Man by Jay Seaver

Writer's Odyssey, A by Jay Seaver

Endgame (2021) by Jay Seaver

Tom and Jerry by Peter Sobczynski

Stylist, The by Rob Gonsalves

Rumble Fish by Jack Sommersby

subscribe to this feed


200 Cigarettes
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Ophelia13

"What the hell were the filmmakers thinking?"
1 stars

200 Cigarettes. That's one per person as they lined up for the firing squad, right? And if more than 200 people see it, I guess they'll just have to jump out of a plane to relieve their misery. The filmmakers ought to be put in a room with this movie, and forced to watch it over and over until they realize the torture inflicted on the audience.

200 Cigarettes is meant to be a comedy about New Years Eve 1981, with an ensemble cast that usually contains enough talent to sweep the Academy Awards. That's what it looked like in the previews. From what I remember of the professional reviews, that's what it sounded like as well. Appearances can be deceiving.
Instead, it is a boring, unengaging, piece of drivel not worth the film its printed on. No, I think that's an overestimation. The cardboard box that the film it is printed on came in. That's more accurate, I think.
Don't get me wrong. I am a huge fan of Ben and Casey Affleck, Janeane Garafalo, and Paul Rudd. I am even fond of Courtney Love's other performances. But that is no excuse for this movie. Especially since the script was so inane that the actors sounded like a less lively form of driftwood. I am of the belief that you can do nothing with a bad script, and this epitomizes bad. It is bad because it is long and drawn out, pointless, and plotless. Oh, I suppose there is a plot, but all subtlety, if it was ever meant to exist, in it is shot to hell as the director and the scriptwriter slap us in the face with it.
As the characters stumble their way towards love at a party where the hostess, formally about to stroke when no one shows, is unconscious, the audience is left to wonder why. Why the characters all happen to be going to the same place, in such a large city, why they cannot bring themselves to care what happens, and most of all, why this creation ever made it to theaters.

I will remain a fan of the actors in this film, despite the utter lack of judgement shown in making it, but I must say that I am an advocate of the cutting room floor. That's where 200 Cigarettes should have stayed.

link directly to this review at https://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=1488&reviewer=130
originally posted: 10/18/99 20:40:18
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

9/13/17 morris campbell watchable nothing more 2 stars
9/21/09 art ONLY FOR NEW YORKERS! 3 stars
10/03/07 The Film Maker Luvs the music. Great indie. 4 stars
1/14/07 JM Synth Kind of fun. The soundtrack, as often is the case with these things, is the star 3 stars
6/13/04 Justin Dennis wtf is wrong with you people this movie owned and courtney love ROCKS! 5 stars
10/09/03 Erik Van Sant The movie blows. Kate Hudson swallows. And the audience gets the shaft. 1 stars
5/26/02 Nicole I really didn't get the point of this movie 2 stars
3/05/02 Veronica Foxx aka The Raven-Haired Temptress Love's performance here makes horseshit look talented. 1 stars
2/02/02 Andrew Carden Good For Those Times When You Get High and Have A 6-Pack. 5 stars
9/08/01 Butterbean A fairly funny flick. Ricci finally doesn't play a weirdo and was cute with her accent. 3 stars
12/10/00 T.Smith Casey is a no-talent hack - just like his brother 1 stars
9/03/00 The Extreaminizer Unfunny, Weak Comedy; Only Joke.......Ben Affleck Drops a Beer Bottle! BWAH-HAH-HAH!!!!!!!! 1 stars
4/16/00 JDC I liked it. Not funny, but I liked the characters enough. 4 stars
3/17/00 Cristy Casey Affleck will you marry me?!?!?!? I loved this movie, I thought it was great. 5 stars
2/10/00 Kyle Broflovski Good acting, good concept, yet somehow strangely generic. 3 stars
11/07/99 hum dull 2 stars
11/01/99 Bozo it wasn't that bad-liked rudd, love & ricci's 'lawn guyland' accent 4 stars
4/26/99 Angie it was decent, Ben looked hot as always =) 4 stars
4/17/99 jimmy jam It was good. Mind candy! 4 stars
4/16/99 Spic Made by your friends at Phillip Morris!! 2 stars
4/13/99 Michelle Some good performances (Affleckx2, Rudd) in an otherwise boring flick. 2 stars
4/10/99 Tristynn blink, you miss Ben.. Courtney is still as shitty as always.. someone stop this nasty bitch 4 stars
4/10/99 mara blah except for some pretty faces 2 stars
4/09/99 Copey Great soundtrack, better film than I expected 4 stars
4/08/99 Ami the Wonderbread fantastic 5 stars
4/07/99 Brian M nice trip back to 81 3 stars
4/05/99 Annearchy, Damme, Satanne Hightops and flourescents are not COOL, no matter how hard MTV trys. 2 stars
4/01/99 Powrhug Hey! I'd spend another $6.50 to see Ben dance! 3 stars
4/01/99 MAD Elvis Costello is a necropheliac. I have proof. 3 stars
3/19/99 Steven D This movie was bad from the MTV label. David Chappelle gave the only good performance 2 stars
3/16/99 agsmith Good movie to see when you're drunk... 4 stars
3/15/99 sonia awesome movie, really funny casey affleck and courtney were great 5 stars
3/14/99 Dharma I loved it!! I just wanna lick Casey Affleck!!!!!! 5 stars
3/12/99 Karen Learned some new funny lines but suggest waiting until cable. 3 stars
3/10/99 Negative Creep Thought it was the best film Affleck's been involved with 5 stars
3/09/99 Kristen I LOVED IT! 5 stars
3/09/99 Katie Good cast, especially Casey and Ben Affleck and Kate Hudson, but a disappointing movie. 3 stars
3/07/99 Shanandler Bong I mostly saw it for Casey and Ben. They were the only goods except for Kate Hudson. 4 stars
3/07/99 M Cocolis my friends thought it sucked, I liked it.... 4 stars
3/04/99 Angelic CaSeY AfFlEcK! 4 stars
3/03/99 benjamin lesbian Fun....not great. One of those guilty pleasure movies. Catch it at the $1.50 theater. 4 stars
3/03/99 Mr Showbiz Terrific performances and a horde of hotties enliven this irresistibly boisterous comedy. 4 stars
3/02/99 Christina A really fun and funny movie 5 stars
3/02/99 Kenda Funny, but pretty pointless. Casey Affleck and Kate Hudson make it worthwile. 3 stars
3/01/99 Dave Good soundtrack, some nice hair, but pointless, meandering, and seems to last forever. 2 stars
3/01/99 slimshady paul rudd was too funny. courtney love (who i usually hate) was totally likable in this mov 5 stars
3/01/99 EmmetOtter Too many characters, too few laughs. Not worth $7.50. 2 stars
3/01/99 Rachel kicked ass! Gotta see it again! 5 stars
2/28/99 Blythe It's not a movie that has you on your ass, but its funny and the costuming is hilarious. 4 stars
2/27/99 Jerry-93 Insanely disappointed because I didn't get to see Chritina Ricci's tits 1 stars
2/23/99 Happy D. Why do you have Ben Affleck listed first on Cast when he really only has a cameo in the pic 4 stars
2/07/99 Mr Film Very cool. 4 stars
1/24/99 Dark Horizons full of lame acting and weak storylines that you don't give a fuck about. 2 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  26-Feb-1999 (R)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  02-Jul-1999 (M)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast