Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.33

Awesome: 18.84%
Worth A Look27.54%
Just Average27.54%
Pretty Crappy: 20.29%
Sucks: 5.8%

5 reviews, 39 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Homewrecker (2019) by Jay Seaver

Gemini Man by Jay Seaver

Pain and Glory by Peter Sobczynski

Rusalka (aka The Siren), The by Jay Seaver

Riot Girls by Rob Gonsalves

Crawl by Rob Gonsalves

Wallflower by Rob Gonsalves

Parts You Lose, The by Jay Seaver

Dilili in Paris by Jay Seaver

First Love by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Dick
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Chef ADogg

"Not enough dick jokes."
3 stars

Another movie my girlfriend dragged me too, but I liked this one. It was pretty damn funny, with some cute chicks and a bigass role for the most underrated actor of all time, Dan Hedaya.

This is kind of like a junior "Romy and Michele," but funnier and smarter and better. For one thing, Lisa Kudrow has a really big nose. I don't know if that bothers anyone else, but it sure bugs the hell out of me. To make it worse, she was paired up with Mira Sorvino, who has a very small nose. I like a nose right in between small and big, so watching an utterly nose deficient actress join forces with an all out schnozzinator gave me one motherfucker of a headache.

There are no such problems in "Dick," which stars Kristen Dunst and Michelle Willaims as two dimwitted teenagers who expose Watergate. I didn't find their portrayals of teens to be all that realistic (I certainly don't know anyone this stupid), but they showed quite a bit of comic flair.

Hedaya plays Nixon perfectly. He actually looks somewhat like the man, and listening to him impersonate Tricky Dick was funny as hell. He does this gruff slash cute voice that I could listen to forever (it was actually kind of turning me on, to tell the truth).

A lot of actors from SNL and Kids in the Hall turn up, which was nice. When Davey Foley's in a movie, you know it can't be all that bad (of course, I have yet to see "Blast From The Past," or any other movie with Dave Foley, for that matter--but I liked him on Kids in the Hall and he was a fucking hoot on Newsradio).

Andrew Fleming directs with a dry, unimposing style that comes close to underplaying the jokes, certainly a relief in the summer of "American Pie" (this movie unfortunately won't make half as much as that piece of shit cumfest). "Dick" is that rarest of rarities in modern American cinema--a witty comedy.

Everything is so over the top these days that when a movie like this comes along it makes everything else seem really stupid. While this movie certainly wasn't great, or a major accomplishment for anyone involved, it's a fun hour and a half and sure to please anyone looking for a smart comedy that doesn't feature gratutitous profanity or nudity.

You know, you really shouldn't listen to anything I say. I'm so full of shit. If I ever sat down to write a comedy, it would be an f word filled t&a fest...but that's beside the point. It all boils down to the fact that I...LOVE...DICK. Hehe.

link directly to this review at https://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=1536&reviewer=123
originally posted: 08/12/99 01:43:52
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

11/09/10 PAUL SHORTT GENIAL, AMUSING COMEDY 3 stars
6/18/09 art I TAKE IT BACK FOLK"S!,THIS MOVIE IS A CARTOON! 1 stars
1/17/08 art i loved it a perfect combination of FACT,CONJECTURE AND SATIRE 5 stars
2/28/07 Beau Clevely thought out, had some funny moments and the two leads did good performances 3 stars
2/07/07 David Pollastrini Kirsten Dunst is hot! 3 stars
2/19/06 R.W.Welch Absurdist take on Watergate. Has some droll bits but occasionally heavy-handed. 3 stars
10/29/05 Mellissa Mathie I believe the film was funny, creative and at the same time educational! 5 stars
2/05/05 Jeff Anderson A bouncy & extremely funny film! Dunst & Williams are terrific & Hedaya TOTALLY ROCKS!!!!!! 5 stars
1/08/04 Chlo Gyllenhaal This is light hearted fun, how cute are Betsy and Arlene? 5 stars
12/13/03 Katie Malone Dick rocks! It's a great movie, if not for general plot, than at least for nostalgia! 5 stars
7/12/03 Elizaveta cute and funny - don't take it so seriously people! 5 stars
6/14/03 Jack Sommersby It certain sucks one. 1 stars
12/30/02 John Aster Habig i want to make sweet sweet love to Kirsten til she's pleased and then cuddle her 4 stars
11/15/02 Big Ted Williams & Dunst have great chemistry. Hedaya steals the show. 4 stars
9/22/02 snowconehead god bless false advertising, this is worth seeing 4 stars
9/09/02 ted v. See this movie! Kirsten Dunst & Dan Hedaya are great! 4 stars
8/28/02 I Can't Swim Shockingly clever, funny, great soundtrack..what the fuck else is there? 5 stars
6/08/02 I'm in (L) with a Jedi very good, underrated movie 4 stars
2/02/02 Allison Lafferty Big surprise! Dan Hedaya look much more like Nixon than A Hopkins did. K Dunst's best movie 4 stars
1/17/02 Emily Best Movie Ever!!! It's funniest for the people who know about the whole Watergate thing. 5 stars
10/19/01 Andrew Carden An Excellent Soundtrack, and A Very Good Chuckle Every 1 or 2 Minutes. Great. 5 stars
6/13/01 Phil M. Afficianado It's a gas. Not a sidesplitter, but some good yucks every few minutes. Bold concept;see it 4 stars
6/03/01 Jessica Dave Foley, Bruce McCulloch, and a whole lotta references to a part of the male anatomy. 4 stars
3/01/01 Ticiana Maria Ramos de Castro It's funny if you know about Watergate case and if you watched "All the president's men " 4 stars
2/01/01 Dan Waldman Very funny. Very smart. Very good. No one should be Dickless. 5 stars
11/05/00 Smart Guy The acting is often forced, the filmmaking week, and the "Dick" jokes are limp.. 2 stars
3/10/00 David Rogers 5 letters. F. U. N. N. Y. 4 stars
1/30/00 kmk very silly... just fun. 4 stars
12/18/99 Tyson Stewart VERY FUNNY, CLEVER, AND FRESH!! 3 stars
11/01/99 Bozo I was really STUNNED it was that good and what a soundtrack! 5 stars
9/24/99 Jeff M Great political satire, if you know your history 5 stars
9/10/99 Timbo Bruce McCullouch is OZZY 3 stars
9/06/99 Magyarpoet Worst Movie of the Year 1 stars
8/26/99 Ami the Wonderbread Dan Heyada can play Nixon for the rest of his life!! 3 stars
8/16/99 d.w. Good natured, pretty funny 4 stars
8/10/99 jvt Painful waste of talent here 2 stars
8/05/99 Malbert It actually wasn't bad; a funny movie 4 stars
8/04/99 John M Really funny! If you lived during Watergate you need to see this 5 stars
8/04/99 Ken Gelineau Bore ah Bore ah Bore ah 1 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  04-Aug-1999 (PG-13)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  17-Feb-2000




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast