Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
2.76

Awesome: 7.26%
Worth A Look25%
Just Average: 23.39%
Pretty Crappy25%
Sucks: 19.35%

8 reviews, 76 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Fagara by Jay Seaver

Rezo by Jay Seaver

Depraved by Jay Seaver

Linda Ronstadt: The Sound of My Voice by Peter Sobczynski

Goldfinch, The by Peter Sobczynski

Freaks (2019) by Jay Seaver

Official Secrets by Jay Seaver

Balloon by Jay Seaver

Satanic Panic by Jay Seaver

Ms. Purple by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Lake Placid
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Chef ADogg

"Maybe later you can chew the bark off my big log."
1 stars

"Lake Placid" is a movie that defies critiscm, so I'm not even going to try. I'm going to focus, rather, on the subtext--that of the homoerotic variety. Yes, you guessed, "Lake Placid" is more than just another cheap "Jaws" knockoff--it's actually a perceptive, cutting look at modern relationships, gay and straight.

David E. Kelley's script focuses on two couples: one is composed of a foxy palientologist (Bridget Fonda, capable of so much more} and her fish and game beau (Bill Pullman, seeming more and more like a cut-rate Shatner}. I must say, this couple is pretty boring. Their relationship obviously won't last, as evidenced by the plethora of stale one liners they toss at each other. The second couple, though--ooh, they're a knockout.

I am talking, of course, about Bredan Gleeson's tubby sheriff and the equally tubby eccentric played by Oliver Platt (mugging like there's no tomorrow, as usual}. The two go through the normal romantic comedy paces--first they hate each other, but soon they come to realize that they share a deep affection for each other. They grudgingly fall in love, and in the process Kelley gets in some nihlistic social jabs, ala Neil LaBute or Todd Solondz.

The story unfolds as a giant crocodile rages and Betty White thinks up creative ways to use the word fuck (my personal favorite: she calls Gleeson "Sheriff Fuckmeat"}. Director Steve Miner works his legendary "Friday the 13th Part II" magic, creating loud jump scenes (instead of the traditional horror film cat, he employs a menacing turtle} that are almost effective.

The term "sucks all ass" was created for this film. Avoid it at all costs. And if you do go see it, never say the good Chef ADogg didn't warn ya.

link directly to this review at https://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=1554&reviewer=123
originally posted: 07/19/99 18:50:12
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

12/16/18 Ajp wales Bought 18yrs ago on dvd. About £20. Can you believe it. One movie. 4 stars
2/20/17 morris campbell lame lake flacid is more like it 1 stars
10/24/14 PAUL SHORTT PREDICTABLE AND TEDIOUS 1 stars
2/18/13 Kcaj really doesnt deserve the bad rep it got! 4 stars
9/29/12 roscoe Good, but too brief. An entire middle act seems to be gone. The conclusion is rushed. 3 stars
1/28/10 Jeff Wilder Feels like something that had a narrow escape from the direct to TV market. 2 stars
8/29/09 Julian Great mixture of humour and thrills 4 stars
6/07/09 art IT"S A MIXTURE OF JAW"S AND ALLIGATOR,EQUAL:"S SUCESS! 4 stars
8/12/08 Shaun Wallner Ugg boring!! 1 stars
12/16/07 Jason Good value entertainment. Great salt water croc effects too. 4 stars
4/22/07 David Risser BORING 2 stars
1/07/07 Anthony Feor The comice effect of this movie really makes it good 4 stars
10/04/06 Booksworm I was rooting for the gator. 5 stars
8/09/06 Dragon The Artist Quit with the f%*#ing Jaws rip-offs already, sh*t!!!! 1 stars
8/08/06 Doreen It was okay...NOT great. 3 stars
5/19/06 Kcaj Bestest action. B grade 4 stars
3/28/06 Dk Funny and well acted. Scary to 4 stars
8/12/05 ES One of my favourite monster movies= it ain't winning awards but its funny and well done 5 stars
7/20/05 Brandy Harrington Shit! 1 stars
5/27/05 tony ok movie i would watch it again. but they should improve on the plot and characters. 3 stars
2/19/05 Jeff Anderson The crocodile effects are well done & locations are great, but cast & script both SUCK!!!!! 2 stars
1/03/05 Sweetgrrl1972 Way better than a film about a killler crocodile should be thanks to great writing/acting. 5 stars
5/31/04 R.W. Welch Another clunky Jaws clone tho entertaining in spots. 2 stars
4/06/04 fff f 1 stars
3/16/04 HorrorMovieFan very boring, gay plot, not scary. hmmm... that seems to me a total krap movie!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 1 stars
2/19/04 john a really fun idea but themovie is just incoherent! 2 stars
2/05/04 c.r a ok movie , with some killer scences! 3 stars
1/01/04 Teran Chrysler I liked it. 4 stars
12/08/03 Samuel not all that good, but decent... 3 stars
9/02/03 Charles Tatum One of the most sarcastic pics ever made 4 stars
7/21/03 Double G A good plot and story but the "monster" should not have been a crocodile. 3 stars
7/07/03 nr i thought it was a great film and the actors did great 5 stars
4/09/03 someone very exiting-It kept my attention! 5 stars
3/25/03 Jack Sommersby Just plain asinine. A talented cast wasted. 1 stars
9/21/02 Morally Sound Very boring and not that funny. 1 stars
8/04/02 KMG I DIDN'T NEED TO HEAR BETTY WHITE CUSS 3 stars
7/15/02 JesseL Of this type of movie, GREAT 4 stars
5/16/02 The Skating Peppercorn Yodelers Sporadically OK; Bridget Fonda worried about wiping her ass with poison ivy funniest part. 3 stars
3/24/02 Veronica Foxx (The Raven-Haired Temptress) Very bleh!! But I still watched all the way through. Doesn't serve up much. 3 stars
1/14/02 Murray Castles Good fun. 4 stars
9/05/01 Gary Entertaining but the complete lack of suspense is painfully obvious. 3 stars
8/07/01 Leave Me Alone Stinks like yesterday's diapers 1 stars
7/08/01 Gracy Lionheart Boring. Predictable. Still better than some things out there. 2 stars
6/22/01 Dave I was so disappointed this looked like something great - ohh wellll... 2 stars
5/03/01 Dom Corleone completely pointless 1 stars
4/12/01 Andrew Carden Lake Placid is one big mess of a movie. Extremly silly and mindless. Horrible acting. 1 stars
4/07/01 Dundee The crude granny routine is the worst convention Hollywood ever conceived. Terrible movie 1 stars
3/02/01 Jacob Myers Fake and Flaccid with Rose from the Golden Girls with the potty mouth 1 stars
2/25/01 bum hole joe great 5 stars
2/10/01 KyLe*BrOfLoVsKi Grrrrrr... 2 stars
1/28/01 Gray Works as a comedy, but it could've been much scarier 3 stars
10/07/00 BirdBrain Funny but scareless and pretty boring. 3 stars
10/05/00 Scorpion Guting This movie was a kick @$$ movie. I would like to see it again at the theatres! 5 stars
7/11/00 Bender Enjoyable, because of the sharp sarcastic humor 4 stars
7/10/00 Elvisfan I was rooting for the alligator to eat all the annoying actors...there are several 1 stars
4/09/00 punkass I laughed more at my mothers funeral. More proof USA has a humour bypass 1 stars
4/06/00 SID It's very funny; well written. But it seems like it's two minutes long. 4 stars
4/03/00 Matthew Bartley Don't throw heads at me! A lot of fun 4 stars
3/19/00 arnold pure shit but good special effects 2 stars
3/15/00 fire-n-ice was good and Betty White was a funny foul mouth*hahahhaha* 4 stars
2/11/00 Add Funny as fuck not that scary but an enjoyable waste of 82mins without a doubt 4 stars
2/05/00 Kyle Broflovski Not enough carnage to suit me. Bah. Betty White was a trip, though. 2 stars
1/06/00 Murray Castles A lot of fun. Better than Deep Blue Sea. 4 stars
11/27/99 Joel Harwood Shits on JAWS and pisses on Deep Blue Sea 5 stars
11/23/99 Murray Castles A fun film. Not serious in any way , and the better for it. 4 stars
9/21/99 John Rizzo Two words: "Lake Flacid." Terrible acting covered w/ mediocre effects. 1 stars
9/11/99 Ratso Let me just say that you get to watch Betty White feed a cow to a giant alligator. 5 stars
8/18/99 KK Lousy, Lousy, Lousy. Funny one-liners, but that's about it. 2 stars
7/31/99 Obi Wan Fun movie...had some humor...but not enuff blood or guts! 3 stars
7/24/99 Ah Dooey not good 2 stars
7/23/99 Orgazmo The scariness is lost in the black waters, but I laughed and I was entertained emensely. 3 stars
7/22/99 PhilmPhreak Pretty funny, good rental 3 stars
7/20/99 Jim Fay The movie that answers the question "Who would win if an crocodile fought a helicopter? 3 stars
7/19/99 Imagoner A bad rehash of Anaconda, which was a rehash of Jaws, etc., and bad FX 2 stars
7/16/99 Jo Jo, The Idiot Circus Boy It wants to be on Disney. 1 stars
7/16/99 Starry Knight mediocre effects. Boring parts. Slow but some funny parts. 3 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  16-Jul-1999

UK
  N/A

Australia
  28-Oct-1999 (R)


Directed by
  Steve Miner

Written by
  David E. Kelley

Cast
  Bill Pullman
  Bridget Fonda
  Oliver Platt
  Brendan Gleeson



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast