Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
2.51

Awesome: 6.93%
Worth A Look: 14.85%
Just Average30.69%
Pretty Crappy: 17.82%
Sucks: 29.7%

6 reviews, 65 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Jessica Forever by Jay Seaver

Charlie's Angels (2019) by Jay Seaver

Harriet by Jay Seaver

Greener Grass by Jay Seaver

Two Tigers by Jay Seaver

Dare to Stop Us by Jay Seaver

White Snake by Jay Seaver

Knives Out by Peter Sobczynski

21 Bridges by Jay Seaver

Frozen 2 by Peter Sobczynski

subscribe to this feed


Bone Collector, The
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Charles Tatum

"The Boner Collect (tee-hee)"
2 stars

Oscar winners Denzel Washington and Angelina Jolie get caught up in a thriller more complicated than "Seven," and not as good.

Washington is a paralyzed former New York City detective who can only move his head and one index finger. He is confined to a bed after an on the job accident and is cared for by nurse Queen Latifah. Angelina Jolie is a young cop trying to make it in the youth services division in the NYPD. She is running from personal demons of her own, including the suicide of her cop father.

By chance, Jolie is the first on the scene of a gruesome discovery. As we have seen earlier, a wealthy couple is kidnapped by a rogue cabbie. The man's remains are found, and the killer leaves clues to where the woman is. Washington runs a miniature precinct out of his apartment, using his limited physical attributes to investigate and using Jolie to see what he would normally see. The team begins trailing the killer, trying to piece together the clues left at the crime scene. They are stopped at every turn by clicheed angry detective Michael Rooker, who keeps reminding everyone Washington is no longer a cop. After more bodies turn up, the climax involves the deaths of many characters, as the killer takes a roundabout way of trying to off the helpless Washington.

The other murders in here are almost unnecessary since the original intent of the story is to put Washington in danger to begin with. The killer is not easily guessed because the film makers throw in all sorts of red herring suspects, but by the end you probably will not care all that much.

Washington and Jolie are very good here. Jolie gets some background characterization, which helps explain her bitterness, and it takes her a while to warm up to Washington. Washington is also good in a physically limited role, using his facial expressions to relate to the audience. His frequent seizures are convincing. The rest of the cast mostly runs around with their guns drawn, quipping with Washington on down time. A special mention should go to Queen Latifah. I am not her biggest fan, but she won me over as the tough nurse whose primary responsibility is to her patient.

The killings are based on old New York City history, and some of that is interesting. With this serial killer genre of film, the film makers do take logical leaps in trying to solve the crimes that most crime audiences may have a problem swallowing. The crimes are so overcomplicated and really do not make much sense, considering the killer's final motive. Of course, the killer confesses everything in the climax, including why, and I thought this whole sequence was very weak.

Director Noyce does a standard job with his camera, although I liked a lot of the shots of NYC we do not normally see, including the World Trade Center. The music is appropriately suspenseful, as is the cinematography.

In the end, "The Bone Collector" is strictly suspense by committee. The great actors they enlisted almost make up for the shoddy story and "seen it before" feel that you are left with. If anyone else had been cast in this, it would have been a serious flop. As it is, this is a B movie serial killer flick dressed up with onscreen talent.

The film makers failed to back the cast up with something the audience could jump at.

link directly to this review at https://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=1628&reviewer=325
originally posted: 02/28/03 15:50:18
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

12/28/17 morris campbell good not great 4 stars
4/09/10 PAUL SHORTT REASONABLY ENTERTAINING SUSPENSE THRILLER/WHODUNIT 3 stars
5/15/08 Karrie Millheim The suspense is good, the story line interesting 4 stars
4/04/08 stephanie willis not oscar worthy but entertaining 3 stars
3/29/08 Pamela White casted poorly but the plot is ripe for a remake 3 stars
1/15/07 David Pollastrini not horrible 3 stars
5/22/06 Agent Sands Actually, it kinda disturbed me. 4 stars
8/11/05 ES Why exactly did the killer have to know the police hunting him?= bad Hollywood ending 1 stars
4/22/05 Indrid Cold Remarkably boring. An a-list cast is completely wasted in this lame "Seven" ripoff. 2 stars
11/08/04 Lady T Facinated w/ the movie & the brillance of Rhyme's mind. I unravel new things at each view 5 stars
11/05/04 Cármen Guimarães Denzel very, very wonderfull.Thanks ! 5 stars
4/09/04 Tito Starts off good, then goes bad. illogical non-thriller. 1 stars
3/23/04 Lord Haw Haw So so, humdrum with a ridiculous ending. 2 stars
6/09/03 Any chance we could GET REAL? Does anyone really BELIEVE this "Angelina Jolie is Ashley Judd" crap?? 3 stars
6/09/03 Charles Tatum Oscar cast in B crap 2 stars
6/08/03 Debra Never more obvious that "Angelina Jolie" is really Ashley Judd! 2 stars
6/08/03 Jenny Tullwartz A. Jolie looks too much like another AJ. If I were Angelina, I'd change my identity. 3 stars
4/30/03 R.A.C. The only time I jumped was after my girlfriend woke me... 2 stars
3/28/03 NYTRANSIT417 Aswsome...Creppy Movie. A+ 5 stars
3/25/03 Jack Sommersby Pallid whodunit that lacks suspense and interesting characters. 2 stars
2/28/03 y2mckay substandard genre Thriller, indistinguishable from every other film Denzel's been in. 2 stars
1/11/03 Goofy Maxwell Boring+implausible+Ed O'Neill...Damn! I coulda saved an hr. or 2 w/ a 1-800-COLLECT ad. 1 stars
12/12/02 danielle interesting and scarey 5 stars
11/15/02 Big Ted Underrated goodie. Latifah shines. 4 stars
10/23/02 Charles Tatum Oscar cast in B crap 2 stars
7/20/02 sdjfsdkjf I like generally like Angelina, but not in this and as for Denzel...fuck no. Deplorable. 1 stars
2/24/02 Jenny Tullwartz A. Jolie looks too much like another AJ. If I were Angelina, I'd change my identity. 3 stars
2/06/02 Phil M. Afficianado Denzel makes it worth seeing (maybe). Silly violence at the end 3 stars
1/28/02 Gracy Lionheart This movie was...dumb, unbelievable, boring, etc...you take your pick. 1 stars
9/08/01 Butterbean LOL@Louise!! This movie was not bad at all, but I wished that it followed the book. 3 stars
6/23/01 Matt Dorsey I was entertained. 3 stars
4/01/01 Jesse L Denzel was great; Angelina was lame.. 4 stars
3/20/01 jarcane zzzzzzzzzzzz, not exactly original. 2 stars just for Jolie. 2 stars
3/16/01 Boy In The Designer Bubble I'd rather be eaten alive by rats, than sit throught this shit again. 1 stars
1/20/01 William Blair HORRIBLE FILM! 1 stars
1/11/01 Matt69 Even denzel can't save this peice of fucking shit. 1 stars
10/17/00 Louise & Craig who can believe that a black kid in Harlem would come back with the camera 1 stars
9/18/00 D SILK E 1 who put a hot ass woman like jolie in a lame ass movie like this??? 1 stars
9/01/00 bart geyskens it sucks thru and thru ( the worst "thriller " i ever saw) 1 stars
8/31/00 Terrie Smith Pouty Angelina Jolie looks good but the film is so predictable. Some scenes are a bit much. 3 stars
7/18/00 kittykat total shit 1 stars
7/13/00 Michael Grimm i liked it, Jolie's character could have been better written though 4 stars
6/09/00 Mike Farwell It was pretty cool, but so is Angelina Jolie! 3 stars
5/12/00 Mark I thought it was pretty good 4 stars
5/04/00 seldom scene easy to figure out and not as compelling as Jeffery Deaver's novels 4 stars
5/03/00 Blackbird It was interesting. The movie didn't set up the ending. 3 stars
5/02/00 cort major If ms. Jolie wasn't in this it would be one of the worst movies in a long time. 1 stars
4/15/00 Jed The cast made this movie go from trash to sub-par 2 stars
4/08/00 Ken Like a poor man's "Seven." Utterly predictable. 2 stars
4/03/00 Girl9 Is this film supposed to scare me...or make me laugh?!! 1 stars
1/20/00 Matthew Bartley Seen it all before in better movies...but not awful 3 stars
12/11/99 Obi Wan Proposterous plot!! I felt cheated!!! Angelina is a Goddess!! 3 stars
12/07/99 Amanda Hall very good movie, kept me in suspence the entire time! 5 stars
12/02/99 Nick Z If you got a good health plan, get a lobotomy before seeing this. 1 stars
11/26/99 Skip Ok film not one I would go and see again, but did not feel like I got ripped off. 1 stars
11/26/99 Matthew Smith a terrific thriller, one of the best thrillers at the moment 5 stars
11/25/99 Nishe Denzel could have done better. He is an extraordinary actor but I like to see him move. 3 stars
11/18/99 schmegs Good acting, good atmosphere, predictable story 3 stars
11/14/99 John Horrible! Unoriginal! 1 stars
11/12/99 George Nedelchev Good cast, acting and editing is not enough at all. 2 stars
11/10/99 Buttman Washington was great. Better to see Se7en or Silence of the Lambs. 3 stars
11/08/99 Marble Xavier Washington and Jolie are perfectly cast. The book was better though. 4 stars
11/05/99 Yo! One thing to say! This is the funniest movie that I have ever seen. I laughed my ass off! 5 stars
11/05/99 PhilmPhreak Why would Denzel use a rookie as his lead investigator - passing over his former partner? 3 stars
11/05/99 Adam Too many "is this the killer?" people. 1 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  05-Nov-1999 (R)
  DVD: 28-Aug-2001

UK
  N/A

Australia
  18-Nov-1999




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast