Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.9

Awesome: 22.96%
Worth A Look48.15%
Just Average: 25.93%
Pretty Crappy: 1.48%
Sucks: 1.48%

13 reviews, 57 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Daniel Isn't Real by Jay Seaver

Midsommar by Rob Gonsalves

Blood on Her Name by Jay Seaver

Parasite (2019) by Peter Sobczynski

American Fighter by Jay Seaver

Moon in the Hidden Woods, The by Jay Seaver

Homewrecker (2019) by Jay Seaver

Gemini Man by Jay Seaver

Pain and Glory by Peter Sobczynski

Rusalka (aka The Siren), The by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Boiler Room
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Chef ADogg

"Hot young actors + Hardcore Rap Soundtrack = Recipe for Disaster?"
5 stars

Not this time. Ben Younger makes a breath-taking, pulse pounding, and positively ass-shaking debut with this smart and punchy "Wall Street" riff. What makes it work, you ask? Let's take a look at the sundry winning ingredients.

First off, we've got the script. They don't come smarter, faster, or funnier than this (especially when you're talkin' "hip," twenty-something slacker cinema). Boiler Room, from the very beginning, makes no bones about its debt to undisputed king of locker room trash talk David Mamet--the "recruiter" scenes with Ben Affleck seem to have been lifted directly from GlenGarry Glen Ross. But Younger's not just jacking the man's style; he's throwing in plenty of his own. Simply put: This guy knows how to mix together urban dialect, complicated biz-speak, and heaping helpings of profanity to create dialogue that is nothing short of ear candy. Boiler Room doesn't even need a soundtrack; you can dance to the words.

Next up in this list of fantastic shit: The actors. Giovanni Ribisi gives his first genuinely great performance since Suburbia as a smart college drop-out with a serious apathy problem who goes to work for JT Marlin, a morally undemanding stockbroking firm "a good hour away from Wall Street." Also clocking hours are Vin Diesel (magnetic) and Nicky Katt (enjoyably hateful). The three principles are screamingly funny to watch, and their performances are heavily reminiscent of those in American Beauty in the spell-casting, drag-you-into-the-movie sense. These guys get you so caught up that you'd watch the film even if the plot disappeared and they started improvising nonsense; they're that good.

Younger's direction ties it all together with a bouncy, wholly enjoyable flourish; he's got the classic storytelling sense, but he's also unafraid to try new things. One of his favorite techniques is to jump frames here and there like a DJ was scratching the reels on a turntable--during the flickering opening credits, my friend wondered aloud if perhaps they had Norman Cook in the projection booth. This is a film with a very unique, distinct visual style; it's shot in bracing, washed out colors that reflect the script's tone and bleak outlook on society. Suffice to say that I'm really looking forward to Younger's next movie.

And did I mention Ben Affleck in this movie? SWEET performance, man. He's doing Alec Baldwin, but he's doing it WELL. This is the kind of role Mr. Affleck should be focusing more of his time on--limited screen time, but he's given such a vast arsenal of beautifully profane lines, and they're delivered with such convincning venom, that the impression he makes is deeper and more lasting than the sum total of his last four performances.

link directly to this review at https://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=1715&reviewer=123
originally posted: 02/21/00 23:23:18
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

12/28/17 morris campbell wall street 4 generation x 4 stars
7/05/10 PAUL SHORTT ENTERTAINING AND DYNAMIC 3 stars
6/10/06 William Goss 118 ways to sell bullshit and be a yuppie asshole. Meh. 3 stars
4/30/06 R.W.Welch Maybe a tad overdone but at least it's off the beaten path. 4 stars
12/13/05 Indrid Cold Cheesy but good ripoff of "Glengarry" and "Wall Street", both of which it quotes openly. 4 stars
4/17/05 Vince Ribisi totally rocked in this. All in all a solid effort, worth seeing. 4 stars
3/19/05 Tay Great film 4 stars
7/30/04 M If it wasnt for Vin this movie would go down hill.... fast! 4 stars
6/22/04 eivind it's good 4 stars
6/20/04 Rock Hound convinced me to open my own casino 3 stars
5/20/04 Sales God A fresh spin on an old idea. yeah its derivitive but well acted and executed (except Affle 4 stars
4/22/04 sealy Film was great, very fast, great stuff. Could have had more of a ending. 5 stars
2/22/04 s smith Premise is skewed, but characterizations are strong, sad thinly veiled lives. 4 stars
12/25/03 breadman DON"T pitch the bitch. I don't care if Nancy Sinatra calls. 5 stars
12/24/03 Tiffani Boiler Room is cool. It's Just so cool....The testosterone flows beautifully 5 stars
10/14/03 PJ Ribisi is the shit quit bangin on this film, great work by Ben Younger 5 stars
6/15/03 Boiler room guy I wish there were more movies like this. So real and yet not overdone 5 stars
6/09/03 R.W. Welch Stock scam pic has an authentic feel to it and is adeptly acted. Sort of educational too. 4 stars
3/02/03 Jack Sommersby Pretty involving until it piles on the contrivances. Vin Diesel is a standout. 2 stars
11/25/02 Stephen X - EXCELLENT - X 5 stars
10/26/02 MarktheShark6 The way they inserted Wall Street into the film revealed its roots, but it was good anyway. 4 stars
9/03/02 movie guy A GREAT FILM 5 stars
7/26/02 Matt Crav Fuck Vin. Well, hes awesome, but Ribisi is great. Inspirational flick. This movie is great. 5 stars
7/10/02 Interrog8 Great film! Provides a genuine look at the late-90's stock market greed 5 stars
2/18/02 alicia morris any movie with vin in it is worth watching! 4 stars
1/29/02 jessica fowler it's my favorite movie...great acting by everyone! 5 stars
1/18/02 Chrisaidis Georgia It was really cool, not to say for Vin Diesel he is really sexy. 4 stars
11/26/01 Kathleen Greene The only thing that makes this movie viewable is VIN DIESEL. 4 stars
11/25/01 Senor Pescolido Ya know, i really wanted to like it, but it was far too clean and cliche. 3 stars
9/01/01 Butterbean Vin and Ben were hot. The part where they were watching "Wall Street" was stupid. 3 stars
7/30/01 Robert Vin is the man 5 stars
7/15/01 NasTKasT My Favorite Flic of ALL Time. Very pimp movie! 5 stars
6/29/01 tinkerbell142@aol.com such a good movie, def worth watching :) 4 stars
6/16/01 Dominique Dixon Parts with Vin Deisel in it were the only ones worth looking at. Racist jokes sucked!!! 4 stars
3/22/01 Yanick Forget Very good movie, great acting. 5 stars
3/15/01 Gideon If you dont see it you are missing out on a tight ass movie! 5 stars
2/27/01 Soggy Bottom Boy All the ingredients are there: good concept, great actors; they could have done more w/it. 3 stars
2/19/01 joh rich, young white guys use the word fuck a lot. Deisel is a damn cool actor 4 stars
10/30/00 Matt Redmond You do not deserve to review movies. 5 stars
10/04/00 Jed An alright movie funny though a bit laughable. 4 stars
10/01/00 Robin Hot men in suits! Ben Affleck is a major ++++ 5 stars
9/25/00 Sully Ben Affleck is the worst actor of our generation. movie starts fine, ends terrible. 3 stars
9/02/00 jetcat repulsive display of greed and too-skinny men; compelling nonetheless 4 stars
8/01/00 Jed I may need a 2nd viewing but overall it was alright. 3 stars
7/28/00 Davis Intelligent, doesn't pull any punches. Ribisi is a perfect hero. Best Movie of the Year 5 stars
7/17/00 Monday Morning Great drama with comic balance, outstanding characters & dialogue. Ribisi bugged me, tho'. 4 stars
3/24/00 malcolm Nia Long was worth price of admission. Diesel and Affleck kicked ass. 4 stars
3/13/00 Chartsy Giovanni, you've come a long way since My Two Dads, baby! 5 stars
3/12/00 Jim NOT relevant to today's stock market: Internet, online, Wall St. Ben shot cameos in 1 day. 1 stars
3/03/00 jill Ben Affleck can suck my ass. 1 stars
2/27/00 Malbert Pretty cool, I liked it a lot 4 stars
2/24/00 Ben Ryan Worth watching just so you can see the stupidity. 2 stars
2/24/00 Allan Vogt Filthiest soundtrack ever. The secretary was worth the $9.50. Good audience interaction. 3 stars
2/22/00 Charles "Fight Club" in reverse. Loved the secretary! 3 stars
2/21/00 Alexis good acting and a plot that moved along at a brisk pace 5 stars
2/20/00 Jason Kallelis Damn good! Good acting and the plot can suck you in. 4 stars
2/20/00 frank some quality acting, but an average story line 3 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  18-Feb-2000 (R)
  DVD: 04-Mar-2014

UK
  05-May-2000 (15)

Australia
  12-Oct-2000 (M)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast