Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.9

Awesome: 22.96%
Worth A Look48.15%
Just Average: 25.93%
Pretty Crappy: 1.48%
Sucks: 1.48%

13 reviews, 57 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Blithe Spirit (2021) by Jay Seaver

My Zoe by Jay Seaver

Nomadland by Rob Gonsalves

Stylist, The by Peter Sobczynski

Hidden Man by Jay Seaver

Writer's Odyssey, A by Jay Seaver

Endgame (2021) by Jay Seaver

Tom and Jerry by Peter Sobczynski

Stylist, The by Rob Gonsalves

Rumble Fish by Jack Sommersby

subscribe to this feed


Boiler Room
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Ophelia13

"I'm just waiting for 'Boiler Room 2: Attack of the Boom Microphones'"
4 stars

Is it too much to ask that a theatre be able to line up the movie you're supposed to be watching before the opening credits? I suppose I shouldn't be complaining, I could see the little legs walking across the pavement...it was just that the legs were on top of the screen. Separated by the little line you see in cartoons, the head and feet were seemingly moving simultaneously, but one can never tell when the voice of our narrator is overshadowed by the tapping of his shoes on cement.

After my little friends in the projection booth got their act together, we had a whole new problem. I first noticed it peeking down from the top of the screen a little way into the plot development. Then, there it was again, shocking me with it's brazen disregard for the audience. Over and over it came, wobbling in and out of camera. Let me just say that when the boom microphones have more screen time than the protagonist, someone needs to be fired. And I don't mean just a little black spot popping up here and there. I mean the boom, the mike, and the operator's minuscule talent just dangling there, waiting for all the world to laugh in the face of all that air above the boom and in his head.

At least there were no old people whispering (read: talking hoarsely at the top of their lungs) for as far as the eye could see.

Seth is a college dropout who runs a card house from the lower level of his property. He makes good money, but he suffers from that one problem that plagues so many -- unsympathetic parents. Actually, his mother is great and supportive even though her son will be getting hauled off to prison if he continues his current career path. But his father...oh boy. Not only is he angry that Seth dropped out of college, he won't accept that he's actually succeeding in a business. Plus, he's the sort of father who, after being stunned by the sight of his son lying on the ground with a broken limb, would slap the boy.
To please his father, Seth decides to take a job offer. This job offer will take him up the ranks of and brokerage firm in no time at all. He goes for it, and the position at JT Marlin is his. Of course, he's just a trainee to begin with, and must learn how to truly screw people over. At the firm, screwing people is an art form. They do it in so many ways it's impossible to get past them. They'll confuse you, so you don't know your head from your ass, then take your money. They'll sweet talk you, and take your money. And best of all, they know how to do it so that you think that a) it was a wonderful idea to do business with these fine people and b) that you actually enjoyed getting screwed by them. It's all so graceful, and so damn cool that you forget that you're supposed to feel bad for the people who are getting cheated. It seems as though they deserve it.

As a thriller, "Boiler Room" fails miserably. As a drama, it's quite a bit better. With a few jokes about "Wall Street" and "Glengarry Glen Ross" you sit there just positive that Ben Younger watches way too much TV. But it works, and he manages to get a cast that makes it work. Giovanni Ribisi, Vin Diesel, Ben Affleck and Nia Long pull out performances that while not excelling, do their jobs really well.
The movie originally seems dominated by its soundtrack, but fades into the backdrop in time to tell us a story.

All in all, what we have here is a good movie with really good acting, and one hell of a boom microphone. Encore.

link directly to this review at https://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=1715&reviewer=130
originally posted: 02/21/00 02:59:03
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

12/28/17 morris campbell wall street 4 generation x 4 stars
7/05/10 PAUL SHORTT ENTERTAINING AND DYNAMIC 3 stars
6/10/06 William Goss 118 ways to sell bullshit and be a yuppie asshole. Meh. 3 stars
4/30/06 R.W.Welch Maybe a tad overdone but at least it's off the beaten path. 4 stars
12/13/05 Indrid Cold Cheesy but good ripoff of "Glengarry" and "Wall Street", both of which it quotes openly. 4 stars
4/17/05 Vince Ribisi totally rocked in this. All in all a solid effort, worth seeing. 4 stars
3/19/05 Tay Great film 4 stars
7/30/04 M If it wasnt for Vin this movie would go down hill.... fast! 4 stars
6/22/04 eivind it's good 4 stars
6/20/04 Rock Hound convinced me to open my own casino 3 stars
5/20/04 Sales God A fresh spin on an old idea. yeah its derivitive but well acted and executed (except Affle 4 stars
4/22/04 sealy Film was great, very fast, great stuff. Could have had more of a ending. 5 stars
2/22/04 s smith Premise is skewed, but characterizations are strong, sad thinly veiled lives. 4 stars
12/25/03 breadman DON"T pitch the bitch. I don't care if Nancy Sinatra calls. 5 stars
12/24/03 Tiffani Boiler Room is cool. It's Just so cool....The testosterone flows beautifully 5 stars
10/14/03 PJ Ribisi is the shit quit bangin on this film, great work by Ben Younger 5 stars
6/15/03 Boiler room guy I wish there were more movies like this. So real and yet not overdone 5 stars
6/09/03 R.W. Welch Stock scam pic has an authentic feel to it and is adeptly acted. Sort of educational too. 4 stars
3/02/03 Jack Sommersby Pretty involving until it piles on the contrivances. Vin Diesel is a standout. 2 stars
11/25/02 Stephen X - EXCELLENT - X 5 stars
10/26/02 MarktheShark6 The way they inserted Wall Street into the film revealed its roots, but it was good anyway. 4 stars
9/03/02 movie guy A GREAT FILM 5 stars
7/26/02 Matt Crav Fuck Vin. Well, hes awesome, but Ribisi is great. Inspirational flick. This movie is great. 5 stars
7/10/02 Interrog8 Great film! Provides a genuine look at the late-90's stock market greed 5 stars
2/18/02 alicia morris any movie with vin in it is worth watching! 4 stars
1/29/02 jessica fowler it's my favorite movie...great acting by everyone! 5 stars
1/18/02 Chrisaidis Georgia It was really cool, not to say for Vin Diesel he is really sexy. 4 stars
11/26/01 Kathleen Greene The only thing that makes this movie viewable is VIN DIESEL. 4 stars
11/25/01 Senor Pescolido Ya know, i really wanted to like it, but it was far too clean and cliche. 3 stars
9/01/01 Butterbean Vin and Ben were hot. The part where they were watching "Wall Street" was stupid. 3 stars
7/30/01 Robert Vin is the man 5 stars
7/15/01 NasTKasT My Favorite Flic of ALL Time. Very pimp movie! 5 stars
6/29/01 tinkerbell142@aol.com such a good movie, def worth watching :) 4 stars
6/16/01 Dominique Dixon Parts with Vin Deisel in it were the only ones worth looking at. Racist jokes sucked!!! 4 stars
3/22/01 Yanick Forget Very good movie, great acting. 5 stars
3/15/01 Gideon If you dont see it you are missing out on a tight ass movie! 5 stars
2/27/01 Soggy Bottom Boy All the ingredients are there: good concept, great actors; they could have done more w/it. 3 stars
2/19/01 joh rich, young white guys use the word fuck a lot. Deisel is a damn cool actor 4 stars
10/30/00 Matt Redmond You do not deserve to review movies. 5 stars
10/04/00 Jed An alright movie funny though a bit laughable. 4 stars
10/01/00 Robin Hot men in suits! Ben Affleck is a major ++++ 5 stars
9/25/00 Sully Ben Affleck is the worst actor of our generation. movie starts fine, ends terrible. 3 stars
9/02/00 jetcat repulsive display of greed and too-skinny men; compelling nonetheless 4 stars
8/01/00 Jed I may need a 2nd viewing but overall it was alright. 3 stars
7/28/00 Davis Intelligent, doesn't pull any punches. Ribisi is a perfect hero. Best Movie of the Year 5 stars
7/17/00 Monday Morning Great drama with comic balance, outstanding characters & dialogue. Ribisi bugged me, tho'. 4 stars
3/24/00 malcolm Nia Long was worth price of admission. Diesel and Affleck kicked ass. 4 stars
3/13/00 Chartsy Giovanni, you've come a long way since My Two Dads, baby! 5 stars
3/12/00 Jim NOT relevant to today's stock market: Internet, online, Wall St. Ben shot cameos in 1 day. 1 stars
3/03/00 jill Ben Affleck can suck my ass. 1 stars
2/27/00 Malbert Pretty cool, I liked it a lot 4 stars
2/24/00 Ben Ryan Worth watching just so you can see the stupidity. 2 stars
2/24/00 Allan Vogt Filthiest soundtrack ever. The secretary was worth the $9.50. Good audience interaction. 3 stars
2/22/00 Charles "Fight Club" in reverse. Loved the secretary! 3 stars
2/21/00 Alexis good acting and a plot that moved along at a brisk pace 5 stars
2/20/00 Jason Kallelis Damn good! Good acting and the plot can suck you in. 4 stars
2/20/00 frank some quality acting, but an average story line 3 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  18-Feb-2000 (R)
  DVD: 04-Mar-2014

UK
  05-May-2000 (15)

Australia
  12-Oct-2000 (M)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast