Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.55

Awesome: 29.58%
Worth A Look35.21%
Just Average: 12.68%
Pretty Crappy: 5.63%
Sucks: 16.9%

5 reviews, 41 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Nomadland by Rob Gonsalves

Stylist, The by Peter Sobczynski

Hidden Man by Jay Seaver

Writer's Odyssey, A by Jay Seaver

Endgame (2021) by Jay Seaver

Tom and Jerry by Peter Sobczynski

Stylist, The by Rob Gonsalves

Rumble Fish by Jack Sommersby

Saint Maud by Rob Gonsalves

One Night in Miami... by Rob Gonsalves

subscribe to this feed


Bounce
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Nuwanda

"Charming, witty, sensitive, and understated...a winner!"
4 stars

With the exception of some feta at the end, this film is undeniably unique and flavorful. Even though its formula has worn a path on the psyches of movie-goers, 'Bounce' somehow rejuvinates our enthusiasm for its initial appeal.

Ya , ya...we've seen it before. Boy meets girl, boy has secret that girl should never find out, boy wants to tell girl...but boy falls in love by accident with girl, girl finds out secret, girl dumps boy like hot potato, etc.

And it also has the well-worn story line that someone feels guilty and wants to help someone, in the hopes of attaining atonement.

So, now you're thinking "What's the point of seeing this then?"

Well, the point of seeing this, is this; they say that there are basically seven different story-lines in film. So, like it or not, you've been watching basically the same movies over and over. This is probably no surprise to you. The key to it, is to give your movie different angles, directions, and twists.

"Bounce" does this, in every way. The film is truly engaging, with humour and humanism. The lines are delivered in superb fashion by both Paltrow and Affleck. I was genuinely impressed with Paltrow for the first time. She played the role of a struggling widow with the sensitivity and subtlety that it required. She was perfect.

Affleck tackled a role that required a lot more depth than most of his other roles. He has a tendency to choose roles that are basically 2-dimensional. It was nice to see him choose a role that required him to show some vulnerability as a man, and as a human being. It was even nicer to see him do so, in such a convincing fashion.

So, coupled with a heart-warming screenplay and sensitive, subtle delivery, 'Bounce' delivers itself as unique. By the end of the film, you've virtually forgotten that you've been fed a well-run story, and leave happy.

link directly to this review at https://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=1746&reviewer=116
originally posted: 11/30/00 07:01:56
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

3/24/18 morris campbell solid imho 4 stars
12/18/07 Boris I never was in a situation like that. but imagine this is not how one would act or feel 1 stars
8/26/05 ES Not woth the bother, cookie cutter plot and ending 2 stars
3/21/04 Cupid I was in tears. it was so emotional 5 stars
10/12/03 Sehgha Hejvunpam Gwyneth Foultrow's worst movie. She's yucky-schmucky in this. Avoid. 1 stars
4/21/03 Pam be Dextrous Best line: What is a dooryard? But that does not a movie make. 2 stars
4/09/03 Joesco Watched it for Natasha who needn't have turned up but a good film with Ben & Gwyn excellent 4 stars
1/04/03 Sully Affleck is the WORST actor this side of Danny Bonnaduchi. HE SUCKS DOG ASS!!!!! 1 stars
11/15/02 Big Ted Gwyneth shoulda won the Oscar for this NOT Shakespeare In Love. 5 stars
10/23/02 Phil M. Aficionado I agree 100% with Erik the Movieman; it is a fine film, albeit a bit trite 4 stars
4/22/02 KMG Watching "Gwennie" and the Benster on film was nauseating 2 stars
3/31/02 Kakararniniginjia Sinitraviwasanjofraz Like making pivot in the ball when the collector sends it again to the jar 2 stars
1/27/02 Andrew Carden I Would Have Liked To See More Jennifer Grey, She Was Interesting. 3 stars
1/20/02 Soggy Bottom Boy Good acting, but a lot of the film felt contrived. First half was good, but went downhill. 4 stars
7/21/01 J I'm suprisingly with Erik & Nuwanda on this one. (Though I wasn't too far to go with Greg) 4 stars
6/25/01 Tzila Seewald Perfect movie! 5 stars
4/20/01 Monday Morning Movie is cliche-city but I'm loving GP more and more each film she's in. 3 stars
2/11/01 ASHLEY LOEL she is a nasty BIT** 1 stars
12/24/00 Wada Loved it. 5 stars
12/19/00 AlGore I hate Ben Affleck and his movies. Good thing he's dating Billy Bob daughter and not mine! 1 stars
12/10/00 natasha Honest, with a good heart. I can't wait to see Don Roos' and Ben Affleck's next movies. 5 stars
12/10/00 BrittenysPears Affleck is the most overrated actor and "writer" of our time. lame as hell movie save your$ 1 stars
12/05/00 Affleckted Loved it. Ben was great. Love their chemistry. I'd see it again and again. 5 stars
12/05/00 Heidi This movie was slow but awesome 5 stars
12/05/00 Robin Elizabeth Loved it! Ben, When are we going to meet? 5 stars
12/02/00 jeff michael Boring......................slept thru it... 1 stars
12/02/00 AffleckFan Predictable. I was expecting another "Opposite of Sex". 3 stars
12/02/00 miyax What a waste of $8.75...I've never seen anything so predictable... 1 stars
12/01/00 Angela Murtagh A great flick...entertaining... 5 stars
12/01/00 TJMax Long live Ben and Gwen, whose talent is given maximum coverage here. Wonderful 5 stars
11/30/00 Gilberto Mello The Reallity About Phantom Business in Brazil 5 stars
11/26/00 Fred Excellent movie. Enjoyed by both Gwyneth's and Ben's performances and their 'chemistry'. 5 stars
11/23/00 KoHawk If you see this for a reason other than your woman dragged you there, you should be ashamed 1 stars
11/20/00 Kirsten Ben looks and acts better than ever. 4 stars
11/20/00 chuckmfh good way to spend a couple of hours 5 stars
11/19/00 Nick The story line never catches up -kinda like Al Gore. This Movie is a real loser. 1 stars
11/19/00 chris Best movie of the year! 5 stars
11/19/00 mesawyou It's entertaining 4 stars
11/18/00 Mike This movie had NO SUBSTANCE. Ben &Gwen need to give the world a rest 1 stars
11/11/00 Carol I loved this movie! Ben Affleck is so hot! 5 stars
11/04/00 Boy In The Designer Bubble Dear God, when will Paltrow quit movies and give the world a rest? 1 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  17-Nov-2000 (R)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  08-Mar-2001 (M)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast