Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
2.62

Awesome: 7.81%
Worth A Look: 11.72%
Just Average: 28.13%
Pretty Crappy39.06%
Sucks: 13.28%

9 reviews, 74 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Rumble Fish by Jack Sommersby

Saint Maud by Rob Gonsalves

One Night in Miami... by Rob Gonsalves

Wanting Mare, The by Rob Gonsalves

Tenet by Rob Gonsalves

Bad Attitude: The Art of Spain Rodriguez by Rob Gonsalves

Judas and the Black Messiah by Peter Sobczynski

Minari by Peter Sobczynski

Nomadland by Peter Sobczynski

Rescue, The by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Vertical Limit
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Nuwanda

"It's all about the hanging..."
3 stars

If you like movies that consist mostly of people hanging and falling and slipping and such, then this rather benign flick is for you.

I don't get it. I have friends who are into this stuff. I don't get them. Adrenaline junkies, I'm told. Thanks, but I'll stick to the coffee and nicotine, a more prolonged death is more my style.

Yet, I still have respect for anyone who is so passionate about something that they are willing to risk their lives with each outing. That's dedication. I love movies, but I don't risk my life going to the movie theatre...well, except for those downtown east side movie houses.

It's not that this film is so bad. It's not really, at times it is quite interesting. It was just too repetitive for my liking. There was too much hanging around. I guess there really is not much else that's scary about climbing mountains though, the whole falling thing is really the only fear mongoring tool available.

Chris O'Donnell, plays a National Geographic journalist, who is at odds with his sister. His sister decides to climb K-2, the hardest mountain in the world, under suspect conditions with a stupid rich guy. The team runs into harsh conditions and things start to get a little hairy.

Enough said in that respect.

There is one funny line that involves a French-Canadian named Monique. I found that rather pleasurable. It was, in fact, the highlight of the whole blazee affair.

It's not often that I am brought to such apathy in respect to a film, but this one leaves me not much choice. I forgot that I saw it within 5 minutes. Well, up until I felt compelled to review it, then I had to force the memories of it back.

link directly to this review at https://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=1759&reviewer=116
originally posted: 12/11/00 18:30:15
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

3/24/13 E.C.D. Takes way too long to get going. This is simple, plain, and needed to be 20 minutes shorter 3 stars
8/29/09 CTT Meh 3 stars
6/19/08 PAUL SHORTT AN ENTERTAINING BUT LENGHTY LESSON IN WHAT HAPPENS WHEN YOU HAVE NO LIMITS AT ALL 3 stars
11/14/05 Quigley this is one heckuva movie, all right. action was really good, but acting wasn't up to snuff 4 stars
8/17/05 ES It's funny when the sun hits the nitro and it explodes = invest in radios that work dumbass 2 stars
4/01/05 Alice Colwell boring 2 stars
1/21/05 DM Horrible script somewhat salvaged by exciting action scenes 3 stars
11/22/04 D-Unit It blows the big one!!! 1 stars
9/23/04 Al Guy Robin Tunney is cute. The movie is not. 3 stars
9/15/04 Ryuji Oh dear. Crap story, crap effects. To top it off, the acting is more wooden than Pinochio. 1 stars
5/12/04 Gavin Loved it. Was one hell of a ride! Check it out. 5 stars
3/12/04 john bale White Hell meets Wages of Fear in the ultimate cliff hanger. Stunt man are the stars. 3 stars
3/03/04 timson "Chris O'Donnell, luv ya!". You, Rainbow, are an asshole. 1 stars
1/06/04 The name's Rainbow. Oh common! It has one of the coolest and hottest sidekicks around! Chris O'Donnell, luv ya! 4 stars
10/04/03 Chrys Calling it crap is an insult to feces. 1 stars
7/17/03 Chris I wanted to see this movie but when I did I was very dissappointed. This had potential. 2 stars
9/28/02 HekiliKoa the plot was as predictable as a weather in Greenland: always shitty 2 stars
9/14/02 syrius I have to slap the retards who decided to make this movie 1 stars
6/13/02 Ray Gordon Now you know why Darwin never climbed mountains. 1 stars
5/14/02 Blake The cliffs in this film looked like your were there. 5 stars
3/09/02 KrynnDM ...and I picked *this* over Charlie's Angels?! 2 stars
2/06/02 Lila great movie i love chris o'donnel 5 stars
2/02/02 Andrew Carden See The 1978 Rock Hudson B-Flick Avalance Instead. 1 stars
1/15/02 David A. Scenery and effects were entertaining, more so than the plot 4 stars
12/31/01 Moe Mr. Bean would have been a more believable climber 2 stars
12/23/01 Crunchyfrog Opening sequence is the funniest piece of film ever! 5 stars
11/26/01 KMG This movie is one nut-filled turd 1 stars
11/20/01 Matthew bartley Good stunts.Average addition to the disaster genre 3 stars
11/12/01 steve DONT WASTE YOUR MONEY ON IT, ONE OF THE WORST, HAS NO STORYLINE WHAT SO EVER! 1 stars
9/18/01 Karyn Monty Python movies are more believable then these special effects. 2 stars
8/28/01 Amy All "downhill" after the first three minutes 2 stars
8/11/01 tnt pathetically stupid in every way possible!!!! Avoid at all cost! 1 stars
7/09/01 Anne Predictable from the first five minutes. The scenery didn't make up for the retread plot. 2 stars
7/01/01 The Bomb 69 fun movie, could see what was happening a mile away but i was still entertained 4 stars
6/24/01 Matt Dorsey Blue screen effects. Predictable. Dubious nitro explosions. Somewhat entertaining. 3 stars
6/20/01 Bud OK rental with good special effects. No stirring performances. 3 stars
6/19/01 Melody Leu This movie was really awesome. Izabelle Scorupco and Chris Odonell were great and the other 5 stars
6/10/01 r davis Awful! Chinese water torture is preferable. 1 stars
6/04/01 Monday Morning Unbelievable but fabulous. Hell, just enjoy it! 5 stars
5/27/01 Wrob Stunning effects and highly unplausable action wrapped in a paper-thin plot. Typical. 2 stars
5/13/01 Destruction Worker On par with Cliffhanger 5 stars
5/09/01 *~Danielle*Ophelia~* (formerly KyLe*BrOfLoVsKi) Cliche, cliche, and...oh, would ya looky here? ANOTHER cliche!! 2 stars
4/04/01 Hawkeye Alexander Siddig was good in his role, as were others, but the plot couldn't be saved. 3 stars
2/28/01 Rahul Gupta good action, who cares about the story as most of them similar anyway 4 stars
1/28/01 Nic It really left me on the edge of my seat. Not many movies do that for me. 4 stars
1/21/01 Emily Leigh itd the best so go cheak it out ! 5 stars
1/19/01 Ground Zero this was waay crappier than Cliffhanger 2 stars
1/17/01 Jes VERY unrealistic... 3 stars
1/12/01 Avenger Girl Sure there are some dumb things in the movie, as in most movies. OK action flick. 4 stars
1/12/01 Lord Raymos Really dumb plot, but nice action sequences. 2 stars
1/11/01 Boy In The Designer Bubble My cousin dragged me to this movie. I kicked the shit out of him when we got home. 1 stars
1/05/01 Viking I liked the snow leopards 3 stars
12/26/00 Mamjama LOL..sorry this flick sucked...but what's an Australian Sterotype???? 2 stars
12/24/00 matthew smith good action set pieces, pity about the script and lacks charisma 3 stars
12/23/00 MadBunny Nitro freezes (stable), the whole sunlight shit ignores ambient temperatures...helooo.. 1 stars
12/21/00 Stipey Dude, Where's My Carcass? 2 stars
12/20/00 Schell 6 climbers go on a rescue mission at 8,000m without oxygen gas, parkas or acclimitization. 2 stars
12/19/00 malcolm pretty good, but O'Donnell's character was SUPER selfish 3 stars
12/18/00 kayti denham Lame action and offensive stereotyping of Australians 1 stars
12/14/00 Kevin D. My high hopes for this movie were lost in a cave. 1 stars
12/13/00 Diehard I thought it was good, way better than expected. 4 stars
12/12/00 Mr. X Comparisons to "Cliffhanger" and "Everest" were inevitable. Just plain silly. 2 stars
12/11/00 PhilmPhreak Dumb, dumb, dumb, good stunts, dumb, dumb 1 stars
12/11/00 Jack Daniels OK action movie 3 stars
12/11/00 Ground Zero What the hell is this? Cliffhanger 2? 2 stars
12/11/00 frankko if there had been no dialogue, the movie would have been a lot better. 3 stars
12/10/00 Angus moorehead A simple film which scales the height in the latest extreme-wear fashion. 2 stars
12/10/00 Doctor Collosus Wow!!! Adrenalin RUSH! First really exviting movie in years. 5 stars
12/10/00 FrayLo Don't look for a great plot, this one was all about entertainment... 3 stars
12/10/00 Sexton Hardcastle Bah! Poop! 1 stars
12/09/00 Sam S. Far above any action movie I've seen in a long time. 5 stars
12/09/00 Kohawk If you're there for eye candy and not much substance it's ok. Low end just average 3 stars
12/09/00 Brandon - The Man Despite moments of great suspense, it had bad acting, lame story, ridiculous situations. 2 stars
12/06/00 Jennifer Verticell Good movie if you like action. 4 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  08-Dec-2000 (PG-13)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  21-Dec-2000 (M)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast