Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.37

Awesome: 23.88%
Worth A Look30.6%
Just Average: 16.42%
Pretty Crappy: 17.16%
Sucks: 11.94%

11 reviews, 68 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Rumble Fish by Jack Sommersby

Saint Maud by Rob Gonsalves

One Night in Miami... by Rob Gonsalves

Wanting Mare, The by Rob Gonsalves

Tenet by Rob Gonsalves

Bad Attitude: The Art of Spain Rodriguez by Rob Gonsalves

Judas and the Black Messiah by Peter Sobczynski

Minari by Peter Sobczynski

Nomadland by Peter Sobczynski

Rescue, The by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Summer of Sam
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Nuwanda

"My dog told me to watch it, and am I ever glad!"
3 stars

With unusual lighting and quintessential Spike motion, Summer of Sam takes you to places you have rarely been and explores the human condition with dignity and honesty. The story is complex, unwielding, and I wondered a few times where it was going...but I didn't really care, I was enjoying the ride!

Perhaps the title of the film might misdirect some who go to see it, for it focuses less on the actual Son of Sam, and more on the people who were affected by his terrorist attack on New York City.

Spike Lee has given us an intelligent, sociological view of how devastating the effects of a serial killer have on society. It also provides an interesting, non-racist, cultural look at New York Italians. The direction of the movie is not entirely clear, it does not follow any set formulas for plot development, but the characters are believable and likeable and it kept my interest throughout.

Spike's way of dealing with certain women's issues is to be commended and applauded. He displays a unique sensitivity and firmness that is refreshing and shocking at the same time. There were alot of ideas and scenes in the film that are not explored often in this art form and I was duly impressed.

I have read that some view this film as racist against Italians. Why? Because it has Italians in it? I guess if you don't show any ethnic group as the second coming of Jesus and the Prophets, all of a sudden now it's racist. Bullshit. Racist sentiment is in the eye and ears of the beholder and Spike Lee is not responsible for the intelligence of North America. The film was co-written with Spike by two people of Italian background. Grow up and give your weeny heads a shake.

link directly to this review at https://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=1850&reviewer=116
originally posted: 07/08/99 13:40:55
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

5/03/19 GLR Spite Wee's usual truth-mangling Black racist propaganda "film" 1 stars
9/16/17 morris campbell interesting but undone by sleaze & overlength 3 stars
7/22/11 Dave Smith On a ten star scale, a 1/4 star away from a MASTERPIECE. It's about the NEIGHBORHOOD. 5 stars
3/02/11 chris c Somewhat of a spiritual counterpart to Do the right thing despite a lot of vulgarity & sex 4 stars
6/01/09 MP Bartley Sweats and flails to little thick-headed effect. Some good moments survive. 3 stars
7/01/08 jointz on second thought, I can see what Scott's saying, the movie has no straight narrative 4 stars
5/19/08 jointz Weinberg obviously has a stick up his ass! How could you NOT love the Talking Dog? 5 stars
1/27/07 action movie fan funny, tough and super realistic-the best film of 1999 5 stars
6/10/06 Jeff Anderson Some of Lee's strongest, best work to date. Sorvino's sexy & great performance STANDS OUT!! 5 stars
8/19/05 ES Save your money, this has about five minutes of time dedicated to the killer 1 stars
5/21/05 Zelemont Are you SERIOUS? Long, pointless, straying waste of talented actors! BORING! DONT BOTHER!! 1 stars
12/22/04 Landshark visceral characters in that NYC '77 scene, Lee gets it 5 stars
8/14/04 Oliver Fantastic. 5 stars
1/21/04 Sugarfoot Spike Lee sucks, plain and simple. And so do most of his movies. (Girl 6 for one.) 1 stars
1/16/04 Agent Sands (previously Mr. Hat) Definitely one of my top 3 favorite films of all time! It's fucking perfect!!!!! 5 stars
12/18/03 ROY L. CAIN,JR. The first Spike Lee joint to not feature too many black characters. Still a groovy pic. 5 stars
10/18/03 Agent Sands (previously Mr. Hat) I don't know how Spike does it. Direction is brilliant. Surely among the best of his best. 5 stars
5/11/03 Jack Bourbon Eh. Don't care for it. 2 stars
3/18/03 Jack Sommersby Maddeningly uninvolving and unfocused. This talented cast deserves much better. 2 stars
10/23/02 Charles Tatum Spike can be as racist as the evil white man 1 stars
10/09/02 Kitfo anybody who calls spike lee self indulgent or pretentious should stick to hollywood drivel 5 stars
9/25/02 snowconehead Too much Leguizamo, not enough Sorvino 4 stars
7/17/02 Cris Abisale He Got Game is much better.Too much sex in this movie.Spike=Disappointment 2 stars
3/04/02 Alan Smithee Typical overrated Spike Lee bullshit. 1 stars
12/31/01 Andrew Carden Pretty Realistic Movie...I Didn't Like John Though. 4 stars
9/08/01 Butterbean A very underrated movie. It captured the effect of city-wide panic brilliantly 4 stars
7/28/01 Artist Freak Great performances, really pegs the 70s. Wide array of sex for a non-porn movie. 4 stars
6/28/01 See me Fly!!!! fuck this movie it's fucking hard to fucking understand, they say fuck every fucking second 2 stars
4/18/01 Socutejd This was an insult to serial killers 1 stars
4/17/01 Spetters Spike´s best film yet!! Everything and everyone is great in this explosive film. 5 stars
3/11/01 RACHEL this movie was amazing, very well made, great images 5 stars
2/22/01 italian mobster i liked the music but i cant stand the fact that a fuckin nigger directed an italian film 2 stars
1/18/01 romayne charles John Lequizamos brilliant looks and acting made this film . 4 stars
12/05/00 AtlantaBill What the fuck? There is a talking dog in this movie! Spike Lee, you suck faggots. 1 stars
6/28/00 Bender Entertaining, if overlong. Plus the most use of the F word in a movie I've ever seen. 4 stars
6/23/00 Aaron White Best talking animal scene in film history. Sex scenes restored my will to live. 4 stars
3/09/00 Kyle Broflovski Blergh. I punctuated every scene with a hella yawn. BORING!!! 1 stars
3/08/00 Richard Wright Every noun is preceded by an F word and everyone is either a moron or a slut.Dig it,man.NOT 1 stars
1/20/00 node I found this to be very thought provoking. 4 stars
1/01/00 KK Should be renamed Summer of Idiots. Lee can't direct/act/write his way out of a paper bag. 1 stars
12/31/99 Tyson Stewart It's hot and bloody. Such a great story! 4 stars
11/29/99 Mic Not as good as Do The Right Thing, good nevertheless. "Sam" should've had less screen time. 4 stars
11/24/99 Frank Curigliano Riveting, disturbing, funny and painful. The best film of the year thus far. 5 stars
11/18/99 Matthew Smith Lee's best film since Do The Right Thing, Ambitious, bold and confronting. 5 stars
10/31/99 JonnyAngel this slut of a movie sucks and swallows 1 stars
9/11/99 Jason Kinsey a whirlwind of colorful images, thumps, & sounds-great 4 stars
8/09/99 Alisa Spike Lee shows no class in this film. he didn't even research this movie for truth. 1 stars
8/03/99 Tanya I'm being generous with the rating. Spike Lee making white people look ignorant again. 2 stars
8/02/99 Lola Jones Well put together. However, there were too many sex scenes.:) 4 stars
8/02/99 david napier best film of the summer, and love that leguizamo and lee was funny as the reporter 4 stars
7/31/99 Obi Wan This movie didn't do shit to me or for me...except waste my time! 2 stars
7/21/99 PhilmPhreak Annoying movie about annoying people - and what the fuck was Spike Lee's character? 2 stars
7/16/99 Jo Jo, The Idiot Circus Boy Horror? Movie? Where is the movie? 1 stars
7/11/99 ken heine the punk scene was cool. 2 stars
7/11/99 Ah Dooey Shoddy movie I ever saw. The movie had no substance and not any dialog. 3 stars
7/11/99 evil buffy intrigued by the cinematography; look and sound made up for plot weaknesses. good acting 4 stars
7/09/99 M. Donnelly Quite well done. I really was able to get pissed off at some of the characters. 5 stars
7/09/99 P.S.O.K It wasn't as good as thought it was gonna be 3 stars
7/09/99 bridgette adrien brody-good; everyone else-ok; editing-HORRIBLE. can we say porn? 2 stars
7/06/99 Brian M honest characterizations, bizarro editing and fab music 4 stars
7/06/99 Daddy Rich Spike Lee; what more can you say? 5 stars
7/06/99 Mr showbiz Spike Lee's latest is a triumph of style... and little else. 2 stars
7/06/99 sydney awesome! 5 stars
7/05/99 Malbert Worst piece of crap I've ever seen 1 stars
7/05/99 jvt Overlong, pretentious crap with stereotypical "characters" 1 stars
7/04/99 johntidal a demented bad ass flick with great act that intensifies the terrrror 5 stars
7/04/99 ALiaS WOW!!! Spike Lee has proven that he is diverse enough to do a dark movie!!!! Kudos brother! 5 stars
6/15/99 David A subtle masterpiece; ambitious tale of ordinary lives affected by social paranoia. Great!! 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  02-Jul-1999

UK
  N/A

Australia
  18-Nov-1999


Directed by
  Spike Lee

Written by
  Spike Lee

Cast
  John Leguizamo
  Adrien Brody
  Anthony LaPaglia
  Jennifer Esposito
  John Savage
  Bebe Neuwirth



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast