Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.22

Awesome53.38%
Worth A Look: 29.05%
Just Average: 6.76%
Pretty Crappy: 7.43%
Sucks: 3.38%

13 reviews, 70 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Blithe Spirit (2021) by Jay Seaver

My Zoe by Jay Seaver

Nomadland by Rob Gonsalves

Stylist, The by Peter Sobczynski

Hidden Man by Jay Seaver

Writer's Odyssey, A by Jay Seaver

Endgame (2021) by Jay Seaver

Tom and Jerry by Peter Sobczynski

Stylist, The by Rob Gonsalves

Rumble Fish by Jack Sommersby

subscribe to this feed


Wonder Boys
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Ophelia13

"Take a bow."
4 stars

The trailers for “Wonder Boys” don’t display how good it really is. They show it as a comedy, with Michael Douglas playing for that ridiculous laugh of Tobey Maguires. It’s very funny, yes--but what they failed to show was the depth each actor brings to their characters, and that more plays behind the surface than we could guess.

First of all, I’d like to point out that my synopsis for this movie won’t be in depth. Not because it’s plotless, but because it runs more from a concept than a story. This concept
expands itself over the course of one weekend in the life of a writer who hasn’t published a book in years. His wife has left him, his girlfriend is pregnant, and his editor is coming
to town to take a look at his new book. The problem there is that the book isn’t finished. It’s not that he can’t write, it’s that he can’t stop writing. And that’s all before a very talented little writer comes fully into the scene. Grady
(Michael Douglas) comes upon this young writer from a class he teaches outside a party for the start of a writing festival. The boy has a capgun in his hand. A very realistic
capgun. So, we have a strange young writer taken in by a strange old writer. One writes his stories in a matter of hours, the other rambles on in a pink bathrobe with a joint in one hand and the other on the typewriter.

Add to this a perfectly chosen cast and a strong script. Michael Douglas turns out a fantastic performance, one of the best I’ve seen from him. Tobey Maguire, though I’ve
seen only one other performance (in the none too subtle “Pleasantville) seems to be one of those people that just has ‘brilliant’ written all over him. I hope he stays that way. Frances McDormand and Robert Downey, Jr. both play exceptionally well in supporting roles. I was even impressed by Katie Holmes (and when I compliment a star of ‘Dawson’s Creek’, something’s to be noticed.)

I have but one complaint, and it’s a small one. I saw it all coming. I was two steps ahead the entire movie, and while it didn’t detract from the performances or the script, I’m a fan
of the element of surprise. At least the element of unexpectedness, please.

“Wonder Boys” flows with the eloquence of the writers portrayed, and is quite worth any praise it will receive. Curtis Hanson has done it again.

link directly to this review at https://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=1857&reviewer=130
originally posted: 02/25/00 19:02:14
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

5/27/15 Anne Hoping it would get better, it didn't. 1 stars
6/30/08 The Main Ingredient Brilliant Michael Douglas!, always plays a good stoner, in my top 10 of all time, must see 5 stars
10/03/07 The Film Maker I love movies like this. Great story, character driven, great acting except for one or two. 4 stars
9/18/07 yuko downey jr. was excellent as usual!! 5 stars
6/05/07 fools♫gold Sometimes people can be oh so dense. A great list of Bob Dylan tracks. 5 stars
12/27/06 Agent Sands I watch it every Christmastime. It has the ambiance of that festive, snowy holiday season. 5 stars
6/21/06 Sydney Finally: a gritty, unselfconscious story about writing 5 stars
8/17/05 ES Why is it that cinema now a days must have homo-erotica (token gay) to be considered good? 1 stars
7/30/05 Gabby Master Hell I liked it, not perfect but it has a good mood to it 4 stars
5/27/05 Indrid Cold Maybe I'm off base, but it seemed incredibly ponderous and uninteresting. 2 stars
11/11/04 andreea just loved it 5 stars
3/12/04 Monica Most realistic college movie ever! 5 stars
1/07/04 A F Pass it. 4 stars
12/22/03 tatum Inspiring, wonderful 5 stars
11/28/03 Agent Sands (previously Mr. Hat) One of the most effective feel-good movies I can think of. Great Xmas movie. 5 stars
10/23/03 laurabetty Douglas impressed me! first time for everything! 5 stars
7/25/03 elizabeth parsadanian tobey maguire is just so so so so so cute 3 stars
3/09/03 I didn't see this movie in the theater. I am very sorry. Matt Thiel 5 stars
12/28/02 Jack Sommersby Simply stupendous! The best film of 2000. 5 stars
11/10/02 Daniel Magnificent cast (particularly Tobey McGuire), very off-beat kind of story. Enjoyable. 4 stars
11/08/02 Steve insomnia cure 1 stars
10/30/02 spacecowboy it is indeed VERY DAMN GOOD...:) 5 stars
9/24/02 y2mckay Need to see again before proper review, but Mike Douglas the shiznit as stoned English prof 5 stars
11/29/01 James Cole Awesome 5 stars
8/28/01 Gary Maguire, Downey Jnr. and Douglas are all fantastic in a wonderfully warm and funny film. 5 stars
8/09/01 E-Funk So good. To bad no one saw it. McGuire is great, so is Douglas. Beautiful soundtrack. 5 stars
7/30/01 Turd Ferguson I figured I could have this movie on while I did my laundry and cl 5 stars
7/13/01 Paul C. One of the most uncontrived comedies I've ever see, not to mention a great story. 5 stars
6/11/01 Gizzy The most pretentious, thoroughly UNentertaining piece of self-indulgent rubbish ever 1 stars
6/10/01 Phil M. Afficianado The Angry Jew has said it all. Bravo for a great film all around. 5 stars
5/24/01 BrainPan What the crunk do you mean by "artsy?" 5 stars
5/22/01 Monday Morning Understated & stellar, but why couldn't they have shot a cat instead of a dog? 4 stars
4/29/01 R.W. Welch Entertaining, could have been a hit if a little less artsy. 4 stars
4/16/01 Jesse Gets better with each viewing. A real gem. 5 stars
4/15/01 Jake Brilliant film with clever dialogue and writing. 5 stars
4/08/01 PatrickG. Some good dialogue, but just an average movie. 3 stars
3/15/01 The Bomb 69 a "real" movie, something I could relate too, Hollywood ending though 5 stars
1/07/01 A.K. great performances, excellent story. an overlooked film 5 stars
12/02/00 Gray Movie of the year. Great acting from Douglas & Downey Jr, but Tobey Maguire is the star. 5 stars
11/24/00 TigerShark As dumb as 'Being John Malkovich'. Don't see it unless you like paying $7 for dogshit!! 1 stars
11/12/00 frankko great flick. the entire cast was super. 5 stars
10/30/00 Philm Phreak Haven't seen a better movie this year (except High Fidelity) 5 stars
10/26/00 Krista Clark Robert Downey Jr. deserves an Academy Award for this incredible performance! 5 stars
9/05/00 bornslippy Great witty comedy, a nice change from the crude shit teen comedies 5 stars
8/15/00 Drew Vogel Not great, but solid... this year, that's rare 4 stars
8/15/00 Pierce Lanson Douglas most surprisingly good, wonderful performances, funny, warm, loved it. 5 stars
8/08/00 matthew smith A superbly acted film 5 stars
7/27/00 Mr J M HARWOOD Really cleaver (not enough Katie Holmes though) 5 stars
4/10/00 kohawk If you didn't at least mildly enjoy this, well, you have shit for brains. Well acted. 4 stars
4/07/00 burton t. e. miller disturbing and unneccesary gay scene ruined the whole thing 2 stars
4/03/00 PJ I really Loved this movie, it was beautiful, original, and it inspires, I want to write. 5 stars
3/23/00 BILL What a disconnected mess of a life. Poorly written and even more poorly directed. 3 stars
3/22/00 Richie Wonder Boys was a boring piece of crap. Childish story. Seen it all before. 2 stars
3/21/00 maureen awesome! michael douglas in a good movie for a change!!! 5 stars
3/20/00 Terrance Phillip Very good flick, I saw that Mar@$@## movie and pretty much wanted to write hollywood off! 5 stars
3/18/00 Adam Top notch script, superb acting. 5 stars
3/18/00 Deckard Plot goes nowhere,yet still manages to fall apart over last half hour. 2 stars
3/16/00 schmegs pretty kick ass 5 stars
3/14/00 Julia i'm gonna take a long lunch and go watch this one again tomorrow. 5 stars
3/12/00 Louis I really enjoyed this movie. 5 stars
3/09/00 Dirty Dave Capone Great movie! Very funny! 5 stars
3/05/00 dface ehhh... not too great, ok if you like pot smoking profs. 3 stars
3/03/00 f*r*o*s*t*y Love it, you gotta see it. 5 stars
3/02/00 Tim Krauss A must for anyone who likes quality movies and Bob Dylan music. 5 stars
3/01/00 Heather Enjoyable, funny movie, the sight of the dog in the trunk was worth the ticket price alone 4 stars
2/29/00 PhilmPhreak Great job by all!! 4 stars
2/29/00 lyngweni most boring 2 stars
2/29/00 Captain Highcrime Entertaining--not the best o' the year (yet), but damn good show all the same. 4 stars
2/28/00 Natasha I wanted more time with many of the characters 4 stars
2/26/00 "Persnickety "Jenn it was good, not what i was expecting but worth seeing 4 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  25-Feb-2000 (R)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  03-Aug-2000 (M)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast