Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
2.69

Awesome: 6.47%
Worth A Look: 17.99%
Just Average: 28.78%
Pretty Crappy31.65%
Sucks: 15.11%

9 reviews, 85 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Promare by Jay Seaver

Tokyo Ghoul "S" by Jay Seaver

BrightBurn by Rob Gonsalves

Booksmart by Rob Gonsalves

Dead Don't Die, The by Rob Gonsalves

Fagara by Jay Seaver

Rezo by Jay Seaver

Depraved by Jay Seaver

Linda Ronstadt: The Sound of My Voice by Peter Sobczynski

Goldfinch, The by Peter Sobczynski

subscribe to this feed


Hollow Man
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Chef ADogg

"It's Verhoeven--don't expect subtext, boyo."
4 stars

I can't believe people are complaining about this fluff. Like the similarly maligned "Scary Movie," it's just a harmless little genre picture that delivers the goods in a moderately pleasing fashion. Some bloods, some guts, and a whole gang of explosions--don't attempt to scratch the surface and you'll have a great time.

Kevin Bacon, what have you done with your career? This was once one of the most promising young actors in Hollywood--someone to keep your eye on. Now he's basically gone full circle back to his slasher roots; after his latest performance, as a scientist who first goes invisible, and then stark, raving mad, he might as well pack up his bags and head to the retirement home. There's nowhere to go after crap like this. And, you know, it is crap. Just because it's enjoyable doesn't mean that any of these actors have much of a future beyond it.

I mean, look at Elisabeth Shue. I doubt that a film like "Hollow Man" is going to seriously increase the flow of movie-offers rolling in her direction. She's been riding her own "Leaving Las Vegas" coat-tails since 1996 and I wouldn't be surprised if this little picture here ended up as one of her final stops. She's just about washed up in every respect. She obviously lacks the ability to choose projects, she has yet to create any real on-screen chemistry with a co-star, and, to be honest, she never could seriously act worth a damn (yes, kiddies, "Adventures in Babysitting" was a fluke after all).

And Josh Brolin. Who the fuck IS Josh Brolin? I've heard the name before but I can't place the face; looks just like every other generic beefcake in the multiplex these days. He doesn't do much with his role here, aside from get bloodied up a few times. Same goes for Joey Slotnick, Kim Dickens, and Greg Grunberg. But, then again, not much actual acting is expected. This is a horror film, for Pete's sake!

So, what's good about the film? Everything! (If you can overlook the atrocious acting and writing, that is.) It's Verhoeven, so you know it's going to look smooth. Simply put, "Hollow Man" is the most visually ingenious movie I've seen this year. Your brain is telling you not to believe a second of what you see on screen, but attempting to keep your heart from racing faster with each increasingly ridiculous plot twist remains a hopeless exercise in futility.

"Hollow Man" showcases, to a greater extent than his previous films, the true talent that Verhoeven posesses--to create a film that is little more than rambling oddball lunacy, yet somehow render it watchable (and mayhaps even believable) with sheer gusto and expert techincal craft. And there's a lot of the latter on display here, from the quick and easy camera-work to the breath-taking special effects. There are scenes to make your eyeballs pop out of skull and spin three hundred and sixty degrees before returning to their sockets; scenes that play like Carlo Brigante billiard tricks--you're gonna change your religion, folks.

Aside from the visuals, there's not much here. The story starts off strong, but gets surprisingly slack halfway through, when we go from interesting and cool science fiction/fantasy to straight out slicing and dicing in the true slasher tradition. Kevin Bacon's is the only performance in the movie worth a damn, and that, too, slides at the midway point. He's just not given enough dimensions; his characters goes from stock egotist to stock psychopath. When I say that his career is over, it's not bceause he's lost the ability to act ("Stir of Echoes" made it clear that he's still in full posession of those particular goods), but because he's lost the drive to choose challenging, intriguing parts. Somebody get this guy in a low budget indie, stat!

So, what's my main point? Don't listen to all the gripes that have been surfacing lately about "Hollow Man." There's a fun and gory thriller lying right under your nose; you may be looking too hard to see it.

link directly to this review at https://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=1864&reviewer=123
originally posted: 08/07/00 02:05:09
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

10/30/16 morris campbell dull sadistic crap watch the invisible man instead 1 stars
1/18/14 Luis Paz Awful, awful movie. The scientists in this film have to be the stupidest people ever. 1 stars
8/16/10 PAUL SHORTT SILLY, VIOLENT AND PREDICTABLE 1 stars
7/10/10 art VINCENT PRICE WAS the BEST INVISIBLE MAN! 1 stars
10/22/09 Gangster21 Thank you for having the courage to resign, and to bring this scandalous behaviour to light 5 stars
9/21/09 www.itsallaboutbees.com Vrachah,avromView my complete profile This blog is dedicated to commentary on all aspects o 5 stars
8/29/08 Shaun Wallner Well Made! 4 stars
4/10/08 R.W. Welch Nifty F/X. Little else of interest. 3 stars
3/01/08 Pamela White suspense with no reason 2 stars
2/10/08 Mark Great movie, violance, nudity and a suspense, I loved it... 5 stars
1/26/07 action movie fan a phenomenon today as well! good invisible man update, one of the best of 2000 4 stars
12/27/06 William Goss An admittedly entertaining hunk of B-grade cheese with superb effects. 3 stars
7/20/06 faraz khan brilliant fiction 5 stars
12/27/05 Sugarfoot The perfect root for the bad guy movie, afterall Kevin Bacon is the only one who can act... 3 stars
8/10/05 ES it's good, its cool, oops it all falls apart, tsk, tsk 2 stars
6/09/05 Indrid Cold Something like this would have been a phenomenon 30 years ago, but it totally sucks now. 2 stars
1/30/05 New Jersey Rules One of the shittiest movies, ever. 1 stars
10/23/04 LUCAS awesome 5 stars
8/26/04 American Slasher Goddess It's decent with some good F/X 3 stars
1/14/04 Samuel Actuallt, a pretty good movie and some good effects 4 stars
1/07/04 John pointless - too bad 1 stars
11/24/03 homer J. Simpson It could have been great, what were you thinking people, elizabeth should have been naked 2 stars
11/03/03 jason Rhona Mitra's nude action was explosive 5 stars
10/01/03 Jinnvisible More like the invisible pervert,,man gains invisibility & turns knickersniffer 1 stars
9/15/03 Charles Tatum Great special effects in a big piece of sci-fi cheese 4 stars
8/03/03 Double G im watching it right now so far it sucks 1 stars
5/05/03 John Bale Great special Fx but pervy and nerdy script makes this teenage fodder. 2 stars
4/28/03 Jin Almost as shitty as Wild Things. Acting was atrocious. 2 stars
3/21/03 Jack Sommersby Vile stuff with nary a whisper of imagination. 1 stars
12/09/02 Garbo Yau Mun this film was great 5 stars
8/04/02 KMG HOLLOW HEAD 3 stars
5/14/02 Blake This movie was okay but it had too much profanity. 4 stars
2/28/02 Andrew Jarret It was crappy, it will be better if they make the raping scene longer and her naked 2 stars
2/27/02 Alan Smithee Starts out good, quickly turns unbelievably dumb. Ms. Shue doesn't get naked either...... 2 stars
2/26/02 Sklorsh Could have been much better - More boobs 2 stars
2/25/02 Jenny Tullwartz STIR OF ECHOES, WILD THINGS, now this - Will Kevin Bacon ever get out of purgatory? 1 stars
1/15/02 David A. Interesting. Also, I loved the joke about Superman and Wonder Woman. 4 stars
11/30/01 Scottish Kilt Starts well, then becomes too predictable, and turns into utter pish. 2 stars
11/13/01 Mike Good effects. Tired story. Crap out ending. 2 stars
10/31/01 Monster W. Kung Good effects, but the script blows. First part OK, the rest is trash. 2 stars
10/15/01 Mr. Hat An awesome gem for the first hour and 15 minutes, but the rest sort of weighs it down. 4 stars
5/04/01 The Moorhen I can't believe I bought this. Rhona Mitra (shower chick) is the only good bit. 2 stars
4/24/01 *~Danielle*Ophelia~* (formerly KyLe*BrOfLoVsKi) Starts Sci-Fi thriller, ends Slasher Flick. That concept usually works better in reverse. 3 stars
4/21/01 sequoia if you wnat an exciting movie with a great plot......see something else! 2 stars
4/10/01 Jesse L Only way to save it was to go for full nudity.. It was awful.. 1 stars
3/20/01 Thomas J. movie is about as useless as Tipper Gores ovaries! 1 stars
1/10/01 Matt69 Piece of shit, except when he bangs the hot bitch across the street 2 stars
1/05/01 I love movies no story. NO STORY! Just a stupid Superman joke! 1 stars
1/04/01 The Bomb 69 good throughout but the ending was a letdown 4 stars
10/31/00 joe if you go expecting a mad slasher movie with some spectacular effects , you'll like it. 4 stars
9/13/00 Ground Zero a rehash of the classic Invisible Man flick 3 stars
9/10/00 bullit17 Great special effects. Entertaining. Not much of a plot, but what is these days? 4 stars
9/09/00 MIKE AWFUL. NO PLOT. I WOULD RATHER KISS A WOMAN THEN SEE THIS AGAIN! 1 stars
9/06/00 Wafer This is my bottom 5 of all time. seriously 1 stars
8/27/00 coby de beer it,s very good 4 stars
8/24/00 matthew smith visually, very impressive 4 stars
8/15/00 PhilmPhreak Not as bad as everyone says it is. 4 stars
8/13/00 Truckgirl held my attention til the very end when it got a little crazy... 4 stars
8/13/00 Bueller Woulda, coulda, shoulda, mighta, oughta have made a better movie! Hollow plot and acting! 2 stars
8/11/00 Robert Sharp WAIT UNTIL IT COMES TO VIDEO 3 stars
8/11/00 Zaccone Truely horrible 1 stars
8/09/00 pipeman Watchable until the last 15 minutes when all hell breaks loose with the script and dialoge. 4 stars
8/09/00 KyLe*BrOfLoVsKi Even with the hella special FX and talented cast, the movie seems, well...hollow... 3 stars
8/09/00 Poetcdh Cliche, cliche, cliche--wait for it at the $1.00 movie 1 stars
8/09/00 Ilia Rogachev The freezer cooling fans had an on/off dial on them as plain as day. No hair circulation. 1 stars
8/09/00 PJ So So Bad! it's O.K. Campy crap done well 3 stars
8/08/00 Sarah Johnson If you are expecting a well thought out suspensful thriller this is not it. 2 stars
8/08/00 Captain Highcrime Great FX, Shitty dialogue/acting: about as scary as power failure in the daytime. 4 stars
8/07/00 KoHawk Great effects, but we're stuck in a science lab for 2 hrs. Tell me he wouldn't go to city. 3 stars
8/07/00 TheAngryMob Loads O Fun! 4 stars
8/07/00 JussMatt Plenty of T&A, and special effects, but with all that $$ you think they could find a plot!! 3 stars
8/07/00 Doctor Collosus Needs more T&A dammit. 3 stars
8/06/00 Gil Carlson Mindless and gratuitous 3 stars
8/06/00 Marv Albert...SUpa Pervert! give me T&A and i'll be a happy camper 4 stars
8/06/00 Barry Pretty damned good...best special effects yet and good storyline as well! 5 stars
8/06/00 mahone Hollywood: spend money on scripts!!! 3 stars
8/06/00 Georges'sThumbInMyBumb um, just another flick for kevin to try to flash his more then tiny dong 1 stars
8/06/00 Tony The Lurch I've lost my faith in "Erik the Movieman" this movie truly blew 1 stars
8/05/00 chuck Should have waited for the $1.00 movie theater 2 stars
8/05/00 ILuvADrugDealer Script&ending are kind of crappy, but special effects were *AWESOME*! 4 stars
8/05/00 **~**yeah and he was gay**~** interesting, but still lacking, the special fx saved this movie 3 stars
8/05/00 Dr. King Amazing fx and trashy fun. Plus Kevin Bacon needs an Honorary Oscar for his hard work 5 stars
8/02/00 Jokko Hilariously bad. I mean BAD. I had no idea they could put out Battlefield Earth II so fast. 1 stars
8/01/00 Rue the Whirl Pure Hollywood trash. 2 stars
8/01/00 Tim Ryan So bad, seeing it for free was still a rip off. 2 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  04-Aug-2000 (R)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  24-Aug-2000 (MA)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast