Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.27

Awesome51.16%
Worth A Look: 34.3%
Just Average: 8.14%
Pretty Crappy: 3.49%
Sucks: 2.91%

11 reviews, 106 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Daniel Isn't Real by Jay Seaver

Midsommar by Rob Gonsalves

Blood on Her Name by Jay Seaver

Parasite (2019) by Peter Sobczynski

American Fighter by Jay Seaver

Moon in the Hidden Woods, The by Jay Seaver

Homewrecker (2019) by Jay Seaver

Gemini Man by Jay Seaver

Pain and Glory by Peter Sobczynski

Rusalka (aka The Siren), The by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Chicken Run
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Mrs. Norman Maine

"Chick This One Out...."
5 stars

Nick Park and Ardman studios have a winner in their first feature length production, CHICKEN RUN - a film which explores and deflates the conventions of World War II prison camps and egg farming...

Originally Written 6/30/00
Revised 10/29/01

‘C’ – THAT’S THE WAY IT BEGINS…

I was recently cast in a spectacular new film musical adaptation of Upton Sinclair’s timeless classic, The Jungle which has been filming on location in Chicago. I’m not fond of location work as it takes me away from my beloved Norman but I know the importance of keeping my persona firmly in the public eye so off I went to spend some time at the Palmer House together with my costars, Louise Fletcher and Avery Schreiber. I am playing the part of Bessie, the balladeer and have two key numbers, the opening number at the Chicago Board of Trade and the Slaughterhouse Ballet from late in the film.

We’ve been working at the Board of Trade all week and it’s a nightmare shooting while they are in session, which the director insists upon in order for the number to have any artistic meaning and veracity. No sooner do they focus and get the key light in place when some trader comes running up yelling ‘Pork Bellies’ in my face. I’m just not used to such working conditions. I’ve also been worried about Norman. He’s been slurring his words whenever I’ve spoken to him on the phone and I had carefully locked the liquor cabinet before leaving.

I was not needed for the weekend so the studio allowed me to jet home where I returned to find Norman mixing Prestone and Nyquil in a cocktail shaker and pouring large amounts into an old mason jar. Nurse Tameka was already snoring all over the divan. I had planned on our going out to a film but Norman was in no shape for a serious drama so we repaired to the home theater and I settled on Chicken Run as being about the right intellectual speed.

The film was a real treat. They may have marketed it as a children’s movie but it was made firmly with adults in mind; the vast majority of the jokes and references are going to go right over the head of the average 10 year old. Chicken Run is the story of the hens at Tweedy’s egg farm in rural England of the late forties or early fifties. The farm is a dreary, regimented place, shades of Dachau or Stalag 17 (explicitly referenced) abound. The hens are expected to produce or get the chop – one hen, Ginger, is a hen with a dream. A place where chickens can live in freedom and raise their chicks without interference – a fantasyland somewhere on the other side of the fence. Ginger schemes, together with her friends, to escape from the clutches of the evil Mrs. Tweedy, a plan that becomes more and more desperate as Mrs. Tweedy purchases an exotic contraption for turning chickens into chicken potpies.

Ginger, the brains and soul of the laying hens (voice by AbFab's Saffy - Julia Swahalla), comes up with riotous foiled escape after foiled escape until she meets up with Rocky, the flying rooster (voice by Mel Gibson), late of a traveling circus. His flying abilities are just what she needs to get them all out. There are a plethora of sharply drawn chicken characters - bubble headed Babs (Jane Horrocks) constantly knitting, the bossy Bunty (Imelda Staunton), and Mac (Lynn Ferguson), a Scottish chicken with brain and attitude who can out-calculate Einstein on a good day. Add to the mix the evil Mrs. Tweedy (Miranda Richardson), her dim husband and a couple of thieving Cockney rats and you have pure cinematic pleasure

Chicken Run comes from Ardman studios and Nick Park, the slightly demented brain behind Wallace and Gromit. The careful Claymation stop-motion creates a fully realized visual world that allows for almost anything to happen. The script is full of dry British witticisms and references to every World War II prison camp film ever made. There are cheeky references to The Great Escape, The Flight of the Phoenix, and The Bridge on the River Kwai amongst others. Many of the characters are stereotypical but it’s an affectionate lampoon rather than a lack of imagination.

Add this to your collection on the pretense of having something for the kids but enjoy it for yourselves.

Enchanted plasticine. Chicken jokes. Bad chicken puns. Evil pie making machines. Gratuitous swing dance number. Indiana Jones parodies. Mud wrestling. Shuttlecock hat. Severed Christmas tree lights.

link directly to this review at https://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=1904&reviewer=283
originally posted: 10/29/01 21:39:10
[printer] printer-friendly format  
OFFICIAL SELECTION: 2005 Brisbane Film Festival. For more in the 2005 Brisbane Film Festival series, click here.

User Comments

4/27/18 Louise Fabulous fun, with heart & soul, and and very clever. Who could not love this?? 5 stars
9/14/12 roscoe some fun, but i did not like any of the characters or the voice work. 3 stars
10/25/09 Mr.Carrot75 There is nothing wrong with brining the Taleban on the program, but I, too, wonder how fort 5 stars
10/25/09 Arnold61 Anything I choose to do instead of hanging out with my husband and four children better be 2 stars
10/25/09 Loy22 Made me realize that pretty much every generation thinks that when they were kids it was so 3 stars
10/22/09 GanjaBoy99 To answer the following question from Mr. , 3 stars
5/15/08 PAUL SHORTT THERE'S SELDOM A LULL IN THE ACTION. NOT BAD 3 stars
2/08/07 Soranos It was boring, I would rather watch "The great excape" which is like this, but more "mature 2 stars
2/08/07 Raph Branca A bit boring. 3 stars
1/30/07 chicken love, DONT HATE ME CAUSE I'M DIFFERENT! down with hollywood and all its cgi incarnations, little bitches! 4 stars
1/14/07 David Pollastrini not great, not terrible 3 stars
9/01/06 Chad Thomas Great, fun movie! 5 stars
5/19/06 Kcaj Yeahhhhhhhh it's getting there 3 stars
3/30/06 nasma distgusting 1 stars
12/20/05 Littlepurch An absolute classic! Loved it all my life. Need I say more?! 5 stars
10/27/05 Daveman Nick Park's worst film but still good for technical artistry. 3 stars
6/01/05 Chris Great!I've lost my taste for pot pies! 2 stars
5/29/05 susee chicks!!! amd more chicks!!! really entertaining 5 stars
3/22/05 clinger26 it's so beautiful 5 stars
1/19/05 Keaton the Black Jackal Clever, original, and has talking chickens. What more can you ask for? 5 stars
8/18/04 Anon this movie has a setting and is a must see for mostlittle kids I thought the moviewas great 5 stars
8/18/04 anonomous this movie was fucked in the head 3 stars
7/24/04 John Thepious Truly outstanding entertainment 5 stars
7/17/04 Nobody Great for kids 4 stars
6/18/04 Denise Duspiva slow 3 stars
6/11/04 Raymond Lee very entertaining movie 5 stars
5/31/04 whatevr This movie makes me want to smack colonel sanders 4 stars
5/17/04 Jen Dreifort loved this adorable movie! gotta love the chickens! 4 stars
5/16/04 DM Made me want more stop-motion animation movies 5 stars
5/14/04 y2mckay The animation is fun, but the story is nowhere near as good as a Wallace & Grommit episode. 3 stars
4/06/04 Alex What can i say i like the farm 5 stars
11/02/03 samantha cool 4 stars
6/02/03 Virgil Anyone for chicken pot pie? This was great! 5 stars
3/31/03 Jack Sommersby Excrutiatingly awful. 1 stars
3/28/03 NYTRANSIT417 Kids Loved It! Would ReccomendA++ 5 stars
2/03/03 name 1 of the best animated movie 5 stars
10/23/02 Charles Tatum Any film that lampoons "The Great Escape" deserves a look 5 stars
10/16/02 P.Rodriguez Anything With chickens gets my full vote!!! 5 stars
7/14/02 ! Really funny story, nice graphics, just enjoyable! 5 stars
7/12/02 ralph Workman I wet the bed and i love chickens OHHH 1 stars
6/06/02 I'm in (L) with a Jedi pretty kewl, tho i like wallace and gromit betta 4 stars
6/01/02 Jiz Nick Park's best work to date, very enjoyable. 5 stars
3/11/02 Emilia A warm watch..need some flavour though..hmm how about some gravy? 4 stars
2/22/02 Beyonder A good lesson for walt disney 4 stars
11/14/01 Zizzerzazzerzuzz Nick Park is a certifiable genius! The chickens aren't quite as charismatic as W&G, though. 4 stars
10/31/01 Andrew Carden Makes You Yearn For An Episode Of Spongbob Squarepants. 1 stars
9/04/01 Butterbean Very enjoyable movie! 4 stars
8/29/01 Henry Ginsberg I love how the coops are set out like in a concentration camp. 4 stars
8/22/01 Babybelle Too good for the kids, keep in adult section for quick smile occasions 4 stars
8/13/01 Monday Morning Cluckin'-A, this is funny. 5 stars
7/28/01 Steve Quit comparing to W&G, it was good anyways! Fuck you if you didn't see it and 1-starred it! 4 stars
6/28/01 R.W. Welch Almost up to "The Great Escape" but not quite. 4 stars
4/13/01 I love movies sucked, man! how about making a full length 'Wallace & Gromit' cartoon? 2 stars
4/09/01 Gary Hilarious, cool animation, but really stupid! 4 stars
4/04/01 Hawkeye If you've ever seen The Great Escape, check this out- you'll laugh yourself silly. 5 stars
4/01/01 moviegoer humorous, and meaningful, ever notice how the tweedy's represent the government? 4 stars
2/24/01 The Evil Penguin Nice,but there's no plot. 3 stars
2/22/01 Mart Dawg ARE ALL YOU GUYS FUCKIN GAY, THIS MOVIE JUST LOOKS GAY. FUCK OFF SUPERFLY FUCKIN HOMO 1 stars
2/01/01 Dan Waldman Best of Y2K. Most grown-up movie of the year 5 stars
1/22/01 Josh Stevens the movie was good it is most definetly for children.l 4 stars
1/10/01 Matt69 Those chickens fucking rocked. highly entertaining. 4 stars
12/27/00 Turtle Movie magic! I had my doubts at first, but this movie's one of the best! 5 stars
12/27/00 Tom What can i say, Brits can do genuine comedy, Yanks can't. It was great 5 stars
12/20/00 Connoisseur Nick Park should have stuck with Wallace & Gromit 3 stars
12/19/00 Fr. Ron Meyer, OMI Fun, funny, relaxing, really enjoyable with stuff to mull over. 4 stars
12/18/00 Destruction Worker See this movie. You ain't CHICKEN, are ya?!? 5 stars
12/15/00 viking Beats Disney by a mile 5 stars
12/10/00 Mic EvilPenguin: ever heard of spoofs? If Indy was the only reference you noticed, I feel for U 4 stars
12/09/00 matthew smith Delightfully hilarious. 5 stars
12/02/00 Phil I hope its nominated for best picture 5 stars
11/27/00 moviegoer hilariously delightful 5 stars
11/24/00 The Evil Penguin nice movie; there's one scene that is a rip-off of Indiana Jones. 3 stars
10/20/00 Johnny Figaro Funny, touching, exceptional craftsmanship... and some of the best action scenes of 2000!! 5 stars
9/07/00 Richard Wright Clever and well-animated tale, though putting in Mel Gibson was just a sop for the Yanks.. 4 stars
7/25/00 Lord Raymos Great for kids and adults (but only if they've seen classics like The Great Escape). 5 stars
7/22/00 Digitalus it was fabulous! 5 stars
7/17/00 PJ Good one Mac, I loved loved this movie is was funny wonderful, and perfect 5 stars
7/14/00 Maclay01 Those chics had great breasts! 4 stars
7/09/00 Marc I loved this movie! Best animated feature ever made! 5 stars
7/08/00 skye chapman fun! certainly worth more than a look. 4 stars
7/06/00 Matthew Bartley Enormous fun 5 stars
7/05/00 Jason Kallelis Easily one of the most entertaining movies this summer 5 stars
7/01/00 Blubberbot Good for kids. Boring for adults. I'm rating this for Adults. 2 stars
6/30/00 Bueller What do you do after Wallace and Gromit? Two words, "Chicken Run." Nick Park is brilliant! 5 stars
6/29/00 Heather The animation is fabulous, one of the summer's best! 5 stars
6/27/00 PhilmPhreak Don't crawl, don't walk - FLY to see this one! 5 stars
6/27/00 AVFred What a Great piece of entertainment. Don't miss this picture, it is the summer's surprise. 5 stars
6/27/00 furtively IF you got kids, its a 5 star. That simple. 4 stars
6/26/00 Overserved Great combo of animation and story. "The Geat Escape" with chickens. 5 stars
6/26/00 Greyjack Hysterically funny. Everyone I know loved it. Will even recommend to Mom! 5 stars
6/26/00 Poppacorn Hens also go for Mel Gibson 4 stars
6/26/00 Heather Keith Surprisingly grim, well crafted 5 stars
6/26/00 Michael Grimm great to look at, the story could have been better 4 stars
6/26/00 Guy Excellent, funny, eye-candy 5 stars
6/26/00 Socky Tocky The claymation world is breathtakingly beautiful. Ginger is the best heroine in long a time 5 stars
6/25/00 Captain Highcrime Absolutely charming. I've never cared for characters more. 5 stars
6/25/00 BillDog Go when people don't bring all the kids! 4 stars
6/25/00 Bubby Take away the clay and your left with shit. Next! 2 stars
6/25/00 Clare Fun & entertaining... some of the best jokes will go over kids's heads. 4 stars
6/25/00 Darren Shea Terrific fun 5 stars
6/24/00 "Persnickety" it's cute, the whole family can get a kick out of this movie! 5 stars
6/23/00 Bevan An awesome flick in the true, grandiose style of Wallace and Grommit 5 stars
6/22/00 frank one of the funniest movies i've ever seen 5 stars
6/21/00 Mike Not as good as the W&G shorts, but better than most of the stuff in theathers at the moment 4 stars
6/19/00 Jack Littlefield Way cool, go with a friend, but re-see the Great Escape first! 5 stars
6/18/00 cinesuerte one of the years best 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  23-Jun-2000

UK
  N/A

Australia
  07-Dec-2000




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast